Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Down the Chimney: 100+ Most Treasured Christmas Novels & Stories in One Volume (Illustrated) - The Tailor of Gloucester Little Women Life and Adventures of Santa Claus The Gift of the Magi A Christmas Carol The Three Kings Little Lord Fauntleroy The Heavenly Christmas Tree… - cover

Down the Chimney: 100+ Most Treasured Christmas Novels & Stories in One Volume (Illustrated) - The Tailor of Gloucester Little Women Life and Adventures of Santa Claus The Gift of the Magi A Christmas Carol The Three Kings Little Lord Fauntleroy The Heavenly Christmas Tree…

Benito Pérez Galdós, André Theuriet, Charles Dickens, Louisa May Alcott, L. Frank Baum, Mark Twain, Hans Christian Andersen, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Anthony Trollope, Guy De Maupassant, Booker T. Washington, Eleanor H. Porter, O. Henry, George MacDonald, Saki Saki, Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer, Bret Harte, Alphonse Daudet, Florence L. Barclay, François Coppée, Anton Chekhov, William John Locke, Susan Anne Livingston Ridley Sedgwick, E. T. A. Hoffmann, Juliana Horatia Ewing, Sophie May, Mary Hartwell Catherwood, Thomas Nelson Page, Walter Crane, Edgar Wallace, J. M. Barrie, Henry Van Dyke, Lucy Maud Montgomery, Selma Lagerlöf, Robert E. Howard, Marcel Prévost, Max Brand, Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson, Jacob A. Riis, Fyodor Dostoevsky, Beatrix Potter, Willis Boyd Allen, Amy Ella Blanchard, Armando Palacio Valdés, Ernest Ingersoll, Vernon Lee, Katherine Pyle, James Weber Linn, Nora A. Smith, Annie F. Johnston, Alice Hale Burnett, Elia W. Peattie, Maud Lindsay, Olive Thorne Miller, Harrison S. Morris, Lucas Malet, Amanda M. Douglas, Madame d' Aulnoy, Grimm Brothers, Phebe A. Curtiss, Ana Robinson, Kate Upson Clark, Edward A. Rand, A. S. Boyd, Nellie C. King, Lucy Wheelock, Frederick E. Dewhurst, Marjorie L. C. Pickthall, Jay T. Stocking, Florence M. Kingsley, M. A. L. Lane, Elizabeth Harkison, Raymond McAlden, F. E. Mann, Winifred M. Kirkland, Grace Margaret Gallaher, F. Arnstein, Anne Hollingsworth Wharton, Elbridge S. Brooks, Isabel Cecilia Williams, Antonio Maré, Pedro A. de Alarcón, Jules Simon, Maxime Du Camp, F. L. Stealey, Marion Clifford, E. E. Hale, Georg Schuster, Matilda Betham-Edwards, Angelo J. Lewis, Leo Tolstoy

Publisher: e-artnow

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Ho, Ho, Ho! Merry Christmas to you all! This festive season, we are playing the Santa, and offering you our own Christmas basket of holiday goodies: the greatest Christmas novels and magical Christmas Tales:
Life and Adventures of Santa Claus (L. Frank Baum)
The Little City of Hope (F. Marion Crawford)
Little Women (Louisa May Alcott)
The Wonderful Wizard of OZ (L. Frank Baum)
Little Lord Fauntleroy (Frances Hodgson Burnett)
Christmas with Grandma Elsie (Martha Finley)
Anne of Green Gables (Lucy Maud Montgomery)
The Christmas Angel (Abbie Farwell Brown)
At the Back of the North Wind (George MacDonald)
Black Beauty (Anna Sewell)
The Christmas Child (Hesba Stretton)
The Wonderful Life - Story of the life and death of our Lord (Hesba Stretton)
The Tailor of Gloucester (Beatrix Potter)
The Ice Queen (Ernest Ingersoll)
A Merry Christmas (Louisa May Alcott)
The Gift of the Magi (O. Henry)
The Fir Tree (Hans Christian Andersen)
The Little Match Girl (Hans Christian Andersen)
The Holy Night (Selma Lagerlöf)
Little Gretchen and the Wooden Shoe (Elizabeth Harrison)
A Letter from Santa Claus (Mark Twain)
The Elves and the Shoemaker (Brothers Grimm)
Mother Holle (Brothers Grimm)
A Kidnapped Santa Claus (L. Frank Baum)
The Shepherds and the Angels (Bible)
The Heavenly Christmas Tree (Fyodor Dostoevsky)
A Russian Christmas Party (Leo Tolstoy)
Vanka (Anton Chekhov)
The Nutcracker and the Mouse King (E. T. A. Hoffmann)
A Christmas Carol (Charles Dickens)
The Chimes (Charles Dickens)
The Sleeping Beauty in the Wood (Robinson Perrault)
The Blue Bird (Madame d'Aulnoy)
Christmas Every Day (William Dean Howells)
The Pony Engine and the Pacific Express (William Dean Howells)
The Pumpkin Glory (William Dean Howells)
Christmas Eve & Christmas Day (Edward Everett Hale)
A Visit From Saint Nicholas (Clement Moore)
Christmas - A Story (Zona Gale)
The Story of the Other Wise Man (Henry van Dyke)
Where Love Is, God Is (Leo Tolstoy)
Christmas Roses (Anne Douglas Sedgwick)....

Other books that might interest you

  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • A Short Philosophy of Birds - cover

    A Short Philosophy of Birds

    Philippe J. Dubois, Elise Rousseau

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “This little book does a beautiful job of inspiring awe for the capacities of birds and applying lessons from their lives to the struggles of humanity” 
       — Wall Street Journal 
     
    “Brilliant, magical and engrossing–I will never see birds the same way again.” 
       — Peter Wohlleben, author of The Hidden Life of Trees 
    THE INTERNATIONAL PHENOMENON 
    Twenty-two short lessons from the secret lives of birds on living harmoniously and reconnecting with nature. 
     
    This charming volume on bird behavior invites us to take a step back from our busy lives and to listen to the tiny philosophers of the sky. From the delicate sparrow to the majestic eagle, birds are among the most fascinating species on earth, and there is much to be learned from these paragons of beauty and grace that can be applied to our lives, including:Independence: what it means to be “pushed out of the nest.”Vulnerability: what the mallard teaches us about giving up our old feathers for new ones in order to fly.Gender equality: what happens when a papa Turtledove sits on the nest.Hierarchy and power: what the raven and the vulture know about the pecking order. 
    Filled with elegant illustrations of bird species, this gem of a book celebrates of our friends in the sky, and what they can teach us about the rhythms of life.
    Show book
  • Night Thoughts - cover

    Night Thoughts

    Wallace Shawn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Wallace Shawn is a nationally known actor and playwright with a prolific career spanning nearly four decades. His face, style, and inimitable voice are loved by millions.Shawn's work is treasured for both his comic acting (The Princess Bride) and his often intensely political playwriting. Recently, Shawn's most recent visible acting and voice roles have been on the network drama Gossip Girl, Toy Story 3, and Kung Fu PandaReceiving critical praise from sources as varied as The Los Angeles Times, Heeb, GQ, O: The Oprah Magazine, Democracy Now, The New Yorker, and Women's Wear Daily, the cloth and paper back edition of Essays sold more than 12,000 copies.
    Show book
  • Boys Will Be Boys - cover

    Boys Will Be Boys

    Clementine Ford

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Fearless feminist Clementine Ford’s incendiary first book, Fight Like A Girl, is taking the world by storm, galvanizing women to demand and fight for real equality and not merely the illusion of it.  Now Boys Will Be Boys examines what needs to change for that equality to become a reality. It answers the question most asked of Clementine: "How do I raise my son to respect women and give them equal space in the world? How do I make sure he's a supporter and not a perpetrator?"  Ford demolishes the age-old assumption that superiority and aggression are natural realms for boys, and demonstrates how toxic masculinity creates a disturbingly limited and potentially dangerous idea of what it is to be a man. Crucially, Boys Will Be Boys reveals how the patriarchy we live in is as harmful to boys and men as it is to women and girls, and asks what we have to do to reverse that damage. The world needs to — this book shows the way.
    Show book
  • The Ferrante Letters - An Experiment in Collective Criticism - cover

    The Ferrante Letters - An...

    Katherine Hill, Merve Emre,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Like few other works of contemporary literature, Elena Ferrante’s Neapolitan novels found an audience of passionate and engaged readers around the world. Inspired by Ferrante’s intense depiction of female friendship and women’s intellectual lives, four critics embarked upon a project that was both work and play: to create a series of epistolary readings of the Neapolitan Quartet that also develops new ways of reading and thinking together.In a series of intertwined, original, and daring readings of Ferrante’s work and her fictional world, Sarah Chihaya, Merve Emre, Katherine Hill, and Jill Richards strike a tone at once critical and personal, achieving a way of talking about literature that falls between the seminar and the book club. Their letters make visible the slow, fractured, and creative accretion of ideas that underwrites all literary criticism and also illuminate the authors’ lives outside the academy. The Ferrante Letters offers an improvisational, collaborative, and cumulative model for reading and writing with others, proposing a new method the authors call collective criticism. A book for fans of Ferrante and for literary scholars seeking fresh modes of intellectual exchange, The Ferrante Letters offers incisive criticism, insouciant riffs, and the pleasure of giving oneself over to an extended conversation about fiction with friends.
    Show book
  • Letters Like the Day - On Reading Georgia O'Keeffe - cover

    Letters Like the Day - On...

    Jennifer Sinor

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Georgia O’Keeffe mistrusted words. She claimed color as her language. Nevertheless, in the course of her long life, the great American painter wrote thousands of letters—more than two thousand survive between her and her husband, Alfred Stieglitz, alone. Jennifer Sinor’s Letters Like the Day honors O’Keeffe, her modernist landscapes, and, crucially, the value of letter writing. In the painter’s correspondence, we find an intimacy with words that is all her own. Taking her letters as a touchstone, Sinor experiments with the limits of language using the same aesthetic that drove O’Keeffe’s art. Through magnification, cropping, and juxtaposition—hallmarks of modernism—Sinor explores the larger truths at the center of O’Keeffe’s work: how we see, capture, and create. Letters Like the Day pursues the highest function of art—to take one’s medium to the edge and then push beyond.
    Show book