"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Syrian Virgin: A Young Woman's Journey From War in Syria to Love in New York - The Syrian Virgin Series #1 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

The Syrian Virgin: A Young Woman's Journey From War in Syria to Love in New York - The Syrian Virgin Series #1

Zack Love

Publisher: Zack Love

  • 0
  • 32
  • 0

Summary

Anissa is traumatized by the most brutal conflict of the 21st Century: the Syrian Civil War. In 2012, Islamists in Homs terrorize a Syrian-Christian community and destroy everything that a young woman holds dear. Narrowly escaping death, Anissa restarts her devastated life as a college student in NY. She is bewildered and lost -- a virgin in every sense.  
 
But despite her inexperience with men and life in the United States, Anissa is quickly drawn to two powerful individuals: Michael Kassab, the Syrian-American leader working to found the first Mideast Christian state, and Julien Morales, her Columbia University professor who runs a $20 billion hedge fund.  
 
Complicating matters, Michael is still attached to his ex-girlfriend and Julien is the most sought after bachelor in Manhattan (and has hidden demons even his therapist can't extract). Anissa's heart and her communal ties pull her in different directions, as she seeks hope and renewal in a dark world.  
 
WARNING: This book is about a young woman's difficult journey: her escape from Syria's Civil War, her transition to a new a country, and the relationships that she forms along the way, including her romantic interests in two very different men. The story is set against the backdrop of the Syrian Civil War and makes reference to violent acts, sometimes in detail. There is some occasional profanity and a few scenes that depict sexual intimacy. Accordingly, the recommended minimum age for readers is 16. The novel might be compared to books like "The Diary of Anne Frank" or "The Kite Runner."

Other books that might interest you

  • Saving Lord Avingdale - cover

    Saving Lord Avingdale

    Lisa Kumar

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Maryanne loves being invisible, and her job as a time-traveling research scientist fulfills that desire. But when her invisibility transmitter malfunctions, the worse possible person—the Marquess of Avingdale—finds her. Handsome and debonair, the marquis shows interest, but his death is the reason she traveled back to 1813 England. When he forgoes a tryst with a married woman that would’ve proved deadly, Maryanne fears she’s changed the handsome lord’s future by ensuring his survival. Jonathan Blakely, the Marquess of Avingdale, is on his way for an assignation with his latest lover when he spies the intriguing, yet socially awkward Maryanne at a house party. She’s crass in the most endearing way, but she’s keeping secrets—ones he is determined to find out. The more she avoids him, the more he’s compelled to solve the enigma she presents. What he doesn’t wager is that doing so will transport him to a new world of wondrous inventions and tie him to Maryanne in a way he never thought possible. 
    Show book
  • With Love in Sight - cover

    With Love in Sight

    Christina Britton

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    A case of mistaken identity brings together a shy young spinster and a reckless rake in this sexy Regency romance by the award-winning author. With her London Season come and gone, desperately shy Imogen Duncan is a confirmed spinster at twenty-six. Now she must look on as her younger sister Mariah begins her own Season with her choice of handsome suitors. It is an exercise in stoic resignation—until an accidental kiss bring her unexpected adventure. Burying his guilt from a decade-old tragedy beneath a life of debauchery, Caleb Masters, Marquess of Willbridge, is content enough to meet willing widows in dark gardens to numb the pain. But he is wholly unprepared when an innocent young woman stumbles into him, turning his superficial world on its head. Drawn to the rogue who mistakenly stole her first kiss, Imogen finds not a suitor, but a friend. Free to be herself for the first time, she discovers a strength in herself she never knew she possessed. But when friendship turns to passion, Imogen will accept nothing less than Caleb’s heart. Can a healing of the past lead to the promise of a future together?
    Show book
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses - cover

    A Court of Thorns and Roses

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 15
    • 79
    • 1
    The sexy, action-packed first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Court of Thorns and Roses series from Sarah J. Maas. 
     
    When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a terrifying creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not truly a beast, but one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled her world.  
     
    At least, he's not a beast all the time.  
     
    As she adapts to her new home, her feelings for the faerie, Tamlin, transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But something is not right in the faerie lands. An ancient, wicked shadow is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it, or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever. 
     
    From bestselling author Sarah J. Maas comes a seductive, breathtaking book that blends romance, adventure, and faerie lore into an unforgettable read.
    Show book
  • Falling for You (A Bradford Sisters Romance Book #2) - cover

    Falling for You (A Bradford...

    Becky Wade

    • 1
    • 16
    • 0
    Famously beautiful model Willow Bradford is taking a temporary break from her hectic schedule to work as the innkeeper at her family's small-town bed-and-breakfast. She was enjoying the peace of her hometown, Merryweather, Washington, right up until she came face-to-face with Corbin Stewart, the man she loves to hate. A thoughtful rule-follower by nature, Willow threw caution to the wind four years ago when she entrusted her heart to Corbin--and suffered the consequences when it all fell apart.Former NFL quarterback Corbin is forceful, charming, and accustomed to getting what he wants . . . except where Willow Bradford is concerned. Unable to forget her, he's never stopped regretting what happened between them. When their paths unexpectedly cross again, he's determined to make her give him a second chance.When a decades-old missing persons case finds Corbin and Willow working together, they're forced to confront their past and who they've become--and whether they can risk falling for one another all over again.
    Show book
  • Finding Love at Mermaid Terrace - an utterly heartwarming feel good spring romance - cover

    Finding Love at Mermaid Terrace...

    Kate Forster

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    Love comes when you least expect it... 
     
    Tressa Buckland likes her quiet life in Port Lowdy, with its cobbled streets and colourful terraced houses overlooking the sea. Her job at the local paper allows her to pursue her art in her free time, with no one but her tabby cat Ginger Pickles to mind her in Mermaid Terrace. But then the owner of the paper is called away on an emergency, and it's up to Tressa to run the paper for six months. Her first task: find a new part-time journalist.
     
    Dan Byrne is the angriest man in Ireland – or so the readers of his very successful column, 'Dan takes on the world', think. But after a story goes south and he loses his job in Dublin, Dan has no choice but to start afresh. When an opportunity comes up in sleepy Cornwall, Dan and his Golden Retriever Ritchie set off for a new adventure.
     
    For Tressa, Dan's arrival to Port Lowdy changes everything. Tressa tries not to look too deeply at her own life, but Dan sees a story to uncover in absolutely everyone – even her. The two of them couldn't be more different... yet, if they can find a way to work together, they may just breathe new life and joy into this sleepy seaside village.
     
    Finding Love at Mermaid Terrace is a heartwarming new village romance about the power of love and kindness, from the bestselling author of Starting Over at Acorn Cottage.
     
    What people are saying about Kate Forster: 
     
    'Charming and totally absorbing ... I could not put this down!' Holly Martin on Starting Over at Acorn Cottage 
     
    'This beautifully descriptive and touching story about love and hope is fabulous sunshine reading' Closer
     
    'A lovely get-away-from-it-all read' Red
     
    'Loved it, loved it, loved it' - 5* reader review
     
    'Lovely small town Cornish romance, you can almost hear the sound of the sea' - 5* reader review
     
    'Simply amazing. Reading this book was a total happy surprise ... Some beautiful, raw and honest emotions really pulled at my heartstrings' - 5* reader review
     
    'I absolutely loved this book. Set in an idyllic sounding seaside village. I genuinely couldn't put this book down, It really pulled me in from the start' - 5* reader review
     
    'This book was ideal for an afternoon's escape, I could just see myself on that beach! A great read' - 5* reader review
     
    'In the midst of a crazy January, this book was such a great escape ... There was enough drama and heartache to bring tears to your eyes' - 5* reader review
     
    'A genuine feel-good book. Lots of different story lines to keep you interested with a fabulous, heart-warming ending. Loved it' - 5* reader review
    Show book
  • American Asshole - cover

    American Asshole

    Tara Sue Me

    • 6
    • 26
    • 0
    He’s a self proclaimed bastard with a double helping of lying asshole. He's also her new boss.From the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author of the acclaimed SUBMISSIVE Series comes the first book in a new series perfect for fans of Helena Hunting and Maya Banks. Mia Matthews never thought much of big shot matchmaker Tenor Butler, but when she finds out he loaned her late business partner a quarter of a million dollars and no one told her, there aren’t enough four letter words to describe him. She’d like nothing more than to pretend Tenor doesn’t exist, but she owes him all that money, not to mention he’s hot as hell.Tenor doesn’t see why it’s his fault Mia didn’t know about the loan. In fact, he thinks he’s being very magnanimous when he offers to forgive the loan if Mia closes her own matchmaking business and works for him for five years.  But as he gets closer to Mia, he realizes two things: 1) he doesn’t want her as an employee and 2) she hates his guts.When an old flame threatens them both, Mia and Tenor find themselves working together and are unable to ignore their mutual attraction. But it might be too late for these two romance experts to create their own love story.This is a standalone romance. No cliffhanger. 
    Show book