Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Stitchers - cover

The Stitchers

Lorien Lawrence

Publisher: Amulet Books

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

A teenager picks up where her late father left off investigating her peculiar elderly neighbors in this spooky series opener. 
 
Something strange is happening on Goodie Lane . . . 
 
  
 
Thirteen-year-old Quinn Parker knows that there’s something off about her neighbors. She calls them “the Oldies” because they’ve lived on Goodie Lane for as long as anyone can remember, but they never seem to age. Are they vampires? Or aliens? Or getting secret experimental surgeries? Or is Quinn’s imagination just running wild again? 
 
If her dad were still around, he’d believe her. When he was alive, they’d come up with all sorts of theories about the Oldies. Now, Quinn’s determined to keep the investigation going with the help of Mike, her neighbor and maybe-crush. They’ll have to search for clues and follow the mystery wherever it leads—even if it’s to the eerie pond at the end of the street that’s said to have its own sinister secrets. But the Oldies are on to them. And the closer Quinn and Mike get to uncovering the answers, the more they realize just how terrifying the truth may be. 
 
“What a cool—and wild—ride . . . This is the perfect book for kids to cool off with on a hot day, because the chills come guaranteed,” —Stephen King 
 
“A truly creepy read, perfect for fans of “Goosebumps” and Stranger Things.” ?School Library Journal 
 
“Reminiscent of R. L. Stine’s Fear Street series, this first book in the Fright Watch series is spooky and mysterious, and it can be counted on to deliver chills to those braving its pages.” ?Booklist 
 
“The antagonists are satisfyingly menacing, and Quinn’s struggles—grieving her father’s death, juggling friendships—ground this series opener, giving it a healthy dose of heart.” ?Publishers Weekly
Available since: 08/18/2020.
Print length: 272 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Which One is Nettie? - introduce cyber security to your children - cover

    Which One is Nettie? - introduce...

    Wendy Goucher

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In her second adventure in Cyberland with her friend Webby, Nettie is shocked to discover Charlie the dog pretending to be her after she had left her tablet device unlocked. 
    Young children may not be able to read words or design passwords, but they can begin to understand the importance of keeping things safe.  Parents and carers will also be opening a discussion about privacy which is important to small children outside of their use of computers and devices. Using the story of Nettie and Webby, adults can continue their introduction to cybersecurity that they began in the first books.  For young children it is not only about getting them to behave securely online, it is also about establishing a way children and adults can talk about cyber security as they grow.  In this book the start the conversation is around the importance of locking screens on devices, but where it goes from there is up to you. Academic research has shown the importance of planting the seeds of understanding of password safety with children as soon as possible so they develop good safe cyber habits. 
    Further discussion at the end of the book points towards a basic understanding about designing secure password security and the importance of keeping passwords private. 
    'Perfect for starting conversations around online safety' Heather Toomey, Cyber Lead, Derbyshire's Education Data Hub 
    'Very child friendly and engaging' Teju Herath, Associate Processor in Information Systems, Brock University
    Show book
  • The Ultimate Bible Songs Collection - cover

    The Ultimate Bible Songs Collection

    Karen Mitzo Hilderbrand, Kim...

    • 2
    • 9
    • 0
    A beautifully illustrated storybook features classic stories from the Old and New Testaments that teach children the simple truths of the Bible.
    Show book
  • Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Legend Classics) - cover

    Alice's Adventures in Wonderland...

    Lewis Carroll

    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
    Alice was beginning to get very tired of sitting by her sister on the bank, and of having nothing to do: once or twice she had peeped into the book her sister was reading, but it had no pictures or conversations in it, “and what is the use of a book,” thought Alice, “without pictures or conversations?” 
    Alice's adventures in Wonderland tells the all-time classic story of a girl named Alice falling through a rabbit hole into an unforgettable fantasy world  During her adventures, Alice encounters the laconic Cheshire Cat, the anxious White Rabbit and the terrifying Red Queen, as well as a host of other outlandish and charming characters. 
    From early avid readers such as Queen Victoria and the young Oscar Wilde, through to readers worldwide today, this famously imaginative novel has never been out of print, selling millions of copies, and transtlated at least 174 different languages. 
    A beloved classic, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland has continued to delight readers, young and old, for over 150 years. 
    The Legend Classics series:Around the World in Eighty DaysThe Adventures of Huckleberry FinnThe Importance of Being EarnestAlice's Adventures in WonderlandThe MetamorphosisThe Railway ChildrenThe Hound of the BaskervillesFrankensteinWuthering HeightsThree Men in a BoatThe Time MachineLittle WomenAnne of Green GablesThe Jungle BookThe Yellow Wallpaper and Other StoriesDraculaA Study in ScarletLeaves of GrassThe Secret GardenThe War of the WorldsA Christmas CarolStrange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr HydeHeart of DarknessThe Scarlet LetterThis Side of ParadiseOliver TwistThe Picture of Dorian GrayTreasure IslandThe Turn of the ScrewThe Adventures of Tom SawyerEmmaThe TrialA Selection of Short Stories by Edgar Allan PoeGrimm Fairy TalesThe AwakeningMrs DallowayGulliver’s TravelsThe Castle of OtrantoSilas MarnerHard Times
    Show book
  • Hot Pink - The Life and Fashions of Elsa Schiaparelli - cover

    Hot Pink - The Life and Fashions...

    Susan Goldman Rubin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Shocking pink—hot pink, as it is called today—was the signature color of Elsa Schiaparelli (1890–1973) and perhaps her greatest contribution to the fashion world. Schiaparelli was one of the most innovative designers in the early 20th century. Many design elements that are taken for granted today she created and brought to the forefront of fashion. She is credited with many firsts: trompe l’oeil sweaters with collars and bows knitted in; wedge heels; shoulder bags; and even the concept of a runway show for presenting collections. Hot Pink—printed with a fifth color, hot pink!—explores Schiaparelli’s childhood in Rome, her introduction to high fashion in Paris, and her swift rise to success collaborating with surrealist and cubist artists like Salvador Dalí and Jean Cocteau. The book includes an author’s note, a list of museums and websites where you can find Schiaparelli’s fashions, endnotes, a bibliography, and an index.
    Show book
  • Snoopy's Book of Words - cover

    Snoopy's Book of Words

    Charles M. Schulz

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Teach your little ones about words and start building their vocabulary with the help of Snoopy and his pals.Snoopy's Book of Words is the perfect introduction for little ones to learn basic vocabulary words along with Snoopy and his Peanuts friends.
    Show book
  • Gingerbread Man Superhero! - cover

    Gingerbread Man Superhero!

    Dotti Enderle

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An intrepid Gingerbread Man is out to save the day in this deliciously illustrated confection of a children’s book! When an evil macaroon takes a bunch of frightened brownies hostage, only the Gingerbread Man can save them from their sticky situation! With raisin eyes, a licorice mouth, and a kitchen towel for a cape, the superhero swiftly flies to the rescue.  Swarming sesame seeds and stampeding animal crackers are just a few of the dangers the tasty treat must face to defeat the wicked macaroon. Ladyfingers and sugar cookies watch in suspense as the two sweets struggle for victory—but the Gingerbread Man never crumbles under pressures.  This charming take on the classic Gingerbread Man story is sure to satisfy the sweet tooth of readers everywhere.
    Show book