Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Double Feature - The Day the Saucers Came #5 - cover

Double Feature - The Day the Saucers Came #5

Cora Buhlert

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

1956: Judy is the designated town slut of Stillwater Creek. After getting thrown out of a sock hop at the local high school, Judy winds up going to the movies with bad boy Hank instead, where a science fiction double feature is playing. However, before the first reel of the second movie is through, the night is interrupted by a very real invasion of flying saucers from outer space…  
  
This is a novelette of 8500 words or approx. 30 pages in the The Day the Saucers Came… series, but may be read as a standalone.

Other books that might interest you

  • Summertide - cover

    Summertide

    Charlotte E. English

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    ‘You may have noticed,’ said Maut, ‘that the Tree is on the move.’
     
    On the edge of the town of Kottow stands the tallest (and oddest) Tree in the land. It’s a staid and solid arbour — until the Tree picks up its mighty old roots and wanders off, taking its resident band of misfits away with it. Whither goes the Tree? Not even the wizard can say.
     
    'There is something mighty fey about all this, or my name ain't Diggory Stokey.'
     
    Far away from Kottow, a forest lies lost in the mists of a dream. There’s much to mend in this hoary old wood, for the Summer’s been swept from the glittering skies, and no one’s keeping an eye on the Winter...
     
    'Enchanted forests,' Mudleaf spat. 'Bah. Like it's been raining magic this long age through.'
     
    The good folk of Kottow aren’t used to so wayward a magic — not even Maut Fey, the one with the sunlight behind her eyes. But magic will have its way with them, whether they will or no.
     
    Summertide’s waiting. Can the folk of the Tree bring it back, or will the wild magic wash them away?
     
    “If you mixed elements of the Faraway Tree, Narnia, Frozen and A Midsummer Night’s Dream together, you might get something like Summertide. Maybe.” — The Author
     
    ‘Almond tarts for her MAJESTY!’ someone else roared. ‘Apple ice-wine for her majesty!’
     
    Praise for the Wonder Tales:
     
    “...large helpings of wit and whimsy... readers who enjoy the old-fashioned language of classic fairy tales will be pleased with this one.” - Publishers Weekly on Faerie Fruit
     
    “Her faultless prose by turns ascends with the lark, leads you down secret paths like the willow-the-wisp, bewitches you into bewilderment, and sparkles with eye-bedazzling wonder...” - NYT bestselling author Mercedes Lackey on Gloaming
    Show book
  • Ayesha - The Return of She - cover

    Ayesha - The Return of She

    H. Rider Haggard

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the author of the long-running Allan Quatermain series: The sequel to She is a fantasy classic and one of the bestselling books of all time.   In the sequel to She, Horace Holly and his ward, Leo Vincey, embark on a quest through Tibet to find the mysterious woman known as Ayesha. Though an abbot warns them not to continue, Horace and Leo press on to discover the ancient city of Kaloon, ruled by the evil Khan Rassen and his imperious wife, Khania Atene, whose desire for Leo sparks a rivalry with the volcano-dwelling Priestess of Hes . . .
    Show book
  • Glitch - cover

    Glitch

    Andrew Mackay

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    HACK IN > GO EVERYWHERE > KILL EVERYONE.
     
    Genius programmer Evan Cole’s life was looking up…
     
    … when something bad went down.
     
    The headquarters at InstaBate, the nation’s go-to cheating app, was raided.
     
    They destroyed the servers, and gunned Evan down when he tried to stop them. More than fifty million user profiles were compromised.
     
    Kara Milton is one such user. She’s terrified that her dirty little secret will reach her family, and the fat cats at InstaBate will stop at nothing to keep the incident away from prying eyes.
     
    But Evan Cole isn't dead--he's a vigilante pack of pixels out for REVENGE.
     
    Seconds before dying he uploaded himself into the corporation’s mainframe. He's using 6G to travel through laptops, tablets, and cell phones to hunt his killers. This new, angry breed of cyberpunk is on a quest for the truth, and a lot of blood.
     
    But when he appears as The Skull on Kara's cell phone, her world is turned upside down. She's compelled to help Evan get revenge if she wants her dirty secret buried. With the odds stacked against them, they’ll risk everything to protect her family, bring Evan’s killers to their feet… and an evil corporation to its knees.
    Show book
  • The Ledberg Runestone - cover

    The Ledberg Runestone

    Patrick Donovan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The author of Demon Jack delivers the first novel ina daring Southern urban fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Jim Butcher and M.D. Massey.Magic: To some, it’s spectacle. To Jonah, it’s pure profit.A shaman for hire, Jonah can tap into his powers as easily as turning on a light switch, but the real money is in putting on a show. And after putting himself in debt to the Carver brothers, Asheville’s version of a mafia, in order to save his father’s business, he’s in need of some real money. Then a mysterious woman makes Jonah a staggering offer: $20,000—to find and deliver the Ledberg runestone, a legendary artifact of Norse myth. He’s suspicious of the case and the buyer, but when the Carvers threaten Jonah’s father if they don’t get their payment within the month, Jonah starts his investigation. As he explores Asheville’s seedy magical underbelly, Jonah discovers he’s not alone on the hunt. Will Jonah survive long enough to save his father, or will his past of swindling mortals and dodging debt collectors finally catch up with him? “The plot itself is fun . . . We have twists and an exceptional one at the end; but what holds it together is this unique character and the foundations it lays for something truly epic to come.”—Fangs for the Fantasy
    Show book
  • Blood & Darkness Box Set - cover

    Blood & Darkness Box Set

    Melissa Sercia

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Now in one ebook volume: Blood and Magic, Flesh and Bone, Gods and Demons, and a bonus preview of Smoke and Ritual, the first Beautiful Dark Beasts book.   Enter the paranormal Underworld with the Dhampir Gray as your guide . . .  Blood and Magic (Book 1)  With supernatural powers and an insatiable need for blood, her existence is cursed.    After four hundred years, Gray, a reluctant Dhampir, still yearns for her humanity—and vengeance against those who stole it from her. To stop the Consilium from doing this to anyone else, she must wield a power she swore never to use—blood magic.  Flesh and Bone (Book 2)  With the dark power rising within her, she risks losing everything.   When Gray’s partner Aldric mysteriously disappears, she seeks allies in the Hall of Secrets. During her search, she discovers a mysterious cult, an ancient curse, and a family secret that is darker than she could ever imagine . . .  Gods and Demons (Book 3)  Will Gray send the demons back to the Underworld or watch her world burn to the ground?   Demons have escaped the Underworld and descended upon New Orleans. Gray tries to unite the covens as they gear up for the fight of their lives. But when one of her closest allies abandons her, Gray is forced to make a life altering choice that threatens everyone she loves . . .  Series praise   “Keeps you on the edge of your seat . . . action packed and full of emotional depth.”—Sydney Ashcroft, coauthor of Chasing Destiny   “Rich world building and [a] unique interpretation of gothic literature.”—Samantha Huewagen, author of the Starless Series
    Show book
  • Witch's Oath - The Children of D'Hara episode 4 - cover

    Witch's Oath - The Children of...

    Terry Goodkind

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Richard knew that there would be no help coming. It was all up to him to stop the threat or Kahlan would die. They all would die. 
     
    Nine companions – Richard, Kahlan, the witch woman Shale and six Mord-Sith, Rikka, Vale, Cassia, Nyda, Berdine and Vika – are hunting a warlock in the waterlogged depths of the People's Palace. It will take all their skills to close on their quarry, but do any of them understand the true power of a Witch's Oath? 
     
    Witch's Oath is the fourth episode in Terry Goodkind's new serial novel, The Children of D'Hara. Told in irresistibly intense instalments, this is the story of a world confronted by an apocalyptic nightmare. 
     
    'I want to introduce everyone to THE CHILDREN OF D'HARA, a new series that continues the story of the lives of Richard and Kahlan. This is a journey that began 25 years ago with the 1994 release of WIZARD'S FIRST RULE, when Richard first met Kahlan that fateful day in the Hartland woods. 
     
    After the Sword of Truth series ended, I knew there was more to Richard and Kahlan's story. Much more. A whole world more. For years, readers have asked me about Richard and Kahlan's lives after the Sword of Truth series... and importantly, about their children. 
     
    While my masterwork, Sword of Truth, concluded with WARHEART – 20 languages and 26 million books sold – I was burning to tell readers more about Richard and Kahlan. For that reason, this new series starts immediately after the 'Sword of Truth' books ended. Without skipping a beat, readers will plunge back into Richard and Kahlan's lives, with new episodes releasing every three months. 
     
    So it is that I want to welcome you all back into the Sword of Truth world with many of the characters besides Richard and Kahlan, such as the Mord-Sith, that we have come to love. Learn what the star shift has done to their world and what monsters now lurk in shadows. I promise an arresting, beautiful, and sometimes tragic adventure that will keep you glued to this irresistible story.' – Terry Goodkind.
    Show book