Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Fritz Bauer - The Jewish Prosecutor Who Brought Eichmann and Auschwitz to Trial - cover

Fritz Bauer - The Jewish Prosecutor Who Brought Eichmann and Auschwitz to Trial

Ronen Steinke

Translator Sinéad Crowe

Publisher: Indiana University Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A biography of the German Jewish judge and lawyer who survived the Holocaust, brought the Nazis to justice, and fought for the rights of homosexuals. German Jewish judge and prosecutor Fritz Bauer (1903–1968) played a key role in the arrest of Adolf Eichmann and the initiation of the Frankfurt Auschwitz trials. Author Ronen Steinke tells this remarkable story while sensitively exploring the many contributions Bauer made to the postwar German justice system. As it sheds light on Bauer’s Jewish identity and the role it played in these trials and his later career, Steinke’s deft narrative contributes to the larger story of Jewishness in postwar Germany. Examining latent antisemitism during this period as well as Jewish responses to renewed German cultural identity and politics, Steinke also explores Bauer’s personal and family life and private struggles, including his participation in debates against the criminalization of homosexuality—a fact that only came to light after his death in 1968. This new biography reveals how one individual’s determination, religion, and dedication to the rule of law formed an important foundation for German post war society.“What is clear—and what this book makes clear—is that without people like Fritz Bauer there would have been none of this prosecution of Nazi atrocities, no trials for Auschwitz camp guards or Adolf Eichmann, no rehabilitation of the German resistance against Hitler. Ronen Steinke deserves thanks for bringing this message of Fritz Bauer back to light in such an accessible form, balancing professional distance and sympathy.” —Kai Ambos, Criminal Law Forum“Illuminates the biography of a central actor in Germany’s coming to terms with its Nazi past.” —Jacob S. Eder, author of Holocaust Angst

Other books that might interest you

  • The Glamour Chase - The Maverick Life of Billy Mackenzie - cover

    The Glamour Chase - The Maverick...

    Tom Doyle

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The definitive biography of the Scottish singer-songwriter and leader of the Associates—with a new foreword by Björk.  A first-rate charmer with a devilish twinkle in his eye, Billy MacKenzie was a maverick figure within the music industry. At the same time, his wild and mischievous spirit may have done him more harm than good. As frontman of the Associates, gifted with an otherwordly, octave-scaling operatic voice, MacKenzie, rose to Top Twenty chart success in 1982. Then, at the height of their success, the Associates split up. Over the ensuing years, MacKenzie gained a reputation for his unhinged career tactics, generous spirit and knack for squandering large amounts of record-company money. Born in Dundee in 1957, he was the eldest son in a large Catholic family. He was bullied at school and sought refuge in music. He was a schemer and dreamer, a breeder of whippet dogs and a bisexual who kept quiet about his private life. During his lifetime, his unique vocal gift attracted the attention of Shirley Bassey, Annie Lennox and Bjork. However, in the tradition of Scott Walker, Syd Barrett and Nick Drake, MacKenzie's tale is one of thwarted talent and, ultimately, tragedy.
    Show book
  • Orthodoxy - cover

    Orthodoxy

    G. K. Chesterton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Orthodoxy (1908) is a book by G. K. Chesterton that has become a classic of Christian apologetics. Chesterton considered this book a companion to his other work, Heretics. In the book's preface Chesterton states the purpose is to "attempt an explanation, not of whether the Christian Faith can be believed, but of how he personally has come to believe it." In it, Chesterton presents an original view of Christian religion. He sees it as the answer to natural human needs, the "answer to a riddle" in his own words, and not simply as an arbitrary truth received from somewhere outside the boundaries of human experience.
    Show book
  • Ban the Bomb! - Michael Randle and Direct Action against Nuclear War - cover

    Ban the Bomb! - Michael Randle...

    Martin Levy

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    During the 1950s, Michael Randle helped pioneer a new form of direct action against nuclear war, based on the teachings of Mahatma Gandhi. At the forefront of the British campaign, he worked closely with Peace News editor Hugh Brock (1914–1985) and other distinguished ‘anti-nuclear pacifists’ such as Pat Arrowsmith, April Carter, and Ian Dixon, serving as chairman of the Direct Action Committee against Nuclear War (1958-1961) and secretary of the Committee of 100 (1960-1961).
    
    In 1966, he helped ‘spring’ the Russian spy George Blake from Wormwood Scrubs Prison. Thereafter, he campaigned vigorously on behalf of the Greek democratic opposition, conscientious objectors, and Soviet dissidents. He has always been a man of rare candor and singular energy and principles, even enduring imprisonment for his beliefs.
    
    Nowadays, Michael lives in Shipley near Bradford, where he continues to write as a respected expert on ‘people power’. Martin Levy’s interviews with Michael Randle introduce the reader to a tumultuous life that is nothing short of extraordinary.
    Show book
  • The Real Mr Big - How a Colombian Refugee Became the United Kingdom’s Most Notorious Cocaine Kingpin - cover

    The Real Mr Big - How a...

    Ron Chepesiuk, Jesus Ruiz-Henao

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This true crime memoir is both a “high-speed train trip through the modern cocaine trade” and a story of reform, redemption and family (Gerald Posner, and author of Pharma). Born in 1960, Jesus Ruiz Henao wanted to be rich like the drug dealers he saw as he grew up in the cocaine-producing region of Colombia’s Valle of the Cauca. In 1985, he moved to the quiet London suburb of Hendon, where he and his wife held down mundane cleaning and bus driving jobs. At least to outward appearances . . . While keeping a low profile, Henao built a drug trafficking network reaching from Colombia to England and across Europe. It was a risky business with law enforcement on one side and ruthless competitors on the other. By the summer of 2003, he decided to get out. But then he made the one mistake that would get him caught. It cost him a seventeen-year prison sentence, with more tacked on when he tried to make one last deal from behind prison walls. Co-written by Henao with bestselling author Ron Chepesiuk, The Real Mr. Big is the story of how an ambitious Colombian immigrant became known to law enforcement as “the Pablo Escobar of British drug trafficking.”
    Show book
  • Echo - cover

    Echo

    Christina Rossetti

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    LibriVox volunteers bring you 18 recordings of Echo by Christina Rossetti. This was the weekly poetry project for April 12th, 2009.
    Show book
  • The Road to Burgundy - The Unlikely Story of an American Making Wine and a New Life in France - cover

    The Road to Burgundy - The...

    Ray Walker

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ray Walker had a secure career in finance until a wine-tasting vacation ignited a passion that he couldn't stifle. Ray neglected his work, spending hours poring over ancient French wine-making texts, learning the techniques and the language, and daydreaming about vineyards. After Ray experienced his first taste of wine from Burgundy, he could wait no longer. He quit his job and went to France to start a winery-with little money, a limited command of French, and virtually no wine-making experience.Fueled by determination and joie de vivre, he immersed himself in the extraordinary history of Burgundy's vineyards and began honing his skills. Ray became a pioneer in his use of ancient techniques in modern times and founded Maison Ilan. In 2009, Ray became the first non-French winemaker to purchase grapes and produce a wine from Le Chambertin, long considered to be one of the most revered and singular vineyards in the world.Along with his struggle to capture his wine's distinct terroir, Ray shares enthralling stories of late-night tastings, flying down the Route National on a vintage Peugeot bicycle with no brakes, and his journey to secure both the trust of his insular Burgundian neighbors and the region's most coveted grapes. Capturing the sunlight, the smell of the damp soil, and the taste of superlative wine, The Road to Burgundy is a glorious celebration of finding one's true path in life, and taking a chance-whatever the odds.
    Show book