Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Graveyard Shift - In Love and War #4 - cover

Graveyard Shift - In Love and War #4

Cora Buhlert

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

While docked at the civilian space station Unity for repairs, the Republic of United Planets battlecruiser Great Endeavour undertakes a trial flight with an inexperienced bridge crew. Disaster strikes and the Great Endeavour crashes into Unity's shopping concourse, killing more than three hundred people. 
A tragic accident, but in times of war, the public is not willing to accept tragic accidents. And so the Republic's government sends its best troubleshooter, Colonel Brian Mayhew of the Republican Special Commando Forces to initiate a cover-up. 
This is a prequel novelette of 15500 words or approx. 48 print pages in the In Love and War series, but may be read as a standalone.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Way to Freedom: The Complete Season One (Books 1-5) - The Way to Freedom - cover

    The Way to Freedom: The Complete...

    H.M. Clarke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An Accident of Birth... 
    Every ten years the Imperium Provosts travel the provinces of the Great Suene Empire and take every second born child as the property of the Emperor. His Due for their continued protection. 
    Kalena, taken from her family and friends finds herself alone and scared in the imperial Stronghold of Darkon. And when she cries out to the darkness for help, Kalena is shocked when it answers her back. 
    Note: This omibus does not contain Book 1.1 The Cavern of Sethi.
    Show book
  • Rika Outcast - Rika's Marauders #1 - cover

    Rika Outcast - Rika's Marauders #1

    M. D. Cooper

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Rika is mech-meat, a cyborg killing machine, created by the Genevian military and cast aside when the war was lost. 
     
    Now she slings cargo on Dekar Station, falling deeper in debt as she struggles to make enough money to keep her cybernetic body functioning. The local gangs would love to have her join their ranks, and the takings would pay her bills, but the only thing Rika hates more than what she's become, is killing for others. 
     
    But morals don't buy repairs and she's at the point of utter desperation when her loan holder cashes in her debt and sells her to the highest bidder. 
     
    When Rika wakes, she's in a warehouse on a planet she's never heard of, and a trio of mercenaries are reassembling her body. Their mission is to kill the world's president, and her mods and abilities are just what they need to get the job done. 
     
    Whether she likes it or not, Rika is in the business of killing once more as she joins the ranks of the Marauders.
    Show book
  • Beyond: Technology - cover

    Beyond: Technology

    Scott Overton

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Three tricky tangles with technology:
    
    
    
     
    Once
    Upon A Midnight
    
     
    A woman whose job at a bio-weapons lab is
    to calculate the destructiveness of the world’s most deadly organisms is
    overwhelmed by a personal calamity. And the results could be catastrophic.
    (First published in In Poe’s Shadow, Dark Opus Press, 2011 and Tesseracts 16:
    Parnassus Unbound, Hades Publications, Inc., 2012.)
    
     
    Democracy
    
     
    A small tropical island claims to have
    perfect democracy thanks to technology enabling every citizen to vote on every
    issue of governance. When cynical reporter Jayne Connor investigates, the truth
    is stranger than anything she could have imagined.
    
     
    Shakedown
    
     
    A top gaming competitor seems like the
    perfect choice to pilot a virus-sized submersible through the bloodstream by
    virtual reality. But can the human mind exist in two realities at one time?
    (First published in Canadian Tales of the Fantastic, Red Tuque Books, 2011.)
    
    
    
     
    Praise
    for Scott Overton:
    
     
    “A storyteller of boundless skill…a writer
    to watch.”
    
     
    “A gifted wordsmith.”
    Show book
  • The Rogue Retrieval - cover

    The Rogue Retrieval

    Dan Koboldt

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the tradition of Terry Brooks' Landover series, Piers Anthony Xanth books, and Terry Pratchett's Discword novels, scientist and blogger Dan Koboldt weaves wonder, humor, and heart into his debut novel, The Rogue Retrieval.  
    Sleight of hand…in another land 
    Stage magician Quinn Bradley has one dream: to headline his own show on the Vegas Strip. And with talent scouts in the audience wowed by his latest performance, he knows he’s about to make the big-time. 
    What he doesn’t expect is an offer to go on a quest to a place where magic is all too real. 
    That's how he finds himself in Alissia, a world connected to ours by a secret portal owned by a powerful corporation. He’s after an employee who has gone rogue, and that’s the least of his problems. Alissia has true magicians…and the penalty for impersonating one is death. In a world where even a twelve-year-old could beat Quinn in a swordfight, it's only a matter of time until the tricks up his sleeves run out. 
     
    Show book
  • Skyblade's Gambit - The Skyblade Saga #1 - cover

    Skyblade's Gambit - The Skyblade...

    Robert Dahlen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Captain Annabel Skyblade commands the Peregrine, the most feared pirate airship to sail the skies of Aldarre, plundering the rich and powerful. The rulers of the great sky realms have had enough of her, and Victorie Brassfeld, Cerindel's top Navy intelligence agent, has a plan to capture the pirate, using a lure too strong to resist—a valuable, beautiful sapphire amulet. 
    But the amulet hides a great secret, and when it is stolen by sinister forces, Annabel and Victorie must join together to retrieve it. And as they face danger and adventure, they also have to face their feelings for each other, feelings they have never had before, when they discover... 
    Hearts can be stolen too.
    Show book
  • The Whisperer - The Way to Freedom - cover

    The Whisperer - The Way to Freedom

    H.M. Clarke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Book 7 - the next book in the Way to Freedom Serial will be here on the 29th March 2018 
    Dearen and her uneasy allies are on a rescue mission to free Adhamh from his Arranian capturers.   
    Kral Tayme, on the other hand, has given himself his own mission to remind Dearen at every available moment of who she really is. 
    Kalena Tsarland, Hatar Kalarthri.
    Show book