Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
With Friends Like These - cover

With Friends Like These

Keri Beevis

Publisher: Bloodhound Books

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Readers are loving With Friends Like These: “Kept me reading well into the night,” five stars “A book you will want to read in one breath,” five stars “Gripping thriller that will have you racing through,” five starsA reunion of friends in remote Scotland turns into a terrifying ordeal in this twisting crime thriller by the author of The People Next Door.   On his way to Scotland for a reunion with his university friends, Billy Maguire runs over a pedestrian. But this is only the start of his problems . . .   Realising the man is alive, Billy puts him in the back seat of his car, planning to leave him outside the nearest hospital. But when the man dies, Billy panics and drives to the reunion with the body in the car, where he begs his friends for help.   Tension swirls within the group at first, but when the dead man’s ID reveals him to be a notorious criminal Dougie McCool, they decide to get rid of the body. The only problem is that some dangerous men are looking for McCool—including his brother, who is willing to brutally exploit the circle of friends to get what he wants. But will he succeed or can they get away with it? “A rip roaring excitement filled read.” —Book Mark   “Darkly funny and utterly terrifying. The best book I’ve read in a very long time.” —NJ Moss   “Dark humour, tension and a well-crafted twisty plot. A masterclass in writing.” —Patricia Dixon   “Darkly comic with Guy Ritchie vibes. I thoroughly enjoyed it.” —Caron McKinlay   “A book you will want to read in one breath. Enthralling and totally consuming.” —Dan’s Books
Available since: 04/20/2022.
Print length: 296 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Submerged - cover

    Submerged

    Thomas F. Monteleone

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    “An epic thriller about a secret Nazi submarine and its mission . . . a tasty combination of Ken Follett and Clive Cussler” from the award-winning author (The Novel Pursuit).   Cruising from the sub pens of Trondheim under the cover of darkness—undetected by the sonar scans of Allied enemies—Kapitaenleutnant Erich Heinz Bruckner leads the experimental submarine U-5001 in a last-ditch effort for Nazi victory. But their sinister 1945 voyage ends mysteriously: Bruckner and his crew vanish, along with their classified weapon of mass destruction.   Seventy years later, ex-Navy diver Dexter Bucklin stumbles upon an unknown vessel in the depths of the Chesapeake Bay and is consumed with the need to discover its original, terrifying mission—inadvertently alerting a worldwide cabal that knows all about the U-5001 . . . and the keys it holds to even greater secrets.   A thriller in the tradition of Ken Follett and Robert Ludlum, Submerged follows both Bruckner and Bucklin in a narrative that spans generations of adventure and horror—Lovecraftian tales at their most strange. As these men’s lives converge, a third element surfaces, influencing the Kapitaenleutnant and the ex-Navy diver to make increasingly desperate decisions, ones that will shape the future of civilization.   Thomas F. Monteleone expertly blends history, fact, and fiction with a subtle dose of the supernatural in this Lovecraftian page-turner.  Praise for Thomas F. Monteleone   “Monteleone has a dark imagination, a wicked pen, and the rare ability to convey an evil chill with words.” —Dean Koontz, New York Times–bestselling author   “Tom’s an expert storyteller.” —F. Paul Wilson, author of The Keep and Deep as the Marrow   “A vastly entertaining novel of horror and suspense [that poses] difficult questions about the nature of man, God and the devil.” —Los Angeles Daily News
    Show book
  • A Slice of Murder - cover

    A Slice of Murder

    Marissa De Luna

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A groom-to-be is cut down at his engagement party, and solving the case won’t be a piece of cake . . . Shilpa Silanki’s talent is making sure that special occasions are accompanied by special cakes, and her first booking after her move to Devon, England—where she’s inherited a house in Otter’s Reach—is a posh engagement party for Mason Connolly and Harriet Drew. Unfortunately, a knife has been used for something other than cutting the cake. Now Shilpa is working to uncover layers of secrets and scandals in hopes of identifying the killer who permanently parted Mason and Harriet—and before she’s done, someone else might get iced . . .
    Show book
  • Damaged - A Heart-Stopping Psychological Thriller - cover

    Damaged - A Heart-Stopping...

    Dan Scottow

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A journalist is sent back to the English village of her youth, where an investigation dredges up a haunting past in this tense psychological thriller. 
     
    Emily Blake grew up in a charming village in Hampshire, England, where everyone knew everyone and nobody locked their doors . . . until the night Emily’s friend Alice disappeared. Soon after that tragic blow, Emily’s family moved away. But now she’s finally about to return—as a journalist investigating an eerily similar event. 
     
    Looking into the recent disappearance of Becky Clarke, Emily tries to revisit Alice’s case. But as she rekindles old acquaintances and rivalries, she discovers that not everyone welcomes her investigation. As she slowly unravels decades of lies and secrets, Emily is about to encounter a dangerous truth—one that may be much closer to home than she ever imagined.
    Show book
  • Devil's Play - cover

    Devil's Play

    Sarah Sheridan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A secret society’s dark truths come to light when murder disrupts their circle in this riveting psychological mystery by the author of The Convent. 
     
    Four troubled students have come together as an unlikely group of friends after joining an underground society at university—based around the celebration and practices of New Satanism. It is run by a charismatic and beautiful sociopath named Dillon, who exerts a strange power over Eleanor, Hunter, Natalie, and Seth. 
     
    Now their unhealthy bond has set in motion a chain of events that no one could have seen coming. When one of the friends dies unexpectedly, the police initially believe it’s accidental. But the victim’s father is convinced otherwise, and a spotlight is turned on the secret society and its members. The question is not only who is responsible for the murder, but exactly what sort of darkness lies behind it . . .
    Show book
  • Fallen Angel - A Novel - cover

    Fallen Angel - A Novel

    Tracy Borman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The gripping conclusion to the historical trilogy featuring Stuart-era healer Frances Gorges—from the author of The King’s Witch and The Devil’s Slave.   Life has never been quiet for Frances Gorges at the court of King James, but after finding herself at the center of plots and conspiracies for many years both as an accused witch and a secret Catholic, by 1614 Frances hopes to distance herself from the decadence and ruthlessness of the aging and venal monarch. However, when a handsome stranger appears at a courtier’s country estate, he immediately draws the wandering eyes of the King, throwing the established order of the court into upheaval. George Villiers is ambitious and violent, ready to take down whatever—and whoever—stands in his way, including Frances and her husband Sir Thomas Tyringham. New friends and old alliances—from Francis Bacon and Prince Charles to Sir Walter Raleigh—will offer Frances ways to resist the treachery of Villiers, but danger and Catholic plotting always lurks just around the corner, and sometimes from unexpected sources. With her meticulous eye for detail and evocative storytelling, Tracy Borman’s The Fallen Angel is a riveting conclusion to her trilogy set during the first Stuart monarch’s reign.  Praise for The Devil’s Slave   “Gripping historical fiction with a daring character in Lady Frances.”—New York Journal of Books  Praise for The King’s WitchNamed a Best Summer Debut by Library Journal   “Vivid . . . Everything you would want to read in a novel, ranging from palatial royals and intrigues to betrayals to a love story.”—Washington Book Review, “Essential Novels for This Summer”
    Show book
  • The Connection Trilogy - Blood Red Code Blue Mortal Green - cover

    The Connection Trilogy - Blood...

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Three novels starring the dedicated investigators at the Connection Investigation Agency: “I always anticipate getting my hands on the latest Anita Waller thriller.” —Avonna Loves Genres The Connection Investigation Agency team takes on crimes old and new in this collection of thrillers by the bestselling author, including:Blood Red The Connection Investigation Agency has seen big changes, and new partners Tessa, Luke, and Beth have taken over. Just as the agency reopens, a body is discovered in the office outhouse, and their first case begins with bones that have lain undiscovered for twenty-five years. Luke takes on the challenge of solving his first solo case, while former DI Tessa digs into the murders of two women who received threatening notes. But as the agency digs deeper into the past and a link between the two cases is revealed, will it help or hinder?Code Blue Five years ago, John and Caroline Coates were happily expecting the birth of twin girls—until an intruder ended their dreams. Now, John has come to the agency for help tracking down the man who caused them such grief. Back then, Tessa’s involvement was cut short when the cold case department quickly took over. This is a chance for her and Luke to follow the facts and finally lay this case to rest—but will the truth they reveal bring the Coateses the peace they crave or take them to further depths of despair?Mortal Green An author has moved into Leaf Cottage for a month-long research break in Eyam. When she disappears during a long walk around the village, no one misses her, presuming she’s working in solitude on her novel. Then her husband contacts the agency, and when they find the cottage empty, it’s only the beginning of a twisting trail of danger . . .
    Show book