Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
We Love Little India - cover

We Love Little India

Singapore Urban Sketchers

Publisher: Epigram Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Little India, often called Tekka, is popular with Singaporeans of all races, South Asian migrant workers and tourists alike.  
 
Venture down the main thoroughfare in Serangoon Road with the members of Urban Sketchers Singapore and explore all of Little India's many side streets. From food enclaves serving traditional spicy fish head curries, to art galleries and beauty salons, take a stroll along the conserved shophouses and be surprised with what you can find.

Other books that might interest you

  • Capitalism: A Graphic Guide - cover

    Capitalism: A Graphic Guide

    Sharron Shatil, Dan Cryan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Capitalism shapes every aspect of our world, beyond just our economic structures; it moulds our values and influences the way we write laws, wage wars and even conduct personal relationships.
     
    
    
    From its beginnings to the present day, Capitalism: A Graphic Guide tells the story of capitalism’s remarkable and often ruthless rise, evolving through strife and struggle as much as innovation and enterprise. 
    
    
    
    
    This non-fiction graphic novel explores the key developments that have shaped our modern world, from early banking to the Opium Wars, financial crashes, the rise of service economies and concerns about sustainability. It also introduces us to the leading proponents and critics of capitalism, providing both a theoretical and practical understanding of this fascinating subject.
    Show book
  • I Just Want to be … ME! - Building resilience in young people - cover

    I Just Want to be … ME! -...

    Timothy Bowden

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Today’s children struggle with a range of issues, from depression and anxiety to poor body image and low self-esteem. In fact, research suggests that at any given time around 10 per cent of students will be suffering from a mental health issue that directly impacts on their education and health. Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT) (the subject of Dr Russ Harris’s bestselling The Happiness Trap) has been proven to be effective in teaching young people effective, flexible strategies for dealing with the stressors in their life and these principles are now brought to life in this graphic novel. By following the main character, Holly, through her encounters with monsters (symbolising her inner doubts and unpleasant thoughts), children will learn how to similarly deal with their own issues and develop a more resilient mental attitude and achieve better emotional balance.
    Show book
  • Americanah - by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie | Summary & Analysis - cover

    Americanah - by Chimamanda Ngozi...

    . IRB Media

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Inside this Instaread Summary & Analysis of Americanah:
     
    • Summary of book
     
    • Introduction to the Important People in the book
     
    • Analysis of the Themes and Author’s Style
    Show book
  • Sock Monkeys Have Issues - cover

    Sock Monkeys Have Issues

    Greg Stone

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Sock Monkeys have issues with moths. They also have trouble with pterodactyls, home improvement projects, kittens (who tend to unravel them), and paparazzi. They really like bananas, jet packs, sock puppies, and romance, but have MAJOR issues with clowns, embarrassing relatives (King Kong), and gym socks. Through it all, they really adore one thing. Author of the breakout hit Zombies Hate Stuff, Greg Stones turns his popular, playfully absurd illustration style and subversive humor to the lovable but issue-fraught world of sock monkeys, detailing their inner lives and misadventures with a playful wit that will appeal to cheeky monkeys of all ages.
    Show book
  • Stick Dog Slurps Spaghetti - cover

    Stick Dog Slurps Spaghetti

    Tom Watson

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    It's slippery. It's slurpable. It's spaghetti! 
    Perfect for fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and the previous Stick Dog books, Tom Watson's hilarious Stick Dog Slurps Spaghetti is not to be missed. 
    Stick Dog and his gang of hungry hounds want to play tug-of-war. Their search for rope leads to something even better—spaghetti! Once they get a taste, they must get some more. 
    It will be their most difficult mission ever—and will demand all of Stick Dog's problem-solving skills. They'll need to scale the tallest mountain in the suburbs and sneak into a restaurant filled with people. 
    Dangerous humans—a strange-talking girl, a huge chef, and a penguin-man—lurk around every corner.  But there's more than danger in the air. Stick Dog has caught the scent of something even more scrumptious than spaghetti. And he'll risk everything to find out what it is.A HarperAudio production.
    Show book
  • The Marshmallow Mermaid - cover

    The Marshmallow Mermaid

    Michael Dahl

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    At Halo McNightly's school, the swimmers are disappearing from the boys' swim team. No one can figure it out, until Halo stars investigating. A deadly mermaid lives in a cave connected to the school swimming pool. Halo will have to use her special candy to turn into various underwater fauna, such as a hammerhead shark or an octopus, to defeat the hungry girl-fish!
    Show book