Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Now You See It    - cover

Now You See It   

Richard Matheson

Publisher: RosettaBooks

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The author of I Am Legend transforms a lonely mansion into a madhouse where a group must face grisly tricks, shocking twists, and the mind of a killer.In Now You See It, the prolific master of suspense and horror delivers a knock-out tale the likes of which have not been seen since Henry Clouzot’s devilish thriller Diabolique.Some years ago, the Great Delacorte, a famed stage magician, came down with a stroke that left him in a vegetative state, able to move only his eyes. The entire action of the novel is witnessed through these eyes as Delacorte sits in the Magic Room of his country estate, a room custom-tailored to display stage illusions. Delacorte’s son, Max, has taken his name and place as an illusionist in every effort to replace his father. Max is supported by his wife Cassandra and her amazingly identical lookalike younger brother Brian. But for the past year, Cassandra has been poisoning Max’s food with arsenic and a sleeping pill. She wants the act all for herself—but Max has his own ideas, and his revenge is the big dish that Matheson sets before us in this dazzler that offers top-flight fun!Praise for Now You See It “One of his strongest efforts…. We’re all a lot richer to have Richard Matheson among us.”―Dean Koontz “A fascinating variation on the locked-room mystery…with more hairpin turns than a mountain road. Now You See It…is absorbing.”―The Washington Post Book World “There are as many twists and turns as a medieval catacomb in one of the most fun novels of the year.”―Rocky Mountain News “Matheson’s prose is extremely smooth and the pacing frantic.”―The Philadelphia Inquirer
Available since: 01/09/2014.
Print length: 224 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Girl Five: Bound (A Maya Gray FBI Suspense Thriller—Book 5) - cover

    Girl Five: Bound (A Maya Gray...

    Molly Black

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    12 cold cases. 12 kidnapped women. One diabolical serial killer. In this riveting suspense thriller, a brilliant FBI agent faces a deadly challenge: decipher the mystery before each one is murdered.In the Maya Gray series (which begins with Book #1—GIRL ONE: MURDER) FBI Special Agent Maya Gray, 39, has seen it all. She’s one of BAU’s rising stars and the go-to agent for hard-to-crack serial cases. When she receives a handwritten postcard promising to release 12 kidnapped women if she will solve 12 cold cases, she assumes it’s a hoax.Until the note mentions that, among the captives, is her missing sister.Maya, shaken, is forced to take it seriously. The cases she’s up against are some of the most difficult the FBI has ever seen. But the terms of his game are simple: If Maya solves a case, he will release one of the girls. And if she fails, he will end a life.In GIRL FIVE: BOUND, a serial killer takes one thing from each of his victims. Why? What do they have in common?And whom will he strike next?A complex psychological crime thriller full of twists and turns and packed with heart-pounding suspense, the MAYA GRAY mystery series will make you fall in love with a brilliant new female protagonist and keep you turning pages late into the night. It is a perfect addition for fans of Robert Dugoni, Rachel Caine, Melinda Leigh or Mary Burton.Book #6—GIRL SIX: FORSAKEN—is also available.
    Show book
  • Top Ten - cover

    Top Ten

    Ryne Douglas Pearson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ryne Douglas Pearson has been compared to both Thomas Harris and James Patterson. In Top Ten he delves into the heart and mind of a tormented man who becomes the terrifying killer known as Michaelangelo. Michaelangelo believes himself to be an artist of unparalleled vision. He stages elaborate murders and sends pictures of his “work” to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. During an attack at a post office, he sees that he is number 10 on the FBI’s Ten Most Wanted poster. Enraged, he decides to take his “art” in a new direction. He will become number one by killing everyone else on the list.  
    When up-and-coming FBI agent Ariel Grace is assigned to the task force, she discovers that number five is actually another agent under deep cover. Now Ariel finds herself in a desperate race to find one of her own before Michaelangelo does.  
    Ryne Douglas Pearson’s Top Ten is a look at both the madness that produces human monsters and the dedication of those determined to stop them. George Guidall’s chilling narration pulls the listener right into the middle of this suspense filled non-stop tour de force.
    Show book
  • Kill Two Birds & Get Stoned - A Novel - cover

    Kill Two Birds & Get Stoned - A...

    Kinky Friedman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Walter Snow is doomed. He stares at the blank pages in his typewriter, hoping for the spark that will finally ignite his ambition to write the Great Armenian Novel. And then he meets Clyde Potts. She is beautiful, intelligent, charming, perhaps psychic, and, for better or worse, very possibly unbalanced. With Potts’s joie de vivre and her certified-insane partner in crime, Fox Harris, Snow is caught up in a series of pranks against corporate sprawl that they execute with a bit of booze and some wacky tobaccy from Australia known as Malabimbi Madness. Things quickly spin out of control as the trio’s ultimate, diuretically inspired prank leads to an unexpected, shocking conclusion, and Walter is left to wonder if the only things you ever keep in this life are the things you let slip through your fingers.
    Show book
  • Unkindness of Ravens An - cover

    Unkindness of Ravens An

    Ruth Rendell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Named as a life peer in the House of Lords in 1997, Ruth Rendell is also a Mystery Writers of America Grand Master and the winner of three Edgars and four Golden Dagger Awards. Her Inspector Wexford mysteries thrill audiences around the globe with their complex plots and nuanced characters. As a favor to his wife, Inspector Wexford agrees to investigate the case of a missing husband. After gathering evidence, Wexford seems pretty certain that Joy Williams' husband simply ran off with a younger woman. But when Rodney Williams is found stabbed to death, Wexford does a little more digging. It seems that the murder is tied to a militant feminist group working in the area. They call themselves the Arria and they've taken the raven as their symbol.
    Show book
  • Risky Whiskey - cover

    Risky Whiskey

    Lucy Lakestone

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Stirring up trouble in New Orleans... 
    Eager to shake up her drinks and her life, mixologist Pepper Revelle jumps at an invitation to join the elite Bohemia Bartenders. Leader Neil thinks she’ll be the perfect advance gal for his team at a colorful cocktail convention in her hometown of New Orleans, but the job turns out to be more bananas than a drunk monkey. Setting up the key tasting for their distiller client, she and Neil discover their whiskey has gone dangerously bad. But how? And was this shocking poisoning more than an accident? 
    As Pepper and Neil try to figure out what happened, keep the drinks flowing and help distiller Dash Reynolds survive the weekend, they find themselves the target of increasingly scary attacks. Maybe it’s the danger, or maybe it’s the drinks, but Pepper also can’t help an inconvenient attraction to cocktail nerd Neil as they stir up trouble and try to figure out who’s out to get them — before they’re sliced and squeezed like a lemon twist in a Sazerac. 
    Risky Whiskey is the first book in the Bohemia Bartenders Mysteries, funny whodunits with a dash of romance set in a convivial collective of cocktail lovers, eccentrics and mixologists. These cozy culinary comedies contain a hint of heat, a splash of cursing and shots of laughter, served over hand-carved ice.
    Show book
  • The Party House - cover

    The Party House

    Lin Anderson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    'A real page-turner' – Ian RankinThe Party House by Lin Anderson is a deeply atmospheric psychological thriller set in the Scottish Highlands, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.Devastated by a recent pandemic brought in by outsiders, the villagers of Blackrig in the Scottish Highlands are outraged when they find that the nearby estate plans to reopen its luxury ‘party house’ to tourists.As animosity sparks in the community, a group of locals take action. By the end of the night, the house hot tub has been smashed to pieces and, in the ensuing chaos, the body of a young woman is found in the foundations. Seventeen-year-old Ailsa Cummings went missing five years ago, never to be seen again. Until now.The excavation of Ailsa’s remains reignites old suspicions towards the men of this small community, including Greg, the estate’s gamekeeper. He is loath to discuss old wounds, but Greg's new lover, Joanne, is frightened by his reaction to the missing girl’s discovery. Joanne begins to doubt how well she knows this new man in her life. Then again, he’s not the only one with secrets in their volatile relationship . . .'Lin's first standalone sees her expertly mix psychological thrills with a perplexing mystery simmering in a small community. It has all the ingredients of a hit to stand alongside her Rhona MacLeod series' – Douglas Skelton, author of The Blood is Still
    Show book