Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Danube Street - cover

Danube Street

Linda Tweedie, Kate McGregor

Publisher: Fledgling Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

From the authors of the bestselling Coyle Trilogy comes a fantastic new title.
 
Danube Street tells the tale of notorious Madame, Stella Gold, and her mission to turn the infamous number 17 Danube St into Edinburgh’s most exclusive brothel.
 
The house, situated in one of Edinburgh’s most exclusive streets, was known the length and breadth of the country; a magnet for red-blooded males, single or otherwise. Danube Street was always the first port of call when Merchant or Naval ships docked in Leith, and was the attraction, never to be missed by visiting clergymen of every denomination. 
 
Stella Gold began life far from the bright lights of the city. Born Agnes McLeod, she was reared in the wilds of Ayrshire. The only daughter of a tenant farmer, she endured a harsh, rugged upbringing. Now, although the darling of Edinburgh’s glitterati, she finds herself the victim of a vendetta by the city’s most dangerous and violent criminal brothers,and a corrupt Chief of Police.
 
Survival was a constant challenge which Stella thought she had under control. How wrong could she be?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Scarlet Letter - cover

    The Scarlet Letter

    Nathaniel Hawthorne

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Scarlet Letter is an 1850 novel by writer Nathaniel Hawthorne. The work, Hawthorne’s first full-length novel, is a classic of the American Romantic era. In June 1642, in the Puritan town of Boston, a crowd gathers to witness an official punishment. A young woman, Hester Prynne, has been found guilty of adultery and must wear a scarlet A on her dress as a sign of shame. Furthermore, she must stand on the scaffold for three hours, exposed to public humiliation.
    Show book
  • Dead and Gone - cover

    Dead and Gone

    Sherryl Clark

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    There's nothing more dangerous than revenge.
     
    Judi Westerholme has been through it. Brave and strong-willed, she's just about coping in her new role as foster parent to her orphaned niece, taking a job at the local pub to help make ends meet. Then the pub's landlord and Judi's friend, army veteran Pete 'Macca' Maccasfield, is murdered, and her world is suddenly turned upside down.
     
    Despite warnings from the city police to keep out of it, Judi can't help but get involved in the search for Macca's killer. But she soon becomes deeply entangled with some ruthlessly dangerous men. She must act fast and think smart to work out what they want - before anyone else gets hurt...
     
    Long buried secrets resurface in Sherryl Clark's pacey crime novel that pushes Judi Westerholme to her limits to protect the people she loves most.
     
    ----------------------------
     
    Praise for Sherryl Clark
     
    'Sherryl Clark is a worthy addition to the crime writing fraternity, and Trust Me, I’m Dead is a book you should definitely add to your reading list' - Shots Mag
     
    'A whodunnit worthy of a binge alert' - The Westsider
    Show book
  • The Coin of Souls - Dragon Riders of Osnen Book 4 - cover

    The Coin of Souls - Dragon...

    Richard Fierce

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Sometimes death is only the beginning.
     
    The Island of Lost Souls gives Eldwin hope that he’ll see his father again, but the island holds many secrets—and hidden dangers.
     
    As he draws closer to the end of his quest, the island will push him to his limit … and cost him everything.
     
    Fans of Sarah K.L. Wilson’s Dragon School, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon and Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern will feel right at home.
     
    The Coin of Souls is the fourth episode of the series Dragon Riders of Osnen.
     
    Dragon Riders of Osnen series:
     
    Book 1: Trial by Sorcery
     
    Book 2: A Bond of Flame
     
    Book 3: The Warrior's Call
     
    Book 4: The Coin of Souls
     
    Book 5: Wings of Terror - May 2020
    Show book
  • An Impartial Witness - A Bess Crawford Mystery - cover

    An Impartial Witness - A Bess...

    Charles Todd

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Todd’s novels are known for compelling plotting with a thoughtful whodunit aspect, rich characterization, evocative prose, and haunting atmosphere.”—Richmond Times-Dispatch 
    “Readers who can’t get enough of [Jacqueline Winspear’s] Maisie Dobbs…are bound to be caught up in the adventures of Bess Crawford.”—New York Times Book Review 
    To great critical acclaim, author Charles Todd introduced protagonist Bess Crawford in A Duty to the Dead. The dedicated World War I nurse returns in An Impartial Witness, and finds herself in grave peril when a moral obligation makes her the inadvertent target of a killer. As hauntingly evocative as Todd’s award-winning, New York Times bestselling Ian Rutledge novels, An Impartial Witness transports readers to a dark time of war and involves us in murder, intrigue, and the fascinating affairs of a truly unforgettable cast of characters.
    Show book
  • Trial by Sorcery - Dragon Riders of Osnen Book 1 - cover

    Trial by Sorcery - Dragon Riders...

    Richard Fierce

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Dragons can be dangerous …
     
    … if you don’t bond with them first.
     
    Eldwin wants to follow in his father’s footsteps and become a Dragon Guard, but not for the glory. With his family dead and their lands dying, the opportunity to join the dragon rider school is all he has. But before Eldwin can bond with a dragon and guard the skies, he must pass three tests to prove his worth.
     
    Compassion, magical aptitude, and armed combat.
     
    He’s determined to pass, but his maimed arm is a constant reminder of his disadvantage. Will the obstacles Eldwin faces keep him from reaching his dreams, or will he finally see what it’s like to ride the skies?
     
    Fans of Sarah K.L. Wilson’s Dragon School, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon and Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern will feel right at home.
     
    Trial by Sorcery is the first episode of the series Dragon Riders of Osnen.
     
    Dragon Riders of Osnen series:
     
    Book 1: Trial by Sorcery
     
    Book 2: A Bond of Flame
     
    Book 3: The Warrior's Call
     
    Book 4: The Coin of Souls
     
    Book 5: Wings of Terror - May 2020
    Show book
  • Drawing Conclusions - cover

    Drawing Conclusions

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A brilliant writer . . . an immensely likable police detective who takes every murder to heart.” —Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review   Late one night, Guido Brunetti is called away from dinner to investigate the death of a widow in her modest apartment. Though there are some signs of a struggle, the medical examiner rules that she died of a heart attack. It seems there is nothing for Brunetti to investigate.   But he can’t shake the feeling that something or someone may have triggered her heart attack, that perhaps the woman was threatened. Conversations with the woman’s son, her upstairs neighbor, and the nun in charge of the old age home where she volunteered do little to satisfy Brunetti’s nagging curiosity. And with the help of Inspector Vianello and the ever-resourceful Signorina Elettra, he intends to get to the truth.   “One of her best . . . She has become a must-read for all those who favor character-driven crime stories.” —Booklist, starred review   “[A] wickedly entertaining series.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book