You wouldn't limit the air you breathe. Why limit your readings?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Returning - cover

Returning

J.T. McDaniel

Publisher: J.T. McDaniel

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Over 86,000 years ago, the starship Warrior departed her home planet on an extended exploration and colonisation mission. She returns in 2126 to a very different world; a world that has forgotten their ancient, advance culture ever existed. Returning is both an exciting science fiction adventure, and a gentle reminder that good intentions don't always bring good results.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Redpoint Crux - cover

    The Redpoint Crux

    Morgan Shamy

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Fans of The Night Circus and The Raven Boys will enjoy her thrilling novel.When Megan Van Helsburg gets kicked off the U.S.A. Climbing Team, she has no choice but to return home and leave her climbing career behind. With no coach, no money, and no prospects, she joins the corps de ballet determined to improve her strength and agility. But the ballet theater is in dire straits. Not only do a series of murders break loose, but the ballerinas are becoming deathly thin and brain-dead. As Megan investigates, she meets Bellamy, a tortured young man who lives beneath the depths of the theater. Megan falls hard and fast for Bellamy, who becomes her mentor, but something is off about him. It isn't until the company announces they're doing Giselle for the fall performance that Megan realizes the parallels between the ghost story and the lives around her. Megan must find a way to not only save her climbing career, but balance her feelings for Bellamy, and stop the murders and dying girls before she, too, is numbered among the dead.
    Show book
  • The Werewolf Queen - cover

    The Werewolf Queen

    Brandi Elledge

    • 4
    • 12
    • 0
    I always wished I had supernatural powers. Now I wish I didn’t.Sadie’s a dud, a failure–the only one in high school who doesn’t have any kind of supernatural powers. Her psychic bff, Jo, knows something about Sadie’s future, but just won’t tell. And what the heck is going on when one of her teachers starts looking at her while he’s going on about powerful lost keys, portals of madness, and destinies?Then it all starts.On her 18th birthday, Sadie starts to feel weird. And when werewolves, vampires, and demons all turn up to spoil her party, the weirdness really ramps up.Leaving her best friend, her family, and the only town she’s ever known, Sadie must find safety. But while the king of the werewolves can offer her somewhere to hide while she’s learning about her new powers, he can’t stop his psycho witch fiancée from finding new ways to try and kill her. Of course, the murderous tendencies of this psycho witch only get worse when she realises the Werewolf King is, um… attracted to Sadie.And all that’s before Sadie sets off to try and find one of the lost keys. Before she visits hell. Before she picks up a pet ogre.And before she realizes just how powerful she can become.But if it really is her destiny to collect one of the lost keys, will she be able control her newfound power and help save the world and all the people in it she loves? Or will she buckle under the pressure?She’s about to find out. A mansion surrounded by demons and full of vampires and witches intent on her destruction awaits. Oh, and that psycho-witch fiancée of the Werewolf King. What could possibly go wrong?
    Show book
  • The Silver Avian Sorceress - cover

    The Silver Avian Sorceress

    Dea Divi

    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    A young man, named Doyle, hears an old wives’ tale from his dying mother and decides to venture out to search for the Silver Sorceress who could save her. Little does Doyle realize that searching out the fey enchantress would result in it becoming true wives’ tale. As he searches through the forest, little does Doyle know that he is being tested by her as well. Doyle soon comes face to face with the Silver Sorceress and is granted help. Doyle journeys back to his mother with the help of the sorceress but at what cost from her?
    Show book
  • The Queen of Witches - cover

    The Queen of Witches

    Brandi Elledge

    • 3
    • 4
    • 0
    She knew Werewolves weren’t real. Working with one was only the start of her problems.Charlie is afraid. Since her 18th birthday, strange things have been happening around her—like randomly starting fires or turning things to ice. But things are about to get even weirder.When two good looking guys turn up in town both wanting her to help them, Charlie doesn’t want anything to do with them. But when of them asks her to help him find something, he gives her an offer she can’t refuse. And Charlie discovers more than she could have suspected.Because the man she’s helping is a Werewolf—something she knew didn’t exist.And the weird things she’s been doing? Probably makes her… something else she never believed in—something that’s confirmed when she’s kidnapped and forced to put on a wedding dress to marry a powerful warlock. She’s a witch.But if Charlie thinks avoiding a wedding is the biggest of her problems, she has another thing coming. Many things coming actually. Because she’s made the Prince of Hell mad as… well, hell. And, with a bunch of his evil chums, he’s coming for her.She’d better hope she masters the whole ‘turning things to ice’ magic pretty fast. And that the Werewolf can track her down. Because staying in hell is exactly like it sounds. And getting out might just take more than she can give.The Queen of Witches is the second book in the Urban/Paranormal Wheel of Crowns series by Brandi Elledge. With the same quirky humour and sass as the first book in the series, you'll laugh as you're glued to the pages until the very end.
    Show book
  • Lord - cover

    Lord

    Gilberto Noll João

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    As Lord begins, a Brazilian author is arriving at London’s Heathrow airport for reasons he doesn’t fully understand. Only aware that he has been invited to take part in a mysterious mission, the Brazilian starts to churn with anxiety. Torn between returning home and continuing boldly forward, he becomes absorbed by fears: What if the Englishman who invited him here proves malign? Maybe he won’t show up? Or maybe he’ll leave the Brazilian lost and adrift in London, with no money or place to stay? Ever more confused and enmeshed in a reality of his own making, the Brazilian wanders more and more through London’s immigrant Hackney neighborhood, losing his memory, adopting strange behaviors, experiencing surreal sexual encounters, and developing a powerful fear of ever seeing himself reflected in a mirror.A novel about the unsettling space between identities, and a disturbing portrait of dementia from the inside out, Lord constructs an altogether original story out of the ways we search for new versions of ourselves. With jaw-dropping scenes and sensual, at times grotesque images, renowned Brazilian author João Gilberto Noll grants us stunning new visions of our own personalities and the profound transformations that overtake us throughout life.
    Show book
  • Sands and Starlight - A Bejewelled Fairytale - cover

    Sands and Starlight - A...

    Charlotte E. English

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Distantly upon the horizon, bejewelled light shone like stars; tantalising, inviting.
     
    Then the palace-in-glass was gone, fading away into the velvet night like a snuffed lamp.
     
    Between the sands and the starlight, ancient powers rise, and the oldest of tales becomes new. 
     
    An old sorcerer travels the starlight bazaars: cursed and magic-blighted, he has glass where his heart should be.
     
    A half-jinni enchantress seeks her missing son: daughter of a fallen king, hers is a great and daunting power.
     
    A trio of camels walks the sands: loyal sisters in service, there is more to their past than meets the eye.  
     
    What unites these tales (and many more) is a marvel of sorcery and beauty: a great palace of ensorcelled glass, glimpsed only under the stars, and vanishing with the dawn...
     
    The third Wonder Tale from Charlotte E. English combines the magic and colour of ancient stories with her trademark wit and whimsy. A fresh journey into the strange lands of fairytales.
    Show book