Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Lucky Punch: A Kira Brightwell Short Story - cover

Lucky Punch: A Kira Brightwell Short Story

Jacquelyn Smith

Publisher: WaywardScribe Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A nice, relaxing vacation. After all the mystery and mayhem over the past several months, a tropical getaway seems like just what Kira Brightwell needs.

With only her best friend for company and no one back home aware of their location (detective friend, persistent sidekick, and nosy reporters included), Kira can finally unwind and try to forget. Maybe enjoy a cool, refreshing cocktail on the beach.

But wherever Kira goes, trouble always follows only a step behind.

A stand-alone story from the Kira Brightwell Quick Cases mystery series by the author of the Mackenzie Quinn mysteries, Jacquelyn Smith. If you enjoy a fun, tropical escapade, grab this book.

(This adventure takes place after the Kira Brightwell novel Cornered.)
Available since: 09/03/2020.
Print length: 56 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Adventures of Sam Spade Detective The - Volume 3 - The Death-Bed Caper & The Bail Bond Caper - cover

    Adventures of Sam Spade...

    Bob Tallman, Gil Doud

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    If you like your detectives hard-boiled then Sam Spade was your man.   
     
    Originally created by the legendary Dashiell Hammett, Sam Spade’s move from pulp-book thriller to airwave legend seemed an easy journey. 
     
    Sam Spade, played by Howard Duff, was a sharp-talking L. A. based private detective who’s first question usually revolved about how much moola, how much cash, you were carrying. If it was a phone call this was usually accompanied by a desk drawer opening and a liquor bottle being summoned for duty. 
     
    The owner of License number 137596, had a way of not telling the police all the news.  His humor was tongue in cheek and the plots could put a corkscrew to shame.  The characters who came into contact with Sam Spade, Detective were either very glad they had or rather wished they hadn’t.   
     
    If you wanted results in the tightest of corners you had one choice; Sam Spade, Detective.  Let’s see what he’s up to. 
     
    We like to think we always have choices.  Sometimes we only need one.   
     
    Let’s get back and into action with Sam Spade’s next adventure.
    Show book
  • Lunch-Box Dream - cover

    Lunch-Box Dream

    Tony Abbott

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this compelling novel, Golden Kite Award-winning children’s author Tony Abbott explores Jim Crow laws and family strife from multiple perspectives. During the summer of 1959, Bobby and his family are visiting  Civil War battlefields. Tempers flare as an accident cuts their trip short and forces them to return home by bus.  On their journey, they witness a black family getting denied bus seats. In brief flashes of insight, young Bobby  begins to question his assumptions about race.  “Beautifully crafted and written.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review
    Show book
  • Murder and the Monalet Ruby - cover

    Murder and the Monalet Ruby

    Loretta Jackson, Vickie Britton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When Ardis is sent to South Dakota to handle a bequest of pioneer and Sioux artifacts left to the University of Chicago by wealthy private collector Anthony LaMoine, she gets a load of trouble that she hadn’t expected - a stolen ruby, a friend’s missing son, and a skeleton in the cellar! Ardis learns that Anthony had an adopted son. For reasons unknown to Ardis, his son ran away from home during his teenage years. “Find the son,” the housekeeper tells her, “and you’ll find the thief.” But is the son really the guilty party? And is the mysterious writer-historian Seldon Drake really the man he claims to be - or an imposter?
    Show book
  • The Peruvian Exchange - cover

    The Peruvian Exchange

    Nick Thacker

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Jack Barr is back. But so are his problems.  
    After barely escaping with his life in Jamaica, Jackson Barr, Jr. is suddenly thrown into the fray once again. 
    Victor is still alive, and he's surfaced again. The Vínculo cartel is moving truckloads of weapons and drugs across Columbia into Peru, and the CIA thinks they have a chance to bring them down. 
    Jack is given a chance to take Victor down once again. 
    But as he quickly discovers: not everything is as it seems. 
    Don't miss this next installation in the all-new Jack Barr Thrillers series! 
    For fans of Ludlum, Patterson, Cussler, and Clancy, as well as lovers of any fast-paced action thrillers.
    Show book
  • Shoot the Dog - cover

    Shoot the Dog

    Brad Smith

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In upstate New York, Virgil Cain is drawing hay behind his team of massive Percherons when two movie scouts show up and offer $500 a day to use the horses in a film to be shot in the area. Virgil, in need of cash, reluctantly pockets the money, but he soon finds the chaotic set of Frontier Woman to be more trouble than it' s worth. Savvy producer Sam Sawchuk is in over her head; when she' s not propping up her talent-challenged husband-cum-director, she' s trying to keep tabs on a new investor, the Native American casino owner Ronnie Red Hawk, a rambling egomaniac with designs on an infamous starlet. When the film' s leading lady turns up dead, Virgil discovers that more is at stake than the carnal interests of a casino magnate and the production of a major motion picture. And although he' d rather leave the whole bunch to stew in their own juices, he realizes he needs to step in before a charming ten-year-old actress named Georgia becomes the next victim.
    Show book
  • The Extra - cover

    The Extra

    Elizabeth Sims

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Rita Farmer knows what it feels like to be flat broke. Even now, when studying to be a lawyer, Rita is so far in debt that she has to scrounge for acting jobs to keep herself and her son afloat. Decked out in police uniform as an extra on a low-budget movie shoot, she wanders into a rough part of town and is pulled into a vicious assault. Rita chases off the two men but doesn't escape unscathed, and the boy they attacked isn't out of danger yet. His injuries could last the rest of his life.Rita's heart goes out to him and his grandmother, Amaryllis B. Cubitt, the director of an urban mission that Rita had turned to for help years ago. But the mission has changed from its unassuming past and is now flush with secret donations and gruff guards posted at the doors. Rita can't but wonder if now Amaryllis is too proud to ask for the help she needs.Smart and charming, Rita Farmer is back in the spotlight in The Extra, a second act that is as dazzling and delightful as the first.
    Show book