Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Lord God Made Them All - cover

The Lord God Made Them All

James Herriot

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 2
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

Adventures in the English countryside and beyond with the Yorkshire veterinarian and #1 New York Times–bestselling author of All Creatures Great and Small.  When World War II ends and James Herriot returns to his wife and new family in the English countryside, he dreams mostly of Sunday roasts and Yorkshire puddings, but new adventure has a way of tracking him down. Soon Herriot finds himself escorting a large number of sheep on a steamer to Russia, puzzling through the trials of fatherhood, and finding creative ways to earn the trust of suspicious neighbors who rely on him for the wellbeing of their beloved animals.  Herriot’s winning humor and self-deprecating humanity shine through every page, and his remarkable storytelling has captivated readers for generations. “This is Herriot at his best,” said the Washington Post of this New York Times bestseller by the author of All Things Bright and Beautiful and Every Living Thing. The Lord God Made Them All is a true story of postwar England that, according to the Columbus Dispatch, “just explodes with the joy of living and loving and caring.”   

Who read this book also read:

  • An Appetite for Wonder - The Making of a Scientist - cover

    An Appetite for Wonder - The...

    Richard Dawkins

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    With the 2006 publication of The God Delusion, the name Richard Dawkins became a byword for ruthless skepticism and "brilliant, impassioned, articulate, impolite" debate (San Francisco Chronicle). his first memoir offers a more personal view. 
    His first book, The Selfish Gene, caused a seismic shift in the study of biology by proffering the gene-centered view of evolution. It was also in this book that Dawkins coined the term meme, a unit of cultural evolution, which has itself become a mainstay in contemporary culture. 
    In An Appetite for Wonder, Richard Dawkins shares a rare view into his early life, his intellectual awakening at Oxford, and his path to writing The Selfish Gene. He paints a vivid picture of his idyllic childhood in colonial Africa, peppered with sketches of his colorful ancestors, charming parents, and the peculiarities of colonial life right after World War II. At boarding school, despite a near-religious encounter with an Elvis record, he began his career as a skeptic by refusing to kneel for prayer in chapel. Despite some inspired teaching throughout primary and secondary school, it was only when he got to Oxford that his intellectual curiosity took full flight. 
    Arriving at Oxford in 1959, when undergraduates "left Elvis behind" for Bach or the Modern Jazz Quartet, Dawkins began to study zoology and was introduced to some of the university's legendary mentors as well as its tutorial system. It's to this unique educational system that Dawkins credits his awakening, as it invited young people to become scholars by encouraging them to pose rigorous questions and scour the library for the latest research rather than textbook "teaching to" any kind of test. His career as a fellow and lecturer at Oxford took an unexpected turn when, in 1973, a serious strike in Britain caused prolonged electricity cuts, and he was forced to pause his computer-based research. Provoked by the then widespread misunderstanding of natural selection known as "group selection" and inspired by the work of William Hamilton, Robert Trivers, and John Maynard Smith, he began to write a book he called, jokingly, "my bestseller." It was, of course, The Selfish Gene. 
    Here, for the first time, is an intimate memoir of the childhood and intellectual development of the evolutionary biologist and world-famous atheist, and the story of how he came to write what is widely held to be one of the most important books of the twentieth century.
    Show book
  • The Good Nurse - A True Story of Medicine Madness and Murder - cover

    The Good Nurse - A True Story of...

    Charles Graeber

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    '...aside from the murders , Charles Cullen might have been a pretty good nurse...'The true story of the most prolific serial killer in US history, The Good Nurse is 'a stunning book... that should and does bring to mind In Cold Blood'  New York TimesAfter his December 2003 arrest, registered nurse Charlie Cullen was  quickly  dubbed 'The Angel of Death' by the media. But Cullen was no  mercy killer, nor  was he a simple monster. He was a favourite son,  husband, beloved father, best  friend, and celebrated caregiver.  Implicated in the deaths of as many as 300  patients, he was also  perhaps the most prolific serial killer in American  history.  Cullen's  murderous career in the world's most trusted profession spanned  sixteen  years and nine hospitals across New Jersey and Pennsylvania.  
      Investigative journalist Charles Graeber's portrait of Cullen depicts a  surprisingly intelligent and  complicated young man whose promising  career was overwhelmed by his compulsion  to kill, and whose shy  demeanor masked a twisted interior life hidden even to  his family and  friends. Were it not for the hardboiled, unrelenting work of two  former  Newark homicide detectives racing to put together the pieces of  Cullen's  professional past, and a fellow nurse willing to put  everything at risk,  including her job and the safety of her children,  there's no telling how many  more lives could have been lost. 
     In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Good Nurse  does more than  chronicle Cullen's deadly career and the breathless  efforts to stop him; it  paints an incredibly vivid portrait of madness  and offers an urgent, terrifying tale of murder, friendship and  betrayal.
    Show book
  • What Did I Do Last Night? - A Drunkard's Tale - cover

    What Did I Do Last Night? - A...

    Tom Sykes

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When Tom Sykes landed his dream job as the New York Post's bar columnist and nightlife reporter, he turned his long-standing drinking problem into a vocation. His memoir is a funny, thrilling, and ruthlessly honest exhumation of his drinking life and a candid account of his first 90 days without alcohol.
     
    Tom traces his alcoholism back to his British boyhood at Eton College, England's oldest and most exclusive boarding school, where the boys had to wear tail suits to class and there was a school pub. He delves into his aristocratic family's well-documented fondness for the bottle and covers his own drinking apprenticeship as a trainee journalist on London's famously alcohol-sodden newspapers.
     
    Whether he is getting arrested for drunk driving at the age of 15, climbing naked into his friends' and colleagues' beds, or simply trying to file an emergency front-page update while reeling from a cocktail of Ecstacy and magic mushrooms, Tom takes the reader on an addictive journey into the insanity of intoxication--all too often followed by a mossy tongue, a dull headache, and one burning question: "What the hell did I do last night?"
    Show book
  • Eminent Dogs Dangerous Men - Searching through Scotland for a Border Collie - cover

    Eminent Dogs Dangerous Men -...

    Donald McCaig

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The bestselling author of Nop’s Trials presents the true story of his search for the perfect sheepdogIn April of 1988, Donald McCaig traveled to Scotland to buy a young, well-bred female sheepdog to raise and train for use on his three-hundred-acre Virginia farm. He knew exactly what he wanted: a Scottish border collie, considered the best sheepdog in the world because the breed is hardworking, smart, strong, and fast, with unique personalities. McCaig attends dog trials and meets numerous trainers, fellow shepherds, and top handlers before he finally finds Gael. From his heartfelt prayers that Gael will pass her eye exam to his faithful sheepdog Pip’s reaction to the new bitch on the farm, Eminent Dogs, Dangerous Men chronicles McCaig’s journey through the Scottish highlands, where border collies have been bred since the seventeenth century, and illuminates the ennobling bond between humans and dogs. This ebook contains sixteen pages of photos.
    Show book
  • Reclaiming Hope - Lessons Learned in the Obama White House About the Future of Faith in America - cover

    Reclaiming Hope - Lessons...

    Michael R. Wear

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Learn how the seeds of the Trump presidency were sown in the Obama White House. 
    In this unvarnished account of faith inside the world’s most powerful office, Michael Wear provides unprecedented insight into the highs and lows of working as a Christian in government. Reclaiming Hope is an insider’s view of the most controversial episodes of the Obama administration, from the president’s change of position on gay marriage and the transformation of religious freedom into a partisan idea, to the administration’s failure to find common ground on abortion and the bitter controversy over who would give the benediction at the 2012 inauguration. 
    The book is also a passionate call for faith in the public square, particularly for Christians to see politics as a means of loving one’s neighbor and of pursuing justice for all. Engrossing, illuminating, and at time provocative, Reclaiming Hope changes the way we think about the relationship of politics and faith. 
    "A pre-Trump book with serious questions for our politics in the age of Trump...More necessary than ever before." -- Sojourners 
    "Should be read by Democrats and Republicans, liberals and conservatives, and all who are concerned by the state of our politics.” --Kirsten Powers, USA Today columnist and CNN political analyst 
    "Reclaiming Hope will certainly give you a fresh perspective on politics--but, more importantly, it may also give you a fresh perspective on faith.”--Andy Stanley, senior pastor of North Point Ministries 
    "An important and extremely timely book...Get it, read it, and talk to others about it." --Timothy Keller, author of Reason for God 
    "An important contribution in this age of religious and political polarization." --J.D. Vance, author of Hillbilly Elegy 
    "A lifeline for these times." --Ann Voskamp, author of One Thousand Gifts and The Broken Way 
    “We can hope, and this book can help us.” --Russell Moore, president of the Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention
    Show book
  • Burqalicious: The Dubai Diaries - A True Story of Sun Sand Sex and Secrecy - cover

    Burqalicious: The Dubai Diaries...

    Becky Wicks

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    As a sassy young woman used to drinking, partying, blogging, and shopping her way through dreary London, the call of a glamorous, tax-free career in sunny Dubai just couldn’t go unanswered. Over the course of two years, an entire city funded by oil wealth rises from the dust around her as Becky rapidly scales the career ladder. She becomes a celebrity editor in a land where sex definitely does not sell and spends most nights in a five-star blur of champagne luxury. Dubai offers everything, but things soon get messy—not least because a wealthy Arab man makes her his mistress. Skinny-dipping, affairs, gay parties—Wicks soon discovers just how easy it is to break the law in Dubai! Wicks lifts the burqa from the razzledazzle and reveals some of the most scandalous goings-on in the world’s fastest up-and-coming city of gold.
    Show book