Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Orwell's Luck - cover

Orwell's Luck

Richard W. Jennings

Publisher: Clarion Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When a wounded wild rabbit is found in the front yard, he is given a good home and a memorable name by a twelve-year-old with a liking for basketball, the trombone, and the newspaper’s daily horoscope. But Orwell is no ordinary rabbit. It soon seems that he is attempting to reward his young caretaker by mysteriously sending coded messages in the form of predictions: the final score of the Super Bowl, advance notice of a pop quiz at school, tomorrow’s winning lottery number! Can this little rabbit foretell the future? Can Orwell actually make luck happen? Here is a magical and heartwarming story about kindness, friendship, and hope in the shadow of fortune’s ever-turning wheel.
Available since: 04/12/2006.
Print length: 168 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Bo and the Night Intruder - cover

    Bo and the Night Intruder

    Lynn Sheffield Simmons

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Lynn Sheffield Simmons hits another home run in storytelling with her latest book Bo and the Night Intruder.”  —Pete Incaviglia  Bo’s undisciplined mischief has landed him and his owner, Mrs. Barnett, in the vet’s office—twice. Now in a splint and a special funnel-shaped collar, Bo is finally learning obedience. He even helps a new restaurant owner, the famous baseball player Pete Incaviglia, discover who has been breaking in and destroying the kitchen at night.  This is not the first time Bo’s accidents and antics have ended up assisting police. In earlier Bo books, such as Bo, the Famous Retriever and Bo and the Missing Dogs, this bright and reliable labrador retriever manages to find clues in the most unlikely ways. In this adventure, Bo uncovers local importation of illegal aliens and saves a restaurant—and its valuable sports memorabilia—from destruction.
    Show book
  • Michael Le Soufflé and the April Fool - cover

    Michael Le Soufflé and the April...

    Peter Welling

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “[A] slapstick story about the possible origin of April Fools’ Day” from the award-winning author of Shawn O’Hisser, the Last Snake in Ireland (Booklist).   Once upon a time in 1564, Charles IX, the king of France, ruled that the first day of the year would be January 1 instead of April 1. Those who forgot the change and celebrated New Year’s Day on April 1 were ridiculed by having fish thrown at them.   In the skilled hands of Peter Welling, this history takes on a hilarious dimension. In the French town of Bakonneggs, there exists a rivalry between the Mayor Melon de Plume, a pig, and a prankster rooster, Michael Le Soufflé. The mayor lacks a sense of humor and is annoyed to be disturbed from his slumber by Michael’s crowing laughter. He issues new laws (including a ban on all feathers), but the town continues, under the rooster’s leadership, to laugh and play.   Then one day, Michael posts a law, signed by the king, on the official oak tree: New Year’s Day will no longer be April 1. Melon rebels, and when he still celebrates April 1 as New Year’s Day, the king orders that he be pelted with fish until he comes to his senses. Undaunted, Melon scoops up the fallen fish and hosts a big party, starting an annual day of celebration we now know as April Fools’ Day.   Populated by a menagerie of animals and creatures real and imagined, including a crafty crew of gargoyles, Michael Le Soufflé and the April Fool is sure to keep readers young and old coming back to discover new laughs on every page.
    Show book
  • The Death-Defying Pepper Roux - cover

    The Death-Defying Pepper Roux

    Geraldine McCaughrean

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Pepper's fourteenth birthday is a momentous one.It's the day he's supposed to die.Everyone seems resigned to it—even Pepper, although he would much prefer to live. But can you sidestep Fate? Jump sideways into a different life? Naïve and trusting, Pepper sets a course through dangerous waters, inviting disaster and mayhem at every turn, one eye on the sky for fear of angels, one on the magnificent possibilities of being alive.New York Times bestselling and Printz Award-winning author GeraldineMcCaughrean has created a gripping tale filled with dark humor and daringescapades, where the key to a boy's lifelies in facing his own death.Join him on the run—if you can keep up.
    Show book
  • Cul-de-Sac Kids Collection Two - Books 7-12 - cover

    Cul-de-Sac Kids Collection Two -...

    Beverly Lewis

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Cul-de-Sac Kids is a lighthearted chapter-book series for young readers written by the talented Beverly Lewis. Each book centers on the often-humorous escapades of these endearing neighborhood friends as they learn together the value of friendship and faith. An enjoyable read for both parents and kids!  Volume Two features The Stinky Sneakers Mystery, Pickle Pizza, Mailbox Mania, The Mudhole Mystery, Fiddlesticks, and The Crabby Cat Caper.
    Show book
  • Jude's Moon - cover

    Jude's Moon

    Nancy Guettier

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Nighttime is the best time for a boy and his best friend in this charming tale from the author of Circus in the Sky and Mermaids on Mars.  Jude’s Moon is a delightful story of a little boy who is fascinated by the moon. He believes he is the only one who can see it, so he is always so excited to point it out to his mom. “There’s the moon!” he shouts with glee every time he sees it. One day Jude is confused when the moon changes shape. He thinks someone has stolen his moon and replaced it with a croissant. When he learns it is a crescent moon, he is even more curious to learn how it changes shapes. This story is a fun and easy way to educate children on the phases of the moon.   “I recommend this book to kids that love science, teachers that want to teach their class about moon phases and parents that love to read with their kids.” —5 Girls Book Reviews   “In Jude’s Moon, Jude loves the moon so much that he believes he is the one who hung it in the sky. Throughout the story, Jude examines the phases of the moon, as well as fun facts about the sun.” —MySocialGoodNews.com  
    Show book
  • The Princess Curse - cover

    The Princess Curse

    Merrie Haskell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Merrie Haskell’s middle-grade fantasy novel Princess Curse is an imaginative retelling of the fairy tales The Twelve Dancing Princesses and Beauty and the Beast. In the fifteenth-century kingdom of Sylvania, the prince offers a fabulous reward to anyone who cures the curse that forces the princesses to spend each night dancing to the point of exhaustion. Everyone who tries disappears or falls into an enchanted sleep. Thirteen-year-old Reveka, a smart, courageous herbalist’s apprentice, decides to attempt to break the curse despite the danger. Unravelling the mystery behind the curse leads Reveka to the Underworld, and to save the princesses, Reveka will have to risk her soul. Princess Curse combines magic, suspense, humor, and adventure into a story perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine.
    Show book