Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Girl Who Cried Diamonds & Other Stories - cover

The Girl Who Cried Diamonds & Other Stories

Rebecca Hirsch Garcia

Publisher: ECW Press

  • 0
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

“Bridging tenderness and violence, and brimming with danger and magic, The Girl Who Cried Diamonds will leave you breathless.” — Anuja Varghese, author of Chrysalis
		 
“In these 14 hard-edged and unapologetic stories, debut author Garcia tackles topics ranging from human trafficking and drug abuse to eating disorders and middle-age angst, and in no-frills prose, carves out bizarre and palpable realities, breathing strange life into a horde of depressed, deprived, and abused characters.” — Publishers Weekly
		 
The boundaries between realist and fabulist, literary and speculative, are shattered in this remarkable debut collection for readers of Carmen Maria Machado, André Alexis, and Angélique Lalonde 
A girl born in a small, unnamed pueblo is blessed—or cursed—with the ability to produce valuable gems from her bodily fluids. A tired wife and mother escapes the confines of her oppressive life and body by shapeshifting into a cloud. A girl reckons with the death of her father and her changing familial dynamics while slowly, mysteriously losing her physical senses.
		 
Infused with keen insight and presented in startling prose, the stories in this dark, magnetic collection by newcomer Rebecca Hirsch Garcia invite the reader into an uncanny world out of step with reality while exploring the personal and interpersonal in a way that is undeniably, distinctly human.
Available since: 10/03/2023.
Print length: 208 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Collected Public Domain Poems of Wallace Stevens Volume 2 - cover

    Collected Public Domain Poems of...

    Wallace Stevens

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A collection of Wallace Stevens poems written before 1923.These poems originally appeared in a variety of magazines (Others, Rogue, The Soil, The Modern School, Broom, Contact, The New Republic, The Measure, The Little Review, The Dial, and particularly in Poetry: A Magazine of Verse.) Nearly 70 of the 101 published poems were later collected in Stevens' first published collection of poems, Harmonium.  (Summary by Alan Davis Drake & Ruth Golding)Proof-listening by Winston Tharp, Hanna1990 and Ruth Golding.Volume 1 of this collection may be found at http://librivox.org/the-complete-public-domain-poems-of-wallace-stevens-volume-1-of-2/.
    Show book
  • The Short Storeis of Hugh Walpole - cover

    The Short Storeis of Hugh Walpole

    Hugh Walpole

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Sir Hugh Seymour Walpole, CBE was born in Auckland, New Zealand, on March 13th, 1884.  
     
    His father was an Anglican clergyman which involved postings abroad.  Walpole’s early educated was by a Governess until, in 1893, his parents decided he needed a better education and the young boy was sent to England. 
     
    He first attended a preparatory school in Truro followed by Sir William Borlase's Grammar School in Marlow in 1895, where he was bullied, frightened and miserable.  
     
    The following year, 1897, the Walpole’s returned to England and Walpole became a day boy at Durham School. His refuge was the local library and its books.   
     
    From 1903 to 1906 Walpole studied history at Emmanuel College, Cambridge and there, in 1905, had his first work published, the critical essay "Two Meredithian Heroes".  
     
    Walpole was also attempting to cope with and come to terms with his homosexual feelings and to find “that perfect friend”.  
     
    After a short spell tutoring in Germany and then teaching French at Epsom in 1908 he immersed himself in the literary world. In London, he became a book reviewer for The Standard and wrote fiction in his spare time. In 1909, he published his first novel, ‘The Wooden Horse’ followed, in 1911, by ‘Mr. Perrin and M.r Traill’.  In early 1914 Henry James, in an article for The Times Literary Supplement, ranked Walpole among the finest of the younger British novelists. 
     
    As war approached, Walpole’s poor eyesight disqualified him from service and so he worked, based in Moscow, reporting for The Saturday Review and The Daily Mail. Although he visited the front in Poland, his dispatches failed to stop comments that he was not ‘doing his bit’ for the war effort.  
     
    Walpole was ready with a counter; an appointment as a Russian officer, in the Sanitary. He explained they were “part of the Red Cross that does the rough work at the front, carrying men out of the trenches, helping at the base hospitals in every sort of way, doing every kind of rough job”. 
     
    During a skirmish in June 1915 Walpole rescued a wounded soldier; his Russian comrades refused to help and this meant Walpole had to carry one end of a stretcher, dragging the man to safety. He was awarded the Cross of Saint George.  For his wartime work, he was later awarded the CBE in 1918. 
     
    After hostilities ended Walpole continued to write and publish and began a career on the highly lucrative lecture tour in the United States. 
     
    In 1924 Walpole met Harold Cheevers, who soon became his constant companion and remained for the rest of his life; “that perfect friend”.  
     
    Hollywoods MGM studios, invited him in 1934 to write the script for a film of David Copperfield. Walpole also had a small acting role in the film.  
     
    In 1937 Walpole was offered a knighthood and accepted although Kipling, Hardy, Galsworthy had all refused. “I'm not of their class... Besides I shall like being a knight," he said. 
     
    His health was plagued by diabetes, made worse by the frenetic pace of his life.  
     
    Sir Hugh Seymour Walpole, CBE, died of a heart attack at his home at Brackenburn, on June 1st, 1941. He was 57.
    Show book
  • Claude Gueux - cover

    Claude Gueux

    Victor Hugo

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Victor Marie Hugo was born on 26th February 1802 in Besançon, France.   
     
    There can be no doubt that Hugo is ranked as the greatest of French authors and poets. In addition to this he fought against social injustice throughout his life and from his frequent elections to the French Assembly. 
     
    Hugo published his first novel, Han d’Islande (1823), the year after his marriage and so began an immense canon of fiction and poetry not only for France but to World literature.  
     
    He was elected to the Académie Française in 1841 and the same year came a peerage and entrance to the Higher Chamber as a pair de France, where he spoke against the death penalty, social injustice and in favour of press freedom.  
       
    In the years leading up to the Revolution of 1848 Hugo began to lean towards Republicanism and greater freedoms.  With the formation of the Second Republic, he was again elected to the Assembly. 
     
    When Napoleon III seized power in 1851, and established an anti-parliamentary constitution, Hugo openly declared him a traitor to France. This, of course, meant exile where he remained until 1870.  In exile he published his greatest work ‘Les Misérables’, and further widely honoured collections of poetry. 
     
    Returning home he was again elected to the National Assembly and the Senate.  It was the time of the Franco-Prussian war and with Paris under siege and food ever more scarce, he wrote in his diary that he was now "eating the unknown". 
     
    Later he was instrumental in strengthening the rights of artists and copyright, steps which led to the international protections of the Berne Convention.  
     
    Victor Hugo died on 22nd May 1885, aged 83.    
     
    In ‘Claude Gueux’ one prisoner dares to challenge a system and its cruel Governor who takes away his only friend purely out of spite.  The consequences are appalling.
    Show book
  • And I Do Not Forgive You - Stories and Other Revenges - cover

    And I Do Not Forgive You -...

    Amber Sparks

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Feminism fuels fantasy in this genre-busting collection by "master of the fantastic" (Roxane Gay) Amber Sparks. 
    Exciting fans of such writers as Kelly Link, Karen Russell, and Carmen Maria Machado with prose that shimmers and stings, Amber Sparks holds a singular role in the canon of the weird. Now, she reaches new, uncanny heights with And I Do Not Forgive You. 
    In "Mildly Happy, With Moments of Joy," a friend is ghosted by a simple text message; in "Everyone's a Winner at Meadow Park," a teen precariously coming of age in a trailer park befriends an actual ghost. At once humorous and unapologetically fierce, these stories shine an interrogating light on the adage that "history likes to lie about women"—as the subjects of "A Short and Speculative History of Lavoisier's Wife" and "You Won't Believe What Really Happened to the Sabine Women" (it's true, you won't) will attest. Blending fairy tales and myths with apocalyptic technologies, all tethered intricately by shades of rage, And I Do Not Forgive You offers a mosaic of an all-too-real world that fails to listen to its silenced goddesses.
    Show book
  • Tess of the d'Urbervilles - cover

    Tess of the d'Urbervilles

    Thomas Hardy

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When Tess Durbeyfield is driven by family poverty to claim kinship with the wealthy D'Urbervilles and seek a portion of their family fortune, meeting her 'cousin' Alec proves to be her downfall. A very different man, Angel Clare, seems to offer her love and salvation, but Tess must choose whether to reveal her past or remain silent in the hope of a peaceful future.
    Show book
  • The Secret Adversary - cover

    The Secret Adversary

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Tommy Beresford and Prudence 'Tuppence' Cowley are young, in love… and flat broke. Just after Great War, there are few jobs available and the couple are desperately short of money. Restless for excitement, they decide to embark on a daring business scheme: Young Adventurers Ltd.—"willing to do anything, go anywhere." Hiring themselves out proves to be a smart move for the couple. In their first assignment for the mysterious Mr. Whittingtont, all Tuppence has to do in their first job is take an all-expense paid trip to Paris and pose as an American named Jane Finn. But with the assignment comes a bribe to keep quiet, a threat to her life, and the disappearance of her new employer. Now their newest job are playing detective.Where is the real Jane Finn? The mere mention of her name produces a very strange reaction all over London. So strange, in fact, that they decided to find this mysterious missing lady. She has been missing for five years. And neither her body nor the secret documents she was carrying have ever been found. Now post-war England's economic recovery depends on finding her and getting the papers back. But he two young working undercover for the British ministry know only that her name and the only photo of her is in the hands of her rich American cousin. It isn't long before they find themselves plunged into more danger than they ever could have imagined—a danger that could put an abrupt end to their business… and their lives
    Show book