Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Child's Play - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Child's Play

Reginald Hill

Publisher: MysteriousPress.com

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

An inheritance draws a shady long-lost relative out of hiding in “the most elaborate mystery in the Yorkshire series” (Kirkus Reviews).   Reginald Hill “raised the classical British mystery to new heights” when he introduced pugnacious Yorkshire Det. Inspector Andrew Dalziel and his partner, the callow Sgt. Peter Pascoe (The New York Times Book Review). Their chafing differences in education, manners, technique, and temperament made them “the most remarkable duo in the annals of crime fiction” (Toronto Star). Adapted into a long-running hit show for the BBC, the Gold Dagger Award–winning series is now available as ebooks.   Gwendoline Huby’s passing has left her relatives more aggrieved than grieving. The wealthy and dotty widow has bequeathed the bulk of her fortune to her son, Alexander, missing in action since World War II. Then a stranger appears at the funeral claiming, against all odds, to be the phantom benefactor. Imposter or rightful heir? For Dalziel and Pascoe, a prickly situation is made even more so when Alexander is murdered. But when a second body turns up—this time in the CID’s parking lot—the Yorkshire detectives can’t fathom a connection. Until they dare to look a little deeper into the Hubys’ family plot.   Child’s Play is the 9th book in the Dalziel and Pascoe Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
Available since: 04/30/2019.
Print length: 453 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Cove - An absolutely gripping thriller that will have you hooked - cover

    The Cove - An absolutely...

    Gregg Dunnett

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "Wow... this book had it all! Suspense, intrigue, action... a great whodunnit I never saw coming." Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    
    
    
     
    After the sudden death of her husband, Christine Harvey would do anything to give her precious children Molly and Ryan a fresh start. The huge clifftop house she’s hastily purchased has the most breath-taking ocean view she’s ever seen. Surely here they can someday be happy again?
    
     
    But Christine had no idea that her family’s new dream house is right next door to where a child was abducted and murdered. And nobody told her that the father – who was the main suspect in the police investigation before it collapsed – still lives there.
    
     
    Everyone urges her to move on, but Christine can’t stop thinking about that child. Fearing for the safety of Molly and Ryan, she frantically delves deeper into the old case, looking for anything that will give them some answers.
    
     
    But some secrets are best left buried, and as the behaviour of their new neighbour grows increasingly unsettling, Christine wonders if digging up this one was the worst thing she could have done for her family…From the number-one bestselling author, this is an unputdownable read with a twist that will make you gasp. Perfect for fans of JP Delaney, The Housemaid and Shari Lapena, you won’t be able to put this book down.
    
     
    What readers are saying about The Cove:
    
     
    “From page one I was hooked. The story grips you and I did not want to put it down, but at the same time I didn't want it to end because I was enjoying the story so much… I felt I was holding my breath all day yesterday while reading it.” Online reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    
     
    “RIVETING!!... What an amazingly riveting book!! I couldn’t put it down… The twists and turns were so well thought out.” Online reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    
     
    “A huge twist… I certainly didn't see the end coming… A shocking and unexpected ending. Recommended.” Online reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    
     
    “Wow, this was really good… an exciting book with an ending I didn't see coming. Good story with great characters. More, please.” Online reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    
     
    “Well-drawn characters, gripping story, great twists! This is definitely worth losing yourself in, apparently until 2.30am yet again!” Online reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    
     
    “Thrilling!... I couldn't quit reading because I just HAD to know what was coming next.” Online reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    Show book
  • The Four of Us - cover

    The Four of Us

    A. M. Keen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    I look back on my childhood with a mixture of emotions. They were the best and worst years of my life. My friends Chris Lester, Charlie Beaumont and Louis Johnson would probably agree. We were the best of friends, always together and there for each other.Our bond would be tested one dismal October morning, when we’d commit a murder in the woods around our hometown.What followed was a cover-up whilst trying to pretend nothing had happened. During this time, I watched my friends succumb to their emotions, and also the lingering presence of the person we had killed.
    Show book
  • Her Deepest Fear - cover

    Her Deepest Fear

    Kelly Utt

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    After her husband dies suddenly, Cate begins to suspect she's being followed—and starts questioning everything she thought she knew. But the answers she discovers may be the worst of all . . . Cate Brady almost had it all. Until a knock on her front door brought news that her beloved husband had been in a terrible accident. He was pronounced dead on the scene.Reeling from the shock and suspecting she's being followed, Cate must question everything she thinks she knows.Is she in danger? Will she find the answers she reluctantly seeks? And what will it all mean for her future?Her Deepest Fear is the first book in the Rosemary Run series featuring the women of a California town who face the darkness hiding beneath their community's picturesque façade.Contains mature themes.
    Show book
  • Redemption - A Gripping Suspense Novel! - cover

    Redemption - A Gripping Suspense...

    Stephanie Baldi

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Murder is the catalyst pushing Carrie Overton headlong into the arms of the hitman sent to kill her. 
     Carrie Overton is in deep trouble. All she wanted to do was escape her alcoholic and drug-addicted mother and leave the memory of the son she lost behind. Carrie’s opportunity for freedom comes at a high price when she leaves home with Travis Montgomery, a man twenty years her senior. A man who harbors shocking secrets connected to her past. 
    After a botched robbery in which Travis forces her to help him steal two million dollars from a drug lord, leaves two people dead, Carrie decides to add a third victim to her list, and Travis is left lying on the floor. Eager to start over, Carrie takes the stolen money and travels to the small mountain town of Laurel, Pennsylvania, where she lies about her past and relaxes into her new life. Before long, Carrie’s lies are piling up, and her crimes are about to catch up to her. 
    Nicholas D’Angelo is at the top of his profession. Known as a ghost, a contract killer for one of the biggest drug lords in Miami, his assignment is simple. Find the people who stole the two million dollars, recover the money and eliminate them.  
    With a hitman on her trail, Carrie is forced to make a choice. Trust the hitman who vows to disobey his orders and protect her. Or stay in Laurel and face the drug lord determined to end her life. Either one might kill her.
    Show book
  • The Forgotten Girls - cover

    The Forgotten Girls

    Owen Laukkanen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    They are the victims no one has ever cared about - until now. 
    Agents Stevens and Windermere return in the blistering new crime novel from the fast-rising, multi-award-nominated suspense star. 
    She was a forgotten girl, a runaway found murdered on the High Line train through the northern Rocky Mountains and, with little local interest, put into a dead file. Only, she was not alone. When Kirk Stevens and Carla Windermere of the joint FBI-BCA violent crime force stumble upon the case, they discover a horror far greater than anyone expected - a string of murders on the High Line, all of them young women drifters whom no one would notice. But someone has noticed now. Through the bleak midwinter and a frontier land of forbidding geography, Stevens and Windermere follow a frustratingly light trail of clues - and where it ends, even they will be shocked.
    Show book
  • Darkness Before Dawn - cover

    Darkness Before Dawn

    Ace Collins

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    On the same night she discovers she is pregnant, twenty-eight-year-old nurse Meg Richards' husband is killed in an auto accident caused by a drunken teen. James Thomas, the teen, comes from one of the most influential families in the community. He's a star athlete and glamour boy at the local high school. Angered by her senseless loss, Meg blames God for what has happened and considers a decision that could change her life even further-until the D.A. intervenes. The results of the brutal trial enrage Meg, leading her down a frightening path of retribution. When the opportunity for revenge comes unexpectedly, will Meg follow through? Or will the remnants of her faith lead her in a different direction?
    Show book