Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
What Will These Hands Make? - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

What Will These Hands Make?

Nikki McClure

Publisher: ABRAMS Books for Young Readers

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“Themes of community, creativity, and craft are at the heart of this book about a family preparing for a grandmother’s birthday celebration.” —School Library Journal 
 
This lyrical picture book from beloved creator Nikki McClure follows a family through one day and muses in the possibilities that one day holds—from enjoying treats at the bakery, to admiring handmade goods from local artisan shops, to observing the new construction in town. Illuminating themes of community, creativity, and collaboration, What Will These Hands Make? dares the reader to dream up everything they can be and all the ways they can leave their little corner of the world better than they found it. 
 
“Capitalized headers boldly ask “WILL THESE HANDS MAKE,” with possibilities unfurling in lyrical, lucid verse beneath. Awe-inspiring double-page spreads show a busy town from multiple, miraculous perspectives . . . Extraordinary artwork inspires young people to use their hearts and hands.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) 
 
“This celebration of citizenry and craft is a poignant reminder of the objects and places that makers weave . . . The book’s appeal spans a wide range: younger readers will enjoy the seek-and-find aspect, and older readers may find inspiration in its vision of daily life and communal innovation.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review) 
 
“Careful viewers will be delighted to find scenes revisited in closer detail and from different vantage points . . . The clever bookmaking technique, which moves between the busy scene and its individual sections, produces the joy of a shared experience in which all hands combine.” —Booklist
Available since: 02/25/2020.
Print length: 40 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Anastasia's Rain - cover

    Anastasia's Rain

    Sheila Kilpatrick

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It’s Anastasia Pickering’s birthday and that means a dog is in the forecast!—as well as a lesson on patience and trust.  Anastasia’s Rain, a book of magical proportions, not only teaches children the value of a positive attitude and the virtue of patience, it also teaches the importance of listening to the guidance of one’s fairy/inner wisdom. Children ages four to nine will marvel at the magical raindrops that appear each time Anastasia finds herself in a pickle, and they’ll cheer her on as she resolves the problem by listening to the sage advice of Patience, her ponytail-riding fairy. This book, along with its beautiful artwork, is a teaching tool in values and life lessons that every parent will appreciate!
    Show book
  • Cowgirl - cover

    Cowgirl

    G. R. Gemin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Growing up on the embattled Mawr Estate in South Wales, all Gemma sees are burglaries, muggings, sadness and boredom. With a dad in prison and a mum who has given up hope, she, like everyone around her, is holding on to memories of the times when happiness wasn't so hard to find. When her search for the scene of a perfect childhood day takes her up into the surrounding hills, Gemma is forced into a meeting with the legendary Cowgirl. Everyone at school knows she's a weirdo: six foot tall and angry, the only conversations she has are with the twelve cows on her dad's farm. But with her abrupt arrival in Gemma's life, everything starts to look different. And with her only friends in mortal danger of the abattoir, it turns out she and Gemma have a mission on their hands.
    A gently funny story of a community coming together, this is a tale of happy endings in unexpected places.
    Shortlisted for the Waterstones Prize
    Winner of the Tir na n-Og Award
    Cover illustration by Tom Clohosy Cole.
    Also by G. R. Gemin: Sweet Pizza
    "The warmth and charm of 'Sweet Pizza' are quite extraordinary; though there are some very moving moments, it is mainly a joyous and eccentric comedy." - Kate Saunders, Guardian Children's Fiction Prize Judge
    Show book
  • Sky - cover

    Sky

    Holly Webb

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Staying with her grandparents in the Scottish Highlands, Lara is fascinated by the rare white snowy owl her grandad has spotted flying nearby. And when she follows the beautiful bird into the woods, it leads her on a magical adventure…
    Transported a century back in time, Lara befriends Amelia, who confides in Lara about her cruel cousin, who she's sure is trying to hurt the baby owls nesting in the woods. When Lara discovers the hatchlings belong to her owl, Sky, she's determined to help. But how can she protect them when she needs to return to her own time?
    An enchanting and magical time-slip adventure from best-selling author Holly Webb. For fans of Michael Morpurgo and THE SNOW FOAL, this is the perfect book to curl up with and enjoy this winter.
    Show book
  • The Keepers: The Box and the Dragonfly - cover

    The Keepers: The Box and the...

    Ted Sanders

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Experience the fantastic adventure filled with magical objects, secret sects, and life as we know it on the line! Mixing magic and physics, Ted Sanders has created an epic story that has the feel of classic fantasy but twists it into something new and innovative. From the moment Horace F. Andrews sees the sign from the bus—a sign with his own name on it—everything changes. The sighting leads him underground, to the House of Answers, a hidden warehouse full of mysterious objects. But there, he finds only questions. What is this curious place? Who are the strange, secretive people who entrust him with a rare and immensely powerful gift? And what is he to do with it?When Horace finds the Box of Promises in the curio shop, he quickly discovers that ordinary-looking objects can hold extraordinary power. From the enormous, sinister man shadowing him to the gradual mastery of his newfound abilities to his encounters with Chloe—a girl who has an astonishing talent of her own—Horace follows a path that puts the pair in the middle of a centuries-old conflict between two warring factions in which every decision they make could have disastrous consequences. 
    Show book
  • My Day - cover

    My Day

    Kim Mitzo Thompson, Karen Mitzo...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Baby's First Learning Book is the perfect way to introduce everyday objects. First words include: baby, bib, toy, duck, bottle, bath, socks, and of course, book!  Other books in the Baby's First Learning Book series include:  “Spash” goes the Hippo, Let's Play, and “Ruff” says the Dog!
    Show book
  • The Scream of the Haunted Mask - cover

    The Scream of the Haunted Mask

    R. L. Stine

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this spinoff to the New York Times–bestselling Goosebumps series, a tween controlled by a Halloween mask goes to a theme park to escape the terror. 
     
    What should Carly Beth be for Halloween this year? TERRIFIED! Late at night, an ugly green mask is mysteriously calling out to her, and ugly green masks don’t like to be ignored. If Carly Beth survives the night, even a scary theme park might sound like a vacation. Or maybe not! At HorrorLand, every night is Halloween. And those monster masks she discovers in the gift shop? They aren’t masks.
    Show book