Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Buddhism - The Complete Guide of Buddhism - cover

Buddhism - The Complete Guide of Buddhism

Mark Evan Nathan

Publisher: Mark Nathan

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This book is a must read for anyone looking to study up on Buddhism. It covers all aspects of Buddhism and defines what it is in such a way that everyone can understand it. Despite Buddhism being one of the oldest religions in the world, there are many people who still do not understand it. In fact, they misinterpret the teachings so much because they only know what they see in television and movies. These depictions of Buddhism are often wrong and send out the wrong message of what Buddhism actually teaches. In a nutshell, it teaches that suffering is bad, but it is also guaranteed in our physical world. It doesn't matter how rich or poor a person is because they will eventually endure suffering in their life. However, the state of mind you carry with you determines the amount of suffering you will endure. That is where the teachings of Buddha come into play. He will show you that refraining from cheating lying, sexual misconduct, killing and intoxication are the key ways to overcome suffering upon yourself and others.

Buddhism was created by a young prince named Siddhartha Gautama, who later became known as Buddha. He is the central figure of this book because he was the one who created the Buddhist religion in the first place. Even to this day, Buddha is celebrated all over eastern society with big statues in his honor. Despite how godly they make Buddha out to be, he was still just a man. In fact, he was a prince who left his throne and wealth in order to become a wandering preacher that spread his teachings on ending suffering and finding peace. How many rich people in the modern age do you think would leave their wealth behind to become a poor humanitarian? There probably aren't too many, unless they were of the Buddhist faith because Buddhists do not care about monetary gains. Now no one is saying that you have to give away all your money and become a poor Buddhist on the streets. You will learn by reading this book that there are all kinds of Buddhist followers, not just monks and nuns. You can become a lay follower that still lives a life filled with money, sex and material things. Just as long as you are not hurting anybody then you can enjoy all the sensual pleasure that you want. Buddha isn't going to send you to hell for it.

	What's covered in this book?
	What is Buddhism ?
	Buddhism has some key teachings, that are necessary to succeed in religious enlightenment.
	The Endless Cycle of Cause and impact
	The 5 Delusions (also referred to as The 5 Aggregates)
	Beginnings: The Buddha
	Different Buddhist Traditions: however we have a tendency to Act on Our apply
	Theravada, Mahayana and Vajrayana
	Chinese Buddhism
	Japanese Buddhism
	Western Buddhism
	The Noble Truths and the way we tend to Interpret Them
	Following the octuple Path
	The 3 Jewels – Wholesome Roots
	The 3 Poisons – nauseating Roots
	The Modern Buddhist
	Buddhist ideas and Practices

Other books that might interest you

  • Do Not Disturb the Dragons - cover

    Do Not Disturb the Dragons

    Michelle Robinson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Two intrepid girls go from ladies-in-waiting to knights-in-action when they rip up the rule book and go searching for adventure! 
     
    Wondermere is the luckiest kingdom in the land, all thanks to the dragons that nest on top of the castle. Nobody wants them to fly away, so everyone has to FOLLOW THE RULES and make sure everything STAYS THE SAME to keep the dragons HAPPY. 
     
    Princess Grace HATES the rules. They stop her doing everything she loves, like PLAYING TROLL-O and WEARING TROUSERS and training to be a BRAVE KNIGHT. Why do boys get all the FUN!  
     
    Determined to prove that the rules are a LOAD OF OLD SWAMP ROT, Grace and her sister Princess Portia secretly enter the year's BIGGEST TROLL-O TOURNAMENT. A couple of rule-breakers couldn't possibly disturb the dragons … could they?  
     
    Cheeky, charming and laugh-out-loud funny, the debut young fiction series from bestselling picture book author Michelle Robinson is chock-full of chuckles (and grumpy unicorns). Perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell, Pamela Butchart and Emer Stamp.
    Show book
  • The Case of the Feathered Mask - cover

    The Case of the Feathered Mask

    Holly Webb

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this exciting mystery set in Victorian London, a young girl and her dog must search for a stolen artifact with just a feather to guide them. 
     
    In this fourth mystery about twelve-year-old Maisie, the young detective must solve a crime for her friend Professor Tobin. The professor travelled all over the world collecting strange and wonderful objects, and the British Museum is opening a special room to house his collection. But before the professor’s donation, a thief steals a valuable Amazonian tribal mask! With just a single feather left behind, Maisie doesn’t have much to go on, but the stakes in her newest case are higher than ever. 
     
    Can’t get enough of Maisie's mysteries? Look for The Case of the Stolen Sixpence, The Case of the Vanishing Emerald, and The Case of the Phantom Cat!
    Show book
  • Sky Ship and other stories: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Sky Ship and other stories: A...

    Geraldine McCaughrean

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'McCaughrean is one of the greatest living children's authors.' (The Bookseller) 
     
    Brilliant historical fiction from double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean. 
     
    From ships that sail in a sea in the sky and children who witness the deadly effects of a scientific experiment, to a magic carpet that brings about a day of judgement and a year where eleven days are lost and never to be found, this short-story collection will have you on the edge of your seat! 
     
    This collection of gripping historical short stories from award-winning author Geraldine McCaughrean has beautiful black-and-white illustrations by Ian McCaughrean and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Dark Red 
    Ideal for ages 10+
    Show book
  • The Miracle of Hanukkah - cover

    The Miracle of Hanukkah

    Malachy Doyle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Miracle of Hanukkah is the perfect picture book to introduce children to the story and traditions of Hanukkah, with text by award-winning author Malachy Doyle and stunning, colourful illustrations from Christopher Corr, the talented team behind Rama and Sita: The Story of Diwali. 
     
    King Antiochus has destroyed the temple and city because the Jews won't worship him instead of God. With no oil left, how will Judah Maccabee and the Jewish people keep the temple's flame alight? Whether you're looking for a gift for Hanukkah or a simple introduction to the story to share with children, this beautiful picture book is ideal.
    Show book
  • Little Leonardo’s Fascinating World of Paleontology - cover

    Little Leonardo’s Fascinating...

    Jeff Bond

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Learn fun facts about dinosaurs and the scientists who study them, called paleontologists, with simple hands-on activities for young readers. The activities, designed to engage both the readers’ hands and minds, include fossilizing a sponge, making origami dinosaur tracks, preserving toy bugs in gummy amber, and more.
    Show book
  • The Thing in the Basement: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    The Thing in the Basement: A...

    Michael Morgan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A spooky school-set mystery from Michaela Morgan. Perfect for fans of Anne Fine and Pamela Butchart. 
     
    There's a thing in the basement of Scott's new school and it's a thing only Mr Crawley can control. There's a thing in the basement of Scott's new school and it flashes and ROARS! There's a thing in the basement of Scott's new school and surely it can't be a dragon... or can it? 
     
    This mysterious adventure from Michaela Morgan has quirky black-and-white illustrations by Doffy Weir and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. 
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book