Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Halloween Mysteries - A Witch's Den The Black Hand Number 13 The Birth Mark The Oblong Box The Horla When the World Was Young Ligeia The Rope of Fear Clarimonde The Lost Room Thrawn Janet The Purloined Letter… - cover

Halloween Mysteries - A Witch's Den The Black Hand Number 13 The Birth Mark The Oblong Box The Horla When the World Was Young Ligeia The Rope of Fear Clarimonde The Lost Room Thrawn Janet The Purloined Letter…

Edgar Allan Poe, Arthur Conan Doyle, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Wilkie Collins, Anton Chekhov, Arthur B. Reeve, Anna Katherine Green, Sir Robert Anderson, Thomas W. Hanshew, Mary E. Hanshew, Villiers l'Isle de Adam, Cleveland Moffett, Florence Marryat, William Archer, Fitz James O'Brien, Robert Louis Stevenson, Guy de Maupassant, Pliny the Younger, William F. Harvey, M.R. James, Katherine Rickford, Ralph Adams Cram, E.F. Benson, Rudyard Kipling, Daniel Defoe, Lord Edward Bulwer-Lytton, Leopold Kompert, Ambrose Bierce, Vincent O'Sullivan, Ellis Parker Butler, E. T. A. Hoffmann, Thomas Hardy, A. T. Quiller-Couch, Margaret Oliphant, Erckmann-Chatrian, Fiona Macleod, Amelia B. Edwards, Frederick Marryat, Théophile Gautier, Jack London, William T. Stead, Gambier Bolton, Andrew Jackson Davis, Nizida, Helena Blavatsky, Walter F. Prince, Mark Twain, Chester Bailey Fernald

Translator William Melmoth, Julian Hawthorne

Publisher: Musaicum Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Musaicum Books presents to you this unique collection, designed and formatted to the highest digital standards and adjusted for readability on all devices.
Content:
Suspense Stories:
The Box with the Iron Clamps (Florence Marryat)
The Birth Mark (Nathaniel Hawthorne)
The Oblong Box (Edgar Allan Poe)
A Terribly Strange Bed (Wilkie Collins)
The Torture by Hope (Villiers de l'Isle Adam)
The Great Valdez Sapphire (Anonymous)
The Mysterious Card (Cleveland Moffett)
My Fascinating Friend (William Archer)
The Lost Room (Fitz-James O'Brien)Detective Stories:
A Scandal in Bohemia (A. Conan Doyle)
The Safety Match (Anton Chekhov)
The Black Hand (Arthur B. Reeve)
The Purloined Letter (Edgar Allan Poe)
The Rope of Fear (Thomas W. Hanshew and Mary E. Hanshew)
The Biter Bit (Wilkie Collins)
Missing: Page Thirteen (Anna Katherine Green)
Some Scotland Yard Cases (Sir Robert Anderson)
Ghost Stories:
The Horla (Guy de Maupassant)
Number 13 (Montague Rhodes James)
Thrawn Janet (Robert Louis Stevenson)
The Man Who Went Too Far (E.F. Benson)
To Sura: A Letter (Pliny the Younger)
The Beast with Five Fingers (William F. Harvey)
Joseph: A Story (Katherine Rickford)
Sister Maddelena (Ralph Adams Cram)
The Phantom Rickshaw (Rudyard Kipling)
The Apparition of Mrs. Veal (Daniel Defoe)
Canon Alberic's Scrap-Book (M. R. James)
The Haunted and the Haunters (Lord Edward Bulwer-Lytton)
The Silent Woman (Leopold Kompert)
The Rival Ghosts (Brander Matthews)
The Damned Thing (Ambrose Bierce)
The Interval (Vincent O'Sullivan)
Dey Ain't No Ghosts (Ellis Parker Butler)
The Banshees of Ireland
Some Real American Ghosts
The Deserted House (E. T. A. Hoffmann)
The Withered Arm (Thomas Hardy)
The House and the Brain (Lord Edward Bulwer-Lytton)
The Roll-Call of the Reef (A. T. Quiller-Couch)
The Open Door (Mrs. Margaret Oliphant)
The Mysterious Sketch (Erckmann-Chatrian)
Green Branches (Fiona Macleod)

Other books that might interest you

  • A Basque Diary - Living in Hondarribia - cover

    A Basque Diary - Living in...

    Alex Hallatt

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When cartoonist Alex Hallatt wanted to learn Spanish, she moved to the Basque Country. She thought she might stay a few months and ended up there for over two years, living in a small town near San Sebastian.
    
     
    This is the illustrated account of her years in Hondarribia. It is a useful resource for anyone planning on spending time in the Basque Country, detailing what to expect in each month and how to make the most of the geographical, culinary and cultural attractions on offer.
    Show book
  • Nordic Tales - Folktales from Norway Sweden Finland Iceland and Denmark - cover

    Nordic Tales - Folktales from...

    Books Chronicle

    • 9
    • 44
    • 1
    Trolls haunt the snowy forests, and terrifying monsters roam the open sea.A young woman journeys to the end of the world, and a boy proves he knows no fear.This collection of 16 traditional tales transports readers to the enchanting world of Nordic folklore. Translated and transcribed by folklorists in the 19th century, and presented here unabridged, the stories are by turns magical, hilarious, cozy, and chilling. They offer a fascinating view into Nordic culture and a comforting wintertime read. Ulla Thynell's glowing contemporary illustrations accompany each tale, conjuring dragons, princesses, and the northern lights.
    Show book
  • Little Women - cover

    Little Women

    Louisa May Alcott

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Meg is the eldest and on the brink of love. Then there's tomboy Jo who longs to be a writer. Sweet-natured Beth always puts others first, and finally there's Amy, the youngest and most precocious. Together they are the March sisters. Even though money is short, times are tough and their father is away at war, their infectious sense of fun sweeps everyone up in their adventures — including Laurie, the boy next door. And through sisterly squabbles, their happy times and sad ones too, the sisters discover that growing up is sometimes very hard to do.
    Based on Louisa May Alcott's childhood, this lively portrait of nineteenth-century family life possesses a lasting vitality that has endeared it to generations of readers.
    
    A wonderful story... As a child, I strongly identified with Jo because she is a writer. —Jacqueline Wilson
    The American female myth. —Madelon Bedell
    It is an essential American novel, perhaps the essential American novel for girls… Girls come to it on their own. —Jane Smiley
    In "Little Women", Alcott anticipated realism by twenty or thirty years. —G. K. Chesterton
    Show book
  • Of Gods and Men - 100 Stories from Ancient Greece and Rome - cover

    Of Gods and Men - 100 Stories...

    Daisy Dunn

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Daisy Dunn offers a deeply researched collection of stories reflecting the eclectic richness and depth of the classical literary canon. 
     
    Striking a balance between the 'classic classic' (such as Dryden's translation of the Aeneid) and the less familiar or expected, Of Gods and Men ranges from the epic poetry of Homer to the histories of Arrian and Diodorus Siculus and the sprawling Theogony of Hesiod; from the tragedies of Aeschylus and Euripides to the biographies of Suetonius and Plutarch and the pen portraits of Theophrastus; and from the comedies of Plautus to the the fictions of Petronius and Apuleius. 
     
    Of Gods and Men is embellished by translations from writers as diverse as Queen Elizabeth I (Boethius), Percy Bysshe Shelley (Plato), Walter Pater (Apuleius's Golden Ass), Lawrence of Arabia (Homer's Odyssey), Louis MacNeice (Aeschylus's Agamemnon) and Ted Hughes (Ovid's Pygmalion), as well as a number of accomplished translations by Daisy herself.
    Show book
  • Common People - An Anthology of Working-Class Writers - cover

    Common People - An Anthology of...

    Kit de Waal

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Common People is the latest campaigning anthology from the publisher of bestsellers The Good Immigrant (70k copies sold to date) and Repeal the 8th.It features original work from some of our best-known writers: Kit De Waal, Malorie Blackman, Lisa McInerney, Cathy Rentzenbrink, Stuart Maconie, Louise Doughty, Damian Barr and Daljit Nagra among others.Kit de Waal’s debut novel, My Name is Leon, was an international bestseller. It won Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2017 and was shortlisted for the Costa First Book Award, the Desmond Elliott Prize and the British Book Awards 2017 Best Debut Book of the Year.Kit is one of the UK’s most prominent voices calling for inclusivity and working-class representation in the arts, and has established a creative writing scholarship at Birkbeck University.Almost half of all authors, writers and
    translators in the UK come from professional, middle-class backgrounds,
    compared with just 10 per cent of those from working-class backgrounds. This
    anthology addresses that pressing imbalance.There will be events across the UK on publication, including all the major literary festivals.For fans of The Good Immigrant, Know Your Place: Essays on the Working Class by the Working Class, Brit(ish) by Afua Hirsch.
    Show book
  • Burning - An Anthology of Short Thrillers - cover

    Burning - An Anthology of Short...

    Peter Oxley, Simon Finnie, Craig...

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    If you woke up with a gun in your face, what would you do?Plagued by mysterious dreams which are quickly becoming a real-life nightmare, where would you turn?What was the real truth behind the Iraqi invasion and the search for WMDs?What if the one person you relied on to keep you safe, instead became your jailer?Forced to confront the mistakes of your past, where would you hide?14 original stories with one red-hot connection… Burning.Thrillers to shock. Thrillers to excite. Thrillers to challenge and make you think.An anthology of 14 original short stories by a collection of outstanding thriller writers.Craig Hart’s "Loose Ends" thrusts a wise-cracking PI into the center of a deadly—and highly personal—case.In Fiona Campbell’s "From a Flicker to a Flame", a woman finds herself trapped, a prisoner in a loveless marriage.In "The Five Votive Candles of Joe Wray" by Simon Bewick, Joe Wray is a husband, a father, a brother and a business owner. They all need his protection. He doesn’t have a prayer.A mysterious man sparks unexplainable fires in Carla Day’s "Scintillation", where a woman’s dreams may be the clue to saving the world.The dark and seedy underbelly of the City of London is exposed in Will Patching’s "Old Flame": a tale of lust, greed and a decidedly nasty twist.The repercussions of the Iraq war and memories of WMDs plague the characters of Dana Lyons’ "Fire and Brimstone", with a weapon which could truly be the end of all things.In "Ava Edison and the Burning Man", by Marcus Cook, a thief with an unlikely accomplice faces a race against time to get a priceless jewel for a ruthless client.Tom Goymour’s "Circle of Friends" finds a man and his long-forgotten friends being forced to finally confront the mistakes of their youth.In Peter Ellis’ "Reprogrammed", a woman wakes in a strange warehouse with terrifying new abilities, but with no knowledge of how she got there.The hero of Michael Peirce’s "Accidental Operator" unwittingly becomes the key member of a new, highly deadly team of mercenaries."Valley of the Shadow" by Pat Moore is a moving exploration of love and loss, where those left behind suffer more than the ones they mourn.Lori Lacefield’s "The Fire Keeper" follows Frankie Johnson, an FBI Profiler, as she tries to decode a terrifyingly macabre fire ritual, before the killers strike again.Free will, morality and redemption lie at the heart of Simon Finnie’s "Burning", as a Professor is forced to confront the mistakes of his youth.And finally, in Peter Oxley’s "Burning Greed", a thief simply has to battle through a burning island to steal the score of his life: what could possibly go wrong?Burning - bringing destruction or a new beginning? To find out, get Burning: An Anthology of Short Thrillers - now!
    Show book