Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Syrian Virgin: A Young Woman's Journey From War in Syria to Love in New York - The Syrian Virgin Series #1 - cover

The Syrian Virgin: A Young Woman's Journey From War in Syria to Love in New York - The Syrian Virgin Series #1

Zack Love

Publisher: Zack Love

  • 0
  • 32
  • 0

Summary

Anissa is traumatized by the most brutal conflict of the 21st Century: the Syrian Civil War. In 2012, Islamists in Homs terrorize a Syrian-Christian community and destroy everything that a young woman holds dear. Narrowly escaping death, Anissa restarts her devastated life as a college student in NY. She is bewildered and lost -- a virgin in every sense.  

 

But despite her inexperience with men and life in the United States, Anissa is quickly drawn to two powerful individuals: Michael Kassab, the Syrian-American leader working to found the first Mideast Christian state, and Julien Morales, her Columbia University professor who runs a $20 billion hedge fund.  

 

Complicating matters, Michael is still attached to his ex-girlfriend and Julien is the most sought after bachelor in Manhattan (and has hidden demons even his therapist can't extract). Anissa's heart and her communal ties pull her in different directions, as she seeks hope and renewal in a dark world.  

 

WARNING: This book is about a young woman's difficult journey: her escape from Syria's Civil War, her transition to a new a country, and the relationships that she forms along the way, including her romantic interests in two very different men. The story is set against the backdrop of the Syrian Civil War and makes reference to violent acts, sometimes in detail. There is some occasional profanity and a few scenes that depict sexual intimacy. Accordingly, the recommended minimum age for readers is 16. The novel might be compared to books like "The Diary of Anne Frank" or "The Kite Runner."

Other books that might interest you

  • Courting Mr Emerson - cover

    Courting Mr Emerson

    Melody Carlson

    • 1
    • 22
    • 0
    When the fun-loving and spontaneous artist Willow West meets buttoned-up, retired English teacher George Emerson, it's not exactly love at first sight. Though she does find the obsessive-compulsive man intriguing. Making it her mission to get him to loosen up and embrace life, she embarks on what seems like a lost cause--and finds herself falling for him in the process.A confirmed bachelor, George vacillates between irritation and attraction whenever Willow is around--which to him seems like all too often. He's not interested in expanding his horizons or making new friends; it just hurts too much when you lose them.But as the summer progresses, George feels his defenses crumbling. The question is, will his change of heart be too late for Willow?With her signature heart and touches of humor, fan favorite Melody Carlson pens a story of two delightfully eccentric characters who get a second chance at life and love.
    Show book
  • A Return of Devotion (Haven Manor Book #2) - cover

    A Return of Devotion (Haven...

    Kristi Ann Hunter

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Daphne Blakemoor was perfectly happy living in her own secluded world for twelve years. She had everything she needed--loved ones, a true home, and time to indulge her imagination. But when ownership of the estate where she works as a housekeeper passes on, and the new marquis has an undeniable connection to her past, everything she's come to rely upon is threatened.William, Marquis of Chemsford's main goal in life is to be the exact opposite of his father. Starting a new life in the peace and quiet of the country sounds perfect until his housekeeper turns his life upside down. They've spent their lives hiding from the past. Can they find the courage to face their deepest wounds and, perhaps, find a new path for the future together?
    Show book
  • Driven To Mate - M M Alpha Omega MPREG - cover

    Driven To Mate - M M Alpha Omega...

    Harper B. Cole

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Gage has been keeping a secret for years...Gage wants to accept Alice Williams' invitation to join the White Falls pack and leave the Cherry Creek pack behind him like a bad memory. That desire only intensifies when he finds his mate, Luke, who belongs to that pack. But ever since their parents died, or killed, as Gage suspects, his first concern has been to protect her younger brother, Sean, who has a gift Gage suspects Cherry Creek alpha desperately wants to control, and Gage doesn't know if he can trust the White Falls alpha to be any different.Luke will wait as long as he needs to...Unable to stay away now that he's found him, Gage still holds himself at a distance from Luke, not knowing how far he can trust him. Then the Cherry Creek alpha makes a move, and Gage finds he has no choice but to jump off the deep end.As Gage starts to believe he can have it all: trust the White Falls pack, protect his brother, and be with his mate and child, the Cherry Creek alpha realizes his prize is slipping his grasp, and he'll do whatever it takes to win.Driven to Mate is a 43,000 word novel that can be read as a standalone with no cliffhangers and a HEA.
    Show book
  • Mother of Her Father's Son - A Novel - cover

    Mother of Her Father's Son - A...

    Toni Peters

    • 3
    • 34
    • 0
    Beautiful Ella Igor is the only child of her parents and she had always been very close to them. She knew they loved her and had given her a good life including the best schools and holidays abroad growing up. Now she worked as the IT Security Manager in a University and she enjoyed the job as well as the challenges that came with it.
     
    In a relationship with Josh Dumo for a over a year, they were already making plans for marriage but had not informed their parents.
     
    Everything changes when she receives a message inviting her home to see her father. Thinking he was ill, she quickly makes plans and travels home.
     
    When she finds out the cause of the summons, her world comes crashing down. She finds herself faced with a choice that threatens her faith, relationships, duty, and family. She is forced to make a decision that will change the entire course of her life except…
    Show book
  • Unexpected Mate - M M Alpha Omega MPREG - cover

    Unexpected Mate - M M Alpha...

    Harper B. Cole

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Carter didn't believe in true mates... until he met BrandOne scent was all it took. There was one big problem... when he met Brand, he was at a prenatal visit with his mate, Aaron, for their first child. And Brand was Aaron's doctor. Carter wasn't going to let the pull he felt toward Brand ruin what he had with Aaron, though, and Brand kept silent, so he let it fade.Six years later, a car crash changed Carter's lifeIt tore Aaron from him and broke his little boy in ways they are still trying to heal two years later. Carter's had two years of grieving, and he's ready to see if Brand and fate will give him another chance.Brand absolutely believes in true mates... and Carter isn't hisWhen Carter approaches him, Brand has no idea what he's talking about. Brand's never experienced that lightning from the sky moment, the fireworks, the scent--but he wants it. He wants it all. And he's not going to take anything less than everything, no matter how attractive Carter is.If Carter can't win Brand over the easy way, he's determined to do it the old fashioned way: with lots of wooing. But unknown to them, Brand has come to the attention of a group that poses a danger to all shifters everywhere, and their problems are just beginning.Unexpected Mate is a 61,000 word novel with pregnancies galore, danger lurking in the shadows, and finding healing in those you love.
    Show book
  • Her Sister's Bridegroom - cover

    Her Sister's Bridegroom

    Jane Bonander

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    Bestselling author Jane Bonander delights with enchanting historical romances set on the Scottish borderlands, perfect for fans of Paula Quinn and Karen Marie Moning.
    “Bonander writes with an easy style that brings her characters and timeframe to vivid, entertaining life.” —RT Book Reviews
    Robbie Fleming is out of options.
    When Robbie Fleming is evicted from her Edinburgh rooming house, she fears she’ll have to live on the street. Penniless, orphaned, and on poor terms with her only relative—her fraternal twin sister, Birdie—Robbie has nowhere to go.
    But then she receives a letter from Gavin Eliot, the man she has pined for since she was a girl. Although Gavin (and every other male within miles) seemed head over heels in love with flirty and vivacious Birdie, his letter holds a surprise: He wants to marry Robbie. Thrilled by the proposal and her change of luck, Robbie accepts, landing on his doorstep with little more than the clothes on her back.
    Gavin Eliot has his head in the clouds.
    When Robbie shows up at his borderlands manor, Gavin’s astonished to realize that he’s just unwittingly proposed to the wrong sister. But with Robbie in need of a home and Gavin honor-bound to his word, they find themselves headed to the altar. Will Robbie’s heart heal from the betrayal? And can Gavin learn to love the last woman he ever expected to marry?
    Show book