Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Chanteuse of Cape Town - A Sol Nemo Mystery - cover

The Chanteuse of Cape Town - A Sol Nemo Mystery

John Constable

Publisher: ink!

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

For fans of Raymond Chandler, Ross Macdonald, Dashiell Hammett and Robert B Parker. 
This gripping tale of intrigue and betrayal takes readers on a breakneck journey as Private Investigator Sol Nemo takes on South Africa’s underworld. 
When rich but troubled PI, Sol Nemo, learns of the kidnap of his friend’s wife, he instinctively responds to the call for help. Little does he realise that he is soon to become embroiled in a dangerous web of deceit and betrayal. At a botched exchange, Sol is shot and the kidnappers escape, leading to a dramatic game of cat and mouse in which a world of corruption and casual violence is gradually exposed to the light of day.   
This intriguing tale of murder and revenge is set against the backdrop of South Africa’s breathtaking landscapes and the vibrant cities of Cape Town and Port Elizabeth. As the story unfolds, Sol is forced to wrestle with bouts of crippling anxiety, a cast of duplicitous characters, and an uncertain love life, while his mixed race heritage often leaves him straddling two different cultures and finding himself at home in neither.
Available since: 01/19/2023.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Second Wife - cover

    The Second Wife

    NJ Moss

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    The honeymoon is over—and his nightmare has begun—in this twisted thriller by the author of The Husband Trap . . .   After his wife’s suicide, Scott manages to find love again with Casey. For their first anniversary, she has a surprise for him—but it’s not a good one . . . Casey has been collecting photos and videos of Scott that would place his teaching career in serious jeopardy. Holding that over his head, she intends to make him suffer. As the torment escalates, Scott desperately tries to uncover why Casey is doing this and find a way out of his nightmare. But can he outwit his vicious wife before she makes herself a widow?
    Show book
  • Cold Kiss - cover

    Cold Kiss

    Rachel Caine

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    The New York Times–bestselling author of The Undead continues the nail-biting story of a reluctant vampire fighting to save what’s left of his humanity.   Once a surgeon, Michael Bowman is now working the night shift at a convenience store in Dallas, a job with perfect hours for a vampire. After being turned by his friend Adam four months ago, he has struggled with his hunger, sometimes killing to satisfy his endless needs. His already thin bond with his wife, a homicide detective, is starting to fray. And Adam—enslaved by his evil, bloodsucking master—has become nothing more than a vicious pet.   At his wit’s end, Mike is approached by the Society, a group of “civilized” vampires, who promise him a life without killing—and help in saving Adam and himself from the monster bent on destroying his own bloodline. But it soon becomes clear to Mike that the Society is not what it seems. And what promises to be a refuge is in fact a cage that is closing in around him . . .  Praise for The Undead   “Fresh, intense, erotic, funny, and scary . . . a five-star winner. I couldn’t put it down and didn’t want it to end. Absolutely, do NOT let this one get away!” —P. N. Elrod, author of Drawing Dead and Other Stories   “In The Undead, vampires lurk menacingly, and they are not the cute, cuddly, romantic-type vampires of modern urban fiction. These are serious, life-threatening, blood-sucking, kill-you-till-you’re-dead vampires . . . [a] diamond in the rough.” —Rambles.NET  
    Show book
  • The Yorkshire Murder Thrillers Books One to Three - Dead Cold Cold Blood and Cold Heart - cover

    The Yorkshire Murder Thrillers...

    Jane Heafield

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Three gritty police procedurals following determined detectives in the north of England, now in one volume. The hard-hitting crime thrillers in this collection include:Dead Cold When an anonymous call sends police to a house in Sheffield, two corpses are discovered, their bodies battered beyond recognition. DI Liz Miller is thrilled to be assigned the high-profile case—and insists on sticking with it even after it’s taken away from her and she’s warned to leave it alone. When it turns out the victims aren’t who the police think they are, the mystery is blown wide open. Will Miller be able to solve the case and save her career, or is this investigation going to be her undoing?Cold Blood DCI Liam Bennet’s ex is part of a film crew looking into a cold case in her home village of Lampton, and she requests that Bennet access police files. He wants no part of it. But then their son asks that he track her down, and Bennet finds that the Lampton locals want him gone—while the film crew are nowhere to be found. Soon, a grim discovery in a nearby lake plunges him into a race against time . . .Cold Heart Liam Bennet has just quit the force to become a private detective, and to his frustration, his first case is a weird petty crime. Meanwhile, his old colleague is working on two murders with pictures of dice found at the scenes. When the detective is attacked on the job, it soon becomes clear that there’s an odd connection between their cases, even though they appear utterly random. Will they be able to identify a pattern—or is their luck about to run out?
    Show book
  • The Ladder - cover

    The Ladder

    Michael Waterhouse

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Can there ever be a clear-cut, unambiguous moment when life is so unbearable that helping someone to die is not only right, but an act of loving kindness?   
    	   
    ‘The Ladder’ begins on a remote Scottish island where Gary, a recent widower, is living under an assumed name. Wracked with doubts and fears, and a grief that often overwhelms him, he decides to design a lasting tribute to his lost wife, a celebration of her life and her love of colour. But will the memorial he creates arouse suspicions amongst the islanders and make them ask questions Gary would rather not answer?  
       
    Michael Waterhouse’s first novel, ‘Prodigal’, was recommended in ‘The Times’ by Joan Bakewell as ‘a first novel of enormous power. Inspirational.’
    Show book
  • Obsessed - A gripping psychological thriller full of twists - cover

    Obsessed - A gripping...

    Jane Heafield

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    How do you hunt a monster when you can’t remember his face? The author of Her Dark Past returns with a new novel of trauma, terror and missing memories . . .   Lisa walks in the woods on a regular basis. But this time when she emerges, she is badly injured. Her wedding ring is missing. And her memory of the event is blank.   Unsettled, she tells her husband that she was mugged by a young girl but insists he not call the police. It doesn’t take long for fragments of the truth to come back, though, and when Lisa realises that she was assaulted by a man and left to die, she begins to live in fear, seeing threats everywhere she looks. What if he comes back for her—and she doesn’t even recognise him? Even co-workers and neighbours could be suspects . . .   Soon, Lisa discovers she is not the only victim and becomes fixated on pursuing the perpetrator. But is she really prepared for the horrifying truth she is about to discover?
    Show book
  • Everything Is Just Beginning - A Novel - cover

    Everything Is Just Beginning - A...

    Erin Bartels

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    An Immersive Story of Music, Struggle, and Starting Over from an Award-Winning Author 
     
    Michael Sullivan is a talented lyricist and a decent guitarist, but since he was kicked out of his band (and his apartment), he's not sure he'll ever get a record deal. Living with his loser uncle in a beat-up trailer and working a dead-end job, Michael has little reason to hope for a better future. Until the invitation for a swanky New Year's Eve party shows up in the mailbox. It's for his uncle, with whom he shares his name, but his uncle is going out of town . . .  
     
    On the effervescent night of December 31, 1989--as the Berlin Wall is coming down, the Soviet Union is inching toward democracy, and anything seems possible--Michael will cross paths with the accomplished and enigmatic young heir to a fading musical dynasty, forever altering both of their futures.  
     
    Award-winning novelist Erin Bartels enchants with this story of two lonely souls who have exactly what the other one needs--if they could simply turn their focus from what is ending to what is just beginning.
    Show book