Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Death in Venice - cover

Death in Venice

Thomas Mann

Translator Michael Henry Heim

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The world-famous masterpiece by Nobel laureate Thomas Mann—here in a new translation by Michael Henry HeimPublished on the eve of World War I, a decade after Buddenbrooks had established Thomas Mann as a literary celebrity, Death in Venice tells the story of Gustave von Aschenbach, a successful but aging writer who follows his wanderlust to Venice in search of spiritual fulfillment that instead leads to his erotic doom. In the decaying city, besieged by an unnamed epidemic, he becomes obsessed with an exquisite Polish boy, Tadzio. &#8220It is a story of the voluptuousness of doom,&#8221 Mann wrote. &#8220But the problem I had especially in mind was that of the artist’s dignity.&#8221
Available since: 10/13/2009.
Print length: 160 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Siberian Odyssey of Hans Schroeder - cover

    Siberian Odyssey of Hans Schroeder

    Ashis Gupta

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This is the true story of Hans Schroeder, a young German mesmerized by the Hitler Youth aura who finds himself with a SS Panzer division on the Russian front where he is captured and taken prisoner. Years later, he is released from a Siberian prisoner-of-war camp and returns to Wiesbaden, his beautiful German hometown. Those were years of great hardship in postwar Germany. Hans is lucky to find a job in Hans Wiegel's toy shop, falls in love with Eva, and eventually decides to emigrate to the USA. Hans's mother had earlier moved to America and her glowing letters fire up the young couple's dreams.Hans settles down to an exemplary family life in Massachusetts, USA until one day something happens. Hans snaps, suddenly, and commits a horrific double-murder. During the course of his trial his past experiences are exposed under psychiatric investigations, experiences that shed light on the dramatic events Hans was a part of while a prisoner of the Russians. Hans comes across as a conflicted, confused personality. If the narrative appears confused at times, it is partly because of the confusion that reigns in Hans's mind. His imagination often suppresses one identity to allow another to take shape and bubble to he surface.As the story opens in the early 1970s, Hans is sitting in a Massachusetts courthouse watching the jury selection for his second trial on two counts of murder. The harrowing details of what follows remind us that the scars inflicted by the torments and excesses of authoritarian regimes never fade away. Seldom do the demons from one's past completely disappear.
    Show book
  • The Sky's Dark Labyrinth - The Sky's Dark Labyrinth Book I - cover

    The Sky's Dark Labyrinth - The...

    Stuart Clark

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    At the dawn of the seventeenth century everyone believed that the sun revolved around the earth. Yet some men knew that the heavens did not move as they should. And some men began to suspect that this heresy was in fact the truth. As Europe convulsed in conflict between Catholic and Protestant, these men prepared to die for that truth. This is the story of Kepler and Galileo, two men whose struggle with themselves, with the evidence and with the forces of reaction changed not simply themselves but our world.
    The Skyapos;s Dark Labyrinth is the first of a trilogy of novels inspired by the dramatic struggles, personal and professional, and key historical events in manapos;s quest to understand the Universe.
    Show book
  • Fever Coast - A historical thriller of revenge and redemption - cover

    Fever Coast - A historical...

    Colin Falconer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A gripping historical thriller set against the lawless coasts of 18th century Africa and the brutal Europeans wars in colonial India. 
    East Africa, 1750: Lachlan McKenzie doesn’t know why he and his family live on a remote trading post on the slave coast of Africa. The past is best left buried, is all his father will say about it. But then one day three warships sail downriver and turn their guns on their tiny fort. Suddenly Lachlan is in the fight for his life against a formidable enemy. 
    His quest for survival and burning thirst for revenge take him from the African savannah and the slave markets of Mozambique to the Moghul palaces and British redcoat forts of Carnatic India, where he must ultimately decide between the life that he always dreamed of and his sworn promise of vengeance. 
    With the future of his new family at stake, Lachlan must search his soul and answer the impossible… how much revenge is enough? 
    Perfect for fans of Wilbur Smith and Bernard Cornwell. 
    Colin Falconer’s series of stand-alone novels draws inspiration from many periods of history. Bargain with Kublai Khan in ancient Cathay, battle Aztec warriors in a jungle temple, or enter the mountain strongholds of the legendary Cathars. Glimpse Julius Caesar in the sweat and press of the Roman Forum, ride a war elephant in the army of Alexander the Great, or follow Suleiman the Magnificent into the forbidden palace of his harem. 
    This series has 8000 five-star reviews and has been translated into 25 languages.
    Show book
  • A Lady's Fortune - A BRAND NEW glittering Regency Romance from Jane Dunn perfect for BRIDGERTON fans! - cover

    A Lady's Fortune - A BRAND NEW...

    Jane Dunn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Preorder the BRAND NEW Regency Romance from Sunday Times Bestseller Jane Dunn. 
    ‘Gives all the immersive pleasure of Georgette Heyer’s brilliantly confected Regency novels, in a sublime alternative world of joy. Bridgerton look out!' Melanie Reid, The Times 
    In Regency England, twenty-seven-year-old Leonora Appleby is considered by many – herself included – to be beyond her most eligible marrying years. With her childhood home, Hasterleigh Manor, soon to be taken over by the heir to the land, George Lockwood, Leonora has happily resigned herself to a quiet life as a country Miss. 
    But life has a way of springing surprises and the return of the brooding war hero Earl Rokeby, presumed dead on the French battlefields, to the magnificent neighbouring Rokeby Abbey has the village atwitter with speculation. Earl Rokeby has returned, scarred in mind and body, with news for Leonora’s best friend Charlotte Blythe – news that will change everything. 
    Now Charlotte and Leonora must travel to Town for the Season and take their futures and fate into their own hands in the whirl of balls, parties and gossip. But will either of them return to Hasterleigh with a husband and a fortune, and what other secrets does the devastatingly dashing Alistair Rokeby have up his silken sleeves… 
    Sunday Times bestselling author Jane Dunn brings the Regency period irresistibly to life. Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, Janice Hadlow, Gill Hornby, and anyone with a Bridgerton-shaped hole in their lives. 
    Praise for Jane Dunn: 
    'Brilliant, sparkling and very clever.' Elizabeth Buchan 
    ‘Outstanding, perceptive and delightfully readable.’ Sunday Times Books of the Year 
    ‘Jane Dunn has written a splendid piece of popular history with the ready-pen of a highly skilled writer, endowed with remarkable insight.’ Roy Strong, Daily Mail 
    ‘Jane Dunn is one of our best biographers.’ Miranda Seymour, Sunday Times 
    Readers love Jane Dunn: 
    ‘The story was brilliant, captivating, exciting.... and at times I held my breath ~ there was romance, revelations and drama within. This was a super read which I WILL recommend to all of my book loving friends.’ 
    ‘I could not put this down and finished it in the small hours! All the characters are so well-drawn and lovable and the feel for the Regency so evocative I was immediately drawn into a wonderful story of family and friendship, loss and longing – and love across the social classes.’ 
    ‘Another really wonderful book from Jane Dunn. I couldn’t put it down. The atmosphere of Regency London and the theatre is thrillingly done and I was immediately drawn into this colourful, and dangerous, world.’ 
    ‘The plot is terrific and Jane Dunn's elegant writing evokes the period brilliantly. The pages flew by. I can't wait for the next one.’ 
    ‘This one will have lovers of the Regency genre sighing and reaching for their fans as hearts flutter. It is another gorgeous Regency Romp from one of the very best historical writers. Her flair for detail combined with a naughty humour give this the sparkle some others lack.’
    Show book
  • Emily of New Moon - Emily 1 - cover

    Emily of New Moon - Emily 1

    L. M. Montgomery

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Emily Starr is sent to live at New Moon Farm on Prince Edward Island with her aunts Elizabeth and Laura Murray and her Cousin Jimmy. She makes friends with Ilse Burnley, Teddy Kent, and Perry Miller, the hired boy, who Aunt Elizabeth looks down upon because he was born in 'Stovepipe Town', a poorer district. Each of the children has a special gift. Emily was born to be a writer, Teddy is a gifted artist, Ilse is a talented elocutionist, and Perry has the makings of a great politician. They also each have a few problems with their families. Emily has a hard time getting along with Aunt Elizabeth, who does not understand her need to write. Ilse's father, Dr. Burnley, ignores Ilse most of the time because of a dreadful secret concerning Ilse's mother ...
    Show book
  • Forged by Iron - cover

    Forged by Iron

    Eric Schumacher

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From the bestselling author of Hakon's Saga comes the first in a series of stories about Olaf Tryggvason, one of the most legendary kings of the Viking Age.Norway, AD 958. The Northern realm is once again at war. The exiled sons of Erik Bloodaxe have returned with the help of the Danes and have slain King Hakon. They now come for Hakon's heir, Jarl Trygvi.Trygvi's wife, Astrid, and young son, Olaf, flee their home with the aid of their household warriors. Pursued by the Bloodaxe brood, the family escapes east, through the dark, forested land of the Swedes and across the treacherous East Sea. But the gods are fickle and the group is torn apart, leaving them to fend for themselves in Forged by Iron, a must-listen for all who enjoy action-packed historical fiction.
    Show book