Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Girl Who Cried Diamonds & Other Stories - cover

The Girl Who Cried Diamonds & Other Stories

Rebecca Hirsch Garcia

Publisher: ECW Press

  • 0
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

“Bridging tenderness and violence, and brimming with danger and magic, The Girl Who Cried Diamonds will leave you breathless.” — Anuja Varghese, author of Chrysalis
		 
“In these 14 hard-edged and unapologetic stories, debut author Garcia tackles topics ranging from human trafficking and drug abuse to eating disorders and middle-age angst, and in no-frills prose, carves out bizarre and palpable realities, breathing strange life into a horde of depressed, deprived, and abused characters.” — Publishers Weekly
		 
The boundaries between realist and fabulist, literary and speculative, are shattered in this remarkable debut collection for readers of Carmen Maria Machado, André Alexis, and Angélique Lalonde 
A girl born in a small, unnamed pueblo is blessed—or cursed—with the ability to produce valuable gems from her bodily fluids. A tired wife and mother escapes the confines of her oppressive life and body by shapeshifting into a cloud. A girl reckons with the death of her father and her changing familial dynamics while slowly, mysteriously losing her physical senses.
		 
Infused with keen insight and presented in startling prose, the stories in this dark, magnetic collection by newcomer Rebecca Hirsch Garcia invite the reader into an uncanny world out of step with reality while exploring the personal and interpersonal in a way that is undeniably, distinctly human.
Available since: 10/03/2023.
Print length: 208 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Christmas Carol - In Prose Being a Ghost Story of Christmas - cover

    A Christmas Carol - In Prose...

    Charles Dickens

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ebenezer Scrooge runs a tight shop with a tight fist and a sharp tongue. On Christmas Eve, he is visited by the ghost of his old partner, Jacob Marley. Marley relates that in order for Scrooge’s soul to be reclaimed, he must be haunted by three spirits. The first of the three appear, and Scrooge’s reclamation begins. 
     
    This unabridged edition of the Christmas classic was recorded by B.J. Harrison in 2018.
    Show book
  • I Call Upon Thee - cover

    I Call Upon Thee

    Ania Ahlborn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Maggie Olsen had a pretty ordinary childhood-swimming and sleepovers, movie nights and dad jokes. But then there were the other things...the darker things...the shadow that followed her home from the cemetery and settled into the corners of her home, refusing to let her grow up in peace. Now, after three years of being away from the place she's convinced she inadvertently haunted, and after yet another family tragedy strikes, Maggie is forced to return to the sweltering heat of a Savannah summer to come to terms with her past. All along, she's been telling herself it was just in your head, and she'd nearly convinced herself that she'd imagined it all. But the moment Maggie steps into the foyer of her family home, she knows. The darkness is still there. And it's been waiting for Maggie's return...
    Show book
  • The Bogganobbi Extinction #3 - The Tooth Hurts - cover

    The Bogganobbi Extinction #3 -...

    Rep Tyler, Mitch Hertz

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    On Saturday 22nd October 2016, the township of Bogganobbi NSW was completely destroyed in an event that saw the greatest loss of Australian life since WWI... and there was a protest
    Show book
  • The Haunting at Hawke's Moor - A Victorian paranormal romance - cover

    The Haunting at Hawke's Moor - A...

    Camille Oster

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Victorian London shows little mercy when divorce leaves Anne Kinelly destitute and abandoned by her husband. Her bleak future is avoided when the merciful actions of her solicitor results in a stroke of luck, finding a house forgotten and left in probate by previous generations. The desolate moors of Yorkshire is to be her home as she tries to revive an abandoned house where the wind whispers around the window sills. 
    Before long, Anne discovers that the warnings given to her by the people in the area may be more than the superstitious nonsense. As the brutal history of the house and its founder, Richard Hawke, reveals itself, Anne discovers that there may be more entities in the house than just herself and her maid.
    Show book
  • Camp Firwood - cover

    Camp Firwood

    Boris Bacic

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    If the counselors of Camp Firwood send you into the woods, you're as good as dead. 
    When the rebellious teenager Kevin gets sent to a summer camp by his parents, he initially has no idea what's in store for him. Every two weeks, the camp organizes an event called The Trial. The campers all dread it. They don't want to spend the night in the woods with the Firwood Wraith roaming around. And the more they misbehave, the higher the chances they'll be chosen. 
    By the time Kevin realizes what Camp Firwood really is, he is trapped - and every week, more and more campers go missing.
    Show book
  • The Shadow over Innsmouth - cover

    The Shadow over Innsmouth

    Howard Phillips Lovecraft

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Terrible tales are told of Innsmouth, a once prosperous fishing village, but now poverty-stricken. The cause of the degradation is blamed on an epidemic that came from a ship and mercilessly struck the town. However, evil tongues speak of pacts with the devil. Few people venture to travel to the village, as many foreigners have not returned after traveling to Innsmouth. Nevertheless, the protagonist of this story, a traveler in search of his family origins, is attracted to the town and decides to visit it on his way to his final destination. But, to his misfortune, he is forced to spend the night in the town. Will he be prepared to learn the town's macabre secrets?
    Show book