Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Diary Of A Nobody - cover

The Diary Of A Nobody

George Grossmith, Weedon Grossmith

Publisher: Phoemixx Classics Ebooks

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Diary Of A Nobody George Grossmith, Weedon Grossmith - Mr Pooter is a man of modest ambitions, content with his ordinary life. Yet he always seems to be troubled by disagreeable tradesmen, impertinent young office clerks and wayward friends, not to mention his devil-may-care son Lupin with his unsuitable choice of bride. Try as he might, he cannot avoid life's embarrassing mishaps. In the bumbling, absurd, yet ultimately endearing figure of Pooter, the Grossmiths created an immortal comic character and a superb satire on the snobberies of middle-class suburbia - one which also sends up late Victorian crazes for spiritualism and bicycling, as well as the fashion for publishing diaries by anybody and everybody

Other books that might interest you

  • Little Culinary Triumphs - cover

    Little Culinary Triumphs

    Pascale Pujol

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Sexy encounters, irreverent humor, and subtle twists keep up the pace of this quirky tale about a variety of French appetites” (Publishers Weekly). Sandrine works as a functionary in an employment office, but there is a lot more to her than one might suspect from her job description. With a volcanic personality and an imagination to match, she is also a world-class cook waiting for the right occasion to realize her dream of opening a restaurant of her own. With a master plan that one could only describe as Machiavellian, Sandrine ropes Antoine, an unemployed professor, into her venture. A carousel of extravagant characters follows: the giant Senegalese man, Toussaint N’Diaye; the magical chef, Vairam; the extravagantly flatulent Alsatian Schmutz and his twelve-year-old daughter Juliette (IQ 172!); the alluring psychologist and Kama Sutra specialist Annabelle Villemin-Dubreuil. Plans for the restaurant proceed smoothly until Sandrine discovers a shady newspaper operation next-door that leads her to a sinister magnate’s plot . . .   Set in the storied and culturally diverse Parisian quarter of Montmartre, made famous by artists, writers, and bon vivants of every ilk, this heartwarming, comic tale is a must for foodies, Francophiles, and lovers of a good story well told.   “This farcical novel envelops readers in the sights, sounds, and smells of Montmartre and is sure to be enjoyed by fans of Mary Simses, Laura Madeleine, and Nina George. With lively characters and a dreamy setting, Little Culinary Triumphs will awaken the Francophile in all.” —Booklist  “Pujol keeps the tone light as she takes on serious themes of economics and immigration. . . . The plot adds characters like ingredients in a recipe until everything finally sets like a creamy quiche. Will everybody get what they want—or deserve? Maybe, maybe not, but it’s fun watching the schemes unfold.” —The Star Tribune
    Show book
  • Three Men on the Bummel - cover

    Three Men on the Bummel

    Jerome K.

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Three Men on the Bummel (1900) is a comical travelogue by Jerome K. Jerome. The three companions are on a bicycle tour through the German Black Forest. What does Bummel mean? D. C. Browning writes "The title must be puzzling to many readers, for 'bummel' will not be found in English dictionaries." You can learn it's meaning at the last chapter of the book, which is a series of humorous vignettes, each of which builds slowly, through accumulation of layer on layer of detail, through several pages. Most of them concern bicycling, genial commentary on German culture from the point of view of a British tourist, or situation-comedy-like depictions of interpersonal interactions between the characters.
    Show book
  • Psmith in the City - cover

    Psmith in the City

    P. G. Wodehouse

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Mike’s dream of studying and playing cricket at Cambridge are thwarted as his father runs into financial difficulties. Instead, Mike takes on the job of clerk at the “New Asiatic Bank.” Luckily, school friend Psmith, with his boundless optimism and original views, soon joins his department, and together they endeavour to make the best of their new life in London.(Summary written by Gesine)
    Show book
  • This Team Is Ruining My Life (But I Love Them) - How I Became a Professional Hockey Fan - cover

    This Team Is Ruining My Life...

    Steve “Dangle” Glynn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Steve Dangle’s incredible odyssey, from self-starting Leafs lover to sports-media star		 
    How do you turn ranting about hockey into a career? Steve “Dangle” Glynn is a YouTuber, podcaster, and sports personality from Toronto, who managed to turn a 16-second online rant about the Maple Leafs into a career in sports media. From video blogging in his parents’ house at 19 to yelling on televisions across Canada at 28, Dangle has been involved with some of the most important sports companies in the country. 		 
    In between tales of Steve’s adventures, both online and off, This Team Is Ruining My Life is also a kind of how-to (or how-not-to) guide: in an ever-evolving media landscape, sometimes you have to get creative to find the job you want. This is Steve Dangle and his accidentally on purpose journey through sports media so far.
    Show book
  • Pretty Girls in the VIP - cover

    Pretty Girls in the VIP

    Daaimah S. Poole

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this hot new novel from Essence® bestselling author Daaimah S. Poole, three women are determined to ride their rich men's successes to the very top. . .When her marriage to an NFL phenom ended, so did Adrienne Sheppard's chance at wealth and security. Now she's betting on her exclusive new nightclub--and her new man--to turn her luck around. . . Sexy vixen Shanice Whitaker is taking her pay-for-play schemes to a whole new level to stack up the mad fortune of her dreams. . . And Zakiya Lee is sure she knows how to work the sports fame game straight into full-time professional wife-hood with her NBA star. . .But Zakiya's all-access pass to her man isn't keeping him from straying, or endangering her dreams. Shanice's exploding stardom is putting all her dirty tricks of the trade under the merciless media spotlight--and her future on the line. And Adrienne's insatiable greed for having it all right now is blinding her to business-ending secrets. Soon all three will learn the hard way that truly making it on their own will cost more than they bargained for. . .
    Show book
  • Old Enough to Know Better - cover

    Old Enough to Know Better

    Jane Wenham-Jones

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It’s never too late to have fun in this heartwarming and hilarious new novel for fans of Judy Leigh’s Five French Hens and The Old Girls’ Network! 
    ‘So real, wise and funny…an absolute triumph!’ Katie Fforde 
    When her daughter, Ellie, brings home a new boyfriend, Clare can’t put her finger on why she feels troubled by it. Is it because he’s attractive and closer to her in age? Or maybe she’s just jealous because all of her own husband’s passion seems to go into maintaining his wine cellar. 
    Ellie’s colleague, Anna, is feeling restless too. She’s much younger than her husband and definitely isn’t ready for crosswords and comfy slippers. When a new colleague starts to show an interest in her, it ignites a spark of attraction that feels impossible to ignore. 
    They say age isn’t everything – can the women focus on what really matters and live life, and love, to the full? 
    ‘I love Jane’s writing!’ Jill Mansell 
    ‘Feel-good’ Woman and HomeReaders are LOVING Old Enough to Know Better: 
    ‘Reminded me of Jill Mansell and Marion Keyes…Put a smile on my face and cheered me up’ Katie 
    ‘The tonic we all desperately need at the moment… loved it!’ Karen 
    ‘Delightful … The author has created a bevy of unique female characters and relationships’ Sarah 
    ‘It lifts you up whilst you are reading’ Alayne 
    ‘No matter how old you are this book is going to give you all the feels! Will definitely be recommending this to everyone and anyone I talk to’ Kylie 
    ‘Jane Wenham-Jones is now on my must read list’ Judy 
    ‘Thoroughly enjoyed this book as it details the trials and tribulations of women of a certain age! Something I can easily relate to!’ Sally 
    ‘Read cover to cover in one sitting’ Bee 
    ‘Buy it! Read it! Love it!’ Claire
    Show book