Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Stanly's Ghost - cover

Stanly's Ghost

Stefan Mohamed

Publisher: Salt

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Cynical, solitary Stanly Bird used to be a fairly typical teenager – unless you count the fact that his best friend was a talking beagle named Daryl. Then came the superpowers. And the superpowered allies. And the mysterious enemies. And the terrifying monsters. And the stunning revelations. And the apocalypse. Now he's not sure what he is. Or where he is. Or how exactly one is supposed to proceed after saving the world.
All he knows is that his story isn't finished.
Not quite yet …
Available since: 03/15/2017.
Print length: 560 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Lifetime - The Amazing Numbers in Animal Lives - cover

    Lifetime - The Amazing Numbers...

    Lola M. Schaefer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A children’s author “use[s] traits and developmental milestones of 11 species . . . to take full measure of animal lives . . . As intriguing as it is gorgeous” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).   In one lifetime, a caribou will shed ten sets of antlers, a woodpecker will drill thirty roosting holes, a giraffe will wear 200 spots, a seahorse will birth 1,000 babies.   Count each one and many more while learning about the wondrous things that can happen in just one lifetime. This extraordinary book collects animal information not available anywhere else—and shows all thirty roosting holes, all 200 spots, and, yes, all 1,000 baby seahorses in eye-catching illustrations. A book about picturing numbers and considering the endlessly fascinating lives all around us, Lifetime is sure to delight young nature lovers.   A Junior Library Guild Selection   “A delightful read for the little future park ranger or mathematician in your life.” —Buzzfeed   “A fascinating addition to the curious reader’s library.” —Daily Parent   “Beautiful book.” —The Wall Street Journal   “Concepts of counting and quantity are cleverly examined.” —The Horn BookMagazine   “Whether you teach with it or curl up with it, you'll be wondering and learning all at once.” —DesignMom   “An engaging teaching tool on so many levels.” —Cool Mom Picks   “Useful for integrating literature into math instruction.” —School Library Journal   “Fills a clever niche for both animal science and mathematics.” —Booklist   “Readers (or listeners) will enjoy counting the joeys, seahorses, alligator eggs or spots on the giraffe.” —Kirkus Reviews
    Show book
  • Little Lorrie Lincoln Goes to James and Pearl's Church (Book 5) - cover

    Little Lorrie Lincoln Goes to...

    Lorrie O. Hewitt

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    You're invited to go along with Little Lorrie Lincoln on her adventure with her family as they travel to James and Pearl's Church.To join in on the fun be sure to bring your crayons, markers, or pencils and paper to draw pictures of the exciting trip to the church.
    Show book
  • The Treasures of Weatherby - cover

    The Treasures of Weatherby

    Zilpha Keatley Snyder

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Three-time Newbery Honor winner Zilpha Keatley Snyder combines a cast of quirky characters with an eerie old mansion to create a spellbinding tale of mystery and magic.Harleigh J. Weatherby IV feels misunderstood. At age twelve he is about as tall as a six-year-old, and no one lets him forget it. At school the bullies nicknamed him “Hardly.” Now he is homeschooled at the Weatherby mansion, where strict Aunt Adelaide is always on his case about something.Then Harleigh meets Allegra. When she literally flies over the walls of Weatherby and into Harleigh’s life, the two form an unlikely friendship. Allegra is fascinated by the enormous Weatherby mansion, and against Harleigh’s orders, sneaks inside. Together they discover that someone is trying to find—and steal—the long-lost Weatherby treasure. Will Harleigh and Allegra be able to foil the villain and save Weatherby House?
    Show book
  • Hurricane Katrina Rescue - cover

    Hurricane Katrina Rescue

    Kate Messner

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this historical adventure for middle grade readers, a dog travels through time and rescues a family in New Orleans during Hurricane Katrina. 
     
    Ranger, the time-traveling golden retriever with search-and-rescue training, arrives in New Orleans as Hurricane Katrina approaches and residents start to evacuate the city. Ranger meets Clare Porter, who is searching for her grandmother. Once Ranger helps Clare find Nana, he takes shelter with them at their home in the Lower Ninth Ward, and they wait for Clare’s father to return from the gas station. But there’s no sign of him as hours pass and the weather gets worse. The wind picks up and rain pours down. And when the levees break, floodwaters dangerously rise, and Clare and Nana are separated. Can Ranger help Clare navigate the flooded streets to safety and back to her family? 
     
    Praise for the first book in the Ranger in Time series: 
     
    “This excellent story contains historical details, full-page illustrations, and enough action to keep even reluctant readers engaged.” —School Library Journal 
     
    “The third-person narration expertly balances Ranger’s thoughts between the appropriately doglike (squirrels! bacon!) and the heroic (Ranger’s drive to find and protect).” —Kirkus Reviews 
     
    “McMorris’s richly rendered illustrations heighten the plot’s many moments of danger and drama, and Messner incorporates a wealth of historical details into her rousing adventure story.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Tales Of The Hiole - cover

    Tales Of The Hiole

    David Duffy

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The dreams of children are the most magical places, where anything is possible and there are no limits. Where entire worlds - even life itself - can be created with just a thought. In one such amazingly ordinary world, imaginations collide and fantastically normal beasts are born. The land of The Hiole provides a safe place for these creatures to call home. The guardian of The Hiole and its residents is a creature known as The Frox. Half frog, half fox, this magnificent being has been charged with their safe-keeping. The Frox must guide these creatures back to finish their dreams. To remind them of who they came from and to ensure that their dreamers' imaginations continue to flourish. This story introduces the first ever guest of The Hiole, Lord Regibald. The Frox must find, befriend, and help him finish the dreams he was created in. If The Frox can't convince Lord Regibald to travel back, his creators will be stuck in their unfinished dreams every night, unable to create anything new.
    Show book
  • Bees! - cover

    Bees!

    Alan MacDonald

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From award-winning illustrator David Roberts comes Dirty Bertie – the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits! With comic chaos and madcap schemes, these highly illustrated stories are perfect for new readers.
    Join Bertie as he has a brush with some angry bees, deals with his warring grannies on a trip to the park and tries to smuggle Whiffer into a very smart hotel.
    David Roberts is the illustrator of many picture books and fiction titles, including Julian Clary's THE BOLDS, SUFFRAGETTE: THE BATTLE FOR EQUALITY, Julia Donaldson's JACK AND THE FLUMFLUM TREE and IGGY PECK, ARCHITECT. With over 30 titles in the hugely popular DIRTY BERTIE series, each book contains three short stories perfect for fans of HORRID HENRY, DOG MAN and Pamela Butchart.
    Show book