Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Punishing Journey of Arthur Delaney - A Novel - cover

The Punishing Journey of Arthur Delaney - A Novel

Bob Kroll

Publisher: ECW Press

  • 0
  • 2
  • 1

Summary

For readers of Paulette Jiles and Gil Adamson, a 19th-century tale of a father’s greatest regret and path to redemption
		 
Devastated at his wife’s death and stricken at raising two girls and a boy on his own, Arthur Delaney places his children in a Halifax orphanage and runs off to join the Union Army in the American Civil War. The trauma of battle and three years in a disease-ridden prisoner-of-war prison changes his perspective on life and family.
		 
After the war, Delaney odd-jobs his way up the American east coast and catches a schooner to Halifax. There he discovers the orphanage has relocated to a farm in rural Nova Scotia. His children are not there. They and others had been sold and resold as farm workers and house servants through the Maritime provinces, as well as Quebec and Ontario. Their whereabouts is unknown. Arthur Delaney sets out on a punishing 20-year journey across Canada to find them.
		 
This is a heartbreaking, beautifully told story of a father’s attempt to reconnect with his children
Available since: 06/07/2022.
Print length: 224 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Shelley's Heart - A Thriller - cover

    Shelley's Heart - A Thriller

    Charles McCarry

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When doubt is cast on a presidential election, it sets off an “intricate, skillfully spun” tale of intrigue in this near-future political thriller (Publishers Weekly). At the dawn of the twenty-first century, the CIA has been disbanded and a secret society has taken hold of powerful positions across Washington. After a long and contentious campaign, President Bedford Lockwood is celebrating his reelection. But the revelry is cut short when it’s discovered that his over-zealous aides may have tampered with the vote. On the eve of the Inauguration, Lockwood’s rival—the archconservative Franklin Mallory—presents evidence of fraud. When Lockwood refuses to take the oath of office, it sets in motion a series of events that may destroy him, his party, and the Constitution. From this catastrophic crisis, acclaimed author and former Washington journalist Charles McCarry weaves a smart, tense, and eerily prescient political thriller.
    Show book
  • Formerly the Fallen Daughter of the Duke: Volume 1 (Light Novel) - cover

    Formerly the Fallen Daughter of...

    Ichibu Saki

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Claire Martino has a fairy-tale life anyone would envy, with a noble upbringing, a crown prince for a fiancé, and a promising future ahead of her as Noston’s most powerful mage. That is, until everything crashes down around her when all of the family magical talent goes to her half sister, Charlotte, instead. With her engagement broken and reputation tarnished, Claire flees the only life she’s ever known and sets off on an adventure to find the freedom she’s craved all along. It’s anything but easy, but fortunately for a girl with dignity, talent, and a whole lot of bravery, nothing is impossible...even turning out to be a video game character! Much to her surprise, Claire finds herself periodically teleported to modern-day Tokyo where Claire Martino is no more than a side character in the classic dating sim game Upstart: Eternal Love. Yet even that won’t stop Claire from saving the day so she can unlock the good ending of her own route.
    Show book
  • Daddy Daughter Christmas Incest 4-Pack - cover

    Daddy Daughter Christmas Incest...

    Sincesta

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    4 hot Christmas tales of daddies and daughters getting it on!
     
    Dad Bred Me In Front Of Mom At Christmas/You’ve Heard Of Elf On A Shelf Now Get Ready For A Chick On Daddy’s Dick/Daddy Gave Me A Mind Control Device For Christmas And Then Used It On Me/My Wife Said I Could Bang Both Our Daughters Since It Was Christmas
    Show book
  • Mother Mind Control 4-Pack - cover

    Mother Mind Control 4-Pack

    Penelope Liksit

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Four sizzling tales of mothers who will do anything their sons tell them. 
     
    Fucking my hypnotized mom in her hot, tight, familial cunt
     
    Catfishing, mind controlling and fucking Mom
     
    Mind controlling Mom and drinking each other’s piss
     
    Using voodoo magic to fuck Mom
    Show book
  • He's My Stepbrother And My Crush - An Unputdownable Forbidden Romance - cover

    He's My Stepbrother And My Crush...

    Blessing Okosi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "I've always had my eyes on you. I've been curious to know how you taste."
     
    His hands came caressing my lips softly.
     
    The only thing I could hear in the dark was the rain, my beating heart, and our breathe.
     
    *****
     
    Mirabel, who goes through bullying in college, learns her mother is getting remarried. On a wet night, her mother leaves for a date with her lover, sending her lover's son over to keep Mirabel company.
     
    When she opened the door to welcome her stepbrother, Mirabel is shocked to see her crush, Derek, a cool handsome student from her class, standing there.
     
    He reveals he's her stepbrother.
     
    She doesn't know how to react, but a naughty Derek knows what to do.
     
    *How will Mirabel bear this?
     
    *Can she stand her crush being her stepbrother?
     
    This is book 1 of the series.
    Show book
  • Family Golden Showers 10-Pack - cover

    Family Golden Showers 10-Pack

    Penelope Liksit

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Ten wet tales of daddys, daughters, mothers, sons, uncles and nieces doing all sorts of thing they shouldn't. A whole bundle of piss filled fun for HALF the price you would have to pay for each tale individually. So if you are a down and dirty piss lover you cannot afford to miss out!
    Show book