Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Black Sun Red Moon: A Novel of Java - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Black Sun Red Moon: A Novel of Java

Rory Marron

Publisher: Seventh Citadel

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Japan's defeat looms… Kate dreams of rescue… Her lover prepares his last stand… 
"Exquisitely written…an exciting and exactingly brutal slice of history…" — BookLife by Publishers Weekly Prize in Fiction 
Five lives caught in a maelstrom: 
Kate van Dam is struggling to survive the squalor and deprivation of an internment camp. Faced with a sick mother, little food and medicines she accepts the dubious offer of 'hostess work' at Japanese officers' club.... 
Japan's surrender saves Lt Kenichi Ota from a suicidal last stand. But to save the woman he loves he will have to draw his sword once again... 
Highlander Alun MacDonald has had his fill of the British Army but now faces a new, unpredictable foe and must trust his former enemies with his life... 
Lamban longs for independence for Indonesia. A chance encounter with an activist plunges him into a teeming, dangerous world of secret societies, plots and the whirlwind of revolution.... 
War Correspondent Meg Graham is expecting to cover Japan's defeat. Instead she is pitched into a ruthless struggle for an empire unrestrained by rules of war. 
"An ambitious, unconventional, compelling saga of men at war, captivity, forced prostitution, murder, political dirty tricks and mob terror in Japanese-occupied and revolutionary Indonesia. Rory Marron's Black Sun, Red Moon and Merdeka Rising give us an almost tangible glimpse of the chaos that was Java in 1945-46. His writing, infused with imaginative speculation, is sweeping, poignant, passionate and unflinching."(Publisher's Catalogue) 
"I was there! Excellent, almost true story… I can vouch for many of the things that happened." — Amazon Customer Review 
"The pace zips along…" — Army Rumour Service (UK) 
"A good, realistic account based on actual events. Well worth reading!" — Stuart Guild (27th Field Regiment Royal Artillery, Burma 1944-45) 
Japan's sudden surrender ends the Second World War but triggers the Indonesian declaration of independence from the Netherlands, catching the returning Dutch and 'Southeast Asia's peacekeepers', the British, by surprise. In a chaotic, mistrustful peace the British order the Japanese to defend the white colonial order. Recent foes have no choice but to become allies...of a kind. In greatest peril are 80,000 European women and children interned by the Japanese. Defenceless, abandoned and half-starved, some of them former sex slaves of the Japanese, they become hostages to fortune. As their former guards become their guardians, protecting them from hostile mobs, hatreds and prejudices are hastily re-examined. British, Gurkha and Indian troops, veterans of the bitter Burma campaign, arrive in Java expecting a warm welcome, grateful civilians and easy duties. Very soon their orders are rewritten, their mission and motives questioned, as they face determined, frequently suicidal opposition…

Other books that might interest you

  • A Way Back Home - The perfect feel-good laugh out loud romance of Christmas 2018 - cover

    A Way Back Home - The perfect...

    Alison Sherlock

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    What happens when two lost souls find themselves? 
     
    After recent heartbreak, Skye Jackson finds herself homeless and on the road with only a classic Airstream trailer to her name. A surprise inheritance of a rundown little lodge in the grounds of beautiful Willow Tree Hall forces her to change her plans. However there is a problem... 
     
    The lodge is co-owned by care-free playboy Will Harris, who finds himself unemployed after a recent tabloid scandal. 
     
    Skye desperately wants a home to call her own and needs to move on as quickly as possible. Will doesn't want to stay at his family home either to face the ghosts of his past. So they decide to put aside their differences and renovate the cottage together. 
     
    But when a storm hits, Skye and Will are forced to stay on to ensure that an important wedding goes ahead. Can Skye finally find a home of her own? Can Will stop running from his past and help out his family when they need him the most? 
     
    The magic of winter at Willow Tree Hall is about to change everything... 
     
    Perfect for the fans of Jill Mansell, Debbie Johnson, Heidi Swain and Carole Matthews.
    Show book
  • Goodnight from London - A Novel - cover

    Goodnight from London - A Novel

    Jennifer Robson

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    From USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Robson—author of Moonlight Over Paris and Somewhere in France—comes a lush historical novel that tells the fascinating story of Ruby Sutton, an ambitious American journalist who moves to London in 1940 to report on the Second World War, and to start a new life an ocean away from her past. 
    In the summer of 1940, ambitious young American journalist Ruby Sutton gets her big break: the chance to report on the European war as a staff writer for Picture Weekly newsmagazine in London. She jumps at the chance, for it's an opportunity not only to prove herself, but also to start fresh in a city and country that know nothing of her humble origins. But life in besieged Britain tests Ruby in ways she never imagined. 
     
    Although most of Ruby's new colleagues welcome her, a few resent her presence, not only as an American but also as a woman. She is just beginning to find her feet, to feel at home in a country that is so familiar yet so foreign, when the bombs begin to fall.  
     
    As the nightly horror of the Blitz stretches unbroken into weeks and months, Ruby must set aside her determination to remain an objective observer. When she loses everything but her life, and must depend upon the kindness of strangers, she learns for the first time the depth and measure of true friendship—and what it is to love a man who is burdened by secrets that aren’t his to share. 
    Goodnight from London, inspired in part by the wartime experiences of the author’s own grandmother, is a captivating, heartfelt, and historically immersive story that readers are sure to embrace. 
     
     
     
      
      
      
     
    Show book
  • Rape Erotica 5-Pack - cover

    Rape Erotica 5-Pack

    penelope liksit

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Five of the darkest, most hardcore erotic non-consensual tales you will find anywhere. This bundle features, daddies, uncles, watersports, oral, anal, gang, facials, virgins, creampies, dirty talk..
    Daddy raped my bloody pussy, Raped and pissed on by uncle, Gang raped by the whole squad, Raped by the Boa Constrictor, Rapist for hire
    Show book
  • Krondor: Tear of the Gods - cover

    Krondor: Tear of the Gods

    Raymond E. Feist

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The vile sorcerer Sidi plans to strike the kingdom a fatal blow, setting the murderous pirate Bear upon the high seas in pursuit of the vessel that is transporting Midkemia's most holy object; the Tear of the Gods. From this miraculous stone all magic power is believed to flow. And if the Tear becomes the mage's trinket, the future will hold only terror, death and unending night. For Squire James, Lieutenant William, and the able magician Jazhara, the race is on to rescue the remarkable artifact. For all manner of dark creatures are gathering with one unspeakable purpose: to breed the chaos that will hasten the destruction of Squire James and his brave companions . . . and bring about the total corruption of the Tear of the Gods.
    Show book
  • The London Of Us - London Romance #4 - cover

    The London Of Us - London...

    Clare Lydon

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Alice Di Santo has it all – everyone says so. Perfect boyfriend, great job, settled home life. But when she meets Rachel Cramer, all that changes. Because Rachel is everything Alice has never considered – and now cannot stop thinking about. 
    This charming tale of coming out in your 30s sees Alice risk everything to go after what she wants, soon discovering she's deserving of love - and especially this love, which takes her breath away. 
    The fourth book in the London Romance Series features favourite characters from the previous three novels, and proves that falling in love is never scripted. 
    Clare Lydon has written a bold, bright tale of modern romance at its glittering finest. Read it today!
    Show book
  • Shadow of a Dark Queen - cover

    Shadow of a Dark Queen

    Raymond E. Feist

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    “An epic reading experience.”—San Diego Union-Tribune Acclaimed, New York Times bestselling fantasist Raymond E. Feist gets his masterful Serpentwar Saga off to a spectacular start with Shadow of a Dark Queen. Feist’s classic epic fantasy adventure returns readers to ever-imperiled Midkemia, a breathtaking, richly imagined realm of magic and intrigue, where two unlikely heroes must rally the forces of the land to stand firm against a malevolent race of monsters intent upon conquest and annihilation. Locus magazine calls Shadow of a Dark Queen, “the place to start for those yet to discover Feist’s fantasy worlds.” For fans of Terry Goodkind, George R. R. Martin, and Terry Brooks—and for anyone not already in the  thrall of this astonishing author’s literary magic—that is excellent advice indeed.
    Show book