Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
More Than Words Can Say (A Patchwork Family Novel Book #2) - cover

More Than Words Can Say (A Patchwork Family Novel Book #2)

Karen Witemeyer

Publisher: Bethany House Publishers

  • 2
  • 20
  • 0

Summary

After fulfilling a pledge to a dying friend, Zacharias Hamilton is finally free. No family entanglements. No disappointing those around him. Just the quiet bachelor existence he's always craved. Until fate snatches his freedom away when the baker of his favorite breakfast bun is railroaded by the city council. Despite not wanting to get involved, he can't turn a blind eye to her predicament . . . or her adorable dimples.Abigail Kemp needs a man's name on her bakery's deed. A marriage of convenience seems the best solution . . . if it involves a man she can control. That person definitely isn't the stoic lumberman who oozes silent confidence whenever he enters her shop. Control Zacharias Hamilton? She can't even control her pulse when she's around him.When vows are spoken, Abigail's troubles should be over. Yet threats to the bakery worsen, and darker dangers hound her sister. Can she put ever more trust in Zach without losing her dreams of independence?

Other books that might interest you

  • Under a Summer Sky (Follow Your Heart) - A Savannah Romance - cover

    Under a Summer Sky (Follow Your...

    Melody Carlson

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    High school art teacher Nicole Anderson is looking forward to a relaxing summer in Savannah, house-sitting and managing an art gallery for a family friend. The house is luxurious in a way that only old money could make it, and the gallery promises interesting days in a gorgeous setting. Yet it isn't long before her ideal summer turns into more than she bargained for: a snooty gallery employee who's determined to force her out, a displaced adolescent roosting in the attic, and two of Nicole's close childhood friends--who also happen to be brothers--vying for her attention.With a backdrop of a beautiful historical city, incredible architecture, and even an alleged ghost or two, combined with the opportunity for romance . . . anything can happen!Bestselling and award-winning author Melody Carlson invites readers to spend the summer surrounded by beauty and tantalizing possibilities for the future.
    Show book
  • Fortune Favors the Duke - cover

    Fortune Favors the Duke

    Kristin Vayden

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    For fans of Ella Quinn, Amelia Grey, and Bridgerton comes the first in a new historical romance series with all your favorite tropes:Friends to lovers romanceForbidden romanceReluctant dukesTight-knit family saga 
    The new Duke has a proper scandal brewing.
     
    Quinton Errington is perfectly happy teaching at Cambridge, with his elder brother carrying the duties of being the Duke of Wesley. But when a trip to celebrate Wesley's last week of bachelorhood ends in tragedy, Quinton, who becomes the Duke, would give anything to have his brother back.
     
    Wesley's would-be bride, Catherine Greatheart, is left heartbroken and alone. Her grandmother has fallen ill, and Catherine has nowhere left to turn but to the family she was so close to being part of. The new Duke is kind, and she could use a friend.
     
    Between learning how to be the head of his family, mourning his brother, and trying not to fall in love with his late-brother's fiancée, Quinton will need some help—and it's a good thing he's not alone.
     
    "Flawless storytelling! Vayden is a new Regency powerhouse."—Rachel Van Dyken, #1 New York Times bestselling author
    Show book
  • A Most Unusual Duke - cover

    A Most Unusual Duke

    Susanna Allen

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Bridgerton meets Werewolves Within in this sparkling shapeshifter Regency romance mixed with humor, steamy chemistry, and fantasy.
     
    The Duke said he'd never get married...
     
    The Prince Regent insists his cousin and fellow bear shifter Arthur Humphries, the Duke of Osborn, take a mate to ensure the continuation of their species. After all, Arthur is an Alpha, so he must set a good example. The duke would very much prefer to continue his comfortable bachelor lifestyle, but the Prince Regent is not a bear to be poked.
     
    Beatrice, the widowed Marchioness of Castleton, is in possession of a powerful secret. She knows all about Shifters, her horrible late husband being one of them. At any moment, Beatrice could reveal the secrets of the Prince and those like him—unless the Prince can make sure she marries another Shifter.
     
    A marriage between the Duke of Osborn and Beatrice is far from ideal for either one, but at least they won't fall in love...right?Witty, fantastical, and entirely unique, A Most Unusual Duke is perfect for readers looking for:A delicious Regency romp with a paranormal twistA devilishly handsome Alpha heroA marriage of convenienceA magical world to sink your teeth into 
    Praise for Allen's A Wolf in Duke's Clothing:"Sparkling wit, scrumptious chemistry!"—Grace Burrowes, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author"A playful mix of humor, fantasy, and Regency romance conventions, this genre-bending novel introduces a well-constructed world filled with distinctive and endearing characters."—Publishers Weekly"Sparkling dialogue and steamy chemistry...Regency romance meets shape-shifters, to great effect."—Kirkus Reviews
    Show book
  • Rules for Heiresses - cover

    Rules for Heiresses

    Amalie Howard

    • 2
    • 13
    • 0
    USA Today bestselling author Amalie Howard whisks you away with a historical romance full of drama, true love, and the perfect happily ever after. Readers will devour this tale of:A rebellious heiress determined to be independentA shunned duke forced to return to his family estateAnd a scandal between them that will have the whole town aflutter 
    Sometimes, finding love means flouting the rules...
     
    Born to a life of privilege, Lady Ravenna Huntley rues the day that she must marry. She's refused dozens of suitors and cried off multiple betrothals, but running away—even if brash and foolhardy—is the only option left to secure her independence.
     
    Lord Courtland Chase, grandson of the Duke of Ashvale, was driven from England at the behest of his cruel stepmother. Scorned and shunned, he swore never to return to the land of his birth. But when a twist of bad luck throws a rebellious heiress into his arms, at the very moment he finds out he's the new Duke, marriage is the only alternative to massive scandal.
     
    Both are quick to deny it, but a wedding might be the only way out for both of them. And the attraction that burns between them makes Ravenna and Courtland wonder if it'll truly only be a marriage of convenience after all...
     
    Praise for Amalie Howard:"Her writing sparkles."—LISA KLEYPAS, New York Times bestselling author"Smart, sexy, deliciously feminist romance that I couldn't put down."—SARAH MACLEAN, New York Times bestselling author, for The Beast of Beswick"Amalie Howard is the fresh voice historical romance needs right now."—KERRIGAN BYRNE, USA Today bestselling author
    Show book
  • The Heart's Appeal (London Beginnings Book #2) - cover

    The Heart's Appeal (London...

    Jennifer Delamere

    • 3
    • 6
    • 0
    Strong-minded and independent Julia Bernay comes to London to study medicine and become a doctor--a profession that has only just opened up to women. She witnesses a serious accident, and through her quick actions saves the life of an ambitious young barrister named Michael Stephenson.Coming from a family that long ago lost its money and its respectability, Michael Stephenson has achieved what many would have thought was impossible. Hard work and an aptitude for the law have enabled him to rise above his family's stigma and set him on the path to wealth and recognition. But his well-laid plans are upended when the accident brings Julia into his life. Michael soon discovers he's met a woman every bit as stubborn and determined to make her mark on the world as he is. Sparks fly--but will they find common ground?
    Show book
  • Stand and Deliver your Heart - cover

    Stand and Deliver your Heart

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Neil, the handsome Earl of Wynstock, is expected back from the English Army of Occupation in France where he has been with the Duke of Wellington since the Battle of Waterloo. And the people of his estate, Wyn Park, await his return to them impatiently. 
    Vanda Charlton, his beautiful childhood neighbour, waits with more concern than the others because, unbeknown to anyone else, a dangerous gang of highwaymen have moved into the West wing of the Earl's ancestral home after intimidating and threatening the caretaker and his wife. 
    Vanda fears that on the Earl's return the highwaymen will capture him and hold him to ransom.
    Intercepting him at a local inn, she warns the Earl and persuades him to enlist the support of the soldiers at the local Barracks. But before the Military can implement their plan of action, the ruthless renegades kidnap Vanda, threatening to kill her if they do not receive one thousand pounds by the next morning.
    Disguised in a highwayman's mask, the Earl arrives in the enemy's woodland camp in the dead of night with a cunning plan to rescue Vanda. Posing as another highwayman he enlists the local Parson and stages a Wedding claiming that he is marrying Vanda for her huge fortune, which he promises to share with the villains.
    Little do they, or even Vanda herself, know that he is as deeply in love with Vanda as she is with him. 
    And that this marriage is completely legal and utterly real!
    Show book