Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Lawless - cover

The Lawless

John Jakes

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The Civil War is over, but the Kent family’s good fortune is suddenly threatened in this novel by the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of North and South.  The penultimate volume in John Jakes’s stirring Kent Family Chronicles finds America booming in its postwar prosperity. With this newly secured peace comes an opportunity for the Kent family to reconcile and to thrive, both personally and financially. Gideon Kent takes up his father’s vow to reunite the family, but when he brings his father’s widow back into the fold, the repercussions seem insurmountable. Against the backdrop of a recovering nation, the Kents face dramatic challenges and unexpected rifts that could leave the family shattered for years to come. This ebook features an illustrated biography of John Jakes including rare images from the author’s personal collection.
Available since: 07/10/2012.
Print length: 696 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Custom of the Country - cover

    The Custom of the Country

    Edith Wharton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Spraggs, a wealthy family of Midwesterners, are visiting New York City to marry off their beautiful daughter Undine. While Undine's beauty catches the attention of several high-society men, she finds it difficult to fit in with the old-money social circles that rule New York. When she finally marries Ralph Marvell, she embraces a life full of frivolities, which eventually leads to her tumultuous demise. Best known for inspiring the hit series Downton Abbey, this classic novel is a scathing critique of ambition featuring one of the most ruthless heroines in literature.
    Show book
  • A Season for Martyrs - A Novel - cover

    A Season for Martyrs - A Novel

    Bina Shah

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A harrowing account of the last three months of Benazir Bhutto’s life October, 2007. Pakistan’s former Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto returns home after eight years of exile to seek political office once more. Assigned to cover her controversial arrival is TV journalist Ali Sikandar, the estranged son of a wealthy landowner from the interior region of Sindh. While her presence ignites fierce protests and assassination attempts, Ali finds himself irrevocably drawn to the pro-democracy People’s Resistance Movement, a secret that sweeps him into the many contradictions of a country still struggling to embrace modernity. As Shah weaves together the centuries-old history of Ali’s feudal family and its connection to the Bhuttos, she brilliantly reveals a story at the crossroads of the personal and the political, a chronicle of one man’s desire to overcome extremity to find love, forgiveness, and even identity itself.
    Show book
  • I Am Venus - A Novel - cover

    I Am Venus - A Novel

    Bárbara Mujica

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This fictional account of the seventeenth-century Spanish painter’s life is “a very enjoyable read . . . A portrait of Velázquez and a meditation on love” (Washington Independent Review of Books).   Narrated by the mysterious model who posed for Rokeby Venus, Diego Velázquez’s only surviving female nude, I Am Venus is the riveting account of a great artist’s rise to prominence, set against the backdrop of political turmoil and romantic scandal. A sweeping story of scandal and passion, and a vivid recreation of a corrupt kingdom on the brink of collapse, I Am Venus is a thrilling novel that brings to life the public and private worlds of Spain’s greatest painter.   “A well-plotted read with engaging characters and rich detail. Fans of Tracy Chevalier and Elizabeth Kostova as well as art history buffs will enjoy Mujica’s interpretation.” —Library Journal   “A worthwhile read . . . Mujica continues her realistic representation by loading the text with rich historical detail [that] instantly creates a sensory world for her readers to inhabit.” —Booklist   “Mujica’s prose is vigorous and intense, and the story is paradoxically both dark and illuminating.” —Kirkus Reviews
    Show book
  • The Trials of Mary Johnsdaughter - cover

    The Trials of Mary Johnsdaughter

    Christine De Luca

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A cold sweat had spread over Mary as she listened. What she was hearing was sounding ever more like a premonition: adultery was nearly as bad as murder.
    Shetland, 1773: a land of hand-to-mouth living and tight community ties overshadowed by the ever-watchful eye of the kirk, an institution 'run by auld men, for auld men'. In this fictionalised retelling of historical events, young Waas lass Mary Johnsdaughter stands accused of having sinned in the eyes of the church after the Batchelor, a ship bursting with emigrants seeking new lives in North Carolina, is left stranded upon Shetland's shores.
    Will she survive the humiliation? Will she become an outcast? Will one moment cost her everything?
    A tale of Shetland folk knit out of Shetlandic voices and real parish records, The Trials of Mary Johnsdaughter pits the bonds of friends and family against the grip of the kirk. Only one thing is clear: then as now, 'Hit's no aesy livin in a peerie place.'
    Show book
  • Top 10 Short Stories The - The Irish Women - The top ten Short Stories of all time written by Irish women - cover

    Top 10 Short Stories The - The...

    Katharine Tynan, Somerville and...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Short stories have always been a sort of instant access into an author’s brain, their soul and heart.  A few pages can lift our lives into locations, people and experiences with a sweep of landscape, narration, feelings and emotions that is difficult to achieve elsewhere. 
     
    In this series we try to offer up tried and trusted ‘Top Tens’ across many different themes and authors. But any anthology will immediately throw up the questions – Why that story? Why that author?  
     
    The theme itself will form the boundaries for our stories which range from well-known classics, newly told, to stories that modern times have overlooked but perfectly exemplify the theme.  Throughout the volume our authors whether of instant recognition or new to you are all leviathans of literature. 
     
    Some you may disagree with but they will get you thinking; about our choices and about those you would have made.  If this volume takes you on a path to discover more of these miniature masterpieces then we have all gained something. 
     
    The Emerald Isle is home to literary talent on a grand scale.  And amongst their ranks are women of quite extraordinary ability who refuse to take second place to the men.  Their voice is strong, their words beguiling, entrancing but often with a will of iron as they create works of character, of narrative and of quite sumptuous literature.  Genius has many names. 
     
    1 - The Top 10 - The Irish Women - An Introduction 
    2 - A Rich Woman by Katharine Tynan 
    3 - An Irish Problem by Somerville and Ross 
    4 - Extradited by Isabella Valancy Crawford 
    5 - All Souls Eve by Dora Sigerson Shorter 
    6 -  The Ghost at the Wrath by Rosa Mulholland 
    7 - An Outcast of the People by Bithia Mary Croker 
    8 - The Knitted Collar by Mary Anne Hoare 
    9 - The Last of Squire Ennismore by Charlotte Riddell 
    10 - The White Pigeon by Maria Edgeworth 
    11 - Cuchulain of Muirthemne. The Only Son of Aoife by Lady Augusta Gregory
    Show book
  • Jesus' Silent Years: Journey - cover

    Jesus' Silent Years: Journey

    Vance Shepperson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Some studies report that the average person experiences about 60,000 thoughts a day and eighty percent of them are negative in nature.  Journey’s fictional stories, embedded in Jewish and Roman history, are intended to help flip your script inside a new angle on an old story.   Listen with a fresh ear to Father’s voice through the Spirit’s power coming from Jesus’ mouth.    The classic hero’s journey is shaped like a checkmark—medium to low and high at the end.  Stories in this third volume of four in Jesus’ Silent Years are at the bottom of the checkmark.   These low points are the furnace that shaped his character more than any of the other books in this novel series.  Spoiler alert—Jesus is imprisoned, abused by willful excess and absence, and depressed.  This Son of Man is tempted and tried in all points as we are.  Embedded in these old stories is a training manual for how to live wisely in today’s world regardless of your faith, or lack of it.
    Show book