Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Captain's Daughter (London Beginnings Book #1) - cover

The Captain's Daughter (London Beginnings Book #1)

Jennifer Delamere

Publisher: Bethany House Publishers

  • 2
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

Warm-Hearted Victorian Romance Brings 1880s London to LifeWhen a series of circumstances beyond her control leave Rosalyn Bernay alone and penniless in London, she chances upon a job backstage at a theater that is presenting the most popular show in London. A talented musician and singer, she feels immediately at home and soon becomes enthralled with the idea of pursuing a career on the stage.A hand injury during a skirmish in India has forced Nate Moran out of the army until he recovers. Filling his time at a stable of horses for hire in London, he has also spent the past two months working nights as a stagehand, filling in for his injured brother. Although he's glad he can help his family through a tough time, he is counting the days until he can rejoin his regiment. London holds bitter memories for him that he is anxious to escape. But then he meets the beautiful woman who has found a new lease on life in the very place Nate can't wait to leave behind.

Other books that might interest you

  • An Uncommon Courtship (Hawthorne House Book #3) - cover

    An Uncommon Courtship (Hawthorne...

    Kristi Ann Hunter

    • 7
    • 30
    • 0
    "Engaging Regency romance to sweep you away."--USA Today Happy Ever After BlogLife for Lady Adelaide Bell was easier if she hid in her older sister's shadow--which worked until her sister got married. Even with thepressure of her socially ambitious mother, the last thing she expected was a marriage of convenience to save her previously spotless reputation.Lord Trent Hawthorne couldn't be happier that he is not the duke in the family. He's free to manage his small estate and take his time discovering the life he wants to lead, which includes grand plans of wooing and falling in love with the woman of his choice. When he finds himself honor bound to marry a woman he doesn't know, his dream of a marriage like his parents' seems lost forever. Already starting their marriage on shaky ground, can Adelaide and Trent's relationship survive the pressures of London society?
    Show book
  • Stand and Deliver your Heart - cover

    Stand and Deliver your Heart

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Neil, the handsome Earl of Wynstock, is expected back from the English Army of Occupation in France where he has been with the Duke of Wellington since the Battle of Waterloo. And the people of his estate, Wyn Park, await his return to them impatiently. 
    Vanda Charlton, his beautiful childhood neighbour, waits with more concern than the others because, unbeknown to anyone else, a dangerous gang of highwaymen have moved into the West wing of the Earl's ancestral home after intimidating and threatening the caretaker and his wife. 
    Vanda fears that on the Earl's return the highwaymen will capture him and hold him to ransom.
    Intercepting him at a local inn, she warns the Earl and persuades him to enlist the support of the soldiers at the local Barracks. But before the Military can implement their plan of action, the ruthless renegades kidnap Vanda, threatening to kill her if they do not receive one thousand pounds by the next morning.
    Disguised in a highwayman's mask, the Earl arrives in the enemy's woodland camp in the dead of night with a cunning plan to rescue Vanda. Posing as another highwayman he enlists the local Parson and stages a Wedding claiming that he is marrying Vanda for her huge fortune, which he promises to share with the villains.
    Little do they, or even Vanda herself, know that he is as deeply in love with Vanda as she is with him. 
    And that this marriage is completely legal and utterly real!
    Show book
  • A Secret to Die For - cover

    A Secret to Die For

    Lisa Harris

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Psychologist Grace Callahan has no idea that she has a secret--one worth killing for. But when she finds out one of her clients has been murdered, she quickly realizes that the computer security specialist wasn't simply suffering from paranoia.Detective Nate Quinn has just been cleared for active duty after a bombing killed eighteen people, including his partner, and left him dealing with PTSD. His first case back on the job involves the murder of Stephen Shaw, and his only lead turns out to be an old friend, Grace Callahan--and her life is in grave danger. Someone believes Shaw gave his psychologist information before he died. Information they are willing to kill for.With her signature pulse-pounding suspense, Lisa Harris takes readers deep into the heart of fear in this race against the clock.
    Show book
  • The Meeting Point - Hilarious heart-warming and uplifting – the romantic comedy of 2021! - cover

    The Meeting Point - Hilarious...

    Olivia Lara

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    'An Unputdownable Romance! Wow oh wow one thing is for sure this book NEEDS to be made into a film! ... I was totally swept away ... Truly is a feel-good, heartfelt, inspiring and heart-warming ... Once I started reading I couldn't put it down!' Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 
     
    What if the Lift driver who finds your cheating boyfriend's phone holds the directions to true love? 
     
    'Who are you and why do you have my boyfriend's phone?' 
     
    'He left it in my car. You must be the blonde in the red dress? I'm the Lift driver who dropped you two off earlier.' 
     
    And with these words, the life of the brunette and t-shirt wearing Maya Maas is turned upside down. Having planned to surprise her boyfriend, she finds herself single and stranded in an unknown city on her birthday.
     
    So when the mystery driver rescues Maya with the suggestion that she cheers herself up at a nearby beach town, she jumps at the chance to get things back on track. She wasn't expecting a personalised itinerary or the easy companionship that comes from opening up to a stranger via text, let alone the possibility it might grow into something more...
     
    Come on this 5* journey to love, laughter and back again, perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Josie Silver and Sally Thorne. 
     
    Readers love The Meeting Point! 
     
    'Fun, feel-good read. I breezed through this in one sitting ... The romance had me swooning and I couldn't stop smiling. Need to find my own rideshare now :)' NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'My god, how I love this book! ... A must read ... Obviously, a big, fat, shiny ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ from me!' The Artsy Reader, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'YA'LL!!!!! This was one of the most unique written plots I have ever experienced in my life! The Meeting Point had me in all my feels and even made my eyes leak! Ah-Mazing! ... This is a book you do NOT want to miss!' @the_kentucky_fried_bibliophile,⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Kept me up until 2am even though I worked the next day because I simply couldn't put it down' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Truly perfect and totally made my days better ... Recommend this book to everyone! :)' Love My Shelf, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Freaking loved this book! It was such a comfort read for me! I could not put it down until I had read every word! It had such 90s-early 2000s rom-com movie energy and I was sold! ... I loved it all ...  I will always have this on my shelf and come back to it time and time again' @kelleyleigh20, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'I was hooked from the first page and didn't want it to end! You will love this book! Definitely recommend!' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Had a hard time putting it down ... I loved the ending! ... I can't wait to read more books by this author in the future!' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Wow ... I don't remember how long it has been since I have been so vested in a book within the first few pages ... Absolutely charming ... This book is a big win' A Devine Read, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'Just glorious ... This was like a balm to my soul ... Ahhh I honestly loved every second of this book! It's cute and so romantic ... I just need like a sequel and then another one please! ... Just easily one of my favourite romance books I've read! I think everyone who enjoys a love story needs to read this ❤' NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'My new book in which I will compare all other romances against. This was absolutely the cutest story and perfect summer read ... I found myself smiling throughout this book, I just loved it' @page_chapter_book, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    Show book
  • Trusting Grace (Virtues and Vices of the Old West Book #3) - A Novel - cover

    Trusting Grace (Virtues and...

    Maggie Brendan

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    All of her life, Grace Bidwell has longed for a loving husband and children, but now the chances of her dreams coming true are looking slim. Widowed and caring for her elderly father, she struggles to maintain her late husband's ranch, until she places an ad for a hired hand.Robert Frasier arrives in town with three pitiful, bedraggled children who have nothing but the tattered clothes on their backs and a load of hurt, pride, and anger. Believing this is divine intervention in her life, Grace welcomes them with open arms. As feelings grow between her and Robert, Grace will have to convince him that she is a woman who can be trusted with his heart.Readers will be swept away into 1860s Montana's lush Gallatin Valley, nestled among towering mountains and proud pines, in this emotional conclusion to the Virtues and Vices of the Old West series.
    Show book
  • The Queen Saves The King - cover

    The Queen Saves The King

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    When Queen Victoria is called upon to arrange a marriage for the dashing King Alexius of Vultarnia to save him and his country from the predatory Russians, the adventurous and beautiful Pythia takes the place of her cousin, Princess Erina, and heads for the small Balkan country in a British Battleship.
    Princess Erina has just fallen in love with a good-looking Peruvian and Pythia could not allow her happiness to be torn from her for cold political strategy.
    On her arrival in Vultarnia she receives a warm reception and she is determined to win the hearts of her new subjects and the heart of their cosmopolitan worldly King. 
    The King is surprised and impressed by his new wife and sees how much he could learn from her. But a Russian plot threatens to throw this popular new marriage into jeopardy and Pythia must think quickly in order to save the King and the beautiful country of Vultarnia.
    Will King Alexius fall in love with Pythia or remain attached to his glamorous and seductive Russian mistress?
     Will Pythia be able to stop a sinister plot to capture the King before it is too late? 
    And will the King discover Pythia's true identity and that she is not Royal? 
    Find out in 'The Queen Saves the King', an exciting and moving romance from the incomparable Barbara Cartland.
    Show book