Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Perfect Little World - A Novel - cover

Perfect Little World - A Novel

Kevin Wilson

Publisher: Ecco

  • 0
  • 6
  • 0


“Wilson’s ambition alone is exciting. . . . [His] writing has a Houdini-like perfection, wherein no matter how grim the variables, each lovely sentence manages to escape with all its parts intact.” —Boston Globe 
When Isabelle Poole meets Dr. Preston Grind, she’s fresh out of high school, pregnant with her art teacher's baby, and totally on her own. Izzy knows she can be a good mother but without any money or relatives to help, she’s left searching. 
Dr. Grind, an awkwardly charming child psychologist, has spent his life studying family, even after tragedy struck his own.  Now, with the help of an eccentric billionaire, he has the chance to create a “perfect little world”—to study what would happen when ten children are raised collectively, without knowing who their biological parents are.  He calls it The Infinite Family Project and he wants Izzy and her son to join. 
This attempt at a utopian ideal starts off promising, but soon the gentle equilibrium among the families disintegrates: unspoken resentments between the couples begin to fester; the project's funding becomes tenuous; and Izzy’s growing feelings for Dr. Grind make her question her participation in this strange experiment in the first place. 
Written with the same compassion and charm that won over legions of readers with The Family Fang, Kevin Wilson shows us with grace and humor that the best families are the ones we make for ourselves.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Illumination - Book 4 in The Awakening Series - cover

    The Illumination - Book 4 in The...

    Lisa M. Lilly

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In this final installment of the bestselling Awakening Series, Tara comes face-to-face with the forces that caused her supernatural pregnancy. She also learns the truth about her child's origin--and her own. On awakening from a thirteen-month coma, Tara discovers the well-adjusted infant she remembers is gone, replaced by a toddler who shies away from her mother and who has yet to speak her first word. Threats and violence plague Tara wherever she goes. Struggling for answers, she seeks out the man she believes was responsible for the kidnapping of her beloved daughter. Tragedy follows, and Tara despairs of ever freeing herself and her child from danger. She longs for a guide, but when she finds one, the message she hears nearly destroys her. How much will she sacrifice to save the world? The Illumination is the fourth and final installment of the bestselling four-book Awakening supernatural thriller series. The series includes The Awakening (Book 1), The Unbelievers (Book 2), The Conflagration (Book 3), and The Illumination (Book 4).
    Show book
  • The Crime Cafe Nine Book Set - cover

    The Crime Cafe Nine Book Set

    Frank Zafiro, M. Ruth Myers,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Featuring Nine Stories by Crime Writers Featured on the Crime Cafe podcast! 
    Bonus interviews with the authors included! 
    This boxed set includes the following crime fiction books by guest authors on the Crime Cafe podcast: 
    RUSSIAN ROULETTE by Austin Camacho 
    AN ALL-CONSUMING FIRE by Donna Fletcher Crow 
    SAVAGE NIGHTS by W.D. Gagliani 
    A MEMORY OF GRIEF by Dale T. Phillips 
    NO GAME FOR A DAME by M. Ruth Myers 
    GLASS EYE by Benjamin Sobieck 
    GYPSY'S KISS by Jim Winter 
    23 SHADES OF BLACK by Kenneth Wishnia 
    WAIST DEEP by Frank Zafiro
    Show book
  • The Mismade Girl - cover

    The Mismade Girl

    Mark Lock

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When Alice Seagrove is found dead, a name carved into her body, old memories are stirred up for DI Hal Luchewski. The name is that of a murdered sex offender – and the man who killed him, convicted in Hal’s first ever murder case, has just been released from prison.
    As he digs deeper, Hal discovers multiple links between Dr Seagrove, the recently released killer Nino Gaudiano, and Nino’s long-missing daughter Louisa. Hal must tread a fine line as he digs into the secrets of several people involved in both cases – and time is running out. 
    Meanwhile, Hal’s convoluted personal life is strained, as his relationship with boyfriend Stevie is on the rocks and he has to deal with revelations about his world-famous father…
    Show book
  • Ariel - cover


    Steven R. Boyett

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    “Part post-apocalypse, part road-trip, part sword-and-sorcery . . . One of my favorite adventure novels of all time.” —Cory Doctorow At four-thirty one Saturday afternoon the laws of physics as we know them underwent a change. Electronic devices, cars, industries stopped. The lights went out. Any technology more complicated than a lever or pulley simply wouldn't work. A new set of rules took its place—laws that could only be called magic. Ninety-nine percent of humanity has simply vanished. Cities lie abandoned. Supernatural creatures wander the silenced achievements of a halted civilization. Pete Garey has survived the Change and its ensuing chaos. He wanders the southeastern United States, scavenging, lying low. Learning. One day he makes an unexpected friend: a smartassed unicorn with serious attitude. Pete names her Ariel and teaches her how to talk, how to read, and how to survive in a world in which a unicorn horn has become a highly prized commodity. When they learn that there is a price quite literally on Ariel's head, the two unlikely companions set out from Atlanta to Manhattan to confront the sorcerer who wants her horn. And so begins a haunting, epic, and surprisingly funny journey through the remnants of a halted civilization in a desolated world. 
    Show book
  • Jalna: Books 5-8 - Whiteoak Heritage Whiteoak Brothers Jalna Whiteoaks of Jalna - cover

    Jalna: Books 5-8 - Whiteoak...

    Mazo de la Roche

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Perhaps the most classic novels of Mazo de la Roche's monumental family saga are these four, which were the first books written in the series, though they fall in the middle of her books' multi-generation narrative. These, including the original novel Jalna, were the books that first established the world of Jalna in the minds of readers and de la Roche herself, and set the stage for the twelve sequels and prequels that were to follow.
    Whiteoak Heritage
    Whiteoak Brothers
    Whiteoaks of Jalna
    Show book
  • A Mail Order Daddy - cover

    A Mail Order Daddy

    Cia Leah

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Sweet western novelette. 
    Kathleen Bowman needed a pa for Tyler. A pa to teach him things all little boys needed to know to grow up and become a fine man. Ever since Marshall Matt Cramer brought Tyler to her to raise when he found the baby on the trail with his ma dead, she did the best she could taking care of him. She loved him like her own and he thought of her as his ma. Unmarried and with no choices left to find a husband in town, she arranged for a mail order daddy for Tyler. She didn't think about love or anything else and picked Tanner Holt to become her husband in name only and a pa to Tyler. 
    Tanner lost his wife and swore he would never marry for love again and when he saw the advertisement for a mail order daddy, he thought it the perfect solution to have the son he always wanted. Love wouldn't enter into the bargain, but when Kathleen was attacked by Jake Anders, he thought his heart would break when she lost her eyesight. 
    Together they had to learn to trust and love, and that God had plans of his own to make them a family.
    Show book