Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Road to Farringale - Modern Magick: 1 - cover

The Road to Farringale - Modern Magick: 1

Charlotte E. English

Publisher: Charlotte E. English

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Can British magick be saved? Hell yes.
 
Imagine modern Britain without magick.
 
No fae enclaves. No flying chairs. No magick wands. Giddy gods, no unicorns.
 
Who wants to live in that world?
 
Me neither. But with magick on the decline, that's the world we're ending up with.
 
Meet the Society for Magickal Heritage. Our boss is a disembodied voice. Our headquarters is a sentient house. You could say we've a vested interest in keeping magick alive.
 
Can a ragtag bunch of magicians, necromancers and fae prevail against inevitable ruin and decline?
 
Hell yes. Try and stop us.
 
First mission? Find the source of a magickal disease that’s decimating Britain’s troll enclaves — and fix it. Simple.
 
Or... maybe not. For the only place that might hold the information we need is the ancient and inconveniently lost enclave of Farringale...
 
Praise for the Modern Magick series:
 
'Charming, quirky, and funny.'
 
'Enjoyable and imaginative fantasy series with whimsical overtones... A fresh magical world.'
 
'This is an incredibly entertaining story... help, I'm running out of superlatives.'
 
'The writing is excellent and fun... a rousing, gripping adventure. '
 
'...delightfully fun, whimsical and engaging, with great characters and settings.'
 
'If you like Jodi Taylor's St Mary's books, this is for you.'
 
'...quirky and fun and I couldn't ask for more... Her usual unique charm.'
 
''...characters that are easy to love, an invisible boss and a house that seems to have a mind of it's own. I devoured the book in one sitting.'
 
'Written with charm and intelligence, this series is a delight to read!'
 
'...the pages just seem to fly by! Can't wait to read the next one.'
 
'...the entire quirky cast is fun and endearing... our heroine is a delightful companion for adventure.'

Other books that might interest you

  • The Emperor's Fist - A Blackhawk Novel - cover

    The Emperor's Fist - A Blackhawk...

    Jay Allan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In this thrilling new installment in the Far Stars saga, a reluctant hero with a bloody past must reunite with an old love to battle an evil emperor willing to destroy all their worlds if he cannot control them. 
     
    When the Far Stars came under imperial attack, Astra Lucerne—the daughter and successor of the Far Stars’ greatest conqueror—Marshal Augustin Lucerne—rallied her father’s confederation forces to defend their worlds. They were joined in the fight by former imperial general Arkarin Blackhawk, a warrior whose skills and brutality made him infamous, and who has, for two decades, sought the redemption he knows is unreachable.  
    Now, with the imperial foothold in the sector eliminated, the Far Stars is free and almost united. While Astra’s forces continue to depose local tyrants and warlords, Ark and his crew have slipped back into the shadows. Though his heart belongs to Astra, Ark cannot get too close. His imperial conditioning remains under control, but it is still volatile, and the temptation of power threatens to unleash the dark compulsions that made him the most merciless of the emperor’s servants. He cannot risk allowing Astra to see the darkness inside him. 
    But while the battle has been won, the war may not be over. A petty smuggler makes a discovery that can enable the emperor to strike back and crush the resistance—unless Ark and Astra join forces again to stop him.
    Show book
  • Dead Star - cover

    Dead Star

    Simon Kewin

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    A hidden trail among the stars
     
    The galaxy is in flames under the harsh theocratic rule of Concordance, the culture that once thrived among the stars reduced to scattered fragments. Selene Ada, last survivor of an obliterated planet, joins forces with the mysterious renegade, Ondo Lagan.
     
    Together they attempt to unravel the mystery of Concordance’s rapid rise to galactic domination. They follow a trail of shattered starship hulks and ancient alien ruins, with the ships of the enemy always one step behind.
     
    But it’s only when they find the mythical planet of Coronade that they uncover the true scale of the destruction Concordance is capable of unleashing…
    Show book
  • The Play Underwater - cover

    The Play Underwater

    Gregory Pentz

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    After committing a terrible betrayal of his childhood friend, Franklin Orion plunges into a lake in upstate New York and comes up on the other side in a strange and alien world. Here eldritch gods rule over teeming masses of people snatched from throughout history, citizens are forced to adopt specific guises or be persecuted by those same deities, and the non-Euclidian city they all dwell in appears and disappears like a mirage based on your status in it. With the help of his new guide and business partner, the enigmatic Wandering Davey, Frank must journey through this new world to find either his place in it or a way back across the water...
    Show book
  • Optional Retirement Plan - A Science Fiction Thriller - cover

    Optional Retirement Plan - A...

    Chris Pourteau

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When retiring isn't an option, it's kill or be killed.
     
    Stacks Fischer is a killer for hire. For more than three decades, he’s loyally served the SyndicateCorporation as its most-feared and respected enforcer around the solar system. He’s buried the company’s dirty laundry six feet deep, no matter who had to be taken out to do it.Now, Stacks has a problem—he’s losing his mind to an incurable form of dementia, and unwittingly spilling corporate secrets in public.When SynCorp decides Fischer has outlived his usefulness, they decide it's time to permanently retire him. But Stacks isn’t quite ready to go. With every one of SynCorp’s Five Factions gunning for him—and his own mind slowly rebelling—Fischer leads a pack of would-be assassins in a final, deadly chase across the solar system.The old hitman refuses to fade quietly into oblivion at the hands of his disease or the business he's dedicated his life to. He’s choosing an Optional Retirement Plan.Don't miss this pulse-pounding science fiction thriller filled with twists that will leave you on the edge of your seat. It's perfect for fans of Titanborn, The Expanse, and Minority Report.
    Show book
  • Vampires of Portlandia - cover

    Vampires of Portlandia

    Jason Tanamor

    • 2
    • 15
    • 1
    "Tanamor's Vampires of Portlandia is an entertaining vampire thriller with all the recognizable hallmarks of the supernatural genre, but two things distinguish this book from others: its focus on the aswang, a creature based on the author's research on Philippine folklore combined with his own inventions, and the book's beating heart, the family of aswang fleeing state violence in the Philippines and seeking refuge in the sanctuary city of Portland, Oregon. As a page-turner full of gory action, it also manages to be a touching story about family, love, and legacy." - Grace Talusan, author of The Body Papers"Here's a novel from Jason Tanamor that rocks Filipino folklore, shape shifters, vampires, and quick moving, tricksy, balls-out adventure, and it's a helluva lot of fun." - John Shirley, author of Black Butterflies: A Flock on the Dark Side "There are moments of storytelling that stand out... Those who enjoy the 'Twilight' books or TV series 'Grimm' may find this entertaining. Portland enthusiasts will also appreciate the references." - Library Journal"...creative world building of Portland's supernatural underworld...the most devoted vampire enthusiasts will find this rewarding." - Publishers Weekly
     
    When Marcella Leones relocates her family of aswang vampires from the Philippines to Portland, Oregon, she raises her grandchildren under strict rules so humans will not expose them. Her only wish is to give them a peaceful life, far away from the hunters and the Filipino government that attempted to exterminate them. Before she dies, she passes on the power to her eldest grandchild, Percival. He vows to uphold the rules set forth by Leones, allowing his family to roam freely without notice. After all, they are aswangs. However, when the aswang covenant is broken, the murder rate in Portland rises drastically. Who is behind the murders? And who is behind the broken covenant? Along with sensie Penelope Jane, Percival must find the truth. It's then they discover that there are other breeds of aswangs-werebeasts, witches, ghouls, and viscera--who have been residing in Portland for years. Based on Filipino folklore (aswang), "Vampires of Portlandia" is a fantastical tale of different monsters coexisting in the weirdest city in America. RIYL Twilight Saga, the television show "Grimm", and "The Lost Boys".
    Show book
  • The Starlight Quest - cover

    The Starlight Quest

    Rachel Morgan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Cinderella retold: Fae, vampires, shifters, and a Godmother who’ll grant you any wish—if you pay the price.
     
    After finally receiving the one thing she's wanted for years, Elle sets out to pay the price demanded by the Godmother: she will travel through the Never Woods and complete a quest that will—if the Godmother's shocking story is to be believed—change her life.
     
    And possibly the world.
     
    This is episode 5 of 6 of a SERIALIZED Cinderella retelling. It is not novel-length. Expect cliffhangers! Approximately 21,000 words or 100 print pages.
     
    **Prefer to binge-read all the episodes together? Look for City of Wishes: The Complete Cinderella Story**
     
    ~ ~ ~
     
    In a world of fae, vampires and shifters, where wishes can be bought and bargained for, Elle is human, bound to her stepmother by a slave charm. Her only hope at freedom is to wish for it. But the Godmother rules the illegal wish trade, and the price she demands is steep. Is Elle willing to pay it?
    Show book