Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Yellow God - An Idol of Africa - cover

The Yellow God - An Idol of Africa

H. Rider Haggard

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

A former British Army major voyages to West Africa to discover a lost city of gold in this adventure novel by the author of King Solomon’s Mines.Since a bout of blackwater fever robbed Maj. Alan Vernon of his military post, he has cast about for a new vocation. A business scheme in the Sahara seems like the perfect fit for his engineering skills, until revelations about his partners give him pause. To save his family estate, Vernon decides to undertake his African venture on his own.Years ago, Vernon’s uncle brought a small golden idol back from Western Africa. The idol itself is worth little, but its strange powers will lead Vernon on a perilous journey to a world of riches. And there he will meet a beautiful but fearsome tribal ruler who is determined to make him her next husband.
Available since: 10/18/2022.
Print length: 314 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Studying Scarlett - A New Sherlock Holmes Mystery Episode 1 (Unabridged) - cover

    Studying Scarlett - A New...

    Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Craig...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Pray tell, are you addicted to Sherlock Holmes stories? Read the entire Canon? But you need MORE SHERLOCK? You came to the singularly correct place. Sixty new "canonical" Sherlock Holmes stories; each one a tribute to one of the original stories in the Canon. Enjoy. STUDYING SCARLET. A strikingly beautiful mature woman from The South has come to London in search of her estranged husband. She makes contact with three of his associates and a few days later all three are dead, garroted by a shadowy group of anarchists. In need of help she enters 221B Baker Street and hires the world's greatest detective. She is accompanied by an elderly, not-petite African American woman who hires Holmes and lets him know who is in charge. A younger generation joins in the adventure. Like their parents, they are physically gorgeous, athletic, courageous, excellent horse riders, and, fortunately, strong swimmers. Together with Holmes and Watson, they ride madly across southern England trying to prevent a disastrous assassination and save the Empire. Fans of Sherlock Holmes will enjoy a new adventure that closely follows the narratives, characters, setting, and language of the Canon. Fans of Gone with the Wind will love this new parody/pastiche and the many tributes to the great saga of the antebellum age. Buy it now, read it, and enjoy your much-loved characters yet again.
    Show book
  • Triads & Turbulence - Volume One - Once Upon a Time in Northeastern China - cover

    Triads & Turbulence - Volume One...

    KONG ERGOU

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Triads and Turbulence: Once Upon a Time in Northeastern China is an epic tale of conflict, royalties, and love set against the backdrop of an industrial wasteland populated by gangsters and outlaws in North Eastern China. This highly acclaimed novel is a tetralogy inspired by true events, from bloodshed gangster conflicts to industrial city outcasts amidst Communist China’s rapid development following Deng Xiao Ping’s economic reforms in the 1980s. It is also a story of marginalized individuals entangled in the changing fabrics of the society they live in. Creator of China’s gangland pulp fiction, author Kong Ergou grew up in such an environment . This critically acclaimed novel begins its life as a web based novel in 2007 and very quickly gathered millions of followers. It was adapted into two movies, an online TV series as well as a theatrical play. The author’s rose to fame as a master storyteller coincided with the advance of the internet and China’s increasing liberal policies for its literature publication.
    Show book
  • Adele Sharp Mystery Bundle An: Left to Hide (#3) and Left to Kill (#4) - cover

    Adele Sharp Mystery Bundle An:...

    Blake Pierce

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A bundle of books #3 (LEFT TO HIDE) and #4 (LEFT TO KILL) in Blake Pierce’s Adele Sharp Mystery series! This bundle offers books three and four in one convenient file, with over 100,000 words of reading.In LEFT TO HIDE, an Italian couple vacationing in Germany is found brutally murdered, causing an international outcry. FBI special agent Adele Sharp is the only one with the international expertise to cross borders and stop the killer—and she finds herself working alongside her estranged father, who knows far more about her mother’s unsolved murder than he lets on. Though still shaken from the recent events in Paris, Adele must embark on a wild chase across Germany, uncovering lies and deception at every turn. Can Adele and her father heal the rift between them? And can she track down the killer before tragedy strikes again?In LEFT TO KILL, a young woman is found wandering, in a daze, on a rural road in Germany, having escaped her attacker. If she can talk, and remember, maybe she can lead authorities back to his lair—and save the other women there before it’s too late. As the sprawling international case begins to enmesh dozens of victims from many countries, authorities quickly realize there is only one way to solve this: to bring in FBI special agent Adele Sharp, triple citizen of the U.S., France and Germany. But even with Adele’s brilliant mind, this case, bringing up memories way too close to home, may be just out of her reach. Can Adele save the other woman before it’s too late? Can she save herself?An action-packed mystery series of international intrigue and riveting suspense, the ADELE SHARP mystery series will have you turning pages late into the night.Books #5-#10 are also available!
    Show book
  • The Iron Hunt - cover

    The Iron Hunt

    Marjorie M. Liu

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Silver smoke winds around my torso, peeling away from my ribs and back, stealing the dark mist covering my hands and lower extremities...tattoos dissolving into demon flesh, coalescing into small dark bodies. My boys. The only friends I have in this world. Demons.I am a demon hunter. I am a demon. I am Hunter Kiss.By day, her tattoos are her armor. By night, they unwind from her body to take on forms of their own. Demons of the flesh, turned into flesh. This is the only family demon hunter Maxine Kiss has ever known. The only way to live-and the very way she'll die. For one day, her demons will abandon her for her daughter to ensure their own survival-leaving Maxine helpless against her enemies.But such is the way of Earth's last protector-the only one standing between humanity and the demons breaking out from behind the prison veils. It is a life lacking in love, reveling in death, until one moment-and one man-changes everything.
    Show book
  • The Maddening - cover

    The Maddening

    Andrew Neiderman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “An expert weaver of suspense” (Fresh Fiction) crafts this terrifying novel that is “scary from first to last page” (Dean Koontz).   Stacey Oberman made the worst mistake of her life when she followed the garage mechanic’s advice and turned off the main highway. When her car breaks down in a rainstorm, she and her five-year-old daughter seek refuge in a nearby farmhouse—only to become “playmates” in a violent whirlpool of unrelenting terror.   “Neiderman’s forte has always been his intricate, suspenseful stories.” —Booklist on Duplicates   Originally published under the name Playmates.  
    Show book
  • Patrick Flint Series The: Books 1-3 - Switchback Snake Oil and Sawbones - cover

    Patrick Flint Series The: Books...

    Pamela Fagan Hutchins

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Fans of C.J. Box's Joe Pickett and Craig Johnson's Walt Longmire will love Patrick Flint and family. 
    An unputdownable 3-mystery box set of suspenseful thrillers set in 1970s Wyoming, from USA Today bestselling author Pamela Fagan Hutchins. 
    “Best books I’ve read in a long time!” — Kiersten Marquet, author of Three Reluctant Promises 
    SWITCHBACK: 
    TAKEN meets LONGMIRE 
    When Patrick Flint's daughter goes missing on a mountain vacation, the adventurous young doctor will have just one shot to get her back. 
    SNAKE OIL: 
    A doctor on a quest to make a difference. A flirty widow with a suspiciously dead husband. When Patrick Flint goes after a murderer, he puts everything —and everyone — he cares about on the line. 
    SAWBONES: 
    When a killer threatens his family before their testimony in a capital murder trial, Patrick Flint will do anything to keep them safe.
    Show book