What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Good Junk - Cliff Saint James #2 - cover

Good Junk - Cliff Saint James #2

ED KOVACS

Publisher: THE PHOENIX GROUP

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Critically-acclaimed author Ed Kovacs presents Book Two in his thrilling Cliff Saint James series of murder mystery crime novels set in New Orleans. Publisher’s Weekly gave Good Junk the rare honor of a starred, boxed review, calling it “outstanding,” and saying that “powerful prose elevates this above most other contemporary PI novels.” The New York Times Book Review said, “The scenes of New Orleans are rich and real.” And Steve Berry called Kovacs a “vivid addition to the thriller genre.” 
Cliff Saint James, like the city of New Orleans, has taken his share of hard knocks. First there was the killer Hurricane that destroyed his hometown, ruined his mixed-martial-arts dojo, and nearly bankrupted him. A former cop, he narrowly escaped assassination at the hands of ruthless gangs while solving his first murder case as a private eye. Now after rebuilding his life, trouble has found him again. 
While wrestling with guilt over having accidentally killed a mixed-martial-arts opponent in a sparring session, Saint James finds himself assisting a police investigation into the apparent suicide of a U.S. government “black projects” engineer. He and his good friend Honey, now a homicide detective, quickly realize they have murder, not suicide on their hands, and that the victim was much more than just an engineer.  
As they track the killer through the brackish, steamy under belly of New Orleans, their allies become few, and their many opponents emerge as powerful international forces intent on doing anything—including killing Saint James—to maintain the status quo of a shocking conspiracy. 
This revised and updated edition of Good Junk is in the time-honored tradition of works by Michael Connelly, James Patterson, Lee Child, Raymond Chandler, Dashiel Hammet, James Ellroy, and Dennis Lehane.

Other books that might interest you

  • Trackers - cover

    Trackers

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Lemmer’s first rule is: “Don’t get involved.” A highly skilled bodyguard with a violent, criminal past, he has settled into a quiet life in Loxton, South Africa, where the rural tranquility has helped to calm his explosive temper. But when a wealthy farmer asks for his help in smuggling a pair of rare black rhinos out of Zimbabwe (where they are murdered for their horns), he has a hard time saying no. Before he knows it, Lemmer is on a small airplane, zipping across the border, an airsickness bag in his hand and a military-grade shotgun at his feet. Soon, he will regret the trip very much.In Trackers, internationally-acclaimed thriller writer Deon Meyer expertly weaves together Lemmer’s story with a missing person investigation and the machinations of a top intelligence agency. Wielding a phenomenal cast of characters, Meyer delves deep into the people, the breathtaking landscapes, and the politics and problems of this fascinating country. A #1 best-seller in South Africa, Trackers is an insightful novel that will take your breath away.
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 2
    • 43
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • Max O'Brien Mysteries 3-Book Bundle - The Kashmir Trap The Roma Plot The Tanzania Conspiracy - cover

    Max O'Brien Mysteries 3-Book...

    Mario Bolduc

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    It’s not easy to have enemies everywhere … but con artist Max O’Brien is a man of the world. Read all three of Max's adventures in this special ebook collection. 
     
    
    
    The Kashmir Trap — Book #1 
    
    Professional con man Max O’Brien is on the run from police when he learns that his diplomat nephew has been assassinated in New Delhi. Eleven years earlier, Max’s brother mysteriously disappeared while serving as an ambassador. Determined to find answers this time, Max goes to India, on the verge of war with Pakistan, to unravel a violent past. 
     
    
    The Roma Plot — Book #2 
    
    When con man Max O’Brien hears that one of his best friends is wanted for the murder of twenty-three people in Romania, he heads to Bucharest to uncover the truth. As Max uncovers secrets reaching back to Europe’s darkest days, he ends up with one foot in the present and the other in the past, scrambling to save his friend?s future. 
     
    
    The Tanzania Conspiracy — Book #3 
    
    Max O’Brien travels to Tanzania to solve a friend’s murder, but finds himself wrapped up in the murky history of a killing spree of African albinos, and facing the possibility that his friend may have been collateral damage of a gruesome slaughter. Could the connection be real? Even in the face of horror, Max will stop at nothing to find out.
    Show book
  • Cold-Blooded - Killer Nashville Noir - cover

    Cold-Blooded - Killer Nashville...

    Jeffery Deaver, Anne Perry,...

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    “Murder, mayhem, and mystery! Every story . . . is filled with suspense, sizzle and startling twists. I loved it!” ―Lisa Jackson, New York Times–bestselling author   Crime comes to the capital of country music in these all-new stories by mystery and thriller stars including Jeffery Deaver, Anne Perry, Robert Dugoni, Donald Bain, Jefferson Bass, and many more.   “Settings include backwoods hollows, late-night recording studios, seedy dives, quiet suburbs, sleek yachts, and tropical islands. Readers will meet Civil War re-enactors, college professors, song writers, spies, and the requisite lawyers and cops, as well as a being that just might be the devil. Among the highlights are Anne Perry’s ‘Shutter Speed,’ which takes the reader back in time to the fashionable haunts of 1930s British aristocracy, with Wallis Simpson and Edward, Prince of Wales, putting in an appearance. In ‘Regression,’ Jeffery Deaver offers a fresh and frightening look at the potential benefits and pitfalls of successful psychiatric treatment, and Mary Burton warms up a cold case in ‘The Keepsake.’ This is a book to keep by your bedside for those nighttime short story cravings.” —Publishers Weekly  Includes stories by Jefferson Bass, Catriona McPherson, Baron R. Birtcher, Donald Bain, C. Hope Clark, Jonathan Stone, Maggie Toussaint, Jeffery Deaver, Blake Fontenay, Jon Jefferson, Anne Perry, Heywood Gould, Dana Chamblee Carpenter, Mary Burton, Jaden Terrell, Robert Dugoni & Paula Gail Benson, Eyre Price, Steven James, Daco, and Clay Stafford
    Show book
  • Fire Trap - A TJ Peterson Mystery - cover

    Fire Trap - A TJ Peterson Mystery

    Bob Kroll

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    The third and final installment of the T.J. Peterson mysteries
    		 
    Things have gone from bad to worse for T.J. Peterson. The cops have kicked him off the force, his girlfriend called it quits, his best friend and former partner won’t speak to him, and his estranged 20-year-old daughter, Katy, continues to torment him with photos of the hellholes she is living in. Add in a shrink’s diagnosis of PTSD, and Peterson is barely holding it together. 
    		 
    When he receives an anonymous text message with an online link to a video of a young journalist being tortured, Peterson does the only thing he knows how to do — he sets out to save her. Using psychological warfare, a maniac of savage cruelty lures Peterson into a brutal labyrinth of hard-core porn and the vicious depravity of the Dark Web, and Peterson finds himself in a race to find the girl before the torment breaks him for good.
    Show book
  • Stonechild and Rouleau Mysteries 4-Book Bundle - Shallow End Tumbled Graves Butterfly Kills Cold Mourning - cover

    Stonechild and Rouleau Mysteries...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When damaged, brilliant detective Kala Stonechild and workaholic staff sergeant Jacques Rouleau get paired up, pieces start falling into place. The series has been called “deeply atmospheric and tightly plotted” and praised for its grit. Now, the first four mysteries are available together in an ebook-exclusive bundle at a special price. 
     
    
    
    Includes: 
     
    
    
    Cold Mourning – Book #1 
    
    A week before Christmas, wealthy businessman Tom Underwood disappears into thin air, with more than enough people wanting him dead. Kala Stonechild is a new member of the specialized Ottawa Police unit tasked with bringing him home for the holidays, but a killer has other plans. Who can you trust when love turns to hate and murder stalks a family? 
     
    
    
    Butterfly Kills – Book #2 
    
    Rouleau is in a new job in a new city. He’s in a fight against time to keep his dysfunctional team together long enough to get to sort out the innocent from the evil. 
     
    
    
    Tumbled Graves – Book #3 
    
    When Adele Delaney and her daughter go missing, Kala Stonechild and Paul Gundersund investigate. Adele’s body soon turns up — dead, with no sign of her daughter. Struggling to to keep the case on track and her own life under control, Stonechild learns the dead woman had ties to a Montreal biker gang and heads to Quebec to find the missing piece. 
     
    
    
    Shallow End – Book #4, NEW! 
    
    Convicted child molester Jane Thompson has made parole, but one month later the body of the student she was found guilty of abusing is found on the shores of Lake Ontario. Sergeant Rouleau assigns Officers Stonechild and Gundersund to head up the murder investigation, but things quickly get ugly, and not just with the case.
    Show book