Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Unexpected - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Unexpected

Annika Steele

Publisher: RoseLark Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Maya Cartinelli's job as a claims adjuster takes her from Oklahoma City to Austin and everywhere in between. She loves her job helping people put their lives back together, and loves driving the winding country roads. 
It's Valentine's Day, and she's headed for home to make a last attempt at salvaging a relationship that was past time to call it quits. When she stays too late helping a client, she gets dumped by phone, somewhere on a little road outside of Georgetown. 
Maya's pride is hurt, but her heart's not really broken, and it's the wild Texas storm that blows her off the road and into a ditch that makes her mad. Wet and frustrated, she makes her way to the nearest farmhouse in the driving rain. 
Maya gets a welcome surprise when hunky Miguel Rios opens the door. 
Is this Valentine's Day about endings or does she have a chance at a new beginning? 
 
 
Author Notes: 
Unexpected is a steamy short story featuring stormy nights,old farmhouses, and a happy ending.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Laird's Secret - An Emotional and Moving Historical Romance about Love Loss and Redemption - cover

    The Laird's Secret - An...

    Linda Tyler

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In this heartfelt historical romance, an Englishwoman and a Scottish Laird seek healing from the scars of war and betrayal. 
     
    London, 1953. Life is getting back to normal after the war and Christina Camble is one of those looking to the future. But her trust in men is destroyed when she discovers her fiancé has a wife and child. Giving up her job and flat, she flees London and moves to Scotland, where she hopes to get her life back on the right track. 
     
    Christina’s peaceful life is interrupted when she meets handsome, reserved Alex MacDonald, the Laird of Craiglogie. Physically scarred and emotionally wrecked by his experiences in World War Two, Alex can’t help but be drawn to the sensitive and beautiful newcomer. But as Christina and Alex cautiously grow closer, a romantic rival does everything she can to drive a wedge between them. Can these two, who have lost so much, learn to love and trust again?
    Show book
  • Love cannot Fail - cover

    Love cannot Fail

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    Following the death of her husband, the Countess of Wenlock was living in her magnificent house in London with her son, Donald, and her beautiful daughter, Salvia.
    One day out of the blue Donald suddenly drops a bombshell.
    He tells his mother and Salvia that he has lost all their money by trusting an American acquaintance of his who claimed that he would invest it all safely and produce big profits for the family
    Donald leaves at once for America to follow the man and hopefully recover all or part of their money.
    Sylvia knows that she has to do something quickly to save them from losing their home and their treasures as they now cannot even afford to pay their servants.
    She goes to Thomas Cook's, the renowned travel firm, and asks them to arrange for a family coming from abroad, preferably a rich one, to visit England to stay at their lovely house instead of going to a hotel.
    Thomas Cook's oblige by sending them an American and his wife who are coming to London to introduce their attractive daughter to the Beau Monde.
    To make some money quickly Salvia then finds herself a job as secretary to Lord Carville who is writing a book in three languages and fortunately she herself is fluent in all three.
    How she helps him with his work, which she finds fascinating, and makes a lively contribution to his thoughts.
    How she and Lord Carville set off together on an unexpected visit to Paris, although Salvia knows that her mother would have misgivings about her travelling abroad unchaperoned with his Lordship.
    And how after all they are able to find what they are both seeking is told in this romantic novel by BARBARA CARTLAND.
    Show book
  • An Uncommon Courtship (Hawthorne House Book #3) - cover

    An Uncommon Courtship (Hawthorne...

    Kristi Ann Hunter

    • 7
    • 30
    • 0
    "Engaging Regency romance to sweep you away."--USA Today Happy Ever After BlogLife for Lady Adelaide Bell was easier if she hid in her older sister's shadow--which worked until her sister got married. Even with thepressure of her socially ambitious mother, the last thing she expected was a marriage of convenience to save her previously spotless reputation.Lord Trent Hawthorne couldn't be happier that he is not the duke in the family. He's free to manage his small estate and take his time discovering the life he wants to lead, which includes grand plans of wooing and falling in love with the woman of his choice. When he finds himself honor bound to marry a woman he doesn't know, his dream of a marriage like his parents' seems lost forever. Already starting their marriage on shaky ground, can Adelaide and Trent's relationship survive the pressures of London society?
    Show book
  • Fortune Favors the Duke - cover

    Fortune Favors the Duke

    Kristin Vayden

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    For fans of Ella Quinn, Amelia Grey, and Bridgerton comes the first in a new historical romance series with all your favorite tropes:Friends to lovers romanceForbidden romanceReluctant dukesTight-knit family saga 
    The new Duke has a proper scandal brewing.
     
    Quinton Errington is perfectly happy teaching at Cambridge, with his elder brother carrying the duties of being the Duke of Wesley. But when a trip to celebrate Wesley's last week of bachelorhood ends in tragedy, Quinton, who becomes the Duke, would give anything to have his brother back.
     
    Wesley's would-be bride, Catherine Greatheart, is left heartbroken and alone. Her grandmother has fallen ill, and Catherine has nowhere left to turn but to the family she was so close to being part of. The new Duke is kind, and she could use a friend.
     
    Between learning how to be the head of his family, mourning his brother, and trying not to fall in love with his late-brother's fiancée, Quinton will need some help—and it's a good thing he's not alone.
     
    "Flawless storytelling! Vayden is a new Regency powerhouse."—Rachel Van Dyken, #1 New York Times bestselling author
    Show book
  • The Patient Bridegroom - cover

    The Patient Bridegroom

    Barbara Cartland

    • 2
    • 6
    • 0
    Returning to his family estate after a long absence in India serving under the much-loved and now-deceased Viceroy, Michael, the handsome Earl of Rayburne, is appalled to find that his estate and the local village have gone to rack and ruin.
    It seems that his uncle to whom he had entrusted them has embezzled everything that the Earl owns, including the contents of Rayburne Castle and has decamped with his loot to America.
    Penniless and unable to pay the estate's workers and pensioners, who are on the verge of starvation, he has no choice but to throw himself on the mercy of Lord Frazer, the owner of the neighbouring estate and his family's bitter enemy in an age-old land dispute over a wood. 
    To the Earl's astonishment the hateful Lord Frazer offers him not a loan but a gift, amounting to fifty thousand ponds, in order to combine their two estates. 
    But there is one other condition. The Earl must marry Lord Frazer's young daughter, Ansella, whom he has never even met.
    Although now he can begin to rescue the estate and its people from ruin, the Earl is in despair, certain that Lord Frazer's daughter will be an ugly harridan who can never become the beloved 'Lady in the Castle' like his late and much-loved mother.
    But everything changes when he finally sees his bride after their Marriage Service.
    She is beautiful! 
    Her face is heart-shaped and her hair is pale gold like the sun at dawn – little wonder that soon the young Earl of Rayburne realises that he is falling in love.
    Show book
  • Trusting Grace (Virtues and Vices of the Old West Book #3) - A Novel - cover

    Trusting Grace (Virtues and...

    Maggie Brendan

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    All of her life, Grace Bidwell has longed for a loving husband and children, but now the chances of her dreams coming true are looking slim. Widowed and caring for her elderly father, she struggles to maintain her late husband's ranch, until she places an ad for a hired hand.Robert Frasier arrives in town with three pitiful, bedraggled children who have nothing but the tattered clothes on their backs and a load of hurt, pride, and anger. Believing this is divine intervention in her life, Grace welcomes them with open arms. As feelings grow between her and Robert, Grace will have to convince him that she is a woman who can be trusted with his heart.Readers will be swept away into 1860s Montana's lush Gallatin Valley, nestled among towering mountains and proud pines, in this emotional conclusion to the Virtues and Vices of the Old West series.
    Show book