Do you dare to read without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
City of Jasmine - cover

City of Jasmine

Olga Grjasnowa

Translator Katy Derbyshire

Publisher: Oneworld Publications

  • 2
  • 7
  • 0

Summary

When Hammoudi, a young surgeon based in Paris, returns to Syria to renew his passport, he only expects to stay there a few days. But the authorities refuse to let him leave and Hammoudi finds himself caught up in the fight against the regime. Meanwhile, budding actress Amal has also joined the protests against the government and her own father, by whom she feels betrayed. Realising that they will never again be safe in their homeland, Amal and her boyfriend Youssef decide to flee to Europe in a desperate bid to survive.
 
But the path to safety brings its own risks, and Amal and Youssef once again narrowly escape death when their overcrowded ship sinks. Eventually they reach Germany, but soon discover that in this new life – where they are perceived as nothing but refugees – their struggle is far from over.
 
City of Jasmine is an intimate and striking novel that offers real insight into the horrors and inhumanity of war, whilst also focusing on the humanity of the protagonists, marking Olga Grjasnowa as one of the most talented and admired young authors working in Germany today.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 3
    • 54
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • Snow Angels - An emotional Christmas read from the Sunday Times bestseller - cover

    Snow Angels - An emotional...

    Nadine Dorries

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Spend Christmas with the nurses of St Angelus Hospital. 
     
    Christmas is coming, but will the doctors and nurses of St Angelus get a chance to enjoy it? 
     
    Sister Emily Haycock and her husband are anxiously counting the days until the signing of final adoption papers for their precious baby Louis. But someone has got it in for them and Emily is about to get caught out in a dangerous lie. 
     
    Nurse Victoria Baker is heavily pregnant. But as the snow begins to fall, has she made a big mistake about her dates and put the life of her unborn baby at risk? 
     
    And who is the figure obsessively watching St Angelus from the shadows? Or the mystery woman who turns up one dark, windy evening, begging for a room? 
     
    In Snow Angels only one thing is certain. Christmas will be anything but peaceful. 
     
    Praise for the Lovely Lane series: 
     
    'As heart-warming as it is heartbreaking' Sunday Express. 
     
    'I adore the Lovely Lane series ... Some parts will bring a tear to the eye. Others will have you laughing' Rachel Bustin. 
     
    'A heartbreaking, poignant and emotional read which will stay in your heart for a very, very long time' The Writing Garnet. 
     
    'Fabulous characters ... Gorgeous sentences and sensational plotlines' With Love for Books. 
     
    'Moving, lovely historical fiction ... Absolutely beautiful' On My Bookshelf. 
     
    'Simply amazing. It will warm your heart and make you see the real angels in the world. Captivating, phenomenal and touching' 23 Review Street.
    Show book
  • Delphi Complete Works of Anton Chekhov (Illustrated) - cover

    Delphi Complete Works of Anton...

    Anton Chekov

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Anton Chekhov is considered to be among literature’s greatest short story writers, whilst his plays helped change the course of modern drama. This comprehensive eBook presents the complete works of Anton Chekhov, with numerous illustrations, rare texts appearing in digital print for the first time, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 6)* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Chekhov’s life and works* Concise introductions to the plays and other texts* ALL 15 plays, each with individual contents tables* Rare plays like PLATONOV and THE WOOD DEMON appearing here for the first time digital publishing* Excellent formatting of the texts* The complete short stories – over 210 tales, first time available complete in English* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the short stories* Easily locate the short stories you want to read* Chekhov’s only novel THE SHOOTING PARTY, available in no other collection* Also features rare novellas* Includes Chekhov’s letters and notebooks – spend hours exploring the author’s personal correspondence and thoughts* Features a bonus biography – discover Chekhov’s literary life* Scholarly ordering of texts into chronological order and literary genres* UPDATED with revised texts, introductions and more imagesPlease note: there are no translations of THE ISLAND OF SAKHALIN available in the public domain. Once a translation becomes available, it will be added to the eBook as a free update.Please visit www.delphiclassics.com to browse through our range of exciting titlesCONTENTS:The PlaysPLATONOVON THE HIGH ROADON THE HARMFULNESS OF TOBACCOSWANSONGIVANOFFTHE BEARTHE PROPOSALA RELUCTANT HEROTHE WEDDINGTHE WOOD DEMONTHE ANNIVERSARYTHE SEA-GULLUNCLE VANYATHE THREE SISTERSTHE CHERRY ORCHARDThe NovelTHE SHOOTING PARTYThe Short StoriesCHRONOLOGICAL LIST OF SHORT STORIESALPHABETICAL LIST OF SHORT STORIESThe NovellasTHE STEPPETHE DUELAN ANONYMOUS STORYTHREE YEARSMY LIFEThe Non-FictionLETTERS OF ANTON CHEKHOV TO HIS FAMILY AND FRIENDSNOTE-BOOK OF ANTON CHEKHOVThe BiographyBIOGRAPHICAL SKETCH by Constance GarnettPlease visit www.delphiclassics.com to browse through our range of exciting titles
    Show book
  • Shadows of the Past - cover

    Shadows of the Past

    Ikechukwu Joseph

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the beauty salon woman's house the strange ring cried out at midnight. "I want to drink water. I want to drink water," repeatedly. The curious husband of the Saloon owner dropped the crying ring into a bucket of water and behold the act was displayed and played out the money game. The ring transformed into a kid's head. Drinking the water the kid's head vomitted bundles of money at each gulp. In the morning the man rushed to the bank and deposited the money...“The law should not just have found me only guilty but also human, not only to have condemned me but to have corrected me also, not only lowered me but would have given me a second chance. The police instead of being peace keepers or peace enforcement agents, they prefer to enforce the law. They prefer crime detection to crime prevention. Crime detectives wait for a crime to be committed instead of preventing it and in some strange cases will lure you or help you into breaking the law so that they can enforce it. The world I met! No one told me that there was no uhuru. No one told me that all that glitters were not gold. No one told me that all that are black are not bad...""I came across a membership document of a white lodge in his file. Some detailed information there said that two pythons are fighting over his life. The day one kills the other, he will die. Pastor could this be serious. I dont know what I have gotten into in this marriage?" the wife cried...Shadows of the Past (Shadows Series Book One) is a page turner and game changer. A novel of how the dark past comes to haunt people. Some were swallowed by the past while others overcame. This series is revealing and suspense full. Get your own copy today and recommend it to others.
    Show book
  • Friends of the Library - cover

    Friends of the Library

    Susan Cushman

    • 3
    • 21
    • 1
    “. . . a beautifully wrought hymn of praise to readers and book-lovers in the most sacred of places, the libraries where we find both.” —Cassandra King, author of the best-selling novels The Sunday Wife 
    WHEN ADELE COVINGTON becomes an author in her sixties, she goes on a book tour to speak to the Friends of the Library groups in ten small towns in her home state of Mississippi. Chasing her personal demons through the Christ-haunted South of her childhood, Adele befriends an eclectic group of wounded people and decides to tell their stories. From Eupora to Meridian, from a budding artist with an abusive husband to a seven-year-old with a rare form of cancer, each story contains elements of hope and healing and honors the heart, soul, and history of the Magnolia State.
    Show book
  • This Shall Be a House of Peace - cover

    This Shall Be a House of Peace

    Phil Halton

    • 3
    • 13
    • 1
    After the collapse of Afghanistan’s Soviet-backed government, a mullah finds himself doing anything to protect his students. 
     
    
    
    Chaos reigns in the wake of the collapse of Afghanistan's Soviet-backed government. In the rural, warlord-ruled south, a student is badly beaten at a checkpoint run by bandits. His teacher, who leads a madrassa for orphans left behind by Afghanistan’s civil war, leads his students back to the checkpoint and forces the bandits out. His actions set in motion a chain of events that will change the balance of power in his country and send shock waves through history.
    
    Amid villagers seeking protection and warlords seeking power, the Mullah's influence grows. Against the backdrop of anarchy dominated by armed factions, he devotes himself to building a house of peace with his students — or, as they are called in Pashto, taliban. Part intrigue, part war narrative, and part historical drama, This Shall Be a House of Peace charts their breathtaking ambition, transformation, and rise to power.
    Show book