Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Handbook for Dragon Slayers - cover

Handbook for Dragon Slayers

Merrie Haskell

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When a bookish princess goes on the run, she discovers her inner strength—and a talent for slaying dragons—in this middle-grade fantasy adventure.  
 
Political upheaval sends thirteen-year-old Princess Tilda fleeing from her kingdom in the company of two hopeful dragon slayers. The princess never had any interest in chasing dragons. The pain from her crippled foot was too great, and her dream was to write a book. 
 
But now the princess finds herself making friends with magical horses, facing the Wild Hunt, and pointing a sword at the fire-breathing creatures. While doing things she never imagined, Tilda finds qualities in herself she never knew she possessed. Handbook for Dragon Slayers is a satisfying coming-of-age tale wrapped in a magical adventure story.
Available since: 05/28/2013.
Print length: 341 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Speed Demon - cover

    Speed Demon

    Fred Bowen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A high school athlete must choose between track and football in this novel—perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green—by the author of Perfect Game.Ninth-grader Tim Beeman is eager to find his place at his elite new school. When he breaks the record for the fifty-yard dash during the first week of classes, he reveals his special talent: speed. Before long, the track and football teams are both urging him to join their ranks. But where will he feel most comfortable, and be able to put his running skills to best use?Tim is torn. He would definitely be an asset to the track team, but he’s drawn to the more prestigious football program. He’s eager to join such a popular group and feels he has a lot to offer them, but he can’t shake a lingering fear of being injured. How can Tim make the most of his talents and at the same time satisfy his own needs?In Speed Demon, Fred Bowen, author and Washington Post KidsPost sports columnist, tackles relatable dual-athlete issues like making choices and maintaining friendships, meanwhile offering a serious exploration of the topic of player safety.Discussion Guide available
    Show book
  • Mermaids On Mars - cover

    Mermaids On Mars

    Nancy Guettier

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A captivating, eco-conscious story about water-wasting mermaids—and the basis for the award-winning, stop-motion animated short film.  Mermaids on Mars is a sweet tale that educates children on the importance of water conservation. Beautifully illustrated, it includes simple water-saving tips that our Martian mermaid friends want to share with kids all over the world—after ignoring them on their own home planet and learning a most important lesson. Their story and their wisdom will help everyone save Earth’s most precious resource.   “A whimsical story about mermaids—when they lived on Mars. Mermaids thrived in Mars’ crater pools and used up all of the water resources, splashing around. Thanks to a very cool rocket ship, the mermaids traveled to Earth and settled in our oceans. Mermaids also helps children learn the importance of water conservation.” —MySocialGoodNews.com   “Author Nancy Guettier teaches a valuable lesson to children to cherish the resources around them and to use and consume wisely. It’s a perfect lesson for the modern child. Illustrator Tina Cash-Walsh draws beautifully and will captivate the reader.” —TheBabySpot.ca   “This book helps explain that we don’t need to excessively waste water when going potty or when brushing our teeth . . . We love the bright colors and whimsical illustrations in this book.” —The Naptime Reviewer   “I applaud Nancy Guettier for writing books that have an educational bent to them. Any book that teaches conservation to kids definitely has a leg up on the competition in my mind. Mermaids on Mars is definitely a solid kids book with a good lesson behind it.” —Sci-Fi & Scary
    Show book
  • I Love the Rain - cover

    I Love the Rain

    Margaret Park Bridges

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “The author and artist have created both a concrete and an interpretive vision that captures the delight of childhood and an appreciation for nature.” —School Library Journal   Molly hates rainy days. The gray sky, the soggy wait for the school bus, they seem to make everyone grumpy. Everyone except her friend Sophie, who shows Molly the magic she has been missing.   The simple, poetic language in this lovely book takes readers on a journey from the girls’ first tentative steps into the drizzle to a rain-drenched romp in a puddle. The lyrical text is perfectly matched by the joyful watercolor paintings, which capture not only the color and beauty of a rainy day, but the warm interactions of the girls’ blossoming friendship. An exuberant homage to finding pleasure where it’s unexpected, the power of imagination, and the joys of friendship, I Love the Rain will have readers singing, “Sun, sun, go away!”  “Davenier’s watercolor-and-pencil illustrations . . . beautifully capture a girl’s transformation from drooping depression to high-spirited joy with just a few swooping lines. Teachers and parents will want this to liven up gloomy, rainy-day story hours or to start discussions about moods and feelings: the spare text’s lively dialogue will read well to a crowd.” —Booklist
    Show book
  • Ko Tāwhaki-nui-a-hema - Ana Mahi Whakahirahira - cover

    Ko Tāwhaki-nui-a-hema - Ana Mahi...

    Hirini Moko Mead

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This is the Māori language edition of Tāwhaki: The Deeds of a Demigod. The book recalls the miraculous life of Tāwhaki. Similar to Māui, Tāwhaki was a demigod who possessed mighty powers. Tāwhaki almost died at the hands of his brothers-in-law but was found by his wife Hine-piripiri and revived. This near-death experience revealed Tāwhaki's status as a demigod, and from this point Tāwhaki continued to use his powers and gifts to help those around him in ways no human could. This book explores many of these stories, including those of Tāwhaki restoring sight to his blind grandmother and climbing the heavens to find his wife and child.
    Show book
  • Know-It-Alls! Horses - cover

    Know-It-Alls! Horses

    Dennis Shaely

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    As part of the unique, science Know-It-Alls! Series that features stunning covers and engaging text, this book puts the spotlight on Horses! Did you know that horses, zebras and donkeys are all related? They belong to the same animal family that scientists call Equidae. Find out why horses can sleep standing up and other fun facts about these amazing animals. Awesome life-like illustrations and informative stat boxes, filled with interesting facts, make this 24-page book fun and exciting for young science enthusiasts age 4 and up! Titles in the Know-It-Alls! Series include: Butterflies, Crocodiles, Dinosaurs, Farm Animals, Safari Babies, Snakes, Sharks, Spiders, Whales, Wolves, Puppies, Wild Cats, Bugs, Birds of Prey, Fish, Frogs, Apes, Seals, Bats, Bears, Predators, Mummies, Volcanoes, Lizards, Kittens and Horses.
    Show book
  • Left or Right - Where's Eddie? - cover

    Left or Right - Where's Eddie?

    Daniel Nunn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Books in the Hide and Seek series provide an entertaining introduction to some of the words that tell us where things are. This book looks at “Left” and “Right”, and features an animal character called Eddie the Elephant who is playing hide-and-seek. On each spread, Eddie is hiding using one of the two opposite words featured in the book’s title, and the reader is asked to find him. The fun, cartoon-like design combined with the interactive “hide-and-seek” approach makes these books visually appealing for young readers and great to read aloud together.
    Show book