Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Moor of Milan - cover

The Moor of Milan

H.C. Bailey

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

H. C. Bailey's 'The Moor of Milan' is a compelling mystery novel set in the Italian city of Milan. The story follows the investigation led by the brilliant detective Reggie Fortune as he unravels a complex murder case intertwined with political intrigue and a touch of the occult. Bailey's writing style is characterized by its rich prose and intricate plot development, reminiscent of classic detective fiction of the early 20th century. The novel's exploration of themes such as corruption, betrayal, and redemption adds depth to the gripping narrative. The setting of Milan serves as an atmospheric backdrop, adding to the tension and mystery of the story. H. C. Bailey, a prolific author known for his detective fiction work, brings his expertise in crafting engaging and suspenseful narratives to 'The Moor of Milan'. His knack for creating intricate puzzles and compelling characters shines through in this captivating novel. Fans of classic mystery fiction and those who enjoy intricate plots with unexpected twists will surely appreciate 'The Moor of Milan'. Bailey's masterful storytelling and attention to detail make this novel a must-read for mystery enthusiasts.
Available since: 12/08/2020.
Print length: 26 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Quest for Anna Klein - A Novel - cover

    The Quest for Anna Klein - A Novel

    Thomas H. Cook

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    On the eve of WWII, an international plot leads to a deadly obsession: “Nobody tells a story better than Thomas H. Cook” (Michael Connelly, New York Times–bestselling author of Two Kinds of Truth).   It’s 1939 and the world is on the brink of war, but Thomas Danforth is in New York City living a fortunate life. The well-traveled son of a wealthy importer, he’s in his twenties and running the family business, looking forward to a bright future. Then, during a snowy evening walk along Gramercy Park, a friend makes a fateful request—and involves Thomas in a dangerous idea that could change the fates of millions.   Thomas is to provide access to his secluded Connecticut mansion, where a mysterious woman will receive training in firearms and explosives. Thus begins an international plot carried out by the strange and alluring Anna Klein—a plot that will ensnare Thomas in more ways than one. When it all goes wrong and Anna disappears, he will travel far from home once again, but this time, into a war-torn world that is far more dangerous, in this story by an Edgar Award–winning author known for his “piercing thrillers” (New York Daily News).   “No other suspense writer takes readers as deeply into the heart of darkness as Thomas H. Cook.” —Chicago Tribune
    Show book
  • Good Blood - cover

    Good Blood

    Aaron Elkins

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    What was supposed to be an Italian vacation for forensic anthropologist Gideon Oliver and his wife turns into a busman's holiday when their hosts' only child goes missing-and nearby construction workers unearth human bones. The family awaits Oliver's conclusions with both dread and cautious hope. But along the way, he'll expose some extraordinary deceptions that lay bare the long-hidden secrets at the dark heart of a highborn family.
    Show book
  • Tanner: Year Four - cover

    Tanner: Year Four

    Remington Kane

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From REMINGTON KANE, the author of the Young Guns Series 
    TANNER: YEAR FOUR - A Tanner Series  
    In 2007, after an acquaintance aids him in carrying out a contract, Tanner agrees to help her and finds himself going up against a white supremacist group in California.
    Show book
  • Over Maya Dead Body (Serena Jones Mysteries Book #3) - cover

    Over Maya Dead Body (Serena...

    Sandra Orchard

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    FBI Special Agent Serena Jones arrives on Martha's Vineyard with her family, ready for a little bit of R&R and a whole lot of reminiscing as they celebrate the engagement of an old family friend. But crime doesn't take a vacation, and she's soon entangled in an investigation of a suspicious death tied to an antiquities smuggling ring. 
     
    When her investigation propels her into danger, Serena must stay the course and solve this case before anyone else dies. But just how is she supposed to do that when the two men in her life arrive on the scene, bringing with them plenty of romantic complications--and even a secret or two? 
     
    Award-winning author Sandra Orchard keeps readers guessing with this fast-paced mystery laced with romance.
    Show book
  • The Viaduct Killings - The start of an addictive crime series from Wes Markin - cover

    The Viaduct Killings - The start...

    Wes Markin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of Happy Valley!The start of a new crime thriller series from Wes Markin, bestselling author of the DCI Yorke series. 
    Still grieving from the tragic death of her colleague, DCI Emma Gardner continues to blame herself and is struggling to focus. So, when she is seconded to the wilds of Yorkshire, Emma hopes she’ll be able to get her mind back on the job, doing what she does best - putting killers behind bars. 
    But when she is immediately thrown into another violent murder, Emma has no time to rest. Desperate to get answers and find the killer, Emma needs all the help she can. But her new partner, DI Paul Riddick, has demons and issues of his own. 
    And when this new murder reveals links to an old case Riddick was involved with, Emma fears that history might be about to repeat itself… 
    Don’t miss the brand-new gripping crime series by bestselling British crime author Wes Markin! 
    What people are saying about Wes Markin... 
    'Cracking start to an exciting new series. Twist and turns, thrills and kills. I loved it.' Bestselling author  Ross Greenwood  
    'Markin stuns with his latest offering... Mind-bendingly dark and deep, you know it's not for the faint hearted from page one. Intricate plotting, devious twists and excellent characterisation take this tale to a whole new level. Any serious crime fan will love it!' Bestselling author Owen Mullen  
    'A nerve-jangling, heart thumping belter of a crime series.' Bestselling author TG Reid
    Show book
  • A Picture of Guilt - An Ellie Foreman Mystery - cover

    A Picture of Guilt - An Ellie...

    Libby Fischer Hellmann

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The big news story in Chicago is the murder trial of Johnny Santoro, a dock worker whose girlfriend has been killed. Most Chicagoans are betting on a quick guilty verdict, but Ellie Foreman has doubts about his complicity—Santoro is strangely familiar to her. Checking back to the outtakes of a video project in progress while the murder took place, Ellie finds evidence that could save Santoro from a lifetime behind bars. It seems the perfect alibi, but the tape is compromised by radio interference and Santoro goes to jail.Almost immediately, Ellie’s world begins to shift: a suspicious vehicle follows her, the Chicago mob shows up, and the FBI wants to question her. She doesn’t have answers, but she has questions of her own about the radio transmissions. Everything indicates that someone wants something from her, something bigger than the Santoro case. If only she could figure out what it is... A Picture of Guilt follows Ellie’s award-winning debut in the crime thriller An Eye for Murder. 
    Smart and exciting… Hellmann knows what people are willing to die for and that knowledge makes her work shine. Dick Adler, Chicago Tribune 
    Hellmann owes a debt to fellow Chicagoans Sara Paretsky (complex plotting) and Barbara D’Amato (excellent research) – but she’s the brash young thing making this formula new again. I can’t wait for the next book. Robin Agnew, Aunt Agatha's 
    Hellmann has surpassed herself. Well-crafted, intense and exciting, right up to the last page… a must read. Midwest Book Review 
    This sequel to AN EYE FOR MURDER has it all – action, excitement, increasing tension – with the usual family complications. Library Journal
    Show book