Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Sustaining Faith (When Hope Calls Book #2) - cover

Sustaining Faith (When Hope Calls Book #2)

Janette Oke, Laurel Oke Logan

Publisher: Bethany House Publishers

  • 0
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

So much has been accomplished. Lillian Walsh has stepped out courageously beyond what she'd ever dreamed of being able to achieve. She and her newly rediscovered sister, Grace, have settled three children from England into new Canadian homes and are prepared to place two more just after the New Year, when it happens--another painful disruption.  
 
A white lie the sisters used to protect some orphans has resulted in an official complaint and a letter revoking the sisters' permission to manage their little children's home. And unexpectedly, Walter, the young man who has won Lillian's heart, departs for a job in the oil industry without leaving any hope for their future, making her confused and lonely. 
 
With more children on their way from England needing caring homes, Lillian and Grace must use every ounce of gumption to keep their mission alive. But when startling information about the past surfaces and a new arrival comes via suspicious circumstances, they'll have to decide what is worth fighting for and what is better left in God's hands. 
Available since: 06/01/2021.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Commissariat of Enlightenment - A Novel - cover

    The Commissariat of...

    Ken Kalfus

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Russia, 1910. Leo Tolstoy lies dying in Astapovo, a remote railway station. Members of the press from around the world have descended upon this sleepy hamlet to record his passing for a public suddenly ravenous for celebrity news. They have been joined by a film company whose cinematographer, Nikolai Gribshin, is capturing the extraordinary scene and learning how to wield his camera as a political tool. At this historic moment he comes across two men -- the scientist, Professor Vorobev, and the revolutionist, Joseph Stalin -- who have radical, mysterious plans for the future. Soon they will accompany him on a long, cold march through an era of brutality and absurdity. The Commissariat of Enlightenment is a mesmerizing novel of ideas that brilliantly links the tragedy and comedy of the Russian Revolution with the global empire of images that occupies our imaginations today.
    Show book
  • All God's Children - A Novel of the American West - cover

    All God's Children - A Novel of...

    Aaron Gwyn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This sweeping novel set in the province of Texas is “a powerful depiction of the rough realities of frontier life [and] the vicious influence of racism” (The New York Times). 
     
    Finalist for the Reading the West Book Award for Fiction 
     
    In 1827, Duncan Lammons, a disgraced young man from Kentucky, sets out to join the American army in the province of Texas, hoping that here he may live—and love—as he pleases. That same year, Cecelia, a young slave in Virginia, runs away for the first time. 
     
    Soon infamous for her escape attempts, Cecelia continues to drift through the reality of slavery—until she encounters frontiersman Sam Fisk, who rescues her from a slave auction in New Orleans. In spite of her mistrust, Cecelia senses an opportunity for freedom, and travels with Sam to Texas, where he has a homestead. In this new territory, where the law is an instrument for the cruel and the wealthy, they begin an unlikely life together, unaware that their fates are intertwined with those of Sam’s former army mates, including Duncan Lammons, a friend—and others who harbor dangerous dreams of their own. 
     
    This “swift and skillful Western” takes its place among the great stories that recount the country’s fight for freedom—one that makes us want to keep on with the struggle (The Wall Street Journal). 
     
    “Gwyn creates an overwhelmingly visceral and emotionally rich narrative amid Texas’s complex path to statehood . . . This is a masterpiece of western fiction in the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and James Carlos Blake.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review) 
     
    “It’s always a pleasure to discover another superb writer who had not been on my radar . . . many scenes pulse with tension, tenderness or both.” —Minneapolis Star Tribune
    Show book
  • Goldsmith Jones - cover

    Goldsmith Jones

    Sam Taylor-Pye

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Fourteen-year-old Goldsmith Jones is left stranded in crime-ridden, gangland territory. He finds himself living at The Shades, a home to local street kids. While selling sexual favours down the Dead Man's Alley to survive, Jones is charmed by a seaman he knows as Sweet Virginia. Moving further away from the relative security that The Shades and his best friend, Raccoon, offered him, Jones is drawn ever closer to the manipulative Sweet Virginia. When Raccoon falls gravely ill and is taken to convaless on the rural Rancheria, Jones is left under the controlling powers of the unscrupulous navvy. Swindled and wrongly accused, he is unexpectedly rescued by the leader of the villanous Suarez Brothers, the charismatic Saul. Faced with a choice between becoming Saul's 'little brother' and saving Sweet Virginia's life, Goldsmith Jones must embark on a dangerous journey which will change his young life forever.
    Show book
  • The Secret Wife - cover

    The Secret Wife

    Emily Shiner

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Cara is a devoted mother to two little girls. She loves her hectic life, but she looks forward to a relaxing weekend alone while her husband, Michael, takes the kids on a camping trip. But their dream trip turns into a nightmare when their daughters are taken, deep in the forest. One is returned safely. But one is still missing. As Cara and Michael frantically search for their little girl, it becomes clear that this is no random abduction—her disappearance is linked to shocking secrets that are only now being revealed. Soon Cara begins to how well she really knows her husband. Is the stress making her paranoid? Or is she finally seeing him as he really is? Time is running out. How far will Cara go to find her daughter?
    Show book
  • The Physician - cover

    The Physician

    Noah Gordon

    • 3
    • 72
    • 0
    An orphan leaves Dark Ages London to study medicine in Persia in this “rich” and “vivid” historical novel from a New York Times–bestselling author (The New York Times). A child holds the hand of his dying mother and is terrified, aware something is taking her. Orphaned and given to an itinerant barber-surgeon, Rob Cole becomes a fast-talking swindler, peddling a worthless medicine. But as he matures, his strange gift—an acute sensitivity to impending death—never leaves him, and he yearns to become a healer. Arab madrassas are the only authentic medical schools, and he makes his perilous way to Persia. Christians are barred from Muslim schools, but claiming he is a Jew, he studies under the world’s most renowned physician, Avicenna. How the woman who is his great love struggles against her only rival—medicine—makes a riveting modern classic.The Physician is the first book in New York Times–bestselling author Noah Gordon’s Dr. Robert Cole trilogy, which continues with Shaman and concludes with Matters of Choice.
    Show book
  • With The Indians In The Rockies - cover

    With The Indians In The Rockies

    James Willard Schultz

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    With the Indians in the Rockies" is a biography of James Willard Schultz's close friend Thomas Fox. Based on Fox's stories told by the evening camp-fire and before the comfortable fireplaces of various posts. Two boys, one a Black Foot Indian named Pitimakan and a white boy named Thomas are trapped in the Rockies for the winter, Having nothing but the clothing on their backs, they manage to fashion bows and arrows, the makings for creating a fire and the materials for building a shelter to protect then from  the six feet deep snow.  This a tale of survival, ingenuity and friendship.
    Show book