Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Greatest Gothic Classics of All Time - 60+ Books in One Volume: Frankenstein The Tell-Tale Heart The Phantom Ship The Birth Mark The Headless Horseman… - cover

The Greatest Gothic Classics of All Time - 60+ Books in One Volume: Frankenstein The Tell-Tale Heart The Phantom Ship The Birth Mark The Headless Horseman…

Charles Dickens, Oscar Wilde, Robert Louis Stevenson, Edgar Allan Poe, William Hope Hodgson, Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu, Anna Katharine Green, George MacDonald, Bram Stoker, Charlotte Brontë, Emily Brontë, William Godwin, Henry James, Victor Hugo, Théophile Gautier, Arthur Conan Doyle, Jane Austen, John Meade Falkner, George Eliot, Robert Hugh Benson, Horace Walpole, Frederick Marryat, Thomas Love Peacock, Washington Irving, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Gaston Leroux, Grant Allen, Arthur Machen, Wilkie Collins, Thomas Peckett Prest, James Malcolm Rymer, Charles Brockden Brown, James Hogg, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Richard Marsh, Charles Robert Maturin, John William Polidori, H. G. Wells, W. W. Jacobs, H. P. Lovecraft, William Thomas Beckford, Nikolai Gogol, Mary Shelley, Ann Radcliffe, Matthew Gregory Lewis, Fitz-James O'Brien, Eliza Parsons

Translator C.J. Hogarth, Samuel Henley, Isabel F. Hapgood

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Greatest Gothic Classics of All Time is an unparalleled collection that gathers the quintessential works of Gothic literature, spanning over two centuries of literary evolution. From the eerie landscapes of the Brontës' moors to the haunted corridors of Poe's imagination, this anthology showcases the broad spectrum of themes and styles inherent in Gothic literature. It includes celebrated tales of horror, romance, and psychological suspense, highlighting the diversity and depth of a genre that has captivated readers and influenced writers across the globe. Standout pieces include seminal works like Mary Shelley's groundbreaking 'Frankenstein' and the haunting narratives of Edgar Allan Poe, offering glimpses into the darkest corners of the human psyche. The contributing authors, a veritable who's who of literary giants from the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries, bring a rich assortment of cultural and philosophical perspectives to the collection. Figures such as Oscar Wilde and Nathaniel Hawthorne provide insights into the moral and societal anxieties of their times, reflecting Gothic literature's capacity to explore themes of identity, madness, and the supernatural within the context of rapidly changing societies. The inclusion of lesser-known authors alongside canonical figures offers a comprehensive understanding of the genre's development and its pervasive influence on Western literary tradition. This anthology is a must-read for both aficionados of Gothic literature and newcomers to the genre. Offering an unmatched opportunity to engage with the masterworks of Gothic fiction, readers will discover the eerie allure and profound insights that Gothic stories provide. The Greatest Gothic Classics of All Time invites a journey into the hauntingly beautiful and profoundly unsettling realms crafted by some of literature's greatest minds. It is an essential collection for anyone eager to explore the depths of human emotion, the complexities of societal norms, and the enduring appeal of the Gothic imagination.
Available since: 12/16/2023.
Print length: 10814 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Bed of Earth - cover

    A Bed of Earth

    Tanith Lee

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this “deliciously creepy” novel by the Bram Stoker Award winner, two feuding families face supernatural vengeance in a parallel 16th-century Venice (Publishers Weekly).   In the City of Venus, two noble families—the della Scorpias and the Barbarons—have been locked in a bitter dispute over burial grounds on the overcrowded Isle of the Dead. But it is fourteen-year-old Meralda della Scorpia who pays the ultimate price for their rivalry.   As years pass, parties complicit in her disappearance begin to suffer the consequences. Their shocking deaths can only mean one thing: A supernatural force has been unearthed from the city’s rotting understructure. As these bizarre events throw the city into a panic, a humble apprentice gravedigger is left to sort out the mysteries and subdue the ancient terror that threatens to destroy the entire republic.
    Show book
  • The Masque of the Red Death - cover

    The Masque of the Red Death

    Edgar Allan Poe

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Step into the dark and haunting world of Edgar Allan Poe's "The Masque of the Red Death" with this captivating audiobook. Immerse yourself in the gripping tale of a merciless plague that ravages a kingdom, while the wealthy aristocrats seek refuge in a secluded castle. As the tension builds and the clock ticks, you'll be on the edge of your seat, unable to resist the allure of this gothic horror masterpiece. 
    "The Masque of the Red Death" audiobook brings Poe's haunting prose to life with expert narration and atmospheric sound effects. Each word is carefully enunciated, allowing you to savor every spine-chilling detail. Lose yourself in the rich descriptions and vivid imagery as you become entangled in the web of mystery and dread. 
    With its seamless blend of suspense and horror, this audiobook is perfect for both longtime fans of Poe's work and those new to his macabre tales. Whether you're curled up by the fireplace on a stormy night or embarking on a long journey, let the haunting voice transport you to a world where darkness lurks around every corner. 
    This meticulously crafted audiobook captures the essence of Poe's writing, making it an essential addition to any literary collection. Its compact size makes it ideal for travel, ensuring that you can experience the chilling atmosphere wherever you go. 
    Delve into the depths of fear and unravel the secrets within "The Masque of the Red Death" with this mesmerizing audiobook. Let your imagination run wild as you listen to every whispered word, painting a vivid picture in your mind. Prepare to be captivated by this timeless tale of terror that continues to haunt readers to this day.
    Show book
  • Haunting Bombay - A Novel - cover

    Haunting Bombay - A Novel

    Shilpa Agarwal

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This San Francisco Chronicle bestseller is “[an] intriguing debut [that] seeks to give voice to the dispossessed through the supernatural” (USA Today).   After her mother’s death crossing the border from Pakistan to India during Partition, baby Pinky was taken in by her grandmother, Maji, the matriarch of the powerful Mittal family. Now thirteen years old, Pinky lives with her grandmother and her uncle’s family in a bungalow on the Malabar Heights in Bombay. While she has never really been accepted by her uncle’s family, she has always had Maji’s love.   One day, as monsoons engulf the city, Pinky opens a mysteriously bolted door, unleashing the ghosts of an infant who drowned shortly before Pinky’s arrival and of the nursemaid who cared for the child. Now, three generations of the Mittal family must struggle to come to terms with their secrets amidst hidden shame, forbidden love, and a call for absolute sacrifice.   “In her stunning debut novel Shilpa Agarwal takes on the ghosts that bedevil young Pinky Mittal’s extended family and dispatches them with rambunctious wit and affection. The result is like finely wrought mirror work, a glittering tapestry of vibrant contradictions, characters, and mysteries. Haunting Bombay flirts deliciously with the true spirit of India.” —Aimee Liu, author of Flash House   “Will definitely appeal to fans of Monica Ali and Jhumpa Lahiri. . . . Fresh, original.” —Library Journal
    Show book
  • Inner Sanctum Mystery: Dead to Rights - cover

    Inner Sanctum Mystery: Dead to...

    Sigmund Miller

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An inept couple murder for profit, and then run when the net closes in on them.
    Show book
  • The Possession of Natalie Glasgow - cover

    The Possession of Natalie Glasgow

    Hailey Piper

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Margaret Willow has never met an 11-year-old as dangerous as Natalie Glasgow. Natalie spends her days comatose, but at night, she prowls her mother's home, unnaturally strong and insatiably carnivorous.With doctors baffled, Natalie's mother reaches out to Margaret, an expert in the supernatural. But even Margaret is mystified and terrified by Natalie's condition. She's dying, and before she dies, she might kill someone.Has a demon clawed its way inside an 11-year-old girl? Or, does the source of this nightmare lie with Natalie's dead father?A tight, tense novella, The Possession of Natalie Glasgow twists the exorcism tale at every turn down to its final grave confrontation.
    Show book
  • The Last Final Girl - cover

    The Last Final Girl

    Stephen Graham Jones

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The Last Final Girl is like Quentin Tarantino's take on The Cabin in the Woods. Bloody, absurd, and smart. Plus, there's a killer in a Michael Jackson mask." (Carlton Mellick III, author of Apeshit) 
    Life in a slasher film is easy. You just have to know when to die. 
    Aerial View: A suburban town in Texas. Everyone's got an automatic garage door opener. All the kids jump off a perilous cliff into a shallow river as a rite of passage. The sheriff is a local celebrity. You know this town. You're from this town. 
    Zoom In: Homecoming princess, Lindsay. She's just barely escaped death at the hands of a brutal, sadistic murderer in a Michael Jackson mask. Up on the cliff, she was rescued by a horse and bravely defeated the killer, alone, bra-less. Her story is already a legend. She's this town's heroic final girl, their virgin angel. 
    Monster Vision: Halloween masks floating down that same river the kids jump into. But just as one slaughter is not enough for Billie Jean, our masked killer, one victory is not enough for Lindsay. Her high school is full of final girls, and she's not the only one who knows the rules of the game. 
    When Lindsay chooses a host of virgins, misfits, and former final girls to replace the slaughtered members of her original homecoming court, it's not just a fight for survival - it's a fight to become The Last Final Girl.
    Show book