Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Black Cat Weekly #138 - cover

Black Cat Weekly #138

Hal Charles, Michael Mallory, Arthur B. Reeve, Tony Rothman, Bryce Walton, Robert F. Young, Evelyn E. Smith, Damon Knight, Eve Fisher, Al Reynolds

Publisher: Black Cat Weekly

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

    This issue, we have original mysteries from Eve Fisher (courtesy of Acquiring Editor Michael Bracken), Tony Rothman, and Michael Mallory (courtesy of Acquiring Editor Barb Goffman), plus a classic novel from Arthur B. Reeve (one of his Craig Kennedy scientific detective series). And, of course, we have a solve-it-yourself puzzler from Hal Charles.
 
   On the science fiction side, we 6 tales instead of our usual 5—largely because Robert F. Young’s is a short-short. Classic stories come from William Morrison, F.L. Wallace, Evelyn E. Smith, and Bryce Walton & Al Reynolds (a collaboration). A novella from Grand Master Damon Knight rounds things out.
 
Here’s the complete lineup—
 
Mysteries / Suspense / Adventure:“At the Dig,” by Eve Fisher [Michael Bracken Presents short story]“A Well-Kept Secret,” by Hal Charles [Solve-It-Yourself Mystery]“Method for Murder,” by Michael Mallory [Barb Goffman Presents short story]“Calendar Girl,” by Tony Rothman [novella]The Adventuress, by Arthur B. Reeve [novel, Craig Kennedy series]
 
Science Fiction & Fantasy:“No Star’s Land,” by William Morrison [short story]“The Space Roc,” by Robert F. Young [short-short story]“Too Close to the Forest,” by Bryce Walton and Al Reynolds [short story]“The Deadly Ones,” by F.L. Wallace [short story]“Woman’s Touch,” by Evelyn E. Smith [short story]“The Earth Quarter,” by Damon Knight [novella]
Available since: 04/20/2024.
Print length: 575 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Saint? No! I'm Just a Passing Beast Tamer! Volume 3 - cover

    Saint? No! I'm Just a Passing...

    Inumajin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For centuries, the world has been ruled in secret by a conspiracy of alien gods, seeking to harvest the souls of humanity for sustenance. They had wielded both the Holy Church and the Demon King freely, perpetuating strife between humans and magic beasts for their own twisted ends. But something has gone wrong. A girl, powerful enough to challenge the gods themselves, has been thwarting their plans one after another, assembling a team of powerful beings and even founding a new religion, threatening to steal their much-needed faith! Who is Kanata Aldezia, and what does she want? What passion or principle could have driven her to obtain such strength?
     
    The answer, of course, is simple—the fluff! Kanata doesn’t care for power one way or another, and she certainly has no intention of thwarting the gods’ wicked designs. She’s happy as long as she has fluffy critters to pet, and with Zaggy and Fen-fen now in the party, she’s on a keen lookout for a third. Maybe in that ruined castle?
    Show book
  • Villainess Level 99: I May Be the Hidden Boss but I'm Not the Demon Lord Act 2 (Light Novel) - cover

    Villainess Level 99: I May Be...

    Satori Tanabata

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Despite the rocky start to her life at the Academy, Yumiella Dolkness has safely managed to graduate, and now she’s on to the next chapter of her life—stepping into her new role as countess! Yumiella’s determined to learn how to properly manage Dolkness County, her family’s estate, but she soon finds there’s quite a lot of work that needs to be done. Decades of neglect from her parents have left the county in shambles, and now it’s up to her to whip things back into shape!
     
    Yet, even beyond that, Yumiella’s life isn’t all fun and games. Back in the Royal Capital, a group of corrupt aristocrats have begun to push for the second prince, Prince Edwin, to succeed Valschein’s throne, and they appear to be planning something even more sinister behind the scenes...
     
    Still, whether she’s dealing with a mysterious shadow group or problems with her county, Yumiella will handle it in the same way she always does—by using her level 99 strength!
    Show book
  • Bearly Over - Bear Shapeshifter Menage Billionaire Romance - cover

    Bearly Over - Bear Shapeshifter...

    Selina Coffey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Enjoy this steamy menage bear shifter series by bestselling paranormal romance author Selina Coffey!
    
    Ivy has no friends, no job that she cares about and encounters loneliness that she never knew before. To compound the issue, she’s being stalked by a man who doesn’t take no for an answer. 
    
    Tougher, wiser and determined to take care of herself, she doesn’t ask for help from anyone, but a few unlikely characters come to her aid when she least expects it.
    
    And speaking of expectations, the men, the bear shifters, that she so desperately tried to leave are now back and insisting Ivy let them back into her life. But ultimately is a life with Winslow or Hollis what Ivy really wants? 
    
    However, before she gets a chance to decide, she must first find a way not to die.
    
    Discover the ultimate steamy romance with our menage billionaire bear shifter novel! Enter a realm where primal instincts collide, and boundaries are shattered as the men's insatiable lust for an alluring outsider breaks all the rules. Brace yourself for an electrifying journey of love, lust, and undeniable temptation!
    
     The reading order of this series is as follows:
    1. Shift Quickie
    2. 2 Hard To Bear
    3. Bearly Over
    
    This is an adult only menage steamy short story, appealing to readers who love fated mates, reverse harem romance, forbidden and sizzling hot romances with a twist. Perfect for fans of Kresley Cole, Thea Harrison, Sherilee Gray, Evangeline Anderson and Donna Grant.
    Show book
  • Bear Mate - A FREE Bear Shifter Paranormal Short Story Romance - cover

    Bear Mate - A FREE Bear Shifter...

    Selina Coffey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Enjoy this FREE steamy paranormal series starter by bestselling romance author Selina Coffey!
    
    A circle of friends is a thing to cherish.
    For Tessa Johnson a summer trip to the Blue Ridge Mountains of Northern Georgia is just the thing to take the edge off of a rough year and what has turned out to be a very tumultuous time for one of her friends.
    She has no idea she’s heading straight into fate and a world she’s only ever dreamed of.
    And her friends are coming with her.
    A string of mistakes leads to some very interesting interactions with the very stoic Hale Masters.
    Tessa can’t keep her eyes off him, and the promise of excitement and passion that flares in his eyes makes her school-teacher heart beat.
    He makes her want to let her hair down but she holds back.
    Would such a rich man be interested in her when her two beautiful best friends are far more his type?
    Or is she wrong and she’s just what the Alpha male has been looking for? Tessa finds herself conflicted and lost but with her friends around, encouragement to break her own rules is never far.
    Letting go is a hard thing to do but Tessa wants to give Hale all he asks for and more.
    An emergency at home changes her plans however and Tessa takes it as the answer she’s been seeking. But is it really the one she wanted?
    
    Discover a Sizzling Adventure: Join our Intrepid Heroine on a Hike, Where Unseen Desires Meet Sexy Bear Shifters! Embrace a Shifter Romance like No Other!
    
    The books in this series include:
    1. Bear Mate (Story of Tessa)
    2. Bear Babe (Story of Cora)
    3. Bear Date (Story of Kaia)
    
    This is an adult only steamy paranormal romance quick read, appealing to readers who love fated mates, shifter romance and sizzling hot romances with a twist. Perfect for fans of Lara Adrian, Alisa Woods, Renee Rose, Charlene Hart, and Evangeline Anderson. 
    Show book
  • Beatless: Volume 1 - cover

    Beatless: Volume 1

    Satoshi Hase

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Boy meets girl... you know how it goes. But while the boy (Arato) might be a typical 17-year-old, the girl (Lacia) is a beautiful android equipped with an enormous black device that defies human understanding.Set 100 years from now, BEATLESS depicts a familiar yet futuristic vision of Japan in which society is run by incredibly human-looking robots, known as hIE. Most people regard them as mere convenient tools. Yet some hIE–like Lacia–now appear bearing technology that far surpasses anything regular humans can produce.Humans and ultra-advanced artificial beings: who is the master and who is the servant? Who made Lacia, and what ties her fate together with Arato? Bewildered by the turmoil of danger and mystery that Lacia brings into his life, Arato will find himself forced to make choices with profound implications not just for himself, but for all of humanity.
    Show book
  • My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Lead to Doom! Volume 12 (Light Novel) - cover

    My Next Life as a Villainess:...

    Satoru Yamaguchi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After reincarnating as the villainess of the otome game Fortune Lover and spending the last ten years dodging Catastrophic Bad Ends, Katarina Claes believed she was finally in the clear... Alas, the game has a sequel.
     
    Katarina was looking forward to a peaceful career at the Magical Ministry, interspersed with sunny days spent tilling the earth of her vegetable garden—but fate has now brought her new potential Bad Ends and an array of new powers befitting a villainess. The latest threat emerges in the form of a power-hungry nobleman seeking to exert influence over the Kingdom of Sorcié’s royal family. Meanwhile, a challenger appears to contest Katarina’s protracted engagement to Prince Jeord! What’s more, this rival turns out to be someone Katarina knows very well...
    Show book