Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Ration Book Childhood - Perfect for fans of Ellie Dean and Lesley Pearse - cover

A Ration Book Childhood - Perfect for fans of Ellie Dean and Lesley Pearse

Jean Fullerton

Publisher: Corvus

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In the darkest days of the Blitz, family is more important than ever.With her family struggling amidst the nightly bombing raids in London's East End, Ida Brogan is doing her very best to keep their spirits up. The Blitz has hit the Brogans hard, and rationing is more challenging than ever, but they are doing all they can to help the war effort. When Ida's oldest friend Ellen returns to town, sick and in dire need of help, it is to Ida that she turns. But Ellen carries a secret, one that threatens not only Ida's marriage, but the entire foundation of the Brogan family. Can Ida let go of the past and see a way to forgive her friend? And can she overcome her sadness to find a place in her heart for a little boy, one who will need a mother more than ever in these dark times?Jean Fullerton, the queen of the East End saga, returns with a wonderful new nostalgic novel.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Married Girls - cover

    The Married Girls

    Diney Costeloe

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    An unputdownable drama from the bestselling author of The Girl With No Name. 
     
    Wynsdown, 1949. In the small Somerset village of Wynsdown, Charlotte Shepherd is happily married and now feels settled in her adopted home after arriving from Germany on the Kindertransport as a child during the war. 
     
    Meanwhile, the squire's fighter pilot son, Felix, has returned to the village with a fiancée in tow. Daphne is beautiful, charming... and harbouring secrets. After meeting during the war, Felix knows some of Daphne's past, but she has worked hard to conceal one that could unravel her carefully built life. 
     
    For Charlotte, too, a dangerous past is coming back in the shape of fellow refugee, bad boy Harry Black. Forever bound by their childhoods, Charlotte will always care for him, but Harry's return disrupts the village quiet and it's not long before gossip spreads. 
     
    The war may have ended, but for these girls, trouble is only just beginning. 
     
    What readers are saying about The Married Girls: 
     
    'Thoroughly enjoyed this book' 
     
    'Three words: wonderful, captivating and enthralling' 
     
    'I am so pleased I found this author' 
     
    'Diney Costeloe at her best.
    Show book
  • Blood & Darkness Box Set - cover

    Blood & Darkness Box Set

    Melissa Sercia

    • 2
    • 10
    • 0
    Now in one ebook volume: Blood and Magic, Flesh and Bone, Gods and Demons, and a bonus preview of Smoke and Ritual, the first Beautiful Dark Beasts book.   Enter the paranormal Underworld with the Dhampir Gray as your guide . . .  Blood and Magic (Book 1)  With supernatural powers and an insatiable need for blood, her existence is cursed.    After four hundred years, Gray, a reluctant Dhampir, still yearns for her humanity—and vengeance against those who stole it from her. To stop the Consilium from doing this to anyone else, she must wield a power she swore never to use—blood magic.  Flesh and Bone (Book 2)  With the dark power rising within her, she risks losing everything.   When Gray’s partner Aldric mysteriously disappears, she seeks allies in the Hall of Secrets. During her search, she discovers a mysterious cult, an ancient curse, and a family secret that is darker than she could ever imagine . . .  Gods and Demons (Book 3)  Will Gray send the demons back to the Underworld or watch her world burn to the ground?   Demons have escaped the Underworld and descended upon New Orleans. Gray tries to unite the covens as they gear up for the fight of their lives. But when one of her closest allies abandons her, Gray is forced to make a life altering choice that threatens everyone she loves . . .  Series praise   “Keeps you on the edge of your seat . . . action packed and full of emotional depth.”—Sydney Ashcroft, coauthor of Chasing Destiny   “Rich world building and [a] unique interpretation of gothic literature.”—Samantha Huewagen, author of the Starless Series
    Show book
  • Love and Other Moods - cover

    Love and Other Moods

    Crystal Z. Lee

    • 1
    • 3
    • 1
    Love and Other Moods is a coming-of-age story set in contemporary China, about falling in love, learning to adult, discovering strength and finding one's place in the world. 
     
    Naomi Kita-Fan uproots her life from New York to China when her fiancé's company transfers him to Shanghai. After a disastrous turn of events, Naomi finds herself with no job, no boyfriend, and nowhere to live in a foreign country. 
     
    Amidst the backdrop of Shanghai welcoming millions of workers and visitors to the 2010 World Expo, we meet a tapestry of characters through Naomi: Joss Kong, a Shanghai socialite who leads an enviable life, but must harbor the secrets of her husband, Tay Kai Tang. Logan Hayden, a womanizing restaurateur looking for love in all the wrong places. Pan Jinsung and Ouyang Zhangjie, a silver-aged couple struggling with adapting to the ever-changing faces of their city. Dante Ouyang, who had just returned to China after spending years overseas, must choose between being filial and being in love. All their dreams and aspirations interweave within the sprawling web of Shanghai. 
     
    This multilayered novel explores a kaleidoscope of shifting relationships --- familial friction, amorous entanglements, volatile friendships --- in one of the most dynamic metropolises of the twenty-first century. 
     
    Review Quotes: 
     
    "This heartfelt, transporting story sparkles with a constellation of characters who call this city home while pursuing their China dream. As multifaceted as Shanghai itself, this novel follows overlapping narratives about the complexities of adulting, of parenting, of the urban quest for love and finding one's place in the world."  
    -- EMILY TING, film director of Go Back to China and Already Tomorrow in Hong Kong 
     
    "Awash with cosmopolitan expats and jet-setting locals, Love and Other Moods shimmers like the diamonds adorning China's glitterati, while exposing haunting personal histories and intergenerational strife. With dazzling twirls around Shanghai's World Expo, glitzy fashion shows, art deco architecture, jazz clubs, gourmet restaurants, and disappearing food stalls, this novel compellingly pulls the reader into the pleasures and pains of becoming an adult in a city soaring to global status." 
    -- JENNY LIN, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Critical Studies at the University of Southern California and author of Above sea: Contemporary art, urban culture, and the fashioning of global Shanghai 
    Show book
  • All That We Carried - A Novel - cover

    All That We Carried - A Novel

    Erin Bartels

    • 0
    • 12
    • 1
    "Bartels proves herself a master wordsmith and storyteller."--Library Journal, starred review 
     
    "This subdued tale of learning to forgive is Bartels's best yet."--Publishers Weekly 
     
    "A deeply personal, thoughtful exploration of dealing with pain and grief."--Life Is Story 
     
    "Taut and engaging."--Foreword 
     
    *** 
     
    Ten years ago, sisters Olivia and Melanie Greene were on a backcountry hiking trip when their parents were in a fatal car accident. Over the years, they grew apart, each coping with the loss in her own way. Olivia plunged herself into law school, work, and a materialist view of the world--what you see is what you get, and that's all you get. Melanie dropped out of college and developed an online life-coaching business around her cafeteria-style spirituality--a little of this, a little of that, whatever makes you happy. 
     
    Now, at Melanie's insistence (and against Olivia's better judgment), they are embarking on a hike in the Porcupine Mountains of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. In this remote wilderness they'll face their deepest fears, question their most dearly held beliefs, and begin to see that perhaps the best way to move forward is the one way they had never considered. 
     
    Michigan Notable Book Award winner Erin Bartels draws from personal experience hiking backcountry trails with her sister to bring you a story about the complexities of grief, faith, and sisterhood.
    Show book
  • The Sisters of St Croix - cover

    The Sisters of St Croix

    Diney Costeloe

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A gripping story of love, death and danger in Nazi-occupied France from the bestselling author of The Throwaway Children. 
     
    When Adelaide Anson-Gravetty finds out her father is not the man who raised her, she is both shocked and intrigued. Determined to find out more about her new family, she travels to the convent of Our Lady of Mercy in France to meet her aunt, the Reverend Mother. 
     
    But when France falls to the German army, Adelaide and the nuns are soon in the thick of a war that threatens both their beliefs and their lives. Collaborating with the Resistance, sheltering Jewish orphans, defying the rulings of Vichy France: these are dangerous activities in dangerous times. 
     
    These courageous women must give all they've got in order to protect the innocent from the evil menace of the Nazi war machine. 
     
    What readers are saying about THE SISTERS OF ST CROIX: 
     
    'I enjoyed this book from the beginning to its end ... Its portrayal of the horror and brutality of war and its effect on innocent people is masterly. The description of an occupied France in the Second World War is wonderfully real and the characters are so vivid and appealing ... I was captured by the strength of the prose and the pathos of the narrative ... This is a story that I would thoroughly recommend to anyone' 
     
    'I was absolutely mesmerised by the pace and the depth of the story telling ... A very moving story beautifully written' 
     
    'I have never been so affected by a book as I was by the Sisters of St. Croix'
    Show book
  • Sins of the Fathers - A family mystery set in Scotland and England - cover

    Sins of the Fathers - A family...

    Anthea Fraser

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Three families, separate yet joined by the sins of the fathers; sins that will ultimately lead to tragedy.Mark Richmond’s trip to York takes a surprise detour when he runs into Helena Crawford and ends up accompanying her to her parents’ ruby wedding anniversary in Drumlee, Scotland.Six months earlier, Mark attended Peter Kingsley’s sixtieth birthday party – the father of his now-estranged wife, Sophie – where Peter was unexpectedly taken ill. Mark’s father, Charles, has been friends with Peter for forty years, but how well does he really know him?As Peter’s health continues to deteriorate, it seems the Richmonds and the Kingsleys are inextricably entwined by devastating secrets, resentment, betrayal and deceit. And who is Ellie, the girl in the hooded anorak, who appears on the cliff path in Drumlee, pale and shivering from the cold?
    Show book