Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Captain's Daughter (London Beginnings Book #1) - cover

The Captain's Daughter (London Beginnings Book #1)

Jennifer Delamere

Publisher: Bethany House Publishers

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Warm-Hearted Victorian Romance Brings 1880s London to LifeWhen a series of circumstances beyond her control leave Rosalyn Bernay alone and penniless in London, she chances upon a job backstage at a theater that is presenting the most popular show in London. A talented musician and singer, she feels immediately at home and soon becomes enthralled with the idea of pursuing a career on the stage.A hand injury during a skirmish in India has forced Nate Moran out of the army until he recovers. Filling his time at a stable of horses for hire in London, he has also spent the past two months working nights as a stagehand, filling in for his injured brother. Although he's glad he can help his family through a tough time, he is counting the days until he can rejoin his regiment. London holds bitter memories for him that he is anxious to escape. But then he meets the beautiful woman who has found a new lease on life in the very place Nate can't wait to leave behind.

Other books that might interest you

  • Misquoting Muhammad - The Challenge and Choices of Interpreting the Prophet's Legacy - cover

    Misquoting Muhammad - The...

    Jonathan A.C. Brown

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Few things provoke controversy in the modern world like the religion brought by Muhammad. Modern media are replete with alarm over jihad, underage marriage and the threat of amputation or stoning under Shariah law.  Sometimes rumor, sometimes based in fact and often misunderstood, the tenets of Islamic law and dogma were not set in the religion’s founding moments. They were developed over centuries by the clerical class of Muslim scholars.Misquoting Muhammad takes the reader back in time through Islamic civilization and traces how and why such controversies developed, offering an inside view into how key and controversial aspects of Islam took shape. From the protests of the Arab Spring to Istanbul at the fall of the Ottoman Empire, and from the ochre red walls of Delhi’s great mosques to the trade routes of Islam’s Indian Ocean world, Misquoting Muhammad lays out how Muslim intellectuals have sought to balance reason and revelation, weigh science and religion, and negotiate the eternal truths of scripture amid shifting values.
    Show book
  • Honeysuckle Dreams - cover

    Honeysuckle Dreams

    Denise Hunter

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Brady Collins is juggling full-time fatherhood with the booming auto repair business he runs out of his barn. His ex-wife's sudden death has shaken him, but the devastating news that follows leaves him reeling: Sam is not his biological son. 
    When Sam's wealthy maternal grandparents decide they want custody of the child, Brady knows he's in for the fight of his life. Brady's attorney tips him off that one major life change would virtually assure him of winning guardianship of baby Sam at the final hearing: the stability of an impending marriage. And his friend Hope is willing to step in as the loving and devoted fiancée. 
    Local radio celebrity Hope Daniels has been driven by a solitary goal her entire life, and she's finally been offered her dream job—in Atlanta. Unfortunately, her arrangement with Brady requires her presence in Copper Creek, and she is faced with missing the chance of a lifetime or standing in the way of a dear friend’s dreams. 
    Both Hope and Brady would give their lives for beautiful Sam. But can they give their trust to one another? With this new novel in the Blue Ridge Romance series, Honeysuckle Dreams shines light on the complicated and beautiful angles of love.
    Show book
  • The Book of Rumi - 105 Stories and Fables that Illumine Delight and Inform - cover

    The Book of Rumi - 105 Stories...

    Rumi

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Philip Pullman, author of 'His Dark Materials' trilogy, has remarked that “after nourishment, shelter, and companionship, stories are the thing we need most in the world.“ This new collection of Rumi stories fills that need.This fresh prose translation of 105 short teaching stories by Rumi, which form the core of the six-volume Masnavi, explores the hidden spiritual aspects of everyday experience. Rumi transforms the seemingly mundane events of daily life into profound Sufi teaching moments. These prose gems open the mystical portal to the world of the ancient mystic.These stories include well-known and popular tales such as “Angel of Death,” “The Sufi and His Cheating Wife,” “Moses and the Shepherd,” “Chickpeas,” and “The Greek and Chinese Painters” as well as the less commonly quoted parables: “The Basket Weaver,” “The Mud Eater,” and “A Sackful of Pebbles.”Rumi’s voice alternates between playful and authoritative, whether he is telling stories of ordinary lives or inviting the discerning reader to higher levels of introspection and attainment of transcendent values. Mafi’s translations delicately reflect the nuances of Rumi’s poetry while retaining the positive tone of all of Rumi’s writings, as well as the sense of suspense and drama that mark the essence of the Masnavi.
    Show book
  • Blue Ridge Sunrise - cover

    Blue Ridge Sunrise

    Denise Hunter

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “Hunter’s snappy dialogue and heartwarming prose will appeal to fans of Jan Karon and Mark Simses.” —Booklist review of Sweetbriar Cottage 
    Former free spirit Zoe Collins swore she’d never again set foot in Copper Creek or speak to the man who broke her heart. But return she must when her beloved Granny dies, leaving the family legacy to Zoe—a peach orchard nestled at the base of the Blue Ridge Mountains. 
    When Zoe returns home with her daughter and boyfriend Kyle, she finds that she’s the only person in town who doesn’t expect her to give up the life she’s established far away from Copper Creek. Everyone believes she was born to run the orchard, but how can she make it her home after so many years? 
    Cruz Huntley never quite got over his first love, Zoe Collins, the little sister of his best friend Brady. Not when she cheated on him during their “break,” not when she took off to parts unknown with good-for-nothing Kyle Jenkins, and not even now—five years later. 
    As life-changing decisions and a history with Cruz hang over Zoe’s head, tensions rise between her and Kyle. Even as she comes to terms with the shifting relationships in her life, Zoe still isn’t sure if she can remain in Copper Creek with her new responsibilities . . . and her first love.
    Show book
  • Brides of Texas - cover

    Brides of Texas

    Karen Witemeyer

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    A New Value Paperback Edition for Karen Witemeyer!Get three historical romances in one omnibus edition from bestselling author Karen Witemeyer. This special edition introduces value-minded readers to Karen's unbeatable blend of Texas history, humor, action, and irresistible romance. Includes three of Karen's most popular novels--A Tailor-Made Bride, Short-Straw Bride, and Stealing the Preacher.
    Show book
  • Distortion - cover

    Distortion

    Terri Blackstock

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A husband’s lies can have deadly consequences. 
    When Juliet Cole’s husband of fifteen years is murdered before her eyes, she thinks it was a random shooting. Devastated and traumatized, she answers hours of questioning, then returns home to break the tragic news to her sons. But a threatening voicemail escalates this from a random shooting to a planned, deliberate attack. 
    Juliet realizes that she and her children are in danger too—unless she meets the killers’ demands. But as she and her sisters untangle the clues, her husband’s dark secrets come to light. The more she learns, the more her life is dismantled. Was her husband an innocent victim or a hardened criminal?
    Show book