Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
City of Jasmine - cover

City of Jasmine

Olga Grjasnowa

Translator Katy Derbyshire

Publisher: Oneworld Publications

  • 2
  • 7
  • 0

Summary

When Hammoudi, a young surgeon based in Paris, returns to Syria to renew his passport, he only expects to stay there a few days. But the authorities refuse to let him leave and Hammoudi finds himself caught up in the fight against the regime. Meanwhile, budding actress Amal has also joined the protests against the government and her own father, by whom she feels betrayed. Realising that they will never again be safe in their homeland, Amal and her boyfriend Youssef decide to flee to Europe in a desperate bid to survive.
 
But the path to safety brings its own risks, and Amal and Youssef once again narrowly escape death when their overcrowded ship sinks. Eventually they reach Germany, but soon discover that in this new life – where they are perceived as nothing but refugees – their struggle is far from over.
 
City of Jasmine is an intimate and striking novel that offers real insight into the horrors and inhumanity of war, whilst also focusing on the humanity of the protagonists, marking Olga Grjasnowa as one of the most talented and admired young authors working in Germany today.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Sleep Room - cover

    The Sleep Room

    F. R. Tallis

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A novel about medicine, mental illness, and the dark side of the human mind from a “​master of psychological suspense”​ (Booklist). When promising young psychiatrist James Richards is offered the job opportunity of a lifetime by the charismatic Dr. Hugh Maitland, he is thrilled. Setting off to take up his post at Wyldehope Hall in deepest Suffolk, Richardson doesn’t look back. One of his tasks is to manage Maitland’s most controversial project—a pioneering therapy in which extremely disturbed patients are kept asleep for months. If this radically and potentially dangerous procedure is successful, it could mean professional glory for both doctors. As Richardson settles into his new life, he begins to sense something uncanny about the sleeping patients—six women, forsaken by society. Why is Maitland unwilling to discuss their past lives? Why is the trainee nurse so on edge when she spends nights alone with them? And what can it mean when all the sleepers start dreaming at the same time? In this atmospheric reinvention of the ghost story, Richardson finds himself questioning everything he knows about the human mind, as he attempts to uncover the shocking secrets of the Sleep Room. . . . From an Edgar Award–nominated author “well worth seeking out” (The Washington Post), this eerie, suspenseful tale set in 1950s England “is an elegantly constructed psychiatric Gothic, all spires and gargoyles and ghostly echoes—the sort of vast, dread edifice we sometimes build around ourselves when the lights go out” (The New York Times Book Review). 
    Show book
  • Scot on the Rocks - cover

    Scot on the Rocks

    Catriona McPherson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Lexy Campbell’s ex-husband begs for her help finding his current wife, whose disappearance mirrors that of a number of statues around California – menacing ransom note and all.
    A community is devastated when the bronze statue of local legend Mama Cuento is stolen on Valentine’s Day. When Lexy Campbell arrives on the scene, a big bronze toe is found along with a ransom note – “Listen to our demands or you will never see her again. There are nine more where this came from”.
    Then, Lexy’s ex-husband Bran turns up begging for help to find his wife, Brandee, who has disappeared. Lexy agrees to pitch in, but when she shows up at Bran’s house he has just discovered one of Brandee’s false nails and another ransom note with the same grisly message.
    Are the two cases linked or is a copycat on the loose? Who would want to kidnap a bronze statue or, come to that, Brandee? And can Lexy put aside her hatred for Bran long enough to find out?
    Show book
  • Otherhood - cover

    Otherhood

    William Sutcliffe

    • 2
    • 16
    • 1
    First published as Whatever Makes You Happy, the hilarious and moving novel about mothers and their adult sons will soon be a Netflix original movie starring Felicity Huffman, Angela Bassett and Patricia Arquette 
     
    Three sons. Three mums. One week. 
     
    Matt, Daniel and Paul were childhood friends. Now in their thirties, they've lost touch and have only one thing in common: their mothers. Little do they know that, having spent a cardless Mother's Day discussing how their emotionally dysfunctional offspring should be settling down, Carol, Gillian and Helen have decided to pay their wayward sons a visit. On the same day, they turn up on their sons' doorsteps, uninvited and unannounced. Their plan is to reestablish the mother-son bond by moving in for one week. Just a week. Surely that's not a lot to ask...
    Show book
  • Immortal Ever After - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Immortal Ever After - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 5
    • 28
    • 0
    New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands enthralls with Immortal Ever After, the latest entry in her sizzling paranormal vampire series featuring the wickedly alluring Argeneau family. 
    When Valerie is saved by the Argenau rescue team after being kidnapped by an immortal madman, Anders finds himself captivated by the strong, sultry woman. Engaged in a steamy affair, he promises to do everything in his power to protect Valerie while her abductor is still at large—and on the hunt. 
    Sexy, fun, and full of passion, Lynsay Sands’s Immortal Ever After delivers a tantalizing adventure and a smoldering romance.
    Show book
  • The Lucky Dress - The perfect feel-good romance for 2019 - cover

    The Lucky Dress - The perfect...

    Aimee Brown

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    We all have our lucky dress... an irresistibly hilarious rom-com! 
     
    Emi Harrison hasn't been feeling particularly lucky lately. Ever since her ex-fiancée, Jack Cabot, successfully shattered her heart into a million pieces. She's managed to avoid him for a whole year, but all that's about to change at her brother Evan's wedding... 
     
    She will have to face Jack, Jack's sister, Jack's parents, and Jack's new girlfriend: a mean girl that just won't quit. What could possibly go wrong? 
     
    With her lucky dress on, all bets are off, and maybe Emi will find her happily-ever-after at last? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Anna Bell, Jo Watson and Sophie Kinsella. 
     
    Praise for The Lucky Dress: 
     
    'One of my favorite books this year, maybe even ever' Michelle Harris. 
     
    'I was sucked in from the start and pretty much devoured the book' Nikki Newcomb. 
     
    'Perfect beach reading book' Danielle Dobson. 
     
    'Funny, relatable story' Erin Butler. 
     
    'I enjoyed this frothy, funny rom-com and read it in one sitting. Perfect beach read!' Amanda Driver.
    Show book
  • Legion of the Occult - A thrilling action-packed fantasy escape - cover

    Legion of the Occult - A...

    Roberto Genovesi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Unstoppable and lethal, they move across the battlefields like ghosts. They are the soldiers of the Legio Occulta. 
     
    Nola, Roman Italy, 19 August 14 A.D. 
     
    History does not acknowledge them, but the Roman Empire knows the debt they owe to this secret legion. Trained not to fight but to read and interpret the messages of the gods, they pave the way for Roman swords, intervening when earthly weapons must give way to the power of the transcendent. With the Legio Occulta, no battle is impossible. 
     
    Clad in snow-white armour and tunics as black as night, they are seers, fortune-tellers, necromancers and haruspies selected when they were children from arenas, slave markets and burning villages. Led by a general who speaks only in sign language, their motto is Vigiles in tenebris: watchers of the night. 
     
    Iron blades clash with magic. Rome will never be the same. 
     
    Praise for Roberto Genovesi: 
     
    'Roberto Genovesi is the Italian master of historical fantasy' ANDREA FREDIANI. 
     
    'A very original, wide-ranging novel full of characters, full of descriptions and narrative inventions' IL GIORNALE. 
     
    'A compelling historical novel with splashes of fantasy' IL SOLE 24 ORE.
    Show book