Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Eleanore Gray - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Eleanore Gray

Sarah M. Anderson, Goldie Lucas

Publisher: Sarah M. Anderson

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When Dr. Bob Gray drowns, he leaves his young wife, Eleanore, and their three children with a mountain of bills. In 1902, there are few options open to a young widow, so Eleanore takes the scandalous step to relocate her young children to an abandoned farm deep in the Ozark Mountains in Missouri. There, nestled in the verdant Hill country, Eleanore transforms from a delicate housewife to a self-reliant farm woman. 
Eleanore struggles to understand the backward ways of the Hill people. Her brother-in-law, Will Gray, tries to shield her from the rough ways of her neighbors, but Eleanore is done being shielded. She makes it her Christian mission to save two girls everyone else has written off, and in doing so, finds peace with her woman's place in the world. But when Will professes his love, Eleanore finds herself struggling not with the question of what she can do for others, but with what she should do for herself. 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • A Time to Change - cover

    A Time to Change

    Callie Langridge

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An abandoned English manor transports a young woman back to the Edwardian era—where love and danger await—in this time travel romance.East Midlands, England, 2013. The once grand Hill House is now surrounded by a shabby town of pubs and chip shops. As a child, Louisa Arnold was enthralled by the tragic history of its owners, the Mandeville family. Now, when tragedy strikes her own family, Lou seeks comfort in the ruined corridors of Hill House—and is suddenly transported back to Christmas 1913. As a houseguest of the Mandevilles, Lou befriends the eldest son, Captain Thomas Mandeville—a man she knows is destined to die in the First World War. Moving between the present and the past, Lou does everything she can to save the man she loves, unearthing murder and blackmail plots in a desperate race against time.
    Show book
  • All That We Have Lost - cover

    All That We Have Lost

    Suzanne Fortin

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Papa always told us that to be brave doesn't mean you have no fear. It just means you can move forwards in spite of that fear. 
     
    2019. When Imogen Wren's husband dies, she must realise their dream of moving to France on her own. She finds a beautiful abandoned chateau and starts to rebuild her life among its ruins. But she soon notices that the locals won't come near. A dark web of secrets surrounds the house, and it all seems to centre on the war...
     
    1944. Since the moment German troops stepped foot in her village, the sole aim of Simone Varon's life has been to avoid them. Until one soldier begins leaving medicine bottles for her sick brother, and she gets to know the man behind the uniform. Then the Resistance comes calling, and she must choose between love and duty – with devastating consequences that will echo through the decades.
     
    As Imogen restores the chateau, she's determined to uncover the truth – and set to rest the ghosts of the past.
     
    A beautiful and devastating dual timeline novel that spans from occupied France in World War Two, to the war-ravaged chateau in 2019. Perfect for fans of Gill Paul, Lucinda Riley and Lorna Cook. 
     
    Reader love All That We Have Lost! 
     
    'Will truly sweep you away ... I could really imagine the characters. A standout novel and Suzanne Fortin's best yet!' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'It will crush you then revive you ... Absolute stunner of a book!  I hope we will be blessed with many more books by this author' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'An excellent read! I really enjoyed the double time eras and the stories of both modern and WWII kept me enthralled. Such brilliant research and warm characters that brought the French countryside to life' Anne Marie Brear, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Wonderful novel – historical fiction at its best. I really enjoyed the dual timeline the book drew me in kept me reading late into the night ... Highly recommend' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Fabulous read from beginning to end ... Amazing characters who worked  so well together, it really was a story off love and loss in during WW2 ... I want to give nothing away only that I highly recommend ❤' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Brilliant dual timeline historical fiction story ... Hard to put down and five stars from me. I highly recommend' Karen Reads Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'A brilliant read ... This book had it all, part romance, part mystery, throw in intrigue and a little history and you come up with this excellent book ... Heartening and at times heartbreaking story' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    Show book
  • Love at The Ritz - cover

    Love at The Ritz

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    After her father the Earl of Cuttesdale suffers a riding injury, his lovely young daughter Lady Vilma accompanies him to Paris, where they are to stay at a friend's Rue St. Honoré home while he receives treatment from a Parisian expert. Because he is a proud man the Earl wants no one to know he is temporarily disabled – so they travel under one of their lesser-known names, calling themselves Colonel and Miss Crawshaw.
    To Vilma's astonishment the celebrated hotelier Cezar Ritz arrives at their door with a strange request – to borrow some of the house's chandeliers for the hotel. After agreeing to help him, Vilma soon finds herself at The Ritz, where she has an unpleasant encounter with an over-amorous French Comte – and is rescued by a dashing Englishman: the Marquis of Lynworth. 
    Assuming that Vilma is a lowly electrician's assistant, the Marquis is nevertheless taken with her – and soon he is escorting her around Paris, introducing her to all the sights, the restaurants and sophisticated society. And although the handsome Marquis has all London's Society ladies, not to mention the Cocottes of Paris, at his feet – and despite the fact that his mother has promised his hand in marriage to Princess Helgie of Whitenberg – he finds himself bewitched with Vilma. For her part, she too is deeply in love – but how can she tell him now that everything he knows about her is a lie?
    Show book
  • Sharon Sala Suspense Stories - Butterfly Bloodlines Mimosa Grove - cover

    Sharon Sala Suspense Stories -...

    Sharon Sala

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Three romantic suspense novels from the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of the Jigsaw Files novels.Butterfly A tough-as-nails detective is on the case of a murdered celebrity photographer—and hot for the star witness. But as things heat up and they grow closer to each other, the killer grows closer to them . . .Bloodlines When a child’s skeleton is found hidden in a wall, Olivia Sealy’s past resurfaces. Her former sweetheart is the detective assigned to the case, which reminds her of the kidnapping ordeal she underwent as a child. Plus, there is the matter of the kidnapper the police never apprehended . . .Mimosa Grove A Louisiana woman’s gift of second sight leads her to a missing girl, and the mystery man of her dreams . . .“[Sala] spins an intricate tale of treachery and terror.”—RT Book Reviews on Mimosa Grove
    Show book
  • Light of the Gods - cover

    Light of the Gods

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    The lovely Sacha Waverley, the daughter of an impoverished country Vicar, who is a brilliant Greek scholar, is almost as beautiful if in a very demure way as her cousin, Lady Deirdre Lang, who is much more sophisticated and worldly. 
    So when Deirdre visits her at the Vicarage with a very strange request, Sacha finds herself perplexed by her domineering and demanding cousin. 
           For Deidre has fallen in love with Lord Gerrard and is desperate to join him at his house party. The trouble is that she is already secretly engaged to the Duke of Silchester as she longs to be a Duchess and he is very rich and influential.
           Worse still the Duke has been injured in a terrible accident in a gun trap that has left him temporarily blind. And it is clearly Deirdre's duty to go to him at his Scottish Castle to comfort and cheer him up as he has requested her to do.
             Instead Deirdre persuades Sacha to take her place as they are so alike and, although terrified of being exposed as an imposter, she is warmly greeted when she arrives in Scotland as Deidre and does so with aplomb.
             Inspired by her beautiful surroundings of lochs and moorlands she heartens the ailing but handsome Duke and soon she is in love. And he with her. 
             But she is filled with dread of the moment that he regains his sight and can see that she is not who she claims to be!
    Show book
  • A Man with a Past (Brothers in Arms Book #2) - cover

    A Man with a Past (Brothers in...

    Mary Connealy

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Falcon Hunt awakens without a past, or at least not one he can recall. He's got brothers he can't remember, and he's interested in the prettiest woman in the area, Cheyenne. Only trouble is, a few flashes of memory make Falcon wonder if he's already married. He can't imagine abandoning a wife. But his pa did just that--twice. When Falcon claims his inheritance in the West, Cheyenne is cut out of the ranch she was raised on, leaving her bitter and angry. And then Falcon kisses her, adding confusion and attraction to the mix. 
     
    Soon it's clear someone is gunning for the Hunt brothers. When one of his brothers is shot, Falcon and Cheyenne set out to find who attacked him. They encounter rustled cattle, traitorous cowhands, a missing woman, and outlaws that take all their savvy to overcome. As love grows between these two independent people, Falcon must piece together his past if they're to have any chance at a future. 
    Show book