Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Good Junk - Cliff Saint James #2 - cover

Good Junk - Cliff Saint James #2

ED KOVACS

Publisher: THE PHOENIX GROUP

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Critically-acclaimed author Ed Kovacs presents Book Two in his thrilling Cliff Saint James series of murder mystery crime novels set in New Orleans. Publisher’s Weekly gave Good Junk the rare honor of a starred, boxed review, calling it “outstanding,” and saying that “powerful prose elevates this above most other contemporary PI novels.” The New York Times Book Review said, “The scenes of New Orleans are rich and real.” And Steve Berry called Kovacs a “vivid addition to the thriller genre.” 
Cliff Saint James, like the city of New Orleans, has taken his share of hard knocks. First there was the killer Hurricane that destroyed his hometown, ruined his mixed-martial-arts dojo, and nearly bankrupted him. A former cop, he narrowly escaped assassination at the hands of ruthless gangs while solving his first murder case as a private eye. Now after rebuilding his life, trouble has found him again. 
While wrestling with guilt over having accidentally killed a mixed-martial-arts opponent in a sparring session, Saint James finds himself assisting a police investigation into the apparent suicide of a U.S. government “black projects” engineer. He and his good friend Honey, now a homicide detective, quickly realize they have murder, not suicide on their hands, and that the victim was much more than just an engineer.  
As they track the killer through the brackish, steamy under belly of New Orleans, their allies become few, and their many opponents emerge as powerful international forces intent on doing anything—including killing Saint James—to maintain the status quo of a shocking conspiracy. 
This revised and updated edition of Good Junk is in the time-honored tradition of works by Michael Connelly, James Patterson, Lee Child, Raymond Chandler, Dashiel Hammet, James Ellroy, and Dennis Lehane.

Other books that might interest you

  • Falling Creatures - The Times Historical Book of the Month - cover

    Falling Creatures - The Times...

    Katherine Stansfield

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    ‘A DARK AND MACABRE ATMOSPHERE THAT FEELS FRESH AND ORIGINAL’ THE TIMES HISTORICAL BOOK OF THE MONTH 
    Cornwall, 1844. On a lonely farm not far from Jamaica Inn, farmhand Shilly finds love in the arms of Charlotte Dymond. Charlotte has many secrets, and when she’s found on the moor with her throat cut, Shilly is determined to discover who is responsible. But so is the stranger calling himself Mr Williams, who throws Shilly into the bewildering new world of modern detection. 
    Based on historical events, Falling Creatures probes the dark heart of Victorian Cornwall in the shadow of gallows justice. In a place where the dead lie uneasy in their graves, to find a murderer, a young woman must first learn who she can trust.
    Show book
  • Pieces of Her - A Novel - cover

    Pieces of Her - A Novel

    Karin Slaughter

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    COMING TO NETFLIX! 
    Mother. Hero. Liar. Killer. How can you tell when all you have is... 
    PIECES OF HER 
    What if the person you thought you knew best turns out to be someone you never knew at all . . . ? 
    Andrea knows everything about her mother, Laura. She knows she’s spent her whole life in the small beachside town of Belle Isle; she knows she’s never wanted anything more than to live a quiet life as a pillar of the community; she knows she’s never kept a secret in her life. Because we all know our mothers, don’t we? 
    But all that changes when a trip to the mall explodes into violence and Andrea suddenly sees a completely different side to Laura. Because it turns out that before Laura was Laura, she was someone completely different. For nearly thirty years she’s been hiding from her previous identity, lying low in the hope that no one would ever find her. But now she’s been exposed, and nothing will ever be the same again. 
    The police want answers and Laura’s innocence is on the line, but she won’t speak to anyone, including her own daughter. Andrea is on a desperate journey following the breadcrumb trail of her mother’s past. And if she can’t uncover the secrets hidden there, there may be no future for either one of them. . . .
    Show book
  • Real Monsters - cover

    Real Monsters

    Liam Brown

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    'From the scorched desert to the marital bedroom, Real Monsters is a memorable and moving portrait of the futility of 21st century conflict.' --Benjamin Myers, author of Pig Iron and Beastings 
    We are surrounded by monsters. The lines are now so blurred, no one knows who the real enemy is anymore. 
    Reeling from the terrorist attack that killed her father, Lorna lurches through an inebriated adolescence until she finds redemption in a young soldier called Danny. However, her dream of a stable life is shattered when Danny is called to serve in war overseas. 
    Danny is lost in the desert. Most of his unit is dead – victims, it would seem, of a brutal ambush. With their equipment destroyed and food running out, the small band of men stumble through the sand and shadows, desperate to find salvation. As their hope fades, they begin to turn on each other, until finally it becomes clear that only the truly monstrous will survive. 
    Brown creates a compelling and gripping experience alternating between the soldier and home narrative. Cleverly employing letters and unique voices we are drawn completely into the raw desert while being left with a thought-provoking and graphic view of modern warfare. 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Beautifully written, smart and punchy'. Sam Mills, author of The Quiddity of Will Self 
    'A memorable and moving portrait of the futility of 21st century conflict'. Benjamin Myers, author of Pig Iron and Beastings
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 5
    • 81
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • The Parchment Notebook - cover

    The Parchment Notebook

    Jo Chumas

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Cairo, Egypt, 1919Hezba, the rebellious seventeen-year-old daughter of the Sultan of Egypt, lives a life of luxury in a mansion overlooking the river Nile. Locked away in the harem, she has everything she wants, except the one thing that will keep her from madness; her freedom.The Sultan has ordered Hezba back into the care of her husband, the ageing and abusive Khalil al-Shezira, but Hezba's secret lover has other ideas, so does Hezba. She wants al-Shezira gone from her life and she wants change. She'll stop at nothing to achieve her desires.In 1919, Egypt, and in a world reeling from the devastation of the First World War, Hezba is considered a dangerous female; as the daughter of the Sultan of Egypt, she is expected to do as she is told.But for Hezba, submission is impossible; love, revolution and freedom from repression are worth dying for.The Parchment Notebook was originally published by Thomas & Mercer, USA as The Hidden, a novel that won the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award (ABNA) in 2013, in the Mystery/Suspense category and became an overnight bestseller.Now published by 8dpress, Edinburgh, The Hidden has been split into two stories, The Parchment Notebook being the first in The Hidden series. Aimee's War is the second book in the series; The Zephyr, the third; and The Unforgiven the last in the series. 
    Show book
  • The Drowners - cover

    The Drowners

    Jennie Finch

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    In Somerset it is carnival season once more, but Alex Hastings is not in the mood to join the festivities. Struck down by a potentially lethal illness, she is beset by problems both at workand within her family. Meanwhile, the demise of Derek Johns gang has left a power vacuum, and an uneasy alliance of criminals forms, determined to take control of the area for their own gain. Then, one night out on the marshes a local man is found dead amidst reports of flickering lights and strange music and rumours grow of the return of an ancient evil. This second book in the Alex Hastings series picks up the story six weeks after the finale to Death of the Elver Man, leading Alex and her friends further into the mystery and menace surrounding the Somerset Levels.
    Show book