Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Curse of Goodness - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

The Curse of Goodness

Tom Thowsen

Publisher: Tom Thowsen

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Tubbe Eriksson has received a concerning royal request: his assistance is required for a meeting with the Hanseatic League. Tubbe fears that it may be a trap and that an event from his past is about to catch up with him. At worst, he risks being accused of high treason. Therefore, he tries to recall the events that transpired 10 years prior – a very dramatic and intricate affair. Tubbe himself believes he acted in good faith. 
 
The Curse of Goodness is a fierce novelette in which good intentions have unexpected consequences. The novelette (12.000 words) is written by the Norwegian author Tom Thowsen and offers a different angle on the story in his previous novel, Kayaweta.
Available since: 05/04/2020.

Other books that might interest you

  • The House of Ashes - cover

    The House of Ashes

    Stuart Neville

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Here, now, till I tell you …”Sara Keane’s husband, Damien, has uprooted them from England and moved them to his native Northern Ireland for a “fresh start” in the wake of her nervous breakdown. Sara, who knows no one in Northern Ireland, is jobless, carless, friendless—all but a prisoner in her own house. When a blood-soaked old woman beats on the door, insisting the house is hers before being bundled back to her care facility, Sara begins to understand the house has a terrible history her husband never intended for her to discover. As the two women form a bond over their shared traumas, Sara finds the strength to stand up to her abuser, and Mary—silent for six decades—is finally ready to tell her story …Through the counterpoint voices—one modern Englishwoman, one Northern Irish farmgirl speaking from half a century earlier—Stuart Neville offers a chilling and gorgeous portrait of violence and resilience in this haunting narrative.
    Show book
  • The Banker and the Empath - cover

    The Banker and the Empath

    Martin Lundqvist

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    After his daughter tries to kill him, the Banker sets out to steal an ancient artifact from the Empath to bring his daughter back to life. 
    The Banker and the Empath is the concluding part of the Banker Trilogy. 
    In the year 2039, Pierre Beaumont is performing testing to determine which of his progeny to succeed him as the head of House Beaumont. The testing ends in a disaster, as Pierre’s favourite daughter, Delphine, snaps and murders his other children. Delphine's actions force Pierre to kill her in self-defence. To bring Delphine back to life, Pierre sets out to steal the primordial Zeto Crystal from the mysterious Sabina Hines. 
    Meanwhile, Vladimir Kravchenko, is planning to usurp power from Pierre. Vladimir plans to use a new terrible technology, remote-controlled nerve-pain-amplifiers, to tyrannise humankind. To power his technology, he also needs to steal the Zeto Crystal from Sabina. 
    In Australia, Jared Pond receives a mission that puts him on the path of the love of his life, Eileen Lu. Jared and Eileen escape Eileen’s crooked husband, and they travel to Mexico to stop Pierre’s associate Jesus Ortega from starting a civil war. 
    In Indonesia, Elaine Orchard is preparing to start a war against Pierre and Vladimir to stop their villainy, and to save Martin Orchard who is enslaved by Vladimir’s nerve-pain-amplifiers. 
    Who will survive the war to come, and will someone put an end to Pierre’s and Vladimir’s crimes against humanity? 
    Show book
  • Dead Wrong - Blackmoore Sisters Cozy Mysteries Book 1 - cover

    Dead Wrong - Blackmoore Sisters...

    Leighann Dobbs

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    **** WINNER Best Mystery Romance - 2014 Indie Romance Convention Awards **** 
     
    There's more than one secret in the old Blackmoore house. Some have been buried for a long time and some are sitting closer to the surface.  
    Morgan and Fiona Blackmoore enjoy their simple life in the sleepy ocean-side town of Noquitt Maine where they offer herbal remedies and crystal healing for locals and tourists alike.  
     
    ...Until Morgan is accused of killing the town shrew, Prudence Littlefield.  
     
    Suddenly the girls find themselves scrambling to find the real killer while they battle a crooked Sheriff, planted evidence, and a long list of suspects that all had a reason to want Prudence dead.  
     
    Handsome Jake Cooper is new to the Noquitt Maine police force, which is exactly why Fiona Blackmoore doesn't trust him. But with time running out and the evidence against her sister piling up, Fiona has to make a choice - will she trust Jake with her sister's case...and her own heart?  
     
    Add in an old mansion on the cliffs of Maine, an attic full of mysterious treasures, and a cat that has the uncanny ability to show up at exactly the right time and Fiona has her hands full proving the Sheriff's accusations about her sister being a murderer are Dead Wrong. 
     
    This is book 1 in the Blackmoore Sisters Cozy Mystery Series.
    Show book
  • Hark! - cover

    Hark!

    Ed McBain

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ed McBain concocts a brilliant and intricate thriller about a master criminal who haunts the city with cryptic passages from Shakespeare, directing the detectives of the 87th Precinct to a future crime -- if only they can figure out what he means. The 87th Precinct gets a visit from one of the city's most accomplished criminals -- a thief known as the Deaf Man. Because he might be deaf. Or he might not. So little is known about the man who is harassing Detective Steve Carella with puzzling messages that it is hard to tell. But as soon as a pattern emerges, the detectives of the 87th are forced to hit the books and brush up on their Shakespeare -- because each new clue contains a line from one of his works. Unless they can crack the complicated riddles and beat the Deaf Man at his own cat-and-mouse game, someone is going to end up hurt, or something will be stolen -- or both. It's always so hard to tell with the Deaf Man.  Ed McBain brings his most intelligent and devious criminal back to the 87th Precinct with a richly plotted and literary crime.
    Show book
  • Purr-fect Potions - cover

    Purr-fect Potions

    Danielle Garrett

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Have you ever wished your cat could talk to you? If so, allow my story to be your cautionary tale.After unearthing Aunt Lavender's secret, we may finally know why she was abducted. Unfortunately, it also means the stakes are higher than ever.We're making headway, but we need help to navigate the elusive world of magical treasure hunting. So, when famed adventurer Tabitha Blake arrives in Winterspell, offering to help, I jump at the chance to work with her.Tabitha is the key to many doors, but will one of them lead to Aunt Lavender? Or are we going in circles yet again?
    Show book
  • Winterman - cover

    Winterman

    Alex Walters

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Alex Walters is the bestselling and critically-acclaimed author of the DI Alec McKay series, Winterman is a gripping serial killer thriller which will appeal to fans of Stuart Macbride, and Mark Edwards.DI Ivan Winterman is a man with a troubled past. The Blitz has left his young son dead and his wife seriously injured. He has made enemies in high places and, with his career going nowhere, he returns to his home town in East Anglia, seeking to rebuild his life in a country gripped by post-war austerity. As the snow begins to fall, a drunken ex-clergyman stumbles on the semi-mummified body of a small child concealed in a ruined cottage. Days later, a second child's body is found in a Fenland dyke. Winterman, supported by a small team of assorted misfits, finds himself uncovering a web secrets in the small rural community. When a further murder victim is discovered, Winterman discovers that the secrets are darker and the threat far more immediate than he'd ever envisaged.
    Show book