Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Road of Skeletons - Thurvok #3 - cover

The Road of Skeletons - Thurvok #3

Cora Buhlert, Richard Blakemore

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

On their way to the northern city of Khon Orzad, Thurvok, the sellsword, and his friend Meldom, thief, cutpurse and occasional assassin, travel along a road lined with the skeletons of executed heretics. 
It's a grim path that becomes even grimmer when Thurvok and Meldom come upon a blindfolded woman who is still very much alive tied to a stake by the side of the road.  
Should they continue their journey or rescue the woman and risk the wrath of the priest kings of Khon Orzad… 
This is a short story of 5500 words or 20 print pages in the Thurvok sword and sorcery series, but may be read as a standalone. Includes an introduction and afterword.

Other books that might interest you

  • Bitten By Cupid - cover

    Bitten By Cupid

    Lynsay Sands, Pamela Palmer,...

    • 4
    • 21
    • 0
    Just in time for Valentine’s Day, there’s Bitten by Cupid, a trio of sinfully hot novellas from three true masters of paranormal romance. These are contemporary love stories with a bite—as Lynsay Sands, New York Times bestselling author of The Renegade Hunter and the popular Argeneau vampire series, joins exciting up-and-comers Pamela Palmer and Jamie Rush to explore the passions of sexy shape-shifters, genetically enhanced humans, and (of course) the undead. Fans of Heroes, The X-Files, Fringe, and Torchwood will surely catch the love bug once they are Bitten by Cupid.
    Show book
  • The Tales of Aylfenhame Compendium - Books 1-3 - cover

    The Tales of Aylfenhame...

    Charlotte E. English

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Fairytale fantasy meets romance meets the English Regency in these three dreamy tales.
     
    Miss Landon and Aubranael: When impoverished Miss Sophia Landon crosses over into Faerie, she meets Aubranael, an Aylir with a warm heart and a ruined face. Armed with the temporary gift of beauty, Aubranael sets out to win Sophy’s heart: and so begins an adventure that could change his life, and Sophy’s, forever.
     
    Miss Ellerby and the Ferryman: Miss Isabel Ellerby is a dutiful daughter with a well-ordered life. But when an impulsive promise to the mysterious Ferryman of the fae realm turns her life upside down, Isabel is forced to choose: will she marry the man her parents have chosen for her, or follow her heart and her destiny to Aylfenhame?
     
    Bessie Bell and the Goblin King: When housemaid Bessie Bell is thrown out into a cold October night, her prospects could scarcely seem worse. How will she survive? But on the road she meets a mysterious gentleman, and her fortunes take an immediate turn for the… strange. For they say the Goblin King wanders the hills of Lincolnshire sometimes, in the guise of a mortal man...
     
    Three courageous heroines. Three fairytale heroes. Three tales of love, magic and adventure.
    Show book
  • Mulgara - The Necromancer’s Will - cover

    Mulgara - The Necromancer’s Will

    David Rose

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    David Rose is the author of No Joy and From Sand and TimeHe is a former MarineHe has a loyal fan base that loves to read his workHe has 8k Instagram followers
    Show book
  • Vampire Interrupted - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampire Interrupted - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 3
    • 12
    • 0
    After seven hundred years of life, Marguerite Argeneau finally has a career. Well, the start of one, anyway. She's training to be a private investigator, and her first assignment is to find an immortal's mother. It seemed simple enough, until Marguerite wakes up one evening to find herself at the wrong end of a sword. Now she realizes she's in way over her head. 
    Julius Notte wants to protect Marguerite, and not because someone just tried to take her head off. She doesn't know it yet, but she's his lifemate and he's determined to woo her. It's been over five hundred years since he last courted a woman, but surely the techniques haven't changed. Now if only he can keep her alive—so to speak—so they can have that happily-ever-after.
    Show book
  • Final Flight - A Clockwork Dagger Story - cover

    Final Flight - A Clockwork...

    Beth Cato

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Another breathtaking short story from the author of The Clockwork Dagger and The Clockwork Crown, set in the same world… 
    Captain Hue hoped he was rid of his troubles once Octavia Leander and Alonzo Garrett disembarked from his airship Argus. But he was quickly proved wrong when his ship was commandeered by Caskentian soldiers. He is ordered on a covert and deadly mission by the smarmy Julius Corrado, an elite Clockwork Dagger. 
    Now Captain Hue must start a mutiny to regain control of his airship, which means putting his entire crew at risk—including his teenage son Sheridan. As the weather worsens and time runs out, it’ll take incredible bravery to bring the Argus down….perhaps for good.
    Show book
  • The High Lord - The Black Magician Trilogy - cover

    The High Lord - The Black...

    Trudi Canavan

    • 0
    • 38
    • 0
    "You want to know the truth." 
    Sonea has learned much since she was but a penniless urchin possessing an awesome untapped ability. She has earned the grudging respect of her fellow novices and a place in the Magicians' Guild. But there is much she wishes she had never learned—what she witnessed, for example, in the underground chamber of the mysterious High Lord Akkarin . . . and the knowledge that the Guild is being observed closely by an ancient fearsome enemy. 
    Still, she dares not ignore the terrifying truths the High Lord would share with her, even though she fears it may be base trickery, a scheme to use her astonishing powers to accomplish his dark aims. For Sonea knows her future is in his hands—and that only in the shadows will she achieve true greatness . . . if she survives.
    Show book