Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Murderers - cover

The Murderers

Fredric Brown

Publisher: MysteriousPress.com

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Lust plus greed equals murder in this classic Hollywood noir novel by “a real pro” (The New York Times Book Review).   A struggling actor, Willy Griff keeps himself entertained with the wife of a business mogul, but he wants more: He also wants the business mogul’s money. The mistress, Doris, likes the idea even more than Willy does, and figures if she helps plan the murder, she can ditch the husband and keep the cash.   It’s a dangerous scheme for two low-level, aspiring criminals. But Willy comes up with an ingenious, foolproof plot for pulling it off. At least, he better hope it’s foolproof . . .  The Murderers is a gritty tale of crime and passion from Fredric Brown, a master of noir and mystery and winner of the prestigious Edgar Award.
Available since: 12/14/2021.
Print length: 128 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Right Beside You - A Must Read Mystery Thriller - cover

    Right Beside You - A Must Read...

    Helen Pryke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this tense thriller, an English reporter doesn’t know whom to trust as threatening letters continue to arrive and a killer gets dangerously closer. 
     
    My brother and I had our future all mapped out until that fateful night destroyed it. Now those responsible must pay. 
     
    When Maggie receives an anonymous letter, she realises she’s being stalked. The only connection is a Hampshire gang she helped put in prison thirteen years earlier. As the stalking intensifies, Maggie suspects everyone around her. Even those she loves. But as Maggie becomes more and more paranoid, one by one the gang members suffer horrifying attacks. Someone from her past is out for revenge, and it’s clear that Maggie is next . . .  
     
    Tense, fast-paced, and gritty, Right Beside You is the second Maggie Turner mystery, though can easily be read as a stand-alone. It’s the perfect read for fans of authors like Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer and Helen Fields.
    Show book
  • Here Lies Alice - cover

    Here Lies Alice

    J.A. Baker

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Wow . . . one of the best books I have read!” —Goodreads reviewer, five starsA widower lets a new woman into his heart and his home—but she has her own agenda, in this thriller from the bestselling author of The Girl I Used to Be. Ever since Sophia Saunders was murdered, her husband, Peter, and daughter, Lauren, have been trying to rebuild their lives. Desperate to fill the emotional void, Peter becomes involved with a woman from his grief support group. But as his relationship with Alice progresses, Lauren becomes unsettled. Why can’t she find any trace of Alice online? Who is she, really, and what does she want? Lauren is right to be suspicious. But the deeper her investigation of Alice goes, the greater the danger grows . . .
    Show book
  • Highwayman - cover

    Highwayman

    MJ Preston

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    First in the serial killer series from the author of Four. “A stunning achievement! . . . Prose of this quality is rare in horror stories.” —San Francisco Review of Books Meet Lance Belanger, he has only one ambition, to be the most infamous killer of all time. After murdering a single mom and her toddler child, Lance indoctrinates himself into the world of serial murder. Before long, the bodies start turning up all over the country. Each victim is incapacitated by a puncture wound to the spine, then, while still alive, they are dismembered, their arms, legs, and head are severed from the torso.   FBI investigators call their killer “Highwayman.” But beyond the multi-state dumping of staged victims, the killer has left them little else to go on. With no DNA or forensic evidence, veteran FBI agent Lewis Ash is in a race against retirement as he tracks the elusive murderer.   Meanwhile, Lance has other plans that will up his game and increase his body count. In a web of murder that reaches from the United States to Bucharest, Romania, a diabolical plan is set into motion to attract the most dangerous predators the world has to offer . . .   “Brilliant, haunting . . . M.J. Preston has created a gripping thriller that few readers will be able to put down. Not for the faint of heart, the story plays out like a cinematic tale that is waiting to be told and creates a modern-day killer that is sure to haunt the dreams of many a reader.” —Anthony Avina, author of Identity
    Show book
  • Be Mine - A Novel - cover

    Be Mine - A Novel

    Laura Kasischke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A novel of “sex, mystery, betrayal, intrigue and violence, all wrapped up in the disturbing world of a middle-aged woman’s deepest desires” (USA Today). The first note came on Valentine’s Day. Written with a red pen in an unfamiliar hand, it said: Be Mine. For Sherry Seymour, a community college English professor and recent empty-nester, the anonymous message was amusing and, she had to admit, flattering. When she told her husband, Jon, about it, he raised his eyebrows and looked at her with a kind of attention she hadn’t felt in some time.   As the notes continue, Sherry becomes increasingly aroused by the idea that she could inspire such feelings—as does her husband. With Jon’s encouragement, she pursues her admirer and begins a wild affair. But living in a fantasy can never last. As events spiral out of Sherry’s control, she discovers how little she knows about herself—or the men in her life. This darkly erotic thriller explores what we risk when we step away from our daily lives and allow our passions to take control.   “If there is any justice in the world, Laura Kasischke will soon be as big as Alice Sebold. . . . Kasischke’s novels are as beautifully written and as daring in their subjects.” —Detroit Free Press   “Kasischke has proven herself again to be a bold chronicler of dark obsession.” —Publishers Weekly   “What makes this erotic thriller disturbing and, therefore, successful is how convincingly Kasischke renders Sherry’s life and feelings so eerily normal and familiar.” —Booklist
    Show book
  • The Gaia Trilogy Books One to Three - Blue Gold Rose Gold White Gold - cover

    The Gaia Trilogy Books One to...

    David Barker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The action-packed trilogy now in one volume—set in a water-starved world where international agents fight to keep doomsday at bay . . .   This three-in-one digital edition of the thrilling Gaia series includes:  Blue Gold Climate change and geopolitical tension have given rise to a new international threat: a world war over water. This vital resource has become a precious commodity, and some will stop at nothing to control its flow. When a satellite disappears over Iceland, Sim Atkins joins the Overseas Division to hunt for the terrorists responsible—a quest that will take him and his partner, Freda, to a billionaires’ tax haven in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean and into a web of deceit . . .  Rose Gold In the aftermath of war, tensions remain high and terrorism is a daily fact of life. But a mining base on the moon offers a rare example of international co-operation and a possible solution to the world’s energy problems. Yet not everyone on Earth is keen for this endeavour to succeed—and Sim Atkins’s plan to start a family with his wife may have to be put on hold . . .  White Gold Agent Atkins has returned home after surviving his last deadly mission, and all he can think about is finding the criminals responsible for a heinous act. But his fury and lust for revenge must be set aside when a nuclear warhead is stolen . . .
    Show book
  • The Lost Girls - A Gripping Mystery Thriller - cover

    The Lost Girls - A Gripping...

    Helen Pryke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this dark thriller series debut, an English reporter investigates a missing persons case gone cold while getting dangerously closer to a madman. Four years ago, two teenage girls were abducted. Also four years ago, a ten-year-old boy was murdered. Both cases remain unsolved. Desperate to find their missing sisters, Michael and Chloe ask investigative journalist Maggie Turner to help them. And what starts as a simple investigation, soon turns into a frantic race against time. The kidnapper took the girls to replace his sisters; sisters who died seventeen years earlier. Forced to face traumatic events from the past, Maggie finds herself in the middle of a nightmare that can only get worse . . .Tense, fast-paced, and gritty, The Lost Girls is the perfect read for fans of authors like Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, and Helen Fields.
    Show book