Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Stake - cover

Stake

Kevin J. Anderson

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Vampire hunter or serial killer? That depends on whether vampires exist . . .  Simon Helsing believes the only way to stop a bad guy with fangs is a good guy with a stake. He has devoted his life to ridding the world of vampires. He hunts them, finds their daytime lairs, and pounds a stake through their hearts.    Lexi Tarada wants to believe. She's desperate to prove that the strange and impossible can be real. She runs a website for the unexplained and tries to sift through the crazy conspiracy theories to find out what is - or might be - real.    Detective Todd Carrow is a skeptic. Haunted by visions of brutal killings from a previous case, he sees the latest gruesome murders as nothing more than the actions of a madman targeting innocents.     Helsing is convinced he's doing good, but what if vampires aren't real and Carrow is right?
Available since: 06/01/2020.
Print length: 256 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Brotherhood of the Snake - cover

    Brotherhood of the Snake

    Philip Gardiner

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Based on years of research into the real and ancient serpent cult that once dominated the globe, this exciting adventure is a journey into sacred mysteries and secret organisations discovered by Gardiner in real life.
    
    Dan Brown may have used other people's factual work to create the Da Vinci Code, but here Gardiner uses his own real-life experiences and knowledge to forge a unique and engrossing work of fiction.
    
    This book reveals the real arcane secrets about mankind in an enjoyable and action-packed adventure. Uniting fact and fiction, Gardiner takes us through the world of the adept and mystic into the real world.
    
    Hundreds of years ago any author revealing these truths would have been burned at the stake - can you decide what is fact and what is fiction?
    Show book
  • The Red Carnelian - cover

    The Red Carnelian

    Phyllis A. Whitney

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A Chicago department store is the scene of gruesome crime in this mystery by a New York Times–bestselling Edgar Award winner.   Linell Wynn, copywriter for Chicago department store Cunningham’s, knows how to put a clever spin on everything. But she’s at a loss for words when, after closing time, she finds a corpse in a window display. There he is, as cold and lifeless as a mannequin, his skull pulverized with a golf club: valued store manager Michael “Monty” Montgomery. And while red might be the color for the new spring season, Linell never expected to see quite so much of it . . .   Linell had a history with the too-charming-to-be-believed victim—and being intimately acquainted with his cruel side has made her a suspect in his murder. But as everyone at Cunningham’s knows, finding someone who didn’t want Monty dead would be tough. When a second murder throws the store detective off track, Linell is plunged into the investigation. Now, she’s working after hours to find a killer, and she has more to lose than her job.   The recipient of an Agatha Award for Lifetime Achievement, “Phyllis Whitney is, and always will be, the Grand Master of her craft” (Barbara Michaels).  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Phyllis A. Whitney including rare images from the author’s estate.  
    Show book
  • Black Flame - cover

    Black Flame

    Gretchen Felker-Martin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Manhunt author Gretchen Felker-Martin is back with Black Flame, a historical horror about one woman's deadly obsession with a haunted film, perfect for fans of Midsommar and Night Film.Ellen, a deeply closeted lesbian spends all her time in solitude, restoring films at a failing archive in New York City.When a group of German academics present her with a print of an infamous exploitation film believed to have been destroyed during the Holocaust, Ellen finds herself forced to confront her own repressed sexuality. And the more she works on the restoration, the more obsessed she becomes over its depictions of occult practices and queer debauchery.She’s soon convinced that the acts portrayed in the film are not fiction, but reality. And they’re happening to her…Also by Gretchen Felker-Martin:ManhuntCuckoo
    Show book
  • A Northanger Abbey Double Feature - The Castle of Wolfenbach by Eliza Parsons & The Necromancer by Lawrence Flammenberg - cover

    A Northanger Abbey Double...

    Eliza Parsons

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A woman visits a haunted castle, and two friends share tales of the supernatural in these two gothic novels featured in Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey. In Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey, the main character, Catherine, receives a reading list of gothic novels. Once thought to be fabricated by Austen, these novels were rediscovered in the 1920s and are now referred to as the “Northanger Horrid Novels.” Two of the Northanger Horrid Novels, The Castle of Wolfenbach and The Necromancer, are presented here as A Northanger Double Feature.  With hidden identities, damsels in distress, creepy castles, and villainous Counts, The Castle of Wolfenbach (1793) is a showcase for the gothic genre. The story follows the beautiful Matilda as she escapes unwanted advances, braves the haunted castle, and attempts to find safety, and maybe even love, all while being pursued by her murderous uncle. The Castle of Wolfenbach is Eliza Parsons’s most famous novel and an important foundational work in the gothic genre. The Necromancer (1794) is by far the strangest of the Northanger Horrid Novels. The story begins with two friends, Herman and Hellfried, passing a stormy night by exchanging supernatural stories. The weirdness continues to unfold through a series of letters. The work is an example of the gothic genre’s use of framing narratives surrounding first person accounts from multiple characters. The Necromancer takes this trope to staggering heights by nesting multiple narratives inside each other. The resulting stories are a bizarre collection of violence and supernatural shenanigans centered around the mysterious Valkert, who is rumored to have returned from the dead.  Both of these stories are amazing examples of early gothic works and can be enjoyed as such for fans of the genre or read as a companion to Austen’s Northanger Abbey.
    Show book
  • Dead America: El Paso Pt 6 - The Third Week - Book 3 - cover

    Dead America: El Paso Pt 6 - The...

    Derek Slaton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The day has come to put an end to Tiago Rivas and his reign of terror. Hammond and his team must risk everything in order to give their shooter a single shot at the vicious Cartel leader. 
    Dead America: The Third Week introduces new survivors and locations in addition to revisiting some familiar ones as people all across the country fight for their survival against the growing armies of the undead.
    Show book
  • When Autumn Leaves - A Novel - cover

    When Autumn Leaves - A Novel

    Amy S. Foster

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When a small-town witch gets a promotion, she must find someone who can magically take her place in this novel of friendship and self-discovery. 
     
    In Avening, a tiny town on the Pacific coast, it’s hard not to believe in magic. This is a town where the shoes in the window always fit, where you can buy a love potion at the corner shop, and where the woods at the outskirts of town just might be the door to another world. And, of course, there’s Autumn, Avening’s beloved resident witch.  
     
    From what’s known of its mythical founding, Avening has always been a haven for people who are a little bit different, a place where they can come to discover what makes them so special. When Autumn receives news that she’s been promoted to a higher coven, she also learns she has to replace herself. But who in Avening is in tune enough with her own personal magic to take over the huge responsibility of town witch?  
     
    Autumn has a list of thirteen women and men who just might have what it takes—but she’ll have to get them to open their eyes to the magic in their lives . . .
    Show book