Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
HARVARD CLASSICS - All 20 Volumes in one Edition - A Literary Journey Through Time and Space - cover

HARVARD CLASSICS - All 20 Volumes in one Edition - A Literary Journey Through Time and Space

Edgar Allan Poe, George Eliot, Juan Valera, Charles Dickens, Mark Twain, Jane Austen, Washington Irving, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Henry James, Guy de Maupassant, William Makepeace Thackeray, Laurence Sterne, Edward Everett Hale, Alphonse Daudet, Alfred de Musset, George Sand, Henry Fielding, Walter Scott, Theodor Storm, Ivan Turgenev, Theodor Fontane, Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson, Gottfried Keller, Francis Bret Harte, Honore Balzac, Victor Hugo, Fyodor Dostoevsky, Alexander L. Kielland, Leo Tolstoy, Johann Wolfgang Goethe

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The 'HARVARD CLASSICS - All 20 Volumes in one Edition' anthology presents an unrivaled aggregation of literary masterpieces, spanning a broad spectrum of themes, eras, and styles. Showcasing the works of luminaries such as Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, Leo Tolstoy, and Edgar Allan Poe, this collection traverses the landscapes of romanticism, realism, and the nascent stages of modernist literature. Its diversity is not just in authorship but in the multitude of literary forms represented, from the intricate narrative structures of Henry James to the poetic storytelling of Victor Hugo. This anthology stands as a testament to the enduring power of literature to reflect and shape the human condition, offering readers a panoramic view of the literary achievements of the 18th and 19th centuries. The contributors to this anthology are not merely authors but monumental figures who have significantly influenced the contours of global literature. The collection mirrors a confluence of cultural and historical currents, embodying movements such as the European Romanticism, American Transcendentalism, and Russian Realism. Each author's unique background, whether shaped by the socio-political upheavals of their time or personal tribulations, breathes life into their works, collectively offering a rich tapestry of human experience and philosophical inquiry. The collaboration of such disparate voices underlines the universality of themes such as identity, morality, and the struggle against societal constraints. 'HARVARD CLASSICS - All 20 Volumes in one Edition' is an essential compendium for readers seeking to immerse themselves in the depth and diversity of world literature. It is a gateway to the minds of those who have profoundly influenced the course of literary history, offering not just stories, but windows into the human soul across time and space. As an educational tool, it holds immense value, enabling readers to traverse the landscapes of history, culture, and philosophy through the lens of the world's most esteemed writers. Moreover, the dialogue it fosters between the different authors' works is an invitation to a journey of endless discovery and insight.
Available since: 12/04/2023.
Print length: 6416 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Man Behind the Nose - Assassins Astronauts Cannibals and Other Stupendous Yarns - cover

    The Man Behind the Nose -...

    Larry Harmon

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Man Behind the Nose is the autobiography of the man who was Bozo. For 50 years Larry Harmon was the face—and the nose—of Bozo the Clown, the most well-known, beloved clown of them all, the precursor for every successful modern-day harlequin to come, from Ronald McDonald to Krusty. A warm, surprising, and endlessly entertaining life story filled to the brim with “Assassins, Astronauts, Cannibals, and Other Stupendous Tales,” The Man Behind the Nose is a rollicking ride through the world of a true American icon in greasepaint.
    Show book
  • Recent overdose death of son inspires doctor to rescue others - cover

    Recent overdose death of son...

    PBS NewsHour

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Dr. Jim Baker dreaded getting that call for years: his son had fatally overdosed from opioids. He had watched Max go through the downward spiral of addiction, then recover and get sober, but a hospitalization for a car crash made him relapse. Now Baker does everything he can to educate others about the risks and devastation of opioid use. Science correspondent Miles O’Brien reports.
    Show book
  • No You Shut Up - Speaking Truth to Power and Reclaiming America - cover

    No You Shut Up - Speaking Truth...

    Symone D. Sanders

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this rousing call to leadership, the self-described millennial spokesperson for the culture, CNN’s designated ""woke AF"" former commentator, and the youngest national press secretary in the history of the United States shares her take-no-prisoners approach to life, politics, and career success, and shows a new generation how to be loud and powerful in their own right. 
    Many people—most notably white older men—may try to stop Symone Sanders from speaking up and out. But Symone will NOT shut up. And neither should you. In this inspiring call-to-action, Symone tells stories from her own life of not-shutting-up alongside loud young revolutionaries who came before her to help you find your authentic voice and use it to your advantage; to fight ideological battles more effectively; and to resist those who try to silence you. 
     
    We are all gurus, masterminds, artists, entrepreneurs—we are the change agents we have been waiting for. IT IS US. And the time is RIGHT NOW. I know you’re wondering, “But HOW?” And we don’t have all the answers! Symone is the first to admit we’re all winging it in one way or another. But the point is we’re out there doing it. So get started. Open your mouth and start talking. Loudly.  
    No You Shut Up goes beyond the surplus of “Vote-Or-Die” books we’ve seen before. Because change doesn’t just happen at the ballot box. We need people fighting oppression, injustice, and inequality—in the workplace, on the cultural battlefield, in government, in every corner of the world. With spirited storytelling filtered through a voice that cannot and will not be ignored, Symone inspires you to start now. You don’t need to have all the answers, or wait your turn to help create the change you want to see. All you need is a new toolbox, an unshakeable commitment, and the confidence and guidance to wield those tools effectively.
    Show book
  • Biko - The True Story of the Young South African Martyr and His Struggle to Raise Black Consciousness - cover

    Biko - The True Story of the...

    Donald Woods

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Subjected to 22 hours of interrogation, torture and beating by South African police on September 6, 1977, Steve Biko died six days later. Donald Woods, Biko's close friend and a leading white South African newspaper editor, exposed the murder helping to ignite the black revolution.
    Show book
  • Holding Tight Letting Go - My Life Death and All the Madness In Between - cover

    Holding Tight Letting Go - My...

    Sarah Hughes

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    'Too often we minimise the reality of terminal cancer, concentrating instead on survival records and talking only in positive pink ribbon terms. But what of those who live daily with the shadow of the disease? This is a book about how that feels. It is about how to die as much as about to how to live; yet it is also life-affirming, funny and shot through with hope.'Life is full of small details that we tuck away somewhere to revisit when we need them most: the calming sound of the sea, that childlike joy when you feel the sun hit your face on an early February morning. These small details knitted together, make up our perfect, ordinary lives. Few understood the importance of these  more than Sarah Hughes, who lived with terminal  metastatic cancer for over three years and who died in April 2021. This book is a celebration of everything that can make up a life, and how to hold it all close: how to cherish the perspective-changing, exhale-bringing perspective of a trashy novel; how to find the upside of chemo (finally being able to fit into flippy french tea dresses); how to explore the intimate topography of a body that's yours and yours alone. For fans of Matt Haig and Maggie O'Farrell, this is a tender word-of-mouth bestseller: the sort of book you'll press into the hands of your friends, family and a stranger in a bookshop.
    Show book
  • The Life of Saint Macrina - cover

    The Life of Saint Macrina

    Gregory of Nyssa

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The poignant biography of Saint Macrina, by her brother, Saint Gregory of Nyssa. (The Reader)“The use of the word "philosophy" to designate Christianity is common in the writings of the fourth century, ... It is employed in a twofold sense, of the Christian religion generally and of asceticism in particular.” (from the 2nd footnote of the narrated text.)
    Show book