Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Last Alchemist - Count Cagliostro Master of Magic in the Age of Reason - cover

The Last Alchemist - Count Cagliostro Master of Magic in the Age of Reason

Iain McCalman

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Freemason ... Shaman ... Prophet ... Seducer ... Swindler ... Thief ... HereticWho was the mysterious Count Cagliostro?Depending on whom you ask, he was either a great healer or a dangerous charlatan. Internationally acclaimed historian Iain McCalman documents how Cagliostro crossed paths -- and often swords -- with the likes of Catherine the Great, Marie Antoinette, and Pope Pius VI. He was a muse to William Blake and the inspiration for both Mozart's Magic Flute and Goethe's Faust. Louis XVI had him thrown into the Bastille for his alleged involvement in what would come to be known as "the affair of the necklace." Yet in London, Warsaw, and  St. Petersburg, he established "healing clinics" for the poorest of the poor, and his dexterity in the worlds of alchemy and spiritualism won him acclaim among the nobility across Europe.Also the leader of an exotic brand of Freemasonry, Count Cagliostro was indisputably one of the most influential and notorious figures of the latter eighteenth century, overcoming poverty and an ignoble birth to become the darling -- and bane -- of upper-crust Europe.
Available since: 10/13/2009.
Print length: 288 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Bedtime Adventure Stories for Grown Ups - Short Stories for Short Attention Spans - cover

    Bedtime Adventure Stories for...

    Anna McNuff

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Have you ever wanted to kayak down a gorge in New Zealand? Or run night-time marathons through the Californian desert? How about rollerblading 100 miles around Amsterdam? 
    You have? Then pour yourself a cup of cocoa, get those jim-jams on and prepare to escape into a world of adventure with this collection of life-affirming short stories from award-winning adventurer Anna McNuff. 
    You'll go road trippin’ through the Canadian winter. Bivvy out on a mountaintop in Wales. Explore pockets of wilderness around the city of London and take a journey by bike across Europe. 
    Always upbeat and often insightful, Bedtime Adventure Stories is the antidote to adult life. It’ll have you drifting off into the land of nod, dreaming up journeys of your very own – and it’s proof that the only thing standing between you and the next wild adventure is a willingness to step beyond your front door. 
    ★ Because grown-ups need bedtime stories too ★
    Show book
  • Throwim Way Leg - Tree-Kangaroos Possums and Penis Gourds: On the Track of Unknown Mammals in Wildest New Guinea - cover

    Throwim Way Leg - Tree-Kangaroos...

    Tim Flannery

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From the bestselling author of The Weather Makers: “An enthralling introduction to the mountain people of New Guinea . . . and to their magnificent land” (The New York Times Book Review).   A world expert on the fauna of New Guinea with twenty new species and over seven books to his credit, Tim Flannery takes us into the field and on an unforgettable journey into the heart of this mysterious and uncharted country.   Flannery’s scientific voyage leads him to places he never dreamed of: he camps among cannibals and befriends Femsep, a legendary warrior who led the slaughter of colonial whites decades before. He enters caves full of skeletons of long-extinct, giant marsupials, scales mountains previously untouched by Europeans, and is nearly killed when tribes people decide to take revenge for their prior mistreatment by his “clan” (wildlife scientists). And Flannery writes movingly of the fate of indigenous people in collision with the high-tech world of late-twentieth-century industry.   In New Guinea Pidgin, “throwim way leg” means to thrust out your leg on the first step of a long journey. Full of adventure, wit, and natural wonders, Flannery’s narrative is just such a spectacular trip. Like Redmond O’Hanlon’s classics Into the Heart of Borneo and No Mercy, Throwim Way Leg is a tour de force of travel, anthropology, and natural history.   “Flannery combines diligent science, heart-pounding adventure, and a respect for ancient cultures to create a compelling tale.” —Sierra, The National Magazine of the Sierra Club
    Show book
  • The Harbour Master - cover

    The Harbour Master

    Daniel Pembrey

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For fans of John Harvey's Charlie Resnick series and Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch, The Harbour Master is a fast-paced detective investigation set in the evocative locale of Amsterdam.
    Henk van der Pol is a 30 year term policeman, a few months off retirement. When he finds a woman's body in Amsterdam Harbour, his detective instincts take over, even though it's not his jurisdiction. Warned off investigating the case, Henk soon realises he can trust nobody, as his search for the killer leads to the involvement of senior police officers, government corruption in the highest places, Hungarian people traffickers, and a deadly threat to his own family. . .
    Show book
  • Monk's Travels - People Places and Events - cover

    Monk's Travels - People Places...

    Edward A. Malloy

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A memoir of adventures around the world, meetings with famous figures, and journeys both physical and spiritual, from a former president of Notre Dame. 
     
    Anne Tyler wrote a novel called The Accidental Tourist about a man who is forced to travel but does not want to have any new experiences...My goal on my trips has been just the opposite: not to do anything too foolish, but to be open to an endless round of new experiences and possibilities . . . 
     
    Father Edward Malloy never planned to share his trip diaries with readers throughout the world. Affectionately known as “Monk,” the president of the University of Notre Dame just wanted to record where he went, what he saw, and whom he met along the way. But good reading attracts readers, and good travel writing takes those readers along on the journey. Both apply to Monk’s Travels. 
     
    Carrying readers to destinations ranging from New York just after September 11, 2001, to Europe, the Mediterranean, Latin America, Africa, and the Far East, Monk meets and experiences the local residents and their customs. But he also comes in contact with such notable personalities as Presidents George H.W. and George W. Bush, Martin Luther King Jr., Pope John Paul II, and Taiwanese Premier Lien Chen and President Lee Teng-Hui. His reportage of these places and personages opens the world to readers of all faiths and interests. Monk’s Travels shares its creator’s personality, hopes, spirituality, and emotions—and will interest anyone curious about higher education, Catholicism, travel, or recent history. 
     
    Includes photographs
    Show book
  • Now Then - A Biography of Yorkshire - cover

    Now Then - A Biography of Yorkshire

    Rick Broadbent

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From the perspective of an exiled Yorkshireman this bestselling, award winning author returns to his native county to discover and reveal its soul. 
     
    Now Then is a biographical mosaic of Yorkshire. Rick Broadbent, an award-wining author and exiled Yorkshireman, goes in search of the soul of England's biggest county and produces an all-encompassing portrait of a place that has been victimised and stereotyped since the days of Williams the Conqueror. Incorporating social history, memoir, reportage and author interviews, Now Then paints a picture of what it means to be from Yorkshire - both now and back then. 
     
    Now Then is not a hagiography and Broadbent visits devastated mining communities, an inner-city homeless shelter and the county's most isolated sheep farm, as well as examining the truth about well-known Yorkshire figures and institutions. From the Bronte sisters and Marks & Spencer to the Yorkshire pudding, accent and Ripper, this is a funny, wise and searching account of the county that gave the world its first football club and its last witch-burning. Ultimately, this is an affectionate but unsparing look at a county, its people and their flinty vowels. It is about the real Yorkshire and its daily life, as well as Dracula and Geoffrey Boycott.
    Show book
  • Triumph and Tribulation - No ship should be without Tabasco sauce - cover

    Triumph and Tribulation - No...

    H.W. Tilman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    'Experience is said to be the name men give to their mistakes and of the experience I gained in Spitsbergen that may well be true.'
    The circumnavigation of Spitsbergen is the first of three voyages described in H.W. 'Bill' Tilman's fifteenth and final book, a remarkable example of Tilman's ability to triumph when supported by a crew game for all challenges. The 1974 voyage of the pilot cutter Baroque takes Tilman to his furthest north—the highest latitude of any of his travels in the northern or southern hemisphere. The account of this achievement makes compelling reading, the crew pulling together to avert potential disaster from a navigational misjudgement.
    A younger, less experienced crew join Tilman in 1975, this time heading north along Greenland's west coast until a break in the boom necessitates the abandonment of the objective and an early return. 'That one can never be quite confident of reaching any of the places I aim at may be part of their charm, and failure is at least an excuse for making another voyage.'
    The following year proves to be Tilman's last voyage in his own boat, his account beginning with a dry nod to his artillery background: 'As I begin to describe this voyage, the discrepancy between the target and the fall of shot provokes a wry smile.'
    Tilman never expected crews to pay, covering all the costs of his voyages personally. He therefore held the quite reasonable view that his crew would pull their weight, show loyalty to the ship and take the rough with the smooth. Sadly, the crew in 1976 fell far short of that expectation, forcing several changes of plan and eventually obliging Tilman to leave Baroque in Iceland. Not for the first time in Tilman's remarkable 140,000 miles of voyaging is he moved to quote Conrad: 'Ships are all right, it's the men in them.'
    Tilman set a high standard and led by example; where his companions rose to the challenge, as they did in the majority of his expeditions, the results were often remarkable. Triumph and Tribulation closes this newly extended edition of his literary legacy, a fine testament to a remarkable life.
    Show book