Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Stitchers - cover

The Stitchers

Lorien Lawrence

Publisher: Amulet Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A teenager picks up where her late father left off investigating her peculiar elderly neighbors in this spooky series opener. 
 
Something strange is happening on Goodie Lane . . . 
 
  
 
Thirteen-year-old Quinn Parker knows that there’s something off about her neighbors. She calls them “the Oldies” because they’ve lived on Goodie Lane for as long as anyone can remember, but they never seem to age. Are they vampires? Or aliens? Or getting secret experimental surgeries? Or is Quinn’s imagination just running wild again? 
 
If her dad were still around, he’d believe her. When he was alive, they’d come up with all sorts of theories about the Oldies. Now, Quinn’s determined to keep the investigation going with the help of Mike, her neighbor and maybe-crush. They’ll have to search for clues and follow the mystery wherever it leads—even if it’s to the eerie pond at the end of the street that’s said to have its own sinister secrets. But the Oldies are on to them. And the closer Quinn and Mike get to uncovering the answers, the more they realize just how terrifying the truth may be. 
 
“What a cool—and wild—ride . . . This is the perfect book for kids to cool off with on a hot day, because the chills come guaranteed,” —Stephen King 
 
“A truly creepy read, perfect for fans of “Goosebumps” and Stranger Things.” ?School Library Journal 
 
“Reminiscent of R. L. Stine’s Fear Street series, this first book in the Fright Watch series is spooky and mysterious, and it can be counted on to deliver chills to those braving its pages.” ?Booklist 
 
“The antagonists are satisfyingly menacing, and Quinn’s struggles—grieving her father’s death, juggling friendships—ground this series opener, giving it a healthy dose of heart.” ?Publishers Weekly
Available since: 08/18/2020.
Print length: 272 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Ping - cover

    Ping

    Ani Castillo

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    With the visual ingenuity of Press Here and the emotional resonance of What Do You Do with a Problem?, this wise and timely audiobook about the fragile art of personal connection will strike a chord with children and adults alike.In the era of social media, communication feels both more anxiety-producing, and more inescapable, than ever before. This clever, comforting audiobook debut explores the challenges and joys of self-expression and social connection.Using an imaginative visual metaphor to bring to life how we send out (ping!) and receive (pong!) communications, Ani Castillo's words and pictures will empower and inspire anyone who has experienced the fear of sharing themselves with the world.With an eloquent message, and a lot of heart, here is a new classic to bring courage and comfort to humans of all ages.
    Show book
  • Worms - cover

    Worms

    Barbara Brenner

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Highlights presents Worms by Barbara Brenner: Worms are artistically described.
    Show book
  • The Dragon's Secret - cover

    The Dragon's Secret

    Augusta Huiell Seaman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Sixteen year old Leslie Crane has come to the New Jersey shore as a companion to ailing Aunt Marcia, whose doctor has sent her there for a some quiet rest and recuperation.  While the beach is lovely in October, Leslie quickly finds herself getting lonely with no one her own age to talk to. Little does she realize that she will not only soon make a new friend, but that they will both end up in the midst of a puzzling mystery centered around the closed up bungalow next door. Augusta Huiell Seaman is the author of over 40 historical fiction and mystery novels for older children most of which are currently out of print.  The Dragon's Secret was originally published in 1921. (summary by J. M. Smallheer)
    Show book
  • Bridges - cover

    Bridges

    Rebecca Pettiford

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In Bridges, early fluent readers will explore different kinds of bridge structures while learning about the science behind the engineering. Vibrant, full-color photos and carefully leveled text will engage young readers as they explore the built world around them. An infographic illustrates parts of a bridge, and an activity offers kids an opportunity to extend discovery. Children can learn more about bridges using our safe search engine that provides relevant, age-appropriate websites. Bridges also features reading tips for teachers and parents, a table of contents, a glossary, and an index.  Bridges is part of Jump!'s Amazing Structures series.
    Show book
  • Jumping Spiders - cover

    Jumping Spiders

    Bryan Reynolds

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    These spiders don't wait in a web to trap food; they hunt for prey and pounce on it--sometimes leaping twenty times their own body length.
    Show book
  • Folklore All Around Us - cover

    Folklore All Around Us

    Robin Hansen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Some of our most popular games rhymes and crafts have been handed down through hundred of years.
    Show book