Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Ho! Ho! Ho! Santa Claus' Reading List: 250+ Vintage Christmas Stories Carols Novellas Poems by 120+ Authors - cover

Ho! Ho! Ho! Santa Claus' Reading List: 250+ Vintage Christmas Stories Carols Novellas Poems by 120+ Authors

William Shakespeare, José María de Pereda, Lope de Vega, Charles Dickens, Lewis Carroll, Louisa May Alcott, Robert Ervin Howard, L. Frank Baum, Washington Irving, Mark Twain, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Hans Christian Andersen, Harriet Beecher Stowe, John John, William Makepeace Thackeray, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, O. Henry, Saki Saki, Robert Burns, Robert Louis Stevenson, Eugene Field, Kate Douglas Wiggin, William Dean Howells, Adelaide Ann Procter, John Kendrick Bangs, Robert Browning, Bret Harte, Hesba Stretton, Florence L. Barclay, Lyman Frank Baum, Ella Wheeler Wilcox, Martha Finley, Anton Chekhov, James Whitcomb Riley, Robert Ingersoll, John Greenleaf Whittier, Theodore Parker, Edward Payson Roe, Juliana Horatia Ewing, Hezekiah Butterworth, Paul Laurence Dunbar, S. Weir Mitchell, Thomas Nelson Page, Mary Louisa Molesworth, H.P. Lovecraft, Willa Cather, G.K. Chesterton, Rudyard Kipling, Robert Frost, Henry van Dyke, Sara Teasdale, Kenneth Grahame, Algernon Blackwood, Letitia Elizabeth Landon, Zona Gale, Lucy Maud Montgomery, A. A. Milne, Andy Adams, Arthur Conan Doyle, Grimm Brothers Brothers, Clement Clarke Moore, Berthold Auerbach, William J. Locke, Margery Williams, Laura Lee Hope, Ellis Parker Butler, Mary E. Wilkins Freeman, Stephen Leacock, Elizabeth Anderson, Fyodor Dostoevsky, Fyodor Dostoyevsky, John Masefield, Richmal Crompton, Thomas Chatterton, Eleanor Hallowell Abbott, Beatrix Potter, John Strange Winter, Viktor Rydberg, Katharine Lee Bates, Amy Ella Blanchard, L. M. Montgomery, Alice Duer Miller, Grimm Brothers Brothers, Charles Edward Carryl, Ralph Henry Barbour, Ernest Vincent Wright, Don Marquis, R. L. Stevenson, Meredith Nicholson, George Robert Sims, Newton Booth Tarkington, Evaleen Stein, Thomas Hardy, Jacob August Riis, Montague Rhodes James, Annie Roe Carr, Thomas Hill, Alice Hale Burnett, Banjo Paterson, Elia W. Peattie, William Henry Davies, Nahum Tate, Frank Stockton, Olive Thorne Miller, Dylan Thomas, Anonymous Anonymous, Rose Terry Cooke, Anne Hollingsworth Wharton, Leo Tolstoy, Annie Eliot Trumbull, Santa Claus, John Bowring, Francis Pharcellus Church, Mother Goose, Mrs. W. H. Corning, H. W. Collingwood, Julia Schayer, Margaret E. Sangster, Peter Christen Asbjornsen, Cecil Frances Alexander, Elizabeth Margaret Chandler, George A. Baker, George Augustus Sala, C.H. Mead, Christopher North, Cornelia Redmond, M.E.S

Publisher: OBG Classics

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This holiday, we proudly present to you this unique collection of the greatest Christmas stories. Over 250 of them are included by your favourite authors:Charles Dickens, Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Leo Tolstoy, Willa Cather, Beatrix Potter, Louisa May Alcott, Lucy Maud Montgomery, Hans Christian Andersen, E.T.A. Hoffmann, O. Henry, Mark Twain and many more!

Other books that might interest you

  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • Night Thoughts - cover

    Night Thoughts

    Wallace Shawn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Wallace Shawn is a nationally known actor and playwright with a prolific career spanning nearly four decades. His face, style, and inimitable voice are loved by millions.Shawn's work is treasured for both his comic acting (The Princess Bride) and his often intensely political playwriting. Recently, Shawn's most recent visible acting and voice roles have been on the network drama Gossip Girl, Toy Story 3, and Kung Fu PandaReceiving critical praise from sources as varied as The Los Angeles Times, Heeb, GQ, O: The Oprah Magazine, Democracy Now, The New Yorker, and Women's Wear Daily, the cloth and paper back edition of Essays sold more than 12,000 copies.
    Show book
  • The Ferrante Letters - An Experiment in Collective Criticism - cover

    The Ferrante Letters - An...

    Katherine Hill, Merve Emre,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Like few other works of contemporary literature, Elena Ferrante’s Neapolitan novels found an audience of passionate and engaged readers around the world. Inspired by Ferrante’s intense depiction of female friendship and women’s intellectual lives, four critics embarked upon a project that was both work and play: to create a series of epistolary readings of the Neapolitan Quartet that also develops new ways of reading and thinking together.In a series of intertwined, original, and daring readings of Ferrante’s work and her fictional world, Sarah Chihaya, Merve Emre, Katherine Hill, and Jill Richards strike a tone at once critical and personal, achieving a way of talking about literature that falls between the seminar and the book club. Their letters make visible the slow, fractured, and creative accretion of ideas that underwrites all literary criticism and also illuminate the authors’ lives outside the academy. The Ferrante Letters offers an improvisational, collaborative, and cumulative model for reading and writing with others, proposing a new method the authors call collective criticism. A book for fans of Ferrante and for literary scholars seeking fresh modes of intellectual exchange, The Ferrante Letters offers incisive criticism, insouciant riffs, and the pleasure of giving oneself over to an extended conversation about fiction with friends.
    Show book
  • A Short Philosophy of Birds - cover

    A Short Philosophy of Birds

    Philippe J. Dubois, Elise Rousseau

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “This little book does a beautiful job of inspiring awe for the capacities of birds and applying lessons from their lives to the struggles of humanity” 
       — Wall Street Journal 
     
    “Brilliant, magical and engrossing–I will never see birds the same way again.” 
       — Peter Wohlleben, author of The Hidden Life of Trees 
    THE INTERNATIONAL PHENOMENON 
    Twenty-two short lessons from the secret lives of birds on living harmoniously and reconnecting with nature. 
     
    This charming volume on bird behavior invites us to take a step back from our busy lives and to listen to the tiny philosophers of the sky. From the delicate sparrow to the majestic eagle, birds are among the most fascinating species on earth, and there is much to be learned from these paragons of beauty and grace that can be applied to our lives, including:Independence: what it means to be “pushed out of the nest.”Vulnerability: what the mallard teaches us about giving up our old feathers for new ones in order to fly.Gender equality: what happens when a papa Turtledove sits on the nest.Hierarchy and power: what the raven and the vulture know about the pecking order. 
    Filled with elegant illustrations of bird species, this gem of a book celebrates of our friends in the sky, and what they can teach us about the rhythms of life.
    Show book
  • Letters Like the Day - On Reading Georgia O'Keeffe - cover

    Letters Like the Day - On...

    Jennifer Sinor

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Georgia O’Keeffe mistrusted words. She claimed color as her language. Nevertheless, in the course of her long life, the great American painter wrote thousands of letters—more than two thousand survive between her and her husband, Alfred Stieglitz, alone. Jennifer Sinor’s Letters Like the Day honors O’Keeffe, her modernist landscapes, and, crucially, the value of letter writing. In the painter’s correspondence, we find an intimacy with words that is all her own. Taking her letters as a touchstone, Sinor experiments with the limits of language using the same aesthetic that drove O’Keeffe’s art. Through magnification, cropping, and juxtaposition—hallmarks of modernism—Sinor explores the larger truths at the center of O’Keeffe’s work: how we see, capture, and create. Letters Like the Day pursues the highest function of art—to take one’s medium to the edge and then push beyond.
    Show book
  • Boys Will Be Boys - cover

    Boys Will Be Boys

    Clementine Ford

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Fearless feminist Clementine Ford’s incendiary first book, Fight Like A Girl, is taking the world by storm, galvanizing women to demand and fight for real equality and not merely the illusion of it.  Now Boys Will Be Boys examines what needs to change for that equality to become a reality. It answers the question most asked of Clementine: "How do I raise my son to respect women and give them equal space in the world? How do I make sure he's a supporter and not a perpetrator?"  Ford demolishes the age-old assumption that superiority and aggression are natural realms for boys, and demonstrates how toxic masculinity creates a disturbingly limited and potentially dangerous idea of what it is to be a man. Crucially, Boys Will Be Boys reveals how the patriarchy we live in is as harmful to boys and men as it is to women and girls, and asks what we have to do to reverse that damage. The world needs to — this book shows the way.
    Show book