Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Chanteuse of Cape Town - A Sol Nemo Mystery - cover

The Chanteuse of Cape Town - A Sol Nemo Mystery

John Constable

Publisher: ink!

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

For fans of Raymond Chandler, Ross Macdonald, Dashiell Hammett and Robert B Parker. 
This gripping tale of intrigue and betrayal takes readers on a breakneck journey as Private Investigator Sol Nemo takes on South Africa’s underworld. 
When rich but troubled PI, Sol Nemo, learns of the kidnap of his friend’s wife, he instinctively responds to the call for help. Little does he realise that he is soon to become embroiled in a dangerous web of deceit and betrayal. At a botched exchange, Sol is shot and the kidnappers escape, leading to a dramatic game of cat and mouse in which a world of corruption and casual violence is gradually exposed to the light of day.   
This intriguing tale of murder and revenge is set against the backdrop of South Africa’s breathtaking landscapes and the vibrant cities of Cape Town and Port Elizabeth. As the story unfolds, Sol is forced to wrestle with bouts of crippling anxiety, a cast of duplicitous characters, and an uncertain love life, while his mixed race heritage often leaves him straddling two different cultures and finding himself at home in neither.
Available since: 01/19/2023.

Other books that might interest you

  • Ask Natalie - A gripping psychological suspense full of mystery - cover

    Ask Natalie - A gripping...

    Natasha Boydell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A fantastic read . . . I absolutely loved this book . . . I was hooked.” —Amazon reviewer, five starsHer long-lost love is missing—and obsession with the case could save her or sabotage her, in this gripping new suspense by the author of The Woman Next Door. Natalie is single and carefree, fulfilled by her journalism career, but still she can’t help but wonder what happened to Owen, the one that got away. When she learns that he’s disappeared—and left behind a note that mentions her name—she finds herself pulled back into his life. Compelled by the mystery, her boss encourages her to pursue it, believing it would make a great story. And Natalie’s determination knows no bounds . . . Soon she finds herself thrust into a murky world of money, power, and ruthlessness. But just how far will a search for the truth lead her away from home?
    Show book
  • This is Love - cover

    This is Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    When her chaise is damaged in an accident far from her home, the beautiful young Lady Athina Ling has no choice but to stay at a nearby Posting inn while awaiting its repair. There she is appalled to hear the pitiful screams of a young boy who is being savagely beaten by the ‘gentleman’ who appears to be his Guardian. After bravely going to the child’s rescue, Athina discovers that he is Peter, the nephew of the handsome Marquis of Rockingdale whose estate neighbours her own and that he, Peter, is the heir to a very considerable fortune.Seeing the child’s horrific wounds, the Marquis agrees to help Athina protect and look after him – but he also needs her help with a great problem of his own. Namely that he must become engaged to be married before Queen Victoria will allow him to take up the important position of State he craves of the Master of the Horse. Which the Marquis is superbly qualified to excel at as he has been closely involved with the breeding and training of horses all his life.So to help protect the boy, Athina agrees to a pretend engagement to the Marquis to satisfy the demands of the Queen. But the threat is far worse than either of them could ever have imagined. As they strive together to save the boy from his murderous stepfather, they begin to realise that their engagement is no longer a pretence and that, in fact, this is love!
    Show book
  • Everything Is Just Beginning - A Novel - cover

    Everything Is Just Beginning - A...

    Erin Bartels

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    An Immersive Story of Music, Struggle, and Starting Over from an Award-Winning Author 
     
    Michael Sullivan is a talented lyricist and a decent guitarist, but since he was kicked out of his band (and his apartment), he's not sure he'll ever get a record deal. Living with his loser uncle in a beat-up trailer and working a dead-end job, Michael has little reason to hope for a better future. Until the invitation for a swanky New Year's Eve party shows up in the mailbox. It's for his uncle, with whom he shares his name, but his uncle is going out of town . . .  
     
    On the effervescent night of December 31, 1989--as the Berlin Wall is coming down, the Soviet Union is inching toward democracy, and anything seems possible--Michael will cross paths with the accomplished and enigmatic young heir to a fading musical dynasty, forever altering both of their futures.  
     
    Award-winning novelist Erin Bartels enchants with this story of two lonely souls who have exactly what the other one needs--if they could simply turn their focus from what is ending to what is just beginning.
    Show book
  • The Ladder - cover

    The Ladder

    Michael Waterhouse

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Can there ever be a clear-cut, unambiguous moment when life is so unbearable that helping someone to die is not only right, but an act of loving kindness?   
    	   
    ‘The Ladder’ begins on a remote Scottish island where Gary, a recent widower, is living under an assumed name. Wracked with doubts and fears, and a grief that often overwhelms him, he decides to design a lasting tribute to his lost wife, a celebration of her life and her love of colour. But will the memorial he creates arouse suspicions amongst the islanders and make them ask questions Gary would rather not answer?  
       
    Michael Waterhouse’s first novel, ‘Prodigal’, was recommended in ‘The Times’ by Joan Bakewell as ‘a first novel of enormous power. Inspirational.’
    Show book
  • Good or Bad - cover

    Good or Bad

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    After their beloved Mama passed away, Amalita and Carolyn’s father, Sir Frederick Maulpin, could not bear living in the family home that reminded him so painfully of her. So he left his daughters behind for Paris, perhaps hoping to rediscover the raffish man-about-town he once was. To the girls’ chagrin, he immediately fell in love with and married a Frenchwoman called ‘Yvette’, whom his daughters considered vulgar and quite unsuitable for their adored Papa. Now, to their horror, they receive a letter informing them that their father and Yvette have drowned in a yachting accident in Nice. Not only have they lost their parents, now eighteen-year-old Carolyn has no one to present her to Queen Victoria at Buckingham Palace and chaperone her at debutante balls on which all her hopes are pinned. But her elder sister, Amalita, has a plan – A letter to her father’s old friend, the Marquis of Garlestone, secures an invitation to stay in exalted company, where Amalita, dressed as a far more mature woman, chaperones Carolyn in the guise of their stepmother, whom no one in London had ever met. And so their charade begins as, meeting the Marquis’s dashingly handsome son, the Earl of Garle, and his cousin, Timothy, they both become love-struck, but also hopelessly out of their depth and confounded by their own deceit –
    Show book
  • In the Shadow of the Fire - cover

    In the Shadow of the Fire

    Hervé Le Corre

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    As the Paris Commune is destroyed, a Communard searches the embattled city for his missing fiancé in this prize-winning novel: “an astounding epic” (L’Express, FR). 
     
    Paris, 1871. The Paris Commune has taken control of the French capitol, but the Communards now face a savage conflict against the French Armed Forces loyal to Versailles in what will come to be known as The Bloody Week. Amid the shrapnel and chaos, while the entire west side of Paris is a field of ruins, a photographer fascinated by the suffering of young women takes “suggestive” photos to sell to a particular clientele. 
     
    Then young women begin disappearing, and when a seamstress who volunteers at a first aid station, is counted among the missing, her fiancé—a member of the Commune’s National Guard—scours the city for her. Joined in the search by a Communal security officer, their race against the clock takes them through the shell-shocked streets of Paris, and introduces them to a cast of fascinating characters. 
     
    Winner of the French Voices Prize
    Show book