Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Not Dead & Not for Sale - The Earthling Papers a Memoir - cover

Not Dead & Not for Sale - The Earthling Papers a Memoir

Scott Weiland, David Ritz

Publisher: Scribner

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The “shockingly honest” memoir by the iconic musician who fronted Stone Temple Pilots and Velvet Revolver, including personal photographs (Rolling Stone). 
 
In the early 1990s, Stone Temple Pilots—not U2, not Nirvana, not Pearl Jam—was the hottest band in the world. STP toppled such mega-bands as Aerosmith and Guns N’ Roses on MTV and the Billboard charts, and lead singer Scott Weiland became a compellingly charismatic front man in the tradition of Mick Jagger, David Bowie, and Robert Plant. 
 
Then, when STP imploded, it was Weiland who emerged as the emblem of rock star excess, with his well-publicized drug busts and trips to rehab. Written just a few years before his tragic death, this raw and revealing memoir delves into these experiences and more—his early years as an altar boy, his yearning for his father after his parents’ divorce, his complex relationship with the love of his life, Mary Forsberg Weiland, his traumas and heartbreaks. Readers also learn the fascinating stories behind his most well-known songs and what it was like to be there at the beginning of the grunge phenomenon. Not Dead & Not for Sale is a hard rock memoir to be reckoned with—a passionate, insightful, and at times humorous book that reads with extraordinary narrative force. 
 
“The tales he sketches out often are as poignant as they are cautionary.” —USA Today 
 
“A compelling and worthwhile read.” —Associated Press
Available since: 05/17/2011.
Print length: 246 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The World of Art and Diaghilev's Painters - cover

    The World of Art and Diaghilev's...

    Vsevolod Petrov

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When, almost twenty years ago, we founded the World of Art, we had a burning desire to liberate Russian artistic activity from the tutelage of literature, to instil in the society around us a love of the very essence of art, and that was the aim we had when we took the field. We considered enemies all those “who fail to respect art as such”, those who either fasten wings to an old nag or harness Pegasus to the cart of “social ideals”, or reject the idea of Pegasus altogether. For that reason, we addressed ourselves to the artistic world with the slogan “Talents of all directions, unite!” And that is how in our ranks Vrubel immediately appeared alongside Levitan, Bakst alongside Serov, Somov alongside Maliavin. – Alexander Benois
    Show book
  • Bobby Slayton: Born to Be Bobby - cover

    Bobby Slayton: Born to Be Bobby

    Bobby Slayton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Living legend Bobby Slayton is one of the most recognized, respected, and energetic comedians working today.
    Show book
  • Ernie Kovacs & Early TV Comedy - Nothing in Moderation - cover

    Ernie Kovacs & Early TV Comedy -...

    Andrew Horton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Exploring the pioneering career of the man whose quirky comic experiments influenced decades of television, from Laugh-In to Late Night.   A true pioneer of television, Ernie Kovacs entertained audiences throughout the 1950s and early 1960s with his zany, irreverent, and surprising humor—and also inspired a host of later comedies and comedians, including Monty Python, David Letterman, much of Saturday Night Live, Rowan and Martin’s Laugh-In, Captain Kangaroo, and even Sesame Street. Kovacs created laughter through wildly creative comic jokes, playful characterizations, hilarious insights, and wacky experiments—“Nothing in moderation,” his motto and epitaph, sums up well Kovacs’s wholehearted approach to comedy and life.   In this book, Andrew Horton offers the first sustained look at Ernie Kovacs’s wide-ranging and lasting contributions to the development of TV comedy. He discusses in detail Kovacs’s work in New York, which included The Ernie Kovacs Show (CBS prime time 1952–1953), The Ernie Kovacs Show (NBC daytime variety 1956–1957), Tonight (NBC late-night comedy/variety 1956-1957), and a number of quiz shows. Horton also looks at Kovacs’s work in Los Angeles and in feature film comedy. He vividly describes how Kovacs and his comic co-conspirators created offbeat characters and situations that subverted expectations and upended the status quo. Most of all, Horton demonstrates that Kovacs grasped the possibility for creating a fresh genre of comedy through the new medium of television—and exploited it to the fullest.
    Show book
  • Music Business - cover

    Music Business

    IntroBooks Team

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The music business is part of the entertainment industry, a segment Billion dollars worldwide, surpassing the automotive sector in sales, behind only the defense industry. Artists and small producers do not have specific knowledge and skills to undertake their own business or to manage their career. This study sought to address the main issues in the areas of the music industry, entrepreneurship, finance, and marketingWe seek to present the issues through a simple language, using concrete examples and making critical remarks. The production chain of music is based primarily on two products: the disc and the show. The decline in record sales has turned the show on the main source of income for artists today. Entrepreneurship today comes as a response to unemployment, both for a newly formed 22 years of age, as well as a recently fired 40 years. Undertake means doing a project. The first step is to prepare the business plan. You need to control costs, have a competitive profit margin and calculate the taxes involved in each operation to benefit from the business and longevity in the artistic career. No organization survives on the market without a positive final balance. Selling records the shows is a strategy to earn two products recipe with a unique opportunity. The internet is a means to promote and sell music. It is a way to circumvent the commercial radio and put the products available to the world at no cost with stock and commission. All of this is marketing. In the final part of the work, we present a business plan template for a music band. The information entered in the program reflect the reality of the Brazilian market. The business model is prepared by national laws that favor microenterprise and small business.
    Show book
  • Arizona Bay - cover

    Arizona Bay

    Bill Hicks

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Hicks developed a more complex plan for Arizona Bay, alternating music and comedy and painting a portrait of life on the beach after the “big one” dropped California into the Pacific Ocean.
    Show book
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - cover

    Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Herbert Francis Peyser

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Mozart’s earthly career was so poignantly short yet so filled with incalculable achievement that the author of this booklet finds himself confronted with an impossible task. He has, consequently, preferred to outline as best he could in the space at his disposal a few successive details of a life that was amazingly crowded with incident, early triumphs, and subsequent crushing tragedies, rather than to consider (let alone evaluate) the staggering creative abundances the master bequeathed mankind. - Summary by Author's Preface
    Show book