Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The golden whales of California and other rhymes in the American language - cover

The golden whales of California and other rhymes in the American language

Vachel Lindsay

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Vachel Lindsay's 'The Golden Whales of California, and Other Rhymes in the American Language' is a collection of poems that showcase his unique literary style influenced by the American Midwest. Lindsay's use of colloquial language and vivid imagery paints a picture of the rugged landscapes and diverse cultures of America. The poems touch on themes of nature, history, and the human experience, making them both accessible and thought-provoking for readers. Lindsay's use of rhyme and rhythm adds a musical quality to his work, making it a delight to read aloud. This collection is a prime example of American modernist poetry, with Lindsay's distinct voice shining through each verse. Vachel Lindsay, known for his performance poetry and advocacy for poetry as spoken art, drew inspiration from his travels across the United States. His deep connection to the American landscape and its people is evident in his works, including 'The Golden Whales of California'. Lindsay's passion for capturing the essence of America through poetry is reflected in this collection, making it a valuable contribution to American literature. I highly recommend 'The Golden Whales of California, and Other Rhymes in the American Language' to readers who appreciate poetry that celebrates the rich tapestry of American culture and history. Lindsay's masterful use of imagery and language will resonate with those who enjoy exploring the depths of the American experience through the lens of poetry.
Available since: 07/10/2023.
Print length: 56 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Pride and Prejudice - cover

    Pride and Prejudice

    Jane Austen, Christina Calvit

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A full-cast audio adaptation of Jane Austen’s classic romantic comedy, the sparkling tale of the Bennets, a family blessed with five daughters and a mother desperate to marry them off. The tempestuous pairing of the witty, independent Elizabeth and her arrogant but honorable suitor Mr. Darcy sets the standard for all great couples of stage and screen.An L.A. Theatre Works full-cast performance featuring Kate Burton, Melanie Dix, Elizabeth Laidlaw, Frances Limoncelli, Miriam Margolyes, Bradley Mott, James Sie, Joao de Sousa, Sandy Snyder, Kevin Theis and Steve Totland.
    Show book
  • Fifty Shades of the British Countryside - 50 of the best poems about the British countryside - cover

    Fifty Shades of the British...

    William Wordsworth, Dorothy...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Over many centuries poets have drawn inspiration and solace from the land that surrounds us.  From mountain high to valley floor from sea cliffs to sandy shore through wood and field, across rivers, brooks and streams through sunlight, raging storms and the cloak of night these shores have some of the most beautiful natural treasures to be found anywhere. 
     
    1 - Fifty Shades of the British Countryside - An Introduction 
    2 - On a Lane in Spring by John Clare 
    3 - It Was An April Morning Fresh and Clear by William Wordsworth 
    4 - The Lambs of Grassmere by Christina Georgina Rossetti 
    5 - Memorials of a Tour in Scotland August 1803 by William Wordsworth 
    6 - High Waving Heather 'Neath Stormy Blasts Bending by Emily Jane Bronte 
    7 - Hop Picking by Edith Nesbit 
    8 - I Wandered Lonely As a Cloud by William Wordsworth 
    9 - Summer by Alexander Pope 
    10 - Binsey Poplars by Gerard Manley Hopkins 
    11 - Loveliest of Trees, The Cherry Now by A E Housman 
    12 - The Oak by Alfred Lord Tennyson 
    13 - The Chestnut by Robert Laurence Binyon 
    14 - Wood Rides by John Clare 
    15 - In Sutton Woods by Alfred Austin 
    16 - There Is a Pleasure in the Pathless Woods by Lord Byron 
    17 - Dirge in Woods by George Meredith 
    18 - The Hill Pines Were Sighing by Robert Seymour Bridges 
    19 - There is a Hill by Robert Seymour Bridges 
    20 - Grongar Hill by John Dyer 
    21 - The Malvern Hills by Radclyffe Hall 
    22 - Sonnet XLIII. The Malvern Hills, March 12th 1835 by Henry Alford 
    23 - The Downs by Robert Seymour Bridges 
    24 - In March by Archibald Lampman 
    25 - The Darkling Thrush by Thomas Hardy 
    26 - Autumn in Sussex by Radclyffe Hall 
    27 - Autumn in Cornwall by Algernon Charles Swinburne 
    28 - October by George Arnold 
    29 - Autumn Dawn by Charles Sorley 
    30 - To a Robin in November by William Wilfred Campbell 
    31 - Autumn - A Dirge by Percy Bysshe Shelley 
    32 - November by John Clare 
    33 - By Severn by Ivor Gurney 
    34 - The Waterfall  by Henry Vaughan 
    35 - Penmaien Pool by Gerard Manley Hopkins 
    36 - Beachey Head by Charlotte Smith 
    37 - Sonnet At Dover Cliffs July 20th 1787 by William Lisle Bowles 
    38 - Dover Beach by Matthew Arnold 
    39 - Floating Island by Dorothy Wordsworth 
    40 - On the Sea by John Keats 
    41 - Llyn Y Gadair by T H Parry-Williams 
    42 - Penmaenmawr by Patrick Branwell Bronte 
    43 - from Chepstow - A Poem - Tinturn Abbey by Edward Davies 
    44 - Glastonbury by Michael Drayton from Poly-Olbion 
    45 - The Rolling English Road by G K Chesterton 
    46 - Adlestrop by Edward Thomas 
    47 - Elegy Written In A Country Churchyard by Thomas Gray 
    48 - The Old Vicarage of Grantchester by Rupert Brooke 
    49 - In Springtime by Rudyard Kipling 
    50 - Home Thoughts From Abroad by Robert Browning 
    51 - Jerusalem by William Blake
    Show book
  • Honeybee - for fans of MILK ANDHONEY by Rupi Kaur - cover

    Honeybee - for fans of MILK...

    Trista Mateer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Goodreads Choice Award winning poet Trista Mateer "expertly exposes the intensity of first love" in this confessional collection of poetry. 
    You will meet people in your lifetime who demand to have poems written about them. It's not something they say. It's something about their hands, the shape of their mouths, the way they look walking away from you. 
    Honeybee is an honest take on walking away and still feeling like you were walked away from. It's about cutting love loose like a kite string and praying the wind has the decency to carry it away from you. It's an ode to the back and forth, the process of letting something go but not knowing where to put it down. Honeybee is putting it down. It's small town girls and plane tickets, a taste of tenderness and honey, the bandage on the bee sting. It's a reminder that you are not defined by the people you walk away from or the people who walk away from you.  
    Consider Honeybee a memoir in verse, or at the very least, a story written by one of today's most confessional poets. 
    Perfect for fans of Caroline Kaufman, Atticus, Clementine von Radics, Nina LaCour, Adam Silvera, and Becky Albertalli; or anyone interested in bisexuality, heartbreak, running away from your problems, and coming out.
    Show book
  • Twisted Love and Money - cover

    Twisted Love and Money

    Thomas Kennedy

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Janet is unattached, beautiful and ambitious. Jeremy is a Gay, troubled self-made Irish billionaire, living with his partner David. Both are London based and are in Ireland for different reasons. However both become involved with the O’Byrne family.Janet is Crawford’s lead analyst on an aggressive takeover of the large fast growing O’Byrne family business. But all Crawford really wants is Janet.Jeremy has a secret. He has not ‘come out’ in Ireland. He dates Dorothy O’Byrne with an ulterior motive. He wants her along when he meets his mother twenty years after he ran away to London from his studies for the priesthood. But Janet discovers the bedside charms of Peter O’Byrne and Jeremy finds that Dorothy’s dominant approach turns him on.
    Show book
  • The Army of Death - cover

    The Army of Death

    Charles Hamilton Sorley

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Captain Sorley was among 16 Great War poets commemorated in Westminster Abbey's Poets' Corner. The inscription was written by Wilfred Owen. It reads: "My subject is War, and the pity of War. The Poetry is in the pity." This is regarded as one of Sorley's finest poems, and was discovered in his kit after his death. (Summary by Ruth Golding)
    Show book
  • Enemy of the People An - cover

    Enemy of the People An

    Henrik Ibsen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A small coastal town in Norway is experiencing an economic boom from its newly found hot springs. When Dr. Thomas Stockmann finds that the waters are contaminated and dangerous, the people refuse to accept his statement, and Dr. Stockmann's friends turn against him. (Summary by Libby Gohn) 
     
    Cast: 
    Dr. Thomas Stockmann: Bob NeufeldMrs. Stockmann/First Citizen: Elizabeth KlettPetra: Amanda FridayEjlif/Fourth Citizen: Charlotte DuckettMorten: laurenburwellPeter Stockmann: Algy PugMorten Kiil: Nathaniel W.C. HigginsHovstad/Narrator: Libby GohnBillings: Kevin W. DavidsonCaptain Horster/A Drunken Man: David OlsonAslaksen: Arielle LipshawSecond Citizen: Lynne ThompsonThird Citizen: Tricia GAudio edited by Libby Gohn
    Show book